Birdeye Logo White 2020
Watch Demo

McSorley's Old Ale House

Claim this profile

This business is unclaimed. Owners who claim this profile can update information, boost SEO, and more.

Claim this business for free
5.0
92 reviews
|Bars|New York, NY 10003

15 East 7th Street, New York, NY 10003

(212) 473-9148

https://mcsorleysoldalehouse.nyc/

Closed now

Google

Facebook

Suggest edits
Top Restaurants in your area
5.0
(2) · Restaurants

2361 7th Ave (Corner of 138th St)

(347) 469-9918

2 people are looking at this business

5.0
(6) · Restaurants

45 Nassau St

(917) 916-8345

1 person is looking at this business

5.0
(117) · Restaurants

96 Lafayette St

(888) 812-9060
About

McSorley's is a Cooper Union landmark that first opened sometime around the Civil War. It is one of the oldest continuously operating bars in the city. McSorley's serves two kinds of beer, McSorley's Lager and McSorley's Cream Stock Ale, and they are served two mugs at a time. Inside, you'll find sawdust on the floor and historic bric-à-brac alongside photos and news clippings. The menu is simple, with appetizers such as hearty cheese plates. Just be sure to keep the pub's centuries-old motto in mind: "Be Good or Be Gone!"

Suggest edits
BIRDEYE FOR BUSINESSES
Birdeye For Business

This profile is powered by Birdeye. Over 70,000 businesses use Birdeye everyday to get more reviews and manage all customer feedback. Birdeye helps millions of local businesses to be found online with all their reviews and accurate business information. Learn more about Birdeye

5.0
92 reviews
56
  
40
  
30
  
20
  
10
  
86 reviews have no rating
Sort By:
5 results available.
Recommended
Luke717 review for McSorley's Old Ale House
Luke717 on Citysearch

12 years ago

06/22/2010, 10:14 AM
*** Luke's Review *** McSorley's – McSorley's is one of a kind. If you like history, good beer, the smell of beer/saw dust, laughter, and can handle a few rude employees at times. This place is a must. If you answer “No”, to any questions then this place is not for you, go find a pub that will server you your “Shirley Temple”- you have no right to be here!!! I have been visiting McSorley’s for over 20 years. I have introduced this pub to many people and all love this place. Yes, this place can get crowed at times. Yes, this place is small, Yes, they server food, and I recommend the cheese/cracker/onion platter, and don’t’ forget the hot mustard. To me this place was recently remodeled in 1854. Sit back, tip a few enjoy the scenery, and learn their few rules. 1) Be good or be gone 2) Lite or dark 3) 2 or 4 4) 10 min for a table 5) Do not sing alone 6) Do not get sick or your friends will get mad at you 7) If you drink too slowly, you will be asked to leave. Sparky,, it your turn to buy a round!!!
flaumtastic review for McSorley's Old Ale House
flaumtastic on Citysearch

12 years ago

01/11/2010, 01:16 AM
Simple Place! – I was reading over one review that stated "over run by frat boys".... I have been here several times in a years time and not once have I seen one "frat boy" in this bar. Typically it is filled with all types of travelers or your typical hipster ordering Dark or Light beers and possibly snacking on a plate of cheese and Saltines. I absolutely love this place!
Bloody Mess review for McSorley's Old Ale House
Bloody Mess on Citysearch

12 years ago

09/26/2009, 01:43 AM
Just don't expect to enjoy it. – Not worth your time. Mcsorley's will leave you with a bad taste in your mouth (pun intended). Obviously they are only open because of people that would rather enjoy "history" than the company of their friends or GOOD beer. Enough said.
Featured content
How to write a review on Google

How to write a review on Google

How to write a review on Google
How to ask for customer feedback - A go-to guide for small businesses

How to ask for customer feedback - A go-to guide for small businesses

How to ask for customer feedback - A go-to guide for small businesses
eb118 review for McSorley's Old Ale House
eb118 on Citysearch

13 years ago

07/07/2009, 12:02 PM
A classic swillery, overrun by frat boys. – On my last visit we did the drill: ordered a dozen dark beers, smelled the sawdust and tried to keep the decades-old cobwebs from falling into our mugs. I noticed that they now have a TV, which is kind of disappointing. As with the last couple of times I went (dating back five years or so), it was packed with thick-necked fratboys chanting USA USA USA and screaming the national anthem. Maybe they are plotting their own beerhall putsch; the "patriotic" ambience is uncomfortably overwhelming. It was more fun when the East Village still had an edge.
JXD review for McSorley's Old Ale House
JXD on Citysearch

13 years ago

03/23/2009, 08:44 AM
great beer – great old pub with only two types of beer, light and dark, and you have to buy two. Had sawdust on the floor. very friendly
claire124 review for McSorley's Old Ale House
claire124 on Citysearch

13 years ago

11/24/2008, 08:07 AM
Great Place – You should bring visitors here- as it is a great place with lots of history and character. Don't come here looking for an absolut and cran.. you get 2 choices.. light or dark. Do it and enjoy..
GONZODONZO review for McSorley's Old Ale House
GONZODONZO on Citysearch

13 years ago

11/13/2008, 03:55 AM
One of a kind place. Fraternity like atmosphere. – McSorley's is not for everyone, as you can tell by the negative reviews. However, if you are the type of person who likes being in a crowded, noisy bar with lots of drinking and laughing, this is the place for you. McSorleys is a national institution. Women weren't allowed in until the early 1970's and I remember when they only had one co-ed bathroom. There are a tremendous amount of historical momentos on the walls from the 1850's on. Many past presidents and famous people have left their mark at McSorleys. It is old school. They sell 2 draft beers, dark and light. The servers can be rude or brusque, but that adds to the old world feel. This is not some trendy, metro, stylish bar. This is a throwback to the old saloons of yore. The floors are covered with sawdust to keep the place clean. The decor hasn't ever changed. The sandwiches are good enough to satisfy. Tables are hard to come by and if your group is done drinking and just hanging out, you may be asked to give up your table to drinking customers. They have one rule which I've seen enforced pretty frequently- "Be Good or Be Gone". The big, burly, accented bartenders and servers have no trouble getting the "ungood" out the door in a hurry-trust me. Mcsorleys is a one of a kind, never to be copied, experience for all beerlovers. Bring lots of friends. The more the merrier.
red07gti review for McSorley's Old Ale House
red07gti on Citysearch

13 years ago

10/31/2008, 01:55 AM
People Cant Enjoy History Should be Shot – Hey to all who didn't give this pub a good review either you cant enjoy history or arent truly irish. the pub is like this for a reason ITS BEEN LIKE THAT FOR A HUNDRED AND FIFTEY F'N YEARS AND AINT GONNA CHANGE FOR NO ONE. IF YOU CANT APPRECIATE IT THAN YOU SHOULD BE SHOT. I WENT THERE FOR MY 21ST AND HAVE GONE BACK EVERY YEAR FOR MY BIRTHDAY AND CANT WAIT TO GO AGAIN THIS MARCH GREAT PRICES CRAPPY SERVICE AND CHEAP FOOD IT DOESNT GET BETTER. GREAT ATMOSPHERE AND LET ME GIVE YOU A LITTLE TIP TO THE HATERS EITHER KEEP GOING TO YOUR WUSSY NIGHTCLUBS ILL GO HERE AND HAVE SOME REAL FUN. OR MEET ME THERE TALKING TO MY OLD GLASS CLEANER FRIEND HAVIN A BLAST. HE WILL TREAT YOU ALOT BETTER IF YOU RESPECT HIM AND FOLLOW HIS RULES YOU CRAZY PEOPLE CANT TREAT HIM BAD HE WILL TREAT YOU BAD IN RETURN SO PLEASE BE NICE HE DESERVES THAT HE HAS NOTHING ELSE BUT THIS BAR!!!!!!!!!!!!!
AstoriaBorn review for McSorley's Old Ale House
AstoriaBorn on Citysearch

13 years ago

10/12/2008, 04:31 AM
Leave your trendy friends at home... – Quickpik just can't appreciate what makes McSorely's the best bar in NYC. If you want to go to some trendy night spot and hang out with snobs and sip overly expensive fruity cocktails, then theres a million places in the city you can go. But if you want to go hang out with real people who pass the time by knocking back a few and actualy talking instead of listening to lame hip hope music, then you want Mcsorely's. The people at Mcsorelys are the best. Old irish drinking songs break out all the time, and everyone in the place has a blast. Ive been there no less then 20 times. Its clean, the ale is incredable, the bartenders aren't rude but they aren't going to smile and start a conversation either. This is my favorite bar in the world. DEFINITLY CHECK THIS ONE OUT!
Footer Banner 2021
Get more reviews. Get more customers.

Get more reviews from your customers with Birdeye. Dominate search results. Beat local competitors. Grow your business. Easy, done.