Birdeye Logo White 2020
Watch Demo

McSorley's Old Ale House

Claim this profile

This business is unclaimed. Owners who claim this profile can update information, boost SEO, and more.

Claim this business for free
5.0
92 reviews
|Bars|New York, NY 10003

15 East 7th Street, New York, NY 10003

(212) 473-9148

https://mcsorleysoldalehouse.nyc/

Closed now

Google

Facebook

Suggest edits
Top Restaurants in your area
5.0
(2) · Restaurants

2361 7th Ave (Corner of 138th St)

(347) 469-9918
5.0
(6) · Restaurants

45 Nassau St

(917) 916-8345
5.0
(117) · Restaurants

96 Lafayette St

(888) 812-9060
About

McSorley's is a Cooper Union landmark that first opened sometime around the Civil War. It is one of the oldest continuously operating bars in the city. McSorley's serves two kinds of beer, McSorley's Lager and McSorley's Cream Stock Ale, and they are served two mugs at a time. Inside, you'll find sawdust on the floor and historic bric-à-brac alongside photos and news clippings. The menu is simple, with appetizers such as hearty cheese plates. Just be sure to keep the pub's centuries-old motto in mind: "Be Good or Be Gone!"

Suggest edits
BIRDEYE FOR BUSINESSES
Birdeye For Business

This profile is powered by Birdeye. Over 70,000 businesses use Birdeye everyday to get more reviews and manage all customer feedback. Birdeye helps millions of local businesses to be found online with all their reviews and accurate business information. Learn more about Birdeye

5.0
92 reviews
56
  
40
  
30
  
20
  
10
  
86 reviews have no rating
Sort By:
Recommended
jhopp217 review for McSorley's Old Ale House
jhopp217 on Citysearch

18 years ago

11/26/2003, 05:44 AM
Great Place, but beware – Beware if you expect something trendy. This is a true pub in every sense. Sawdust on the floor, cats running around, no music (unless you start a song), two types of beer, light and dark...both served at slightly below room temperature. This is a drinking man's pub, not may girls frequent this place. So it's not as pickup joint and don't go on a weekend night..it's a tourist nigthmare. The food is simple and delicious. But don't be fooled by people saying the beers are cheap. They are 7 ounce glasses with a inch of head on lights two on darks at $3.50 for two. I've gone with a group of friends and we dropped $500 in 4 hours. A day at McSorley's is great, but just wait til the next morning if you've had 40-50 darks
laurenhenschel review for McSorley's Old Ale House
laurenhenschel on Citysearch

19 years ago

10/07/2003, 07:35 AM
Laid back and very fun – Came here early on a weekend and ended up staying until closing. The trick is not to sit down and that way after 10 half pints you wont be spinning cirlces. A great place to hang with a bunch of friends and be loud, play cards, chat. The ratio of men to women are in the ladies favor - mixed from business casual to laid back local.
dgb2001 review for McSorley's Old Ale House
dgb2001 on Citysearch

19 years ago

07/23/2003, 11:13 AM
That Old GUY is the Worst! – There's this guy who is always there, adn he serves you handfulls of drinks whether or not you want them, and with a bad attitude. My friends and I got into a fight with him. This place sucks to bring girls to esp. Fun if you go with some buds, and don't expect to bring home any tail...unless your idea of tail is 20-80 year old rowdy drunk guys.
Featured content
How to Solicit Reviews on Facebook and Google

How to Solicit Reviews on Facebook and Google

How to Solicit Reviews on Facebook and Google
Top 5 Doctor Review Sites for Healthcare Providers

Top 5 Doctor Review Sites for Healthcare Providers

Top 5 Doctor Review Sites for Healthcare Providers
ctac review for McSorley's Old Ale House
ctac on Citysearch

19 years ago

07/03/2003, 09:57 AM
Old school. – This is a NY landmark. This place was opened back in late 1800. When you walk in you feel like you are either inside of antiqe store or if you have traveled in time. Beer is great, prices are even better. Be careful with their mustard - it is extremely hot! Go there at around 5-6pm. There are tourists, students, stock brokers, workers, you name it! Everyone loves this place. Don't bring your girlfriend here if you are on a romantic date though. It is not that kind of place.
Pebbles review for McSorley's Old Ale House
Pebbles on Citysearch

19 years ago

04/15/2003, 05:47 AM
McSorley's Ale House – My Friends and I will frequently go all the way into the City to visit McSorley's from Bristol, CT. We enjoy the atmosphere and the Ale very much. Last time we were there, we met 4 or 5 people from New Jersey and have some great pictures to prove the absolutely outrageous time we had. We will be visiting again shortly. WE LOVE YOU MCSORLEY'S!!!
Dino139 review for McSorley's Old Ale House
Dino139 on Citysearch

19 years ago

02/12/2003, 06:24 AM
Ain't a dive – McSorley's is historical landmark -- not a dive, too many students, psuedointellectuals and tourists to be a dive. Not to mention, it's an Ale House, they don't serve cheap whiskey. Dives don't have pot bellied stoves.
BilloDude review for McSorley's Old Ale House
BilloDude on Citysearch

19 years ago

01/29/2003, 04:50 AM
Dude, it's like...WOW – Each visit to this establishment has always left us with fond memories. I reckon the wait outside is worth it. Strangers are very welcome here (the stranger the better) The crackers and mustard are awesome. Very interesting place to early party on a Sat. or Sun. afternoon.
swedekim review for McSorley's Old Ale House
swedekim on Citysearch

19 years ago

01/17/2003, 04:04 AM
fun for boys and girls – great place to start a night on the town. 20-40 somethings drinking fantastic beer in a boisterious environment. only place a girl can go and get a standing ovation for simply breathing. it gets crowded, but it's always fun.
lesliekc review for McSorley's Old Ale House
lesliekc on Citysearch

19 years ago

01/11/2003, 01:33 AM
Ladies: Meet Sailors! – Nothing beats McSorely's during Fleet Week. Ladies, grab 10 of your girlfriends, order some beers, and just start asking those sailors where they're from. By the end of the night, you'll have sat on 17 laps and you'll feel like a million bucks.
Footer Banner 2021
Get more reviews. Get more customers.

Get more reviews from your customers with Birdeye. Dominate search results. Beat local competitors. Grow your business. Easy, done.