Birdeye Logo White 2020
Watch Demo

Hugo's

Claim this profile

This business is unclaimed. Owners who claim this profile can update information, boost SEO, and more.

Claim this business for free
4.6
809 reviews
|Mexican|Houston, TX 77006

3728, 1600 Westheimer Rd, Houston, TX 77006

(713) 524-7744

https://www.hugosrestaurant.net/

Closed now

Google

Suggest edits
Top Restaurants in your area
5.0
(4) · Restaurants

23227 Snook Ln

(281) 205-7355
5.0
(3) · Restaurants

7067 Hwy 6 N

(713) 777-7474
5.0
(68) · Restaurants

909 Franklin St

(832) 735-8226

1 person is looking at this business

4.9
(9) · Fast Food

501 W Main St

(281) 422-8690
4.9
(315) · Restaurants

11606 S Wilcrest Dr

(281) 495-2436
4.7
(421) · Restaurants

5010 West Main Sreet

(281) 332-5159
About

Mexican food is often confused with Tex-Mex. Not so at Hugo's. Award-winning Chef Hugo Ortega offers your taste buds a culinary tour of Mexico. From the beaches of Baja California, open your palate with the refreshing limey goodness of his ever-popular red snapper ceviche. Explore the complex and earthy duck in molé poblano sauce or the delicacy of pan sautéed chapulines. Roam the streets of Mexico City with a sampler plate of sopesitos. Wash it all down with flights of the finest tequila.

Suggest edits
BIRDEYE FOR BUSINESSES
Birdeye For Business

This profile is powered by Birdeye. Over 70,000 businesses use Birdeye everyday to get more reviews and manage all customer feedback. Birdeye helps millions of local businesses to be found online with all their reviews and accurate business information. Learn more about Birdeye

4.6
809 reviews
5577
  
4113
  
329
  
213
  
113
  
64 reviews have no rating
Sort By:
5 results available.
Recommended
Ifmy D. review for Hugo's
Ifmy D. on Yellow Pages

3 years ago

12/24/2018, 02:07 AM
Great place to eat! Service was great and the waiter Josh was very attentive and very knowledgeable of menu. He explained all the healthy options that were available to me. This is a five star restaurant for sure and the food was wonderful. All well trained waiters and even though the food was great he made the business stand out by his service! It was a special occasion for an old friend of mines and he made the night memorable!
Eightfriendsout review for Hugo's
Eightfriendsout on Citysearch

6 years ago

09/18/2015, 05:17 AM
Since 2002 Hugo`s has been an Eight Friends Out favorite dinner spot! The food is great and the service always exceptional! We are definitely a fan of Chef Hugo Ortega!
Michelle I. review for Hugo's
Michelle I. on Citysearch

6 years ago

06/30/2015, 07:31 AM
We went to Hugo’s for a date night with some other couples. There were 12 of us total. The first issue was that even though we made a reservation they had no record of it. They set us up on the patio which was ok since the weather was nice. However, while eating our meal we saw rats climbing on the walls. Our waiter told us that this was normal. When we informed management they claimed there was nothing they could do about their rat problem. The only compensation they were willing to offer for a $500 bill was a small appetizer on our next visit. THERE WILL BE NO NEXT VISIT!
Featured content
How to use video chat for customer service in 2021

How to use video chat for customer service in 2021

How to use video chat for customer service in 2021
5 Top Review Sites for Lawyers

5 Top Review Sites for Lawyers

5 Top Review Sites for Lawyers
Charles C. review for Hugo's
Charles C. on Citysearch

7 years ago

07/07/2014, 07:54 AM
My wife booked a brunch party of 9 for noon 06JULY2014 for She and I and 7 business associates/ friends at Hugo's restaurant @ 1602 Westheimer Rd, Houston, TX 77006. I was medivaced from Iraq in 2008 and retired medically from the military in 2011. When she and I pulled into the ONE marked handicapped space next to the Valet stand with my permanent handicapped placard hanging, one of the three valets commended, "Screw you handicapped," loud enough that my wife heard it and told me through her closed window. There where customers coming and going everywhere. I have never been so insulted in my life and I have had some pretty nasty experiences. We went in, joined our party, and sat and waited ~10 minutes to get a glass of water. I sat quietly and drank water for another 5-10 minutes trying to calm down but couldn't. I got up found the manager and told him what had happened and he simply shrugged it off. I left the restaurant and tried to calm down for about 20 minutes. After realizing I could not stand to be there, I reentered the restaurant, apologized to our party and left. The same manager saw me leaving, asked where I was going, I told him I had lost my appetite and could not stand to be in his restaurant, my wife would finish brunch with her group and that we would NEVER be back. He said OK and shrugged it off again. When my wife and I got back together, she told me about their lunch. She and I generally frequent Baba Yega's for brunch but had been told (by a lyer) that Hugo's was better. She said they where NOT impressed at all by the food and there was no service, it is buffet style but drinks and such where hard pressed to get. The bill was $30 a peace for brunch and $5.85 gratuity...19.5% TIP, for what???? no service and insults? We will NEVER patronize it again and make sure to tell all our friends and acquaintances the horror that was Hugo's restaurant @ 1602 Westheimer Rd, Houston, TX 77006
Frank D. review for Hugo's
Frank D. on Yellow Pages

8 years ago

10/23/2013, 05:28 AM
Not sure why so many good reviews, food is horrible. Staff was nice
tony z. review for Hugo's
tony z. on Citysearch

10 years ago

05/16/2012, 02:36 AM
great service – by far my fav place in houston from when in business trips from europe.. i am never disappointed with a meal here
mojo rising review for Hugo's
mojo rising on Citysearch

11 years ago

12/12/2010, 05:54 AM
great ritas – Some of the best upscale Mexican food in the state. They have been very accommodating to us and even let us order pitchers Don Julio ritas. My favorites are the chicken taquitos on the appetizer side and the carnitas.
blue eyed80 review for Hugo's
blue eyed80 on Citysearch

11 years ago

10/08/2010, 07:50 AM
super delicious lobster taco! – Been there once whatsoever but definitely will come back for a lobster taco and a dessert. I can't eat onion which is difficult when you think about Mexican food but waitress was super helpful and she managed to find sth for me which was possible to make without onions. I strongly recommend lobster taco and duck taco - they are delicious. My friend loved seviche and octopus taco. They have really nice drinks and the dessert menu is wonderful. I had crepes with dulce leche and they were so good. Only "but" - very cold air conditioning - I will bring a jacket or a sweater next time.
SaxCO review for Hugo's
SaxCO on Citysearch

11 years ago

08/16/2010, 02:20 AM
Expensive Tex-Mex without the cheddar – After living in Mexico for almost 35 years, having traveled extensively in the country, with experience eating at restaurants where only locals go, and having good cooking experience, my friends ask for my opinion about some restaurants. After requests from some of my friends I decided to go to Hugo's a couple of days ago. Before that I took a quick look at their published menu and saw ingredients used in Mexican food. I did not pay much attention to the plates. I wanted to see which ingredients they used. What I saw was encouraging. The place is OK. Nothing to write about. We were promptly seated. Once we ordered the food we had to wait, and wait, and wait to be served. The food is presented in a conventional fashion, not the Mexican style. The entrees were cochinita pibil and cabrito. I had not had cabrito in years, so I got excited about a restaurant serving "real /Mexican food" in Houston. To say that the flavor was bland is a compliment. The cochinita, piglet plate from Yucatan, and the cabrito, a plate from northern part of Mexico were served in pretty similar plates. Both wrapped in banana leaves. You never do that to the cabrito in Mexico. The cochinita was just edible, but tasteless. Then do not know that there is a condiment called achiote, and do not know anything about the sour oranges or the other ingredients to prepare cochinita. The cabrito was simply awful. It was something that I could not identify. It was either shredded beef or pork, deep fried, with no flavor at all. Cabrito is a plate that takes hours to prepare and does not use oil. What they brought me, wrapped in banana leaf as well as the Cochinita, was something disgusting. I was tempted to order some nopales but after looking at the poor quality of the nopales in the cabrito plate I decided not to order the nopales. Also, both paltes, cochinita and cabrito, were served with the same sauce. Something that pretended to improve the taste but was just as bad as the plates. We decided that maybe the desserts could save the day. No way!. The capirotada was really bread pudding and the chocolate mousse with pepper was bland and poorly done. The food is not Tex-Mex. It is not Mexican either. A friend described it as really expensive Tex-Mex without the cheddar. This place is expensive. Extremely expensive for the quality and work involved in what you get. They do not use authentic ingredients and the plates are not Mexican. In short, save your money and your taste buds. If you want authentic, flavorful Mexican food keep looking. I shall do the same. Avoid the valet parking. They parked my car really close to other cars. There were only six cars in the lot. I had to keep an eye on the driver so he would not hit my or any of the other cars. And then watch him "fly" for about 30 yards and slam the brakes in front of the restaurant and expect a tip. Enough said.
Footer Banner 2021
Get more reviews. Get more customers.

Get more reviews from your customers with Birdeye. Dominate search results. Beat local competitors. Grow your business. Easy, done.