Birdeye Logo White 2020
Watch Demo

McSorley's Old Ale House

Claim this profile

This business is unclaimed. Owners who claim this profile can update information, boost SEO, and more.

Claim this business for free
5.0
92 reviews
|Bars|New York, NY 10003

15 East 7th Street, New York, NY 10003

(212) 473-9148

https://mcsorleysoldalehouse.nyc/

Closed now

Google

Facebook

Suggest edits
Top Restaurants in your area
5.0
(2) · Restaurants

2361 7th Ave (Corner of 138th St)

(347) 469-9918

2 people are looking at this business

5.0
(6) · Restaurants

45 Nassau St

(917) 916-8345

1 person is looking at this business

5.0
(117) · Restaurants

96 Lafayette St

(888) 812-9060
About

McSorley's is a Cooper Union landmark that first opened sometime around the Civil War. It is one of the oldest continuously operating bars in the city. McSorley's serves two kinds of beer, McSorley's Lager and McSorley's Cream Stock Ale, and they are served two mugs at a time. Inside, you'll find sawdust on the floor and historic bric-à-brac alongside photos and news clippings. The menu is simple, with appetizers such as hearty cheese plates. Just be sure to keep the pub's centuries-old motto in mind: "Be Good or Be Gone!"

Suggest edits
BIRDEYE FOR BUSINESSES
Birdeye For Business

This profile is powered by Birdeye. Over 70,000 businesses use Birdeye everyday to get more reviews and manage all customer feedback. Birdeye helps millions of local businesses to be found online with all their reviews and accurate business information. Learn more about Birdeye

5.0
92 reviews
56
  
40
  
30
  
20
  
10
  
86 reviews have no rating
Sort By:
5 results available.
Recommended
Tony Pascarella review for McSorley's Old Ale House
Tony Pascarella on Facebook

8 years ago

02/21/2014, 01:32 AM
Amanda Coleman review for McSorley's Old Ale House
Amanda Coleman on Facebook

8 years ago

02/21/2014, 01:30 AM
Peter Caruso Jr. review for McSorley's Old Ale House
Peter Caruso Jr. on Facebook

8 years ago

02/21/2014, 01:15 AM
Featured content
The End of Anonymous Google Reviews and the Rise of the Trust Economy

The End of Anonymous Google Reviews and the Rise of the Trust Economy

The End of Anonymous Google Reviews and the Rise of the Trust Economy
How to respond to a bad review - 5 tips to turn them around

How to respond to a bad review - 5 tips to turn them around

How to respond to a bad review - 5 tips to turn them around
Jackie J. review for McSorley's Old Ale House
Jackie J. on Citysearch

8 years ago

12/08/2013, 03:46 AM
Most overrated hellhole in the city. If you specialize in one thing, as McSorley's only serves ale, then you'd better do it right. The bartenders do not know how to pour beer, however, and the servers are the rudest and most unprofessional around. The glasses are slammed down on the table at room temperature, half full of foam. Once the foam settles, before you've taken even one sip, the beverage is only 75% full. If you're going to under-pour me warm, foamy beer, at least do it with a smile. I'm a young woman, and the server yelled at me, loudly and publicly, for reasons I still don't understand. My boyfriend asked him nicely to stop insulting me and please bring our drinks, and the guy said, "Why are you telling me what to do? I'm busy!" As a server, it's your job to take orders, so get used to it. My boyfriend attempted to escalate to a manager and was asked to leave. There were people blackout drunk all around us, running to the bathroom to vomit or being carried outside by their friends. My boyfriend had nothing to drink and was calmly attempting to rectify a service issue, and they tried to bounce us. We left anyway, because who would want to stay there, but a place as old as this one should operate with a better understanding of customer loyalty and appreciation. They seem to justify the gruff service as traditionally Irish, but I've been to Dublin and this behavior would never fly in actual Irish pubs, where everyone is warm, happy and gracious. Old McSorley must be rolling in his grave. Worst night out in months. AVOID.
Galen D. review for McSorley's Old Ale House
Galen D. on Citysearch

9 years ago

01/08/2013, 05:08 AM
McSorley's is the perfect bar to go to and get a round of one of the two beer choices, some mustard and crackers, and just enjoy the old time feel of it all. More often than not, you're going to have to sit with some people you don't know. That's not a bad thing. Last time I went, my friends and I met a bunch of guys who were in the process of sailing from Maine to Florida just for the fun of it. We all talked, laughed, and at the end of the night raced to chug our last round. Great beer, even better mustard, and ambiance straight out of Ireland.
pyro63 review for McSorley's Old Ale House
pyro63 on Citysearch

11 years ago

07/24/2011, 07:44 AM
This place is a "MUST STOP" – Wow, I have not been to McSorley's since college in 1985. Eveything you said about this place is mostly true... IT IS GREAT TO SEE THE PLACE HAS NOT CHANGED. McSorley's is a classic. It is unfortunate, but you missed the experience. This place is a MUST STOP.
the goat review for McSorley's Old Ale House
the goat on Citysearch

11 years ago

02/23/2011, 10:17 AM
Terrible – My friend randomly picked this place for lunch today...I'm never going back. The staff was not necessarily rude, but very short and unwelcoming. The place is filthy and looks like it hasn't been cleaned in 100 years...not to mention that there is sawdust all over the floor. Only two beers to drink--dark or light. I didn't have any, so I cannot comment on the taste, but the glasses were dirty. No TVs or music. Crowd is stuck up and pretentious, even though the place is a dump. Food was not bad and reasonably priced, but very small selection. I understand this is supposed to be a throwback to bars from the early days, but there is a reason for evolution! Also, I'm Irish and these people give us a bad name. Not all Irish people are stuck-up, arrogant and rude!
kaneohe review for McSorley's Old Ale House
kaneohe on Citysearch

11 years ago

12/27/2010, 04:37 AM
Be good or be gone – For those who complain about the "mediocre" food and the "rude" service...did you happen to not see that this is an "Ale House". Perhaps you came here because you couldn't find the Hard Rock Cafe or Cheesecake Factory? Don't you think it is somewhat ironic that you would refer to a place with "rude service, limited menu, and mediocre food" a "tourist trap" seeing as they obviously don't cater to you? For those of us who call this place home, we say to you...BE GONE.
quigs56 review for McSorley's Old Ale House
quigs56 on Citysearch

11 years ago

12/25/2010, 04:27 AM
Tourist Trap – Rude service, limited menu and mediocre food. There is only two beers, one ale & one porter. Image an Irish bar without a good stout on tap! I was so very disappointed on the entire experience. It was the low point in an otherwise excellent four day NYC visit.
Footer Banner 2021
Get more reviews. Get more customers.

Get more reviews from your customers with Birdeye. Dominate search results. Beat local competitors. Grow your business. Easy, done.