Birdeye Logo White 2020
Watch Demo

McSorley's Old Ale House

Claim this profile

This business is unclaimed. Owners who claim this profile can update information, boost SEO, and more.

Claim this business for free
5.0
92 reviews
|Bars|New York, NY 10003

15 East 7th Street, New York, NY 10003

(212) 473-9148

https://mcsorleysoldalehouse.nyc/

Open now:11:00 am - 1:00 am

Google

Facebook

Suggest edits
Top Restaurants in your area
5.0
(2) · Restaurants

2361 7th Ave (Corner of 138th St)

(347) 469-9918

2 people are looking at this business

5.0
(6) · Restaurants

45 Nassau St

(917) 916-8345

1 person is looking at this business

5.0
(117) · Restaurants

96 Lafayette St

(888) 812-9060
About

McSorley's is a Cooper Union landmark that first opened sometime around the Civil War. It is one of the oldest continuously operating bars in the city. McSorley's serves two kinds of beer, McSorley's Lager and McSorley's Cream Stock Ale, and they are served two mugs at a time. Inside, you'll find sawdust on the floor and historic bric-à-brac alongside photos and news clippings. The menu is simple, with appetizers such as hearty cheese plates. Just be sure to keep the pub's centuries-old motto in mind: "Be Good or Be Gone!"

Suggest edits
BIRDEYE FOR BUSINESSES
Birdeye For Business

This profile is powered by Birdeye. Over 70,000 businesses use Birdeye everyday to get more reviews and manage all customer feedback. Birdeye helps millions of local businesses to be found online with all their reviews and accurate business information. Learn more about Birdeye

5.0
92 reviews
56
  
40
  
30
  
20
  
10
  
86 reviews have no rating
Sort By:
5 results available.
Recommended
doohedi review for McSorley's Old Ale House
doohedi on Citysearch

15 years ago

10/10/2006, 02:16 AM
Great spot on a Friday afternoon – My wife and I spent a wonderful Friday afternoon recently and would return anytime. As for the old grumpy waiter, I found him quite amusing. He had quick wit and some funny jokes. I would definitely try the cheese plate. I will be serving this treat at my next party, (the same style).
rubiamala review for McSorley's Old Ale House
rubiamala on Citysearch

15 years ago

09/09/2006, 05:51 AM
This a DRINKING bar folks!!!!!! Quit your whining and go to a lounge!! – My hubby and I love McSorley's. We always get treated well by Tom or whatever other waiter is serving us...why? b/c we are there to DRINK and have a good time. We also tip well and often. Those people who are complaining about the rudeness, the sawdust, not being able to stand etc....quit your whining and leave McSorley's to the rest of us and go hang out at Lotus or Butter or Bed or whatever other obnoxious flash in the pan hot spot, Manhattan gives birth to this week. All bars have rules and you should follow them..like the sign says....BE GOOD OR BE GONE!!
booch5151 review for McSorley's Old Ale House
booch5151 on Citysearch

15 years ago

09/07/2006, 12:10 PM
Always a Party at McSorley's!!! – Great times for everybody at this place! My friend Rob got so drunk there last Saturday, he took his pants off and tried to pork a telephone pole outside the bar. One thing I will tell you about this place...they don't mess around! When my friend Joe asked why they didn't serve ZIMA on tap, the bartender ripped his underwear out, threw him out of the bar by his shirt collar, and called him a geek while he mashed his face in a heaping pile of dog doo! After that, the bartender came back in and gave everyone in the bar a free mustache ride. Now, that's my kind of party!
Featured content
Top 5 Doctor Review Sites for Healthcare Providers

Top 5 Doctor Review Sites for Healthcare Providers

Top 5 Doctor Review Sites for Healthcare Providers
Do Online Reviews Matter?

Do Online Reviews Matter?

Do Online Reviews Matter?
jerzjt review for McSorley's Old Ale House
jerzjt on Citysearch

15 years ago

08/09/2006, 10:16 AM
Best Ale House - bar none! – The first couple of reviewers were clearly out of their depth. This is an ALE HOUSE folks, not a place for martini sipping attention seekers.... The history of this NYC staple is worth a visit just to say you stopped in and drank were Presidents Lincoln and Kennedy (to name a few) drank. I started my professional drining career at McSorley's in the 80's and make it a must visit whenever I get back east! Tom, the barman still maintains a tight ship in the back..."Be good or be gone!" Come early and stay late - I guarantee you will make friends...you just may not remember their names the next day. In my opinion - this is Manhattan's most memorable bar! Slainte!
alroche415 review for McSorley's Old Ale House
alroche415 on Citysearch

15 years ago

08/07/2006, 04:41 AM
Rude service, bad atmosphere – I went to McSorley's on a Friday night with a group of about seven friends. I will never go back. The service was rude, unfriendly, and pushy. The waiter would only find space for us at a table once he had been tipped substantially, and leading up to that point he yelled at me and my friend for standing in the table room - apparently you can only sit in there. The hostile waitstaff only perpetuated a hostile atmosphere among the other patrons - people were very possessive over their chairs (since it took much effort to get them, I suppose). It was not a fun place to be. The bar itself was not appealing: dirty (the sawdust on the floor might sound quaint, but in person it's gross), all the lights on like it was midday, and no music. The only good points were that it was easier to hold a conversation since there was no music (although it was still loud), and the beer was fairly cheap (although it's served in small glasses, so that may be misleading. also, the wait staff was very pushy about ordering rounds, so if you're not drinking, you're not really welcome to sit and hang out with your friends). If you want to find the equivalent of an immature frat party in NYC, this is the bar for you. If not, don't bother.
amalicious808 review for McSorley's Old Ale House
amalicious808 on Citysearch

15 years ago

07/24/2006, 12:19 PM
Insulting, rude waitstaff. – Being a fan of McSorley's the first time I went, I promptly took my boyfriend there during his visit. We sat down, looked around, and enjoyed our first round. When my boyfriend ordered another round, the waiter first of all got the order wrong (but my boyfriend didn't say anything, not looking to start any problems), then proceeded to stare at my boyfriend as he paid. I thought it was just a miunderstanding-- my boyfriend thought he had mispaid-- and then the waiter proceeded to tell us the bar was closing down in about half an hour. That was fine with us, we still had our beers to drink and half an hour would be perfect timing to finish them. When he came back to clear our first round away, however, he proceeded to insult my boyfriend, making VERY snide little comments. We had no idea what the problem was, since we were not obnoxiously intoxicated and had done absolutely nothing to warrant such rudeness-- my boyfriend, knowing I hate it when he says anything back to rude people when it's just not worth it (I mean, the waiter was clearly just an bitter old man), shrugged it off and only told me that we would never be going there again. When we left, I told the waiter he had just lost two customers for good and walked out-- and the waiter followed us OUT THE DOOR in order to continue insulting my boyfriend! Did the other waitstaff do anything? Did anyone apologize? No. I don't often complain about service-- I've seen that most of the time, bad service is a result of a rude customer. But my boyfriend is easy to get along with and did absolutely nothing to provoke such rudeness, except maybe order a round of beer. And I can see from some of the other reviews that he's not the only one who has experienced poor service. Unfortunately, McSorley's lost two customers who are very loyal to their bars and were looking forward to being loyal to McSorley's. I just hope that anyone who reads this knows to be wary of terrible service when heading to McSorley's.
aldorf_man review for McSorley's Old Ale House
aldorf_man on Citysearch

16 years ago

05/05/2006, 11:08 AM
Not my style – The bartenders are pretty mean. The old guy distributing the beer thinks he is the man. I don't like walking on saw dust. The only good thing is the cheap beer. Good for getting hammered with your friends before going out to a place with better music and ladies.
Seagate review for McSorley's Old Ale House
Seagate on Citysearch

16 years ago

04/10/2006, 01:54 AM
a great local spot – Ever since I was a kid, my grandfather used to tell me about this bar. The old-time atmosphere is still there; reflected in the news clippings on the walls and the faces of many of the patrons. While it can be mobbed by tourists sometimes, its still a worthwhile stop for a few pints.
aubreybaby3 review for McSorley's Old Ale House
aubreybaby3 on Citysearch

16 years ago

02/15/2006, 01:01 AM
Gotta Love McSorley's – Granted, McSorley's has gotten quite touristy, but I still love to go there every once in a while. It is kind of funny to watch the tourists get all confused on how to order, or ask them what kinds of beer they have :o) The beer is great, the atmosphere is fun, and--music or not---it's always a raucous good time. It's like they say, you haven't been drunk in New York until you've been drunk at McSorley's :o)
Footer Banner 2021
Get more reviews. Get more customers.

Get more reviews from your customers with Birdeye. Dominate search results. Beat local competitors. Grow your business. Easy, done.