Birdeye Logo White 2020
Watch Demo

McSorley's Old Ale House

Claim this profile

This business is unclaimed. Owners who claim this profile can update information, boost SEO, and more.

Claim this business for free
5.0
92 reviews
|Bars|New York, NY 10003

15 East 7th Street, New York, NY 10003

(212) 473-9148

https://mcsorleysoldalehouse.nyc/

Open now:1:00 pm - 1:00 am

Google

Facebook

Suggest edits
Top Restaurants in your area
5.0
(2) · Restaurants

2361 7th Ave (Corner of 138th St)

(347) 469-9918

1 person is looking at this business

5.0
(6) · Restaurants

45 Nassau St

(917) 916-8345

1 person is looking at this business

5.0
(117) · Restaurants

96 Lafayette St

(888) 812-9060
About

McSorley's is a Cooper Union landmark that first opened sometime around the Civil War. It is one of the oldest continuously operating bars in the city. McSorley's serves two kinds of beer, McSorley's Lager and McSorley's Cream Stock Ale, and they are served two mugs at a time. Inside, you'll find sawdust on the floor and historic bric-à-brac alongside photos and news clippings. The menu is simple, with appetizers such as hearty cheese plates. Just be sure to keep the pub's centuries-old motto in mind: "Be Good or Be Gone!"

Suggest edits
BIRDEYE FOR BUSINESSES
Birdeye For Business

This profile is powered by Birdeye. Over 70,000 businesses use Birdeye everyday to get more reviews and manage all customer feedback. Birdeye helps millions of local businesses to be found online with all their reviews and accurate business information. Learn more about Birdeye

5.0
92 reviews
56
  
40
  
30
  
20
  
10
  
86 reviews have no rating
Sort By:
5 results available.
Recommended
terry14513 review for McSorley's Old Ale House
terry14513 on Citysearch

13 years ago

09/11/2008, 08:41 AM
We visit every time we travel to NYC – Quickpick, you must be a snob, the fun of this place is that it is old fashion, I have never had any problems you incountered and have always had a great time going here.We travel to NYC probably twice a year and always make it a point to stop in for dinner on every trip. Dinners are simple and easy.
quickpick review for McSorley's Old Ale House
quickpick on Citysearch

13 years ago

08/17/2008, 05:18 AM
I wouldn't take a dump in this dump. – I'm sorry I didn't follow the advice of the other negative reviews. First off, the staff inside is extremely rude. These morons have no sense of common courtesy, particularly one idiot with a cheesy Australian accent who could best be described as a dingo-berry. Instead of working with the crowd, they seem to go out of their way to make things difficult. What I haven't seen mentioned is how unsanitary this place is. There is a guy who looks homeless who seems to be shuffling around with "clean" glasses, but I got the feeling they also might be reusing glasses left on the bar. Considering how the homeless guy looked, I might chance the disease I get from a used glass than something this guy handled. Finally, the price was nothing to write home about, and the beer was mediocre at best. Personally, I get suspicious at overly negative reviews, but I promise you this place has no redeeming qualities whatsoever. So if you got the feeling I didn't like the place, you are correct. If you are someone local looking for a night out, there are a zillion other options, and if you are a tourist, do yourself a favor and look elsewhere. I certainly wouldn't want to bring a female back in here, which I felt bad I did in the first place, unless you have no consideration for her.
Doveman review for McSorley's Old Ale House
Doveman on Citysearch

14 years ago

02/28/2008, 06:12 AM
Brilliant spot – This magic place was recommended to us by our neighbour who's from New York...it's his favourite bar. Good cheap beer, great atmosphere, $3 sandwiches.......enough said.
Featured content
How to Solicit Reviews on Facebook and Google

How to Solicit Reviews on Facebook and Google

How to Solicit Reviews on Facebook and Google
Why You Should Display Reviews on Your Website

Why You Should Display Reviews on Your Website

Why You Should Display Reviews on Your Website
kellbells review for McSorley's Old Ale House
kellbells on Citysearch

14 years ago

01/09/2008, 03:31 AM
Awesome beer – I went here before a concert and the place was awesome. The band actually came there as well so we hung out with them beofre the show. It was the best time ever. The place is not a classy type of place, but it has a great atmosphere. The beer choices are dark or light and both are equally as good. The prices are decent for the city and well worth every penny! Would go there again and again!!
rogersargent review for McSorley's Old Ale House
rogersargent on Citysearch

14 years ago

01/03/2008, 07:26 AM
The Beer and Sandwiches are Great – Prior to 1970 no women were allowed in here. As you can still see their is only one bathroom there.Beer comes two way's-Light or Dark. Place the order 2 and 2-which means 2 light-2 dark. Don't mind the sawdust and cobweb's , it's part of the Pub .Best time too go is between 11 am and 6pm..It's a hallmark in NYC. The Beer is made just for them !!! .
sam70124 review for McSorley's Old Ale House
sam70124 on Citysearch

14 years ago

09/19/2007, 09:40 AM
GREAT BAR.....but very overcrowded – I've been here many times and have always had a great time. The atmosphere is fun, but it is way too crowded. The staff is great about helping seat people as quickly as possible, but I've never been able to tolerate more than an hour or so there before it feels too crowded for me. Does attract the occasional guy who can't handle his liquor, but what Irish bar would be complete without that?
bdougherty review for McSorley's Old Ale House
bdougherty on Citysearch

14 years ago

09/12/2007, 01:24 AM
My ole hang out – As 16-17 year old kids with limited funds, we would start out at McSorley's around 7PM - consume as much ale and cheese as one could for a couple of bucks and off to up-town - back to the village and end up on Bleeker St waiting for dylan and the rest to end their gigs and show up in a coffee shop for the rest of the early morning. Man free coffee shop jazz and folk music. ...it all started there each evening and the rest of the night was more or less subsidized by Mc Sorley's ale. God, I miss those days! Oh yes, two years ago some in-laws visited from Erie and we took the family to NYC for the day (two kids 10- 13) and I suggested we visit McSorley's, as I hadn't been there since 1962. Well, they still talk about the experience and it was. Saturday afternoon. I'm still wondering if the cat that jumped on our table was related to the one we fed in the 50's & 60's. Bill
tmonies review for McSorley's Old Ale House
tmonies on Citysearch

14 years ago

08/13/2007, 11:17 AM
Stay away – Me and my wife on the recomendation of a friend and after reading this sites reviews were excited about going to McSorleys while in NYC on 7/20/07. We are both thirty, not high maintanence at all, love to drink and the pub atmosphere. We are not the dance club type of people. Some quick thoughts: 1. Staff is extremely rude. Not sure why. Place isn't good enough to afford that. A troll like guy who wonders around to pick up glasses bumps and pushes himself into everyone. 2. The place stinks of old stail beer. Reminded me of my college frat house. Wasn't cool at 20 isn't at 30. felt like I needed a shower upon leaving. However I think we dusted more at our frat house. There was a chadelier covered in dust and dust was being blown off it by a fan or the air conditioning unto the bar and the drinks on top of the bar. Disgusting. 3. Clientel is strange. Not sure if anyone had seen a redheaded irish chick before, thats includes the bartender, because everyone was all over my wife. A crackhead next to us at the bar told her she had a nice set. I am not exaggerating the crackhead comment he later asked if I wanted to buy crak. Apparently his family had been coming there for years. 4. The beer, didn't taste all that good either. Order one, get two for 5.50 (approx.). However, the glasses are about 8 ounces and the beer comes half full of foam. Not sure why. Maybe they think it makes the place more authentic. I don't think people 100 years ago wanted a beer full of foam, I certainly don't. So for the price you get about 8 ounces of actual beer. Not very cold or tasty either. 5. No music. Did people 100 years ago not like music. play some irish drinking songs atleast. 6. The urinals. If they facinate you, you don't get out much. Its a big old urinal, O.K now what. Take a ride to a NYC public school you will see the same thing. I should have known better not to go when the cabbie and hotel conceirge never heard of the place. They are lucky.
bosoxnewyorker review for McSorley's Old Ale House
bosoxnewyorker on Citysearch

14 years ago

08/12/2007, 09:44 AM
Class A Dive bar! – Went there last night.. had to make my first review on citysearch be for McSorley's... If you love dive bars, this will become a favorite. The old guy is tough to handle at first, but listen to him & you'll have a table and drinks flowing in no time. He has simple rules..don't sit without having him sit you..don't stand in the back room; it's for sitting!..don't block the service area.. Tip him like you would a bartender, he'll make sure you're drinking all night.. light beer or dark beer, they're both great! you will be sat with complete strangers at the same table, and the tables will be filthy and beer soaked, but raise a pint and cheers your new found friends and everything will be A-ok. the historical context this bar carries is above all the new trendy 'old looking' wall decor you find at other places; this stuff really is OLD!!
Footer Banner 2021
Get more reviews. Get more customers.

Get more reviews from your customers with Birdeye. Dominate search results. Beat local competitors. Grow your business. Easy, done.