Logo White
Watch Demo

Shelby Carter, MD

Own this business?
5.0
131 reviews
|Healthcare|Austin, TX 78705

3000 S IH 35 Frontage Rd Suite 500, Austin, TX 78705

(737) 202-2500

Not Specified

Closed now

Google

Suggest edits
Top Healthcare in your area
5.0
(1) · Surgeons

5717 Balcones Dr

(512) 327-7000
5.0
(3) · Obstetrics and Gynecology

11851 Jollyville Rd

(512) 257-2425
5.0
(6) · Surgeons

301 Seton Pkwy

(512) 498-4860
5.0
(25) · Surgeons

707 3rd St

(830) 693-0983
5.0
(1) · Surgeons

1250 S Capital of Texas Hwy #600

(512) 381-7070
5.0
(1) · OB/Gyn

3003 Bee Cave Rd # 200

(512) 444-1811
BIRDEYE FOR BUSINESSES
Birdeye For Business

This profile is powered by BirdEye. Over 50,000 businesses use BirdEye everyday to get more reviews and manage all customer feedback. BirdEye helps millions of local businesses to be found online with all their reviews and accurate business information. Learn more about BirdEye

BirdEye Score

The BirdEye Score® is calculated based on our proprietary algorithm applied to customers reviews, weighted by a range of different factors.

Learn how the BirdEye Score® is calculated
5.0
131 reviews
5131
  
40
  
30
  
20
  
10
  
  • 123 Reviews5.0Healthgrades
  • 8 Reviews5.0Google
Sort By:
5 results available.
Recommended
Terri M., Dripping Springs, TX on Healthgrades

2 months ago

06/18/2020, 11:22 AM
It seems folks are always adamant that their particular surgeon is the best. Not having any comparisons, I understand. However, there is evidence that Dr. Carter wrote the book on total knee replacements. His reputation is outstanding. People come from all over the country for his help. He is very astute, great to work with, and no-nonsense person who cares and wants to help his patients live a better life. I have had knee injuries from childhood that made my knees buckle with no warning even while standing. In my 40-50's my pain was to the point that I went to a sports medicine doctor and did everything I could (injections, PT) for a number of years. When it was not possible to climb up or down stairs, get up from sitting position, walking without pain, I went to him. It does take time to get in but it is well worth the wait. His office is state of the art. His staff is professional and caring. After two total knee replacements that went absolutely above my expectations, please go.
Werner Klampfl on Healthgrades

2 months ago

06/18/2020, 09:21 AM
I can’t say enough good things about Dr. Carter and his expertise in hip replacements. My surgery went exceptionally well, the dressing by the incision is perfect, the incision itself is a work of art, I have hardly any pain, and it’s only been 3 days. I’m looking forward to a very speedy recovery and have already recommended Dr. Carter to friends and family member having issues with their knees or hips. While Dr. Carter is not particularly talkative, he is a perfectionist and looks after all the minute details of each patient’s case. He truly is a master of his craft.
KJ on Healthgrades

2 months ago

06/03/2020, 09:27 AM
Dr Carter & his team a a super friendly, professional group. I had a total knee replacement a couple of years ago. They care to spend a lot of time answering questions, preparing & educating their patients on the upcoming procedures. and they believe it's important to set realistic expectations. In my recent visit I learned I'll need a hip replacement. Dr Carter is the Doctor for me! I had an excellent outcome with my knee and believe the same will occur with the new hip.
Featured content
How to Set Up a Facebook Review Widget on Your Website

How to Set Up a Facebook Review Widget on Your Website

How to Set Up a Facebook Review Widget on Your Website
A Simple Guide to Manage Google Reviews

A Simple Guide to Manage Google Reviews

A Simple Guide to Manage Google Reviews
R. E. Helmer, III on Healthgrades

3 months ago

05/16/2020, 06:48 AM
I received excellent surgical and medical care during the hospitalization. Several days now since total knee replacement and still no significant pain. The St. Davids Orthopedic unit was fantastic. Not one person with a bad attitude and the Nursing, OT and PT staffs were professional, experienced and most attentive. Dr. Carter and Mr. Victor made daily rounds and were always available for questions. All in all, the experience far exceeded expectations.
Don Johnson on Healthgrades

3 months ago

05/14/2020, 07:38 AM
Dr. Shelby replaced my left knee in 2/2011 and my left hip 5/2019 (even making sure he offset my shorter left leg so that both legs were even). Both operations were very successful, and I was even able to visit Ireland 3 months after my knee replacement with no problems or pain. He is exceptional in both his expertise and his personality (bed-side manner) for his patients.
Charles H. of Austin on Healthgrades

4 months ago

04/14/2020, 01:58 AM
Dr. Shelby Carter performed a badly needed and complex total knee surgery on me. His office staff, spearheaded by the surgical coordinator, Cheryl Ann Walker, was highly courtesy and professional. The surgery was a complete success. After three months, I have returned to working out, long hikes, biking, and golf. All of these activities were out of the question prior to the surgery. Shelby Carter and his PA, Alex Victor, are absolutely the best!!! I could not be more satisfied with my entire experience from initial consultation, surgery, physical therapy, and post-op visits.
Jay D. on Healthgrades

5 months ago

03/10/2020, 05:19 AM
I had my left knee replaced on January 31, 2019. It was my 6th major surgery on that knee. My 5th surgery was 47 years ago when I was 22; my first at 15 in high school. All surgeries were to correct athletic injuries. Clumsy? No doubt. My friends have been telling me for years to get a replacement and that I will wish I had had it earlier. BS, I thought. I've rehabbed 5 times from era surgeries that had me in a rigged cast from the top of my thigh to my ankle for 8-12 weeks. Those past rehabs were brutal. Atrophy made the first month just forcing my knee to bend enough to sit in a chair without my leg sticking out in the aisle, very painful. The old Rehab was 4-6 mos before I could walk normal. My wife is a working surgery RN and made the effort to find out the best orthopedic surgeon, Dr. Shelby Carter was the name that kept coming up. Research was worth the effort. 60 days after surgery I was 100%. My rehab this time was easy and fast. I wish I had it done years ago, NO BS!
Lyle Paul Arends on Healthgrades

6 months ago

02/14/2020, 01:07 AM
Review of Doctors, PA’s Nurses and staff of St. David’s center for knee and hip replacement. I have been a patient of Dr. Carter for several years. Was scheduled for a partial knee procedure on Feb 18. Dr. Carter became ill and cancelled all Jan and Feb schedules. Being that I had been in pain for 9 months I needed to get rescheduled. I called Cherylann at 6:50 AM on Monday morning to try to get help. She answered her phone and I immediately became her most important patient. She contacted Dr. Romero to see if he could take me as a Patient and called me back later on Monday morning. Being a new patient with Dr. Romero , he wanted additional information like a MRI and fresh blood work. I got the MRI scheduled at 10:00PM Monday night and the blood work done earlier that day. I also got an appointment with Dr. Romero on Tuesday at 1:00PM. At my Tuesday appointment Dr. Romero had all the information he needed to schedule me for surgery on Jan 29. Surgery was successful with a ROBOTIC
Sheron morrison on Healthgrades

6 months ago

01/31/2020, 01:56 AM
Pleasant, very professional
Footer Banner
Get more reviews. Get more customers.

Get more reviews from your customers with BirdEye. Dominate search results. Beat local competitors. Grow your business. Easy, done.