Birdeye Logo White 2020
Watch Demo

McSorley's Old Ale House

Claim this profile

This business is unclaimed. Owners who claim this profile can update information, boost SEO, and more.

Claim this business for free
5.0
92 reviews
|Bars|New York, NY 10003

15 East 7th Street, New York, NY 10003

(212) 473-9148

https://mcsorleysoldalehouse.nyc/

Open now:11:00 am - 1:00 am

Google

Facebook

Suggest edits
Top Restaurants in your area
5.0
(2) · Restaurants

2361 7th Ave (Corner of 138th St)

(347) 469-9918
5.0
(6) · Restaurants

45 Nassau St

(917) 916-8345
5.0
(117) · Restaurants

96 Lafayette St

(888) 812-9060
About

McSorley's is a Cooper Union landmark that first opened sometime around the Civil War. It is one of the oldest continuously operating bars in the city. McSorley's serves two kinds of beer, McSorley's Lager and McSorley's Cream Stock Ale, and they are served two mugs at a time. Inside, you'll find sawdust on the floor and historic bric-à-brac alongside photos and news clippings. The menu is simple, with appetizers such as hearty cheese plates. Just be sure to keep the pub's centuries-old motto in mind: "Be Good or Be Gone!"

Suggest edits
BIRDEYE FOR BUSINESSES
Birdeye For Business

This profile is powered by Birdeye. Over 70,000 businesses use Birdeye everyday to get more reviews and manage all customer feedback. Birdeye helps millions of local businesses to be found online with all their reviews and accurate business information. Learn more about Birdeye

5.0
92 reviews
56
  
40
  
30
  
20
  
10
  
86 reviews have no rating
Sort By:
Recommended
cowsaysmoo review for McSorley's Old Ale House
cowsaysmoo on Citysearch

17 years ago

10/17/2005, 07:24 AM
Be Loud All You Want! – Given that you're walking into a crowd on the weekends, you're always bound to meet people. I wouldn't say that it's a good type of place to really mingle, but a lot of tourists and out of towners stop in to drink and experience the place. I love the sawdust, the old stove, the gajillion framed badges, photos, and articles plastered all over the walls, as well as the beer. The atmosphere is just really relaxed, and the staff is pretty tolerant of the noise... they're a buncha old men, but cool nonetheless. Gotta respect guys that can walk around with 6-8 glasses in each hand shoving their way to the scarred wooden tables. NO MUSIC.
airjew review for McSorley's Old Ale House
airjew on Citysearch

17 years ago

01/14/2005, 10:41 AM
I never remember walking home – best neighborhood bar in the city, you have to order drinks 2 at a time, I recommend the 20/20 vision myself. Fill the table with beers and then see how many you can drink in one sitting. here's a tip that worked: one time my friend and I ordered forty beers for the table of cute girls sitting next to us. They were so shocked they had to invite us over!!! also, always order the meat platter of the day, it never disappoints.
eddiebosox review for McSorley's Old Ale House
eddiebosox on Citysearch

18 years ago

08/31/2004, 02:12 AM
Best bar ever, with conditions... – that musty smell is teh 150 year old wishbones hanging voer hte old gaslight on the bar put there by old mcsorley himself. One of my favorite bars in NY. Reeking with histry. THis bar was around for 40 years when "Gangs ofd New York" happened.. But its ONLY the best palce to go ITs NOT a friday adn saturday night (too crowed and touristy). Go on a weekday night or weekend afternoon. ANd no, its not "cheap". its 3.50 for 2 (used to be 3..) but the two are 7 ounce glasses with an inch of foam. If you musnt go on a weekend night. grab a table adn dont let go of it. And for the love of god, NEVER go on ST. Patricks day. That was a mistake ill enver repeat.
Featured content
How to ask for customer feedback - A go-to guide for small businesses

How to ask for customer feedback - A go-to guide for small businesses

How to ask for customer feedback - A go-to guide for small businesses
Tempted to buy Google reviews?

Tempted to buy Google reviews?

Tempted to buy Google reviews?
donmallett review for McSorley's Old Ale House
donmallett on Citysearch

18 years ago

08/22/2004, 03:16 AM
a must visit – I love McSorley's. Been going since before they allowd women. The cats, the stove in the winter and all the great people you meet. It's always a laugh when you see a first time women walk right into the men's room. Great place to spend several hours of dark beer and food.
dublingal_ny review for McSorley's Old Ale House
dublingal_ny on Citysearch

18 years ago

07/27/2004, 04:36 AM
Good once in a while – McSorley's is a lower east side landmark, and a good place to visit twice. Once at its most crowded for a raucous drinking scene and the novelty of the two-fisted portions. Once on a slow afternoon to take in the pictures on the walls and the old-style environment (and in my case have a chat with fellow Irish immigrants in the form of the waiters). It's got unique history, atmosphere and decor (and great mustard!) but repeat patronage can make the frat-boy scene, mostly-foam drinks, lousy bathrooms and surly "show me the money" service tiresome. A little goes a long way with this one.
Contributor review for McSorley's Old Ale House
Contributor on Citysearch

18 years ago

07/20/2004, 07:22 AM
Former old boys' club and still-popular pub dating from the 19th century. – One of the oldest bars in this fair city, McSorley's opened its doors in 1854--but women weren't allowed in until the 1970s. Today, this East Village institution still has sawdust on the floor, over 150 years of history on the walls and only two kinds of beer: McSorley's Light and McSorley's Dark. The crowd tends toward undergrads and post-collegiates looking to schmooze over brews in a laidback neighborhood bar that, over the years, has played host to icons ranging from Abe Lincoln (yes, seriously) to John Lennon and Woody Guthrie.
laurelerin22 review for McSorley's Old Ale House
laurelerin22 on Citysearch

18 years ago

07/14/2004, 03:00 AM
Loud and Rowdy! The Best. – I absolutely LOVE McSorleys... And I'm a girl. We took a big crew of friends and had a total blast! Some things to know about McSorleys... #1, you won't get anything out of the waiters unless you tip them 20%. The old Irish waiters will just laugh in your face and take away all of your beer if you don't give them 20%. It is totally worth it. Besides, the beers are so freakin' cheap, the extra amount you have to pay in tips is nothing... #2, if there are no tables left when you get there, slip one of the waiters some cash and he'll hook you up with a table, even if there are other people waiting (others may not be pleased, but hey, that's how this place works!)... Lastly, don't be afraid to MAKE NOISE!!!
chris345 review for McSorley's Old Ale House
chris345 on Citysearch

18 years ago

06/16/2004, 10:42 AM
Home Sweet home! – My father would drink here in the fifties and sixties. I started in the late eighties. Cheese and mustard are tops. When you order your beer remember LIGHT and DARK. Those are the choices. Go early and stay late. My girlfriend and I went there one early Saturday afternoon in April 1998 early on in our relationship before meeting friends for dinner. Our friends met us for dinner at McSorley's and we stumbled out of there broke and drunk. At that point I knew I would marry that woman.
pubpatron review for McSorley's Old Ale House
pubpatron on Citysearch

18 years ago

04/02/2004, 03:02 AM
Don't leave this earth till... – Don't leave this earth until you make a visit to McSorley's. Great ale, staff and customers colorful to say the least. Go during the week early and you may be able to get a table. Otherwise you will be standing.
Footer Banner 2021
Get more reviews. Get more customers.

Get more reviews from your customers with Birdeye. Dominate search results. Beat local competitors. Grow your business. Easy, done.