Birdeye Logo White 2020
Watch Demo

Mountain West Veterinary Specialists

Claim this profile

This business is unclaimed. Owners who claim this profile can update information, boost SEO, and more.

Claim this business for free
3.9
357 reviews
|Emergency Medicine|Layton, UT 84041

908 Main St, Layton, UT 84041

(801) 683-6201

https://www.mtnwestvet.com/

Closed now

Google

Facebook

Suggest edits
Top Healthcare in your area
4.8
(735) · Healthcare

1345 E 3900 S

(801) 278-4223

9 people are looking at this business

4.5
(25) · Dermatology

3584 W 9000 S #300

(801) 563-5121

2 people are looking at this business

4.3
(369) · Emergency Medicine

10433 S Redwood Rd

(801) 260-1919
BIRDEYE FOR BUSINESSES
Birdeye For Business

This profile is powered by Birdeye. Over 60,000 businesses use Birdeye everyday to get more reviews and manage all customer feedback. Birdeye helps millions of local businesses to be found online with all their reviews and accurate business information. Learn more about Birdeye

3.9
357 reviews
5198
  
45
  
310
  
29
  
164
  
71 reviews have no rating
Sort By:
5 results available.
Recommended
Tiffany Simpson Tucker on Facebook

9 months ago

10/24/2020, 13:45 PM
Very kind staff. You could see the pep in their step!
Kendall Quinby on Facebook

10 months ago

10/07/2020, 15:24 PM
This place took amazing care of my cat after an emergency situation last night. While I was incredibly worried about the price, it was super reasonable and they offer payment options (credit based but better than nothing). It is an awful feeling to not have hundreds or thousands of dollars extra laying around to drop on a "what if" situation and to base an animals care on if you can afford it. And potentially their life. These people are amazing here. And I sat anxiously for hours in the parking lot applying for credit cards and worrying it still wouldn't be enough. I don't know how, but it was way less than I expected it to be. And he's doing so well. They helped me and more importantly my kids in more ways than they'll ever know. Thank you so much! you truly made in difference in my home.
Makaveli DaGreat on Facebook

10 months ago

10/04/2020, 02:19 AM
everyone is just trying to do their job and i get that.. im very sad and upset. i took my kitten which was only 3,1/2 months old because she was hurt and needed immediate attention not knowing where else i could go because i was scared she was going to pass away any moment. i took her here because it was the only 24/7 vet near by knowing it was going to cost a bit, But not 2k+. let me remind you she was a baby still. i had no money and i was not approved for the credit or whatever it is they provide. i feel like i couldve been helped better and now i have no baby kitten because it was either $2000+ or euthanasia. im just very sad and hurt knowing something couldve definitely been different if their goal is really to save animals. im just saying if it was me doing all that helping a baby kitten get home safe and alive i wouldnt demand $2000-$3000 someone does not have or at least provide better more affordable, financial help.(i know theyre making money if theyre charging everyone else like this im not dumb) im not mad and if you can afford it good for you. im just really sad knowing i could still have my baby kitten here. Much love Be safe.
Featured content
How financial institutions can leverage the power of SMS marketing (includes free templates)

How financial institutions can leverage the power of SMS marketing (includes free templates)

How financial institutions can leverage the power of SMS marketing (includes free templates)
Patient Feedback: Why Doctors Need to Ask For It

Patient Feedback: Why Doctors Need to Ask For It

Patient Feedback: Why Doctors Need to Ask For It
Lisa Brockhaus on Facebook

10 months ago

09/17/2020, 18:51 PM
Yesterday my little rabbit Snips crashed, he had been sick for a couple days but I thought he was on the mend. I first met Dr Boehler at Wasatch exotics when Snips had his first bout of GI stasis. By the next time she had left but continue to email me. yesterday I emailed her with my concerns and throughout the day she emailed me and had somebody call me to talk to me. when I got home Snips had crashed, I called and she said to bring him up and bring him brother to. Snips passed away not long after arriving but the staff was able to get him some pain meds. Everyone was so sweet and amazing to me, even with the covid precautions they allowed me to have some time with him in a room they came in and checked on me and Dr Boehler checked out his brother and gave him some fluids to keep him hydrated. They were so great and comforting and even allowed Hopper to have some time with him. I am switching my vet care to Mountain West because every one was so amazing. Thank you all for the care you provided my little one in his last moments of life.
MaLiss Lester on Facebook

a year ago

08/31/2020, 15:15 PM
Our sweet cat Mopar was outside on his leash playing and then he started to choke and try to throw up. he ended up coughing up blood and was having difficulties swallowing and breathing. I called Clearfield vet who told us to take him to Mountain West. I called them and found out everything we needed to do. My husband drove down to drop him off. They called him every 20 min or so giving updates. Mopar ended up having to be sedated due to throwing up blood. They were very nice and gave us a worst case scenario price and when we were worried how to pay for it they recommended we try 1 of 2 ways to help us. We ended up getting a care credit card and it was cheaper then we thought. Mopar had some how had a blade of grass caught in his throat and when he tried to cough it up it kept tearing his throat. Luckily they were able to remove it and he is perfectly fine and a happy boy! Thanks for saving our sweet fur baby!
Anita Mazzo on Facebook

a year ago

08/14/2020, 01:00 AM
My BFF's daughter brought her service dog there who needed emergency surgery. Being scared, upset the cost was overwhelming. She was lead to believe he wouldn't make it not having this surgery so either paying the bill, euthanizing him or surrendering him to an employee who would get a discount on doing the life saving surgery. Mind you they still wanted the money for testing up to surrender. You would think that a Service Dog would get such discount being the dog he is trained to be and doing the job he does. Nope that wasn't the case said the nasty manager. So being a loving pet mom to her service dog who now needed her, she made the decision to remove him from your facility and take him to another giving him the life saving surgery he needed and continue a young normal life. The surgery was fine and he is doing great and will recover to be the friend and continue his training and service to his mom's needs. Thanks to the real caring professionals who did the surgery and the family friends and strangers that helped mom pay for this he's alive. Sometimes money and greed block the way for compassion and care and needs to be embracsed by this facility. I myself have 3 labs with many health issued and deal with an emergency facility alone with there vet and would NEVER bring my dogs to a facility like yours. So, Utah pet owners think about what your doing and what your pet means to you before you bring him here because the dollar means more than life and love of your pet and respect and nasty attitudes is not rewarding but discouraging. There are caring vets that work with you and worry about your pet before there pocket and this is not one of these places....
Business Response:

We are happy to hear this pet is doing well. We have discussed this further with the owner and apologized immensely for the miscommunication that occurred. We discussed the need for surgery. Offered different financial options and contacting a referring veterinarian as a second option. Surrendering the pet was brought up only after the owner stated she may need to euthanize. We were only giving a last resort option. We never intended to put her into a difficult position, we truly were giving this owner options. As we stated above, we have already reached out to discuss this with the owner.

Aimée Bun on Facebook

a year ago

08/06/2020, 17:59 PM
Dr. Boehler and her exotics team are the most caring and knowledgeable that anyone could ask for. I couldn’t be more appreciative of everything they have done for my rabbits.
Business Response:

Thank you for your kind words! We couldn’t agree with you more! We are so happy and lucky to have them as part of our team.

Erin Jo Kieffer-Allen on Facebook

a year ago

07/29/2020, 07:21 AM
We brought our dog in who has advanced lymphoma, come to find out. They (Mountain west veterinary specialists) wanted over a thousand dollars for the exact same testing that we did at our regular vet for 300. I think it’s horrible to charge over three times the amount, because you’re working odd hours. Either help people or don’t, but I’m not going to call you any kind of hero for gouging the common animal lover in their most scared and desperate times. This place wanted $600 to do an aspiration test and our regular veterinarian charged us $100 for the same test. This is just gross! Shame on you!
Whitnie Wendel on Facebook

a year ago

07/22/2020, 05:16 AM
I had to put my dog down in june, and it could not have been a worse experience. Let me start by saying I've groomed for 3 years now, I understand that your job becomes the mundane, I understand that working with animals had its ups and downs. That being said, when an animal Is hurt, suffering, or DYING, its important to go about your job with nothing less than compassion. My dog went in around 11 at night, the girls came and got my dog from the car, hours later I recieved the news she was bleeding internally, the vet told me that surgery would only " maybe lengthen time with her" I went in to put her down, the gentleman briefed me on how they put down animals as if he was giving instructions on how a car works, emotionless and unattached. when I was ready to put her down the vet came in smiling, I dont remember what she was talking about because I was so devastated, I only remember her making a joke about dogs death and I remember thinking "wow this is really not the time to ever make jokes as my best friend of 8 years dies in my arms" and that's it. that's the experience I had. a vet cracking jokes as my dog, the first dog I ever loved, the dog I had since I was 16, lay in my arms about to leave my life. thank you for that. it's something I will never forget. they called the next day for payment, again as if they were asking for the payment on a car, not attached, no"I'm sorry for your loss", no emotions. I remember a friend of mine's cat passed away, her vet sent her a card and flowers afterward, I wish that had been my experience. If you have any other option, take it, do not go here, I wish I had drove all the way to salt lake city, I wish I had gone anywhere else.
Footer Banner
Get more reviews. Get more customers.

Get more reviews from your customers with Birdeye. Dominate search results. Beat local competitors. Grow your business. Easy, done.