Birdeye Logo White 2020
Watch Demo

Gotham Lasik Vision

Own this business?

This business is unclaimed. Owners who claim this profile can update information, boost SEO, and more.

Claim this business for free
5.0
83 reviews
|Ophthalmologists|New York, NY 10016

6 E 39th St, New York, NY 10016

(212) 581-1280

http://www.gothamlasik.com/

Closed now
Suggest edits
Top Healthcare in your area
5.0
(3) · Doctors

1301 Avenue J

(718) 284-1921
5.0
(1) · Ophthalmologists

158 Main St

(631) 427-1690
5.0
(194) · Surgeons

9201 4th Ave

(718) 921-2500
5.0
(302) · Ophthalmologists

336 West Passaic

(201) 514-7311
5.0
(1) · Doctors

55-15 Little Neck Pkwy

(718) 352-6700

1 person is looking at this business

5.0
(1) · Surgeons

515 Church St # 4

(732) 356-7283

2 people are looking at this business

About

Gotham Lasik Vision is located at 346 W 57th St, New York, NY. This business specializes in Laser Vision Correction, Opticians and Ophthalmology.

Suggest edits
BIRDEYE FOR BUSINESSES
Birdeye For Business

This profile is powered by Birdeye. Over 60,000 businesses use Birdeye everyday to get more reviews and manage all customer feedback. Birdeye helps millions of local businesses to be found online with all their reviews and accurate business information. Learn more about Birdeye

Birdeye Score

The Birdeye Score® is calculated based on our proprietary algorithm applied to customers reviews, weighted by a range of different factors.

Learn how the Birdeye Score® is calculated
5.0
83 reviews
51
  
40
  
30
  
20
  
10
  
82 reviews have no rating
  • 1 Review5.0Insider Pages
Sort By:
5 results available.
Recommended
bobantolli on Citysearch

12 years ago

09/24/2008, 01:39 AM
Nicest guy in the world! Knows his stuff. – My daughter got her lasik surgery done by Dr. Bonnani sometime in the spring for her wedding this past June. My wife(her mom) passed away 5 yrs ago so it was bittersweet day for all of us. I gave her away but we all thought of her mom not being there which was tough on everybody. But we knew she was looking down and smiling at our beautiful little girl tying the knot on her big day. We only just got the video from the wedding recently and when we were all looking at the wedding album shots and then the video my daughter says Dad you should get this lasik too like I did you got really nice blue eyes that no one can see behind your glasses. I tell her I am not looking to date anybody so what does it matter to me if anybody can see my eyes or not. But the truth is I guess it stayed in the back of my mind ever since my little girl said it to me. So she brings it up a few more times and I says I would go see her guy and check it out for myself and then decide. I live in Brooklyn so its not a bad ride and when I went into Gotham Lasik for my free consultation this guy(Dr. Bonnani) spends a whole lotta time with me and answers all my questions I got. Which was a lot. Then they had my eyes checked out to see if I could get the lasik which I could. Then we did a little negotiating and they made a better deal them my daughter got(which I didn't tell her and I figure its cause of the economy being worse now then when she got hers done). Anyway everything went lickity split with my surgery and I could see perfect 20-20. I was like woa this is amazing! I went back a week later the doc tells me everything looks great and asked if I would mind writing a review here for their Gotham Lasik because there's been some negative made up reviews about him. I tell him thats screwed up and no problem you did right by me you got it. So this is my review. It's gonna cost you some bucks but if you want it done right you go to Gotham Lasik and Dr. Bonnani who will fix you up. Thanks again doc.
daphneweinman on Citysearch

12 years ago

09/19/2008, 01:39 AM
Could not be happier. What a feeling of freedom. – I am one happy lady thanks to Dr. Bonnani and the nice people at Gotham Lasik. No more designer glasses for me( I wore the Sarah Palin style that is all the rage right now) that I was forever losing or breaking. I still reach for them on my night table every morning when I wake up out of habit over the last 30 yrs. I love anything that has to do with water be it swimming or just being caught in the rain or even taking a shower and I can see everything perfectly for the first time! I had my laser eye surgery done at Gotham Lasik 2 weeks ago. Dr. Bonnani asked me yesterday if I would mind writing a review because he had some competitors were making up false, negative reviews and posting them. I told him I would be very happy to write a review about my experience. I got him to laugh when I said maybe his competitors are getting too caught with up with all the mudslinging/negative campaigning in the presidential race and think now it is acceptable to try and do the same thing to their peers in the medical community like they watch happening in the news on TV. Speaking only for my own experience at Gotham Lasik I was very impressed from my initial consultation. I came in and was the only patient waiting to meet with Dr. Bonnani so I was actually able to meet with him at my scheduled time and not 30 or 60 minutes later like every other doctors office I go to seems to make me wait. The first thing he did was have me take a eye exam to see if I was a good candidate for lasik and I was told that I was a very good candidate. Then I met with Dr. Bonnani(who is a real sweetheart of a guy) and he took all the time I needed to make me feel comfortable about everything and answered my barrage of questions about what is the difference between all the different options that are available for laser eye surgery today and what would be the best one for me. Everything including the prices was gone over by his staff and I set up my date and my only regret at all was not doing it sooner!
salk11050 on Citysearch

12 years ago

09/11/2008, 01:00 AM
Please be careful. – After doing some research on the internet, i decided to go to Dr. Bonanni for a consultation. Upon entering his waiting room - I realized i was the only patient there. They took a few tests on my eyes and i met Dr. Bonanni -he checked my eyes and told me I was a "great candidate". A few weeks prior to my consultation I went to my regular eye doctor and he told me I was NOT a good candidate for lasix surgery because I had an eye disease. So the fact that Dr. Bonanni told me that I was a good candidate raised a red flag. I then met with someone who told me a price of $4500. I could not beleive how expensive Dr. Bonanni charges for lasix! He then told me i had to leave a deposit in order to keep this price and when I told him it was too expensive he became very annoyed and very pushy. He then started barganing with me and I told him I wanted another opinion before i decided. I was in the office for about 45 minutes and when I finally left I realized that I was still the ony patient. Pleas be careful and don't trust your eyes to this doctor and his office.
Featured content
Introducing Birdeye Interactions

Introducing Birdeye Interactions

Introducing Birdeye Interactions
How to respond to negative feedback from a customer

How to respond to negative feedback from a customer

How to respond to negative feedback from a customer
larrybergman on Citysearch

12 years ago

09/10/2008, 01:03 AM
Scuba Diving Heaven – Dr. Bonnani did my lasik surgery about a month ago and a few weeks ago I went on a scuba diving trip in Bermuda. I was a contacts wearer and let me tell ya it was a whole new world being able to see under water perfectly for the first time in my life! I know people who use special prescription diving masks(forget the pre-ground dive masks they sell in stores are ground down and are dangerously thin and scratch very easily) which cost several hundred dollars which is of course cheaper than several thousand dollars for lasik eye surgery. But I also play in a local basketball league & softball league and I need special prescription glassed for that too so there's another couple hundred dollars. And all of these things can break and eventually will need replacing in the future. So I finally talked myself into going for it and ponied up the dough for the surgery. I admit I was still questioning myself if I should spend the money or not right up to the day of the surgery. But I took the plunge and now I tell everybody I know that they should too. Not a day goes by that I don't say to myself how did I manage all these years to just keep wearing those pain in the a** contacts! I guess I'm a very active type of guy and because of that I appreciate the results more than the average guy might. I don't know. I just know it was the best thing I did. As far as Dr. Bonnani and the staff at Gotham Lasik their top notch super nice people. They treat you right and Dr. Bonnani takes as much time as you need answering any questions you have. I was not rushed in and out of the office and it was nice that when they scheduled me I didn't have to wait forever to see the doctor. Most doctor offices I have been to always seem to schedule 10 people all at the same time my appointment is for and then we are all just suppose to sit there with a big smile on our faces and wait around forever. I basically hate waiting for anything to be honest. Bottomline its all good at Gotham Lasik. Go for it!
gailchen1969 on Citysearch

12 years ago

08/27/2008, 01:02 AM
Dr. Bonnani is the best! – I went to Dr. Bonnani last week because my sister-in-law went to him last year and has been telling my whole family ever since how amazing it is to have perfect vision and not have to wear contacts anymore. I have been tuning her out until this summer when I started dating a guy(I am recently divorced) who owns a small sailboat and loves to sail here in Long Island. The wind on the water was doing a real number on my contacts and I was getting real frustrated over it. So I finally broke down and asked her for Dr. Bonnani's number and called Gotham Lasik and went in for a consultation back in July. Everything went great and I loved him & his staff & his office but I just didn't want to spend the money so I told him I would be in touch. Well, after another month of sailing I was ready because I wanted our sailing trips to be romantic and a chance for us to bond and I would have to take my contacts out and couldn't see anything! Ugh! I went out this past weekend for the first time since my surgery and it was fantastic! No more eyes tearing up from my contacts and I could see him and the beautiful water perfectly. It was quite romantic some wine & cheese ... Thank you Dr. Bonnani you are the best!
ginacalabro on Citysearch

12 years ago

08/16/2008, 01:19 AM
I am just amazed that I can see so clearly without my contacts! – I had my custom lasik surgery done by Dr. Bonnani at Gotham Lasik almost 2 weeks ago. My vision is better than 20/20! What I am really most amazed at was how I could see so perfectly the next day! Before I wrote my review I read the previous poster who said it's expensive(I don't know where she is getting the pricing she is referring to?) It is not a cheap procedure but it is surgery. I myself would be very nervous if I went to any place that offered bargain basement prices like your shopping at Walmart or something? Don't get me wrong I have shopped at Walmart and other discount stores I just don't want to get my surgery done at a place like that. I was the only person in the waiting room when I went in for my scheduled consultation but I thought that was good thing and a good job of scheduling because I value my time. I don't like to wait while another person is meeting with a doctor for an hour or so. That actually really gets me angry when I go to a doctors office and I have appointment scheduled and I walk in and there are other people there at my scheduled appointment time and I am waiting like my time is not as important as the doctors. So I was very happy that they know how to schedule properly. I guess because of this Dr. Bonnani really took a lot time with me to explain everything in detail. He answered all of my questions and addressed all of my concerns that I had heard about how some people really aren't good candidates for lasik eye surgery. To me the proof is in the pudding as my mother always says and I can see perfectly with no complications and no halos or other stuff you hear about. Thank you Dr. Bonnani and your very nice staff at Gotham Lasik I will happily be recommending you to my friends who want to retire their old glasses or contacts.
lindalee1976 on Citysearch

12 years ago

08/07/2008, 01:14 AM
No more contacts!!! – I was referred to Dr. Bonnani by one of my friends and a former patient Jessica Lipstein. She had her custom lasik eye surgery at Gotham Lasik back in June and was always going on about how it is the greatest thing in the world. I knew I was going to go to Dr. Bonnani because of her recommendation but I wanted to check out some reviews too on my own. So I read all the reviews here for all the doctors and I have to agree with the last person who posted here that so many of them just seem so fake. I won't say which doctor or practice but some have multiple reviews all on the same day and on several different days and one place had like 20 reviews all on the same day! One doctor claims to have written a book and I went to check it out and it was some ebook like you see all over the web nowadays which look like some cookie-cutter design that you buy and fill in some stuff and say you are an author! One doctor has a blog which really has nothing on it but I am thinking to myself when would a doctor with a successful practice have time to keep up with a blog? So I am glad I was able to get a personal recommendation from my friend Jessica instead of just relying on all the reviews that I have read at this site. As to my review of Gotham Lasik I was so impressed with Dr. Bonnani as a doctor and as a person too. I couldn't believe that I could see perfect the next morning after my eye surgery with no discomfort. The whole surgery was like 5 minutes. I didn't need any special bandages on my eyes or wait for my vision to improve in a few weeks or months(though Dr. Bonnani told me that my vision will actually get even better). I will be going back tomorrow for my 1 week follow up visit and that is it. No more contacts and I can see amazing!
nicole336 on Citysearch

12 years ago

08/07/2008, 01:13 AM
confusing, mind games, expensive! – To get to the point : came in the next day after making an appointment online, now i know why it was so easy, i was the only one there. The place is nice but when i sat down to go over price, they gave me two prices that pisssed me off. $5200 for a bladeless technolgy and $3500 for a older blade technolgy. a little desperate bargaining ( they started to drop like almost $2000 !!!and it scared me so i go home. now i'm freakin confused. i went to another place that told me that the blade is old technolgy and i should look for LASEK? help........are there any Honest and decent places for lasik?
jennyschwartz on Citysearch

12 years ago

07/23/2008, 01:01 AM
I made my decision after reading all the reviews here and on other sites. – I wrote a few weeks ago on this newyork.citysearch site that so many of the reviews didn't seem real. I think the main ones I was referring to were the Park Avenue ones but my review is actually not there for whatever reason so I can't say definitely. Unlike some people who have chosen based on referrals from former patients I just moved into the area(new job and recently divorced) and don't know anyone yet. So I based my decision on the reviews here and some other sites I found. I went with Dr. Bonnani and Gotham Lasik because of the reviews. They just seemed the most honest. They sounded real when they complain about the cost of eye surgery but admit they were getting surgery and not making some impulsive purchase like really expensive perfume. I also steered clear of the cheapo places for the very same reason because I knew I was getting surgery and certainly value my eyesight. Some reviewers said these other places advertised really low prices but then tried the old bait & switch once you came in for your consultation. I didn't feel like going through that. I am writing to say that I am very happy with my decision(and relieved) that I choose Dr. Bonnani and had my laser eye surgery done last week at Gotham Lasik. My vision is 20/20. I got divorced earlier this year and wanting to retire my old eyeglasses so I tried contacts for a few months and I just couldn't get use to them. I knew about lasik surgery for years but I didn't know anyone who had it done. Now I wish I did it sooner. I flew back home for a wedding this past weekend and my cousin just emailed some pix from the wedding online and I can't believe how much better(younger) I look without my glasses. I couldn't believe how fast the whole operation is. I think it was less than 10 minutes. I am very glad sites like this exist because I don't know what I would have based my decision on. It's surgery so I couldn't pick who is cheapest and feel like I was doing the right thing for my own health.
Footer Banner
Get more reviews. Get more customers.

Get more reviews from your customers with Birdeye. Dominate search results. Beat local competitors. Grow your business. Easy, done.