Birdeye Logo White 2020
Watch Demo

White Swan Inn

Claim this profile

This business is unclaimed. Owners who claim this profile can update information, boost SEO, and more.

Claim this business for free
4.6
463 reviews
|Hotels|San Francisco, CA 94108

845 Bush St, San Francisco, CA 94108

(415) 775-1755

https://www.whiteswaninnsf.com/

Closed now

Google

Facebook

Suggest edits
Top Hospitality in your area
5.0
(5) · Hospitality

1135 4th St

(415) 459-9557
5.0
(1) · Hotels

20 12th St

(415) 861-2373
5.0
(3) · Hotels

345 California Street

(415) 276-9602
4.9
(11) · Hotels

609 Old County Rd

(650) 288-7707
4.8
(464) · Hospitality

30 El Portal

(415) 332-9535

1 person is looking at this business

4.8
(160) · Hospitality

310 1st St E

(707) 996-0719
About

The White Swan Inn is a cozy little hotel situated atop Nob Hill in the Union Square area. This beautiful lodge has 26 rooms, including a suite, and they all reflect the old world charm of classic English inns. The antique wooden furniture, the lovely warm fireplaces, the floral wall paper in the rooms and the fine China take you back to the great old days of the Queen. It offers modern amenities like Internet access, a conference room, a fitness room, a computer workstation, your daily newspaper and the likes. So, now if you wish to escape into the past, you know where to go.

Suggest edits
BIRDEYE FOR BUSINESSES
Birdeye For Business

This profile is powered by Birdeye. Over 70,000 businesses use Birdeye everyday to get more reviews and manage all customer feedback. Birdeye helps millions of local businesses to be found online with all their reviews and accurate business information. Learn more about Birdeye

4.6
463 reviews
5332
  
484
  
324
  
213
  
14
  
6 reviews have no rating
Sort By:
5 results available.
Recommended
CC review for White Swan Inn
CC on Trip Advisor

2 months ago

10/09/2021, 05:10 AM
Beautiful, Kind, and a Room to Give You Butterflies! The vintage aesthetic of White Swan Inn is an acquired taste, but do not fret - they do this aesthetic very, very well! How grateful am I to have stayed at this Inn. Right in the core of the city, pretty views through the windows, comfy rooms with a very cohesive look, and hotel staff who embody the kindness of SF and the Bay Area. If you will be looking for comfort and warmth after a lovely day in the bay, the White Swan Inn is for you! I would recommend this place over and over and over again.
Business Response:

Hello ccgie, Thank you very much for such a great review about the White Swan Inn in San Francisco! Our goal is to provide a great experience and to offer a remarkable service to all our guests. We're so happy you had fun with your family during your stay with us. We really appreciate taking the time to leave us a positive feedback. Please don't hesitate to contact us directly if you need any assistance or if you have any questions. We look forward to welcoming you back when you return to San Francisco! Have a wonderful day and safe travels! Warmest regards, Cristy Flores White Swan Inn, San Francisco

Glynn B review for White Swan Inn
Glynn B on Trip Advisor

2 months ago

09/29/2021, 03:52 AM
Wonderful, quaint hotel in the midst of the city and with plenty of pandemic precautions! After 18 months of quarantining, my husband and I wanted to travel but find a place to do it safely since we are still in the midst of a pandemic. We recently spent 5 days in San Francisco. I cannot say enough good things about the precautions that the city itself has taken to protect people and also about how careful the bed and breakfast, White Swan Inn was as well. We were thrilled and felt very safe while we were there. The bed and breakfast is in the city and just steps away from Chinatown. We found the convenience of the location to be wonderful. From the moment you step into the lobby of the White Swan Inn, the staff is welcoming and pleasant. The inn was quaint with an usual decor (think 1940's romantic and 70's inspired art work) -- quite a fun combination. We chose a King Luxury room and it was lovely. There was plenty of space in the room , a working gas fireplace, 2 separate vanity sink areas as well as a small bar with a refrigerator stocked with waters and cokes. The complimentary breakfast was a simple European type breakfast: pastries, yogurt, juice and coffee, but was quite tasty and adequate. The complimentary evening wine and nibbles were equally nice. Everyone who worked there was pleasant and helpful. All in all, a really nice 5 day stay! I have only two criticisms of the White Swan Inn: we made our reservations months in advance and requested a quiet room on an upper floor. We arrived and were told that there were only two rooms available and one was on the main floor while the other faced a noisy street. I later heard the front desk tell someone else that the room they had reserved was not available at all and they would have to take a different room for 24 hours and then move. This is poor planning on the part of the reservations system/hotel staff. If someone has already booked the room, don't give it to someone who reserves at a later date but happens to arrive a day or two earlier. I have a friend in the hotel business and they tell me that this is easily remedied with todays reservation systems and if it's not being done, it is laziness on the part of the hotel. I'm still upset about this. My second criticism is that it appears that the hotel is heated by steam heat and apparently there is no way to turn it off in the individual rooms. We were in San Francisco during an uncharacteristic heat wave. We slept with the windows open and the box fan (which was provided) most nights and this was fine for the first 4 nights though I hate the fact that energy was being expended to heat the hotel when it was not necessary. However, it was so hot the last night that even with the windows open and the fan going, we were sweating all night. We did not sleep at all. I think it would be a smart investment by the hotel to come up with a way to turn OFF the heat in individual rooms as this created a miserable sleepless night for us. However, if you are planning to stay in the hotel in any month where the temperatures don't tend to get above 60 degrees, this probably would not be a problem. In spite of these two negatives, we really enjoyed our stay and would highly recommend this bed and breakfast (except for during a heat wave) to anyone looking for a place to stay in the San Francisco area.
Business Response:

Hello 929glynnb, Thank you for giving us a 5-star rating despite of the problems you experienced during your stay. On behalf of White Swan Inn, I want to extend my sincerest apologies for any inconvenience we caused. We strive ourselves on giving our 100% every day to ensure that our guests’ needs are being met. I know that we have upset you and for that we are very sorry. We do our best to train each of the staff on how to properly handle our customers’ requests, including how to pre-assign guests’ special room requests. We sincerely apologize if this was not handled properly during your stay. I also apologize for having a bad experience in your room during an uncharacteristic heat wave in San Francisco. I have addressed this issue to our Engineering Department, and we will make sure this will not happen again. I want to thank you for bringing these issues to our attention. We are always looking for ways to better our service. Please contact me directly as I will be very happy to assist you personally with anything you need. Stay safe and have a wonderful day! Sincerely, Cristy Flores Front Office Manager White Swan Inn, San Francisco

online101 review for White Swan Inn
online101 on Trip Advisor

2 months ago

09/28/2021, 02:51 AM
What a gem if you're looking for old San Francisco If you're looking for hip and modern, this isn't the spot for you. But if you're looking for a great location near Union Square and Chinatown, yet not far from the Embarcadero, SOMA and (via cable car a block away) Fisherman's Wharf + a sense of old San Francisco complete with period wallpaper and creaky floors, this fits the bill. When you enter the room, you'll find a quirky walk-in closet complete with sink and settee on the right, a bathroom with a tub on the left, a small bar nook with sink and small fridge and a large bedroom with a fireplace, wing chairs and desk. The furnishings are dated, but for us that was part of the charm. The king-size bed was quite comfy and the fireplace a nice touch. One downside is that this room (on the 3rd floor, one floor up from the lobby) faces a courtyard area that includes a back patio for the next-door restaurant, so there's no view and it was a bit loud on a Saturday night with someone's birthday party (until things shut down at 10 pm). We loved meeting other guests in the downstairs parlor area where the friendly staff will pour you a glass (or more) of wine and offer cheese and fruit each evening. There's a fireplace, couch and comfortable chairs, along with small tables in the breakfast area (coffee/tea, pastries, yogurt and granola and fruit).
Business Response:

Hello online101, Thank you for sharing a memorable experience with us at the White Swan Inn, San Francisco. We truly appreciate taking the time to give us a review. We loved that you enjoyed our lovely historical European hotel, our great and convenient location, our complimentary breakfast and wine hour, the friendly staff and our large guestroom with a fireplace. With regards of the room facing a courtyard area that includes a back patio for next-door restaurant, we sincerely apologize for any inconvenience it caused you. We definitely have different rooms location. In the event that you have a future reservation with us, we can pre-assign you to a quiet and a higher room not facing the courtyard area. Please let us know if you have any further comments or any suggestions that would help us improve our service. Again, thank you and we look forward to welcoming you back when you return to San Francisco. Have a wonderful day and safe travels! Best regards, Cristy Flores White Swan Inn, San Francisco

Featured content
How to Ask for a Review (with Templates)

How to Ask for a Review (with Templates)

How to Ask for a Review (with Templates)
The Ultimate Guide to Responding to Reviews

The Ultimate Guide to Responding to Reviews

The Ultimate Guide to Responding to Reviews
Bequia1 review for White Swan Inn
Bequia1 on Trip Advisor

3 months ago

09/04/2021, 07:41 AM
Very lovely and comfortable I'm not usually one for small inns or b&b's, but I had a wonderful stay at the White Swan Inn, and would definitely recommend it. My room -- a suite with fireplace -- had a particularly lovely vibe and was extremely spacious, with various nooks and crannies and a very comfortable bed. Even the view of the leaf-filled courtyard cheered me up. The excellent (continental) breakfast was also a nice touch. Best of all was the price: For San Francisco, the White Swan Inn was definitely a bargain. This was a really nice find and I will definitely return.
Business Response:

Hello Patti, Thank you for sharing us your lovely stay with us! Let us know if you need any help. We look forward to welcoming you back when you return to San Francisco! Thank you and have a wonderful day! Best regards, Cristy Flores White Swan Inn, San Francisco

mario m review for White Swan Inn
mario m on Trip Advisor

3 months ago

09/03/2021, 11:40 AM
You can't just call something old and dirty "quaint, vintage or quirky" I really wanted to like this place. Stayed 6 nights. Nice staff, but that's where the list of positives ends for me. Room is dusty, old, worn out, shades are black, broken, curtains old and black and tattered, everything feels a little sticky/dusty/musty, not enough outlets, some outlets don't work, windows old and don't seal out noise or wind, no screens, so bugs come in, not a good place to work from, no AC, only 2 filthy fans to circulate the thick dust in the room, heat on all the time, even when it's 90 degrees in the room as it was when I arrived...too many problems to list here. The whole place needs to be scrubbed and many furnishings need to be replaced. Website images VERY misleading. Super disappointed and cannot understand the positive reviews.
Business Response:

Hello robertmA8780VL, Thank you for your feedback about the White Swan Inn, San Francisco! We appreciate taking your time to give us a review and your observations. We sincerely apologize if we're not able to meet your expectations. We take it seriously and we will do our best to improve our service. Please reach out to me directly to regain your confidence and make things right. I look forward to hearing from you. Thank you and have a great day! Best regards, Cristy Flores White Swan Inn, San Francisco 415-775-1755 ext-117

Tononthemove review for White Swan Inn
Tononthemove on Trip Advisor

4 months ago

08/21/2021, 08:35 AM
Nice but over-promising Nice hotel on a good location but breakfast shouldn’t be called breakfast. If you’re lucky there are 2 kind of sweets with some strawberry jam for breakfast. That’s it. Rooms are ok but mattresses are completely worn out. No airco in the rooms and no possibility to switch off the heating at night. Rooms are extremely noisy. Street and connecting rooms. When opening the window, the smell of the ventilation of the restaurant next door is blown in immediately
Business Response:

Hello Tononthemove, Thank you for staying at the White Swan Inn, San Francisco and we appreciate your feedback about us. We value taking the time to review our hotel and we sincerely apologize that we didn't meet your expectations. Please feel free to reach out to me directly. Thank and have a great day! Best regards,

Reed D. review for White Swan Inn
Reed D. on Trip Advisor

4 months ago

08/09/2021, 02:19 AM
Charming boutique hotel! My partner and I recently spent 4 days at the White Swan Inn and really enjoyed our stay! We received excellent service throughout our stay. Every employee I interacted with, from the front desk to housekeeping, was incredibly friendly and accommodating. I also was pleasantly surprised to discover that White Swan was just as cute and charming as it looked in photos online. I loved the antique elevator (so cool), floral wallpaper, and English cottage-style decor. I also loved the layout of our room! It was spacious and unique, which made the stay extra special. We also enjoyed the free breakfast (flagging that it was simple, but fine!) and daily wine hour. Highly recommend!
Business Response:

Hello Reed D, Thank you and we really appreciate your wonderful feedback about our hotel and staff at the White Swan Inn, San Francisco. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Kindly let us know if you need any assistance from us and we are happy to help! Have a great day! Best regards, White Swan Inn

Susan18 review for White Swan Inn
Susan18 on Trip Advisor

5 months ago

07/04/2021, 02:21 AM
Friendly and comfortable botique hotel with lots of extras! We returned to the White Swan Inn after a 5 year hiatus, and found it just as warm and welcoming as at our previous stays. The central location is perfect for walking anywhere from the Convention Center to Chinatown and the Financial District. The hotel checks all my boxes--large room (for a city hotel), several comfy chairs, real glasses and coffee mugs, in-room coffee maker, and good wireless. The included breakfast and happy hour make it a great value for money. And the front desk staff are friendly and welcoming.
elarbolita review for White Swan Inn
elarbolita on Trip Advisor

5 months ago

07/02/2021, 05:31 AM
Used to be one of my favorite hotels ever This hotel used to be amazing. But it's getting kind of run down and a bit dirty. One staff member was eager and friendly. The other two were like fish in a fish tank that slowly float by and stare blankly at you. They need to give the whole place a thorough cleaning. Please clean the filthy windows and windowsills. Of course, you could just pretend you're a hippie in the late '60s, and it would seem like a palace compared to crashing on someone's couch.
Footer Banner 2021
Get more reviews. Get more customers.

Get more reviews from your customers with Birdeye. Dominate search results. Beat local competitors. Grow your business. Easy, done.