Birdeye Logo White 2020
Watch Demo

Gotham Lasik Vision

Own this business?

This business is unclaimed. Owners who claim this profile can update information, boost SEO, and more.

Claim this business for free
5.0
83 reviews
|Ophthalmologists|New York, NY 10016

6 E 39th St, New York, NY 10016

(212) 581-1280

http://www.gothamlasik.com/

Closed now
Suggest edits
Top Healthcare in your area
5.0
(194) · Surgeons

9201 4th Ave

(718) 921-2500
5.0
(3) · Doctors

1301 Avenue J

(718) 284-1921
5.0
(1) · Ophthalmologists

158 Main St

(631) 427-1690
5.0
(302) · Ophthalmologists

336 West Passaic

(201) 514-7311
5.0
(1) · Doctors

55-15 Little Neck Pkwy

(718) 352-6700

1 person is looking at this business

5.0
(1) · Surgeons

515 Church St # 4

(732) 356-7283

2 people are looking at this business

About

Gotham Lasik Vision is located at 346 W 57th St, New York, NY. This business specializes in Laser Vision Correction, Opticians and Ophthalmology.

Suggest edits
BIRDEYE FOR BUSINESSES
Birdeye For Business

This profile is powered by Birdeye. Over 60,000 businesses use Birdeye everyday to get more reviews and manage all customer feedback. Birdeye helps millions of local businesses to be found online with all their reviews and accurate business information. Learn more about Birdeye

Birdeye Score

The Birdeye Score® is calculated based on our proprietary algorithm applied to customers reviews, weighted by a range of different factors.

Learn how the Birdeye Score® is calculated
5.0
83 reviews
51
  
40
  
30
  
20
  
10
  
82 reviews have no rating
  • 1 Review5.0Insider Pages
Sort By:
5 results available.
Recommended
jenniferK on Citysearch

11 years ago

07/07/2009, 01:00 AM
BAD NEWS LASIK – I was considering laser eye surgery and many reviewers recommended checking out several places before making such a huge decision. Gotham, being highly rated, made my list to have a free consultation. Based on my consultation here, I was convinced that Dr. Bonnani was a fine laser eye surgeon with great bedside manners. I asked him tough questions and he answered them easily and thoroughly. I felt very comfortable with him. It's unfortunate his staff was inconsistent with the "refundable" deposit policy. At the end of the consultation I was handed over to a salesperson. Perhaps the salesperson was little desperate to secure me as a patient/client because everyone there knew I was looking at other laser eye surgery places. Though price was not an issue (I was prepared to invest) and I was in no hurry (although surgery the next month was nice-sounding), the salesperson offered me a reduced price if I put down a refundable deposit right then and there -- for a surgery date that was right after a consultation with another laser eye surgery place. At first, I refused. The dates were too close and I think there was a huge cancellation fee from either place. Most importantly, I needed time to compare all the other places I had seen and needed to see. The salesperson said Dr. Bonnani was very busy; securing a date wouldn't hurt. I asked him again if the deposit was refundable. He affirmed. I thought, "I guess... I can always get it back" and paid the deposit with my bank debit card and got a receipt. Once I left, I felt something was off. Before I saw Dr. Bonanni, the salesperson and receptionist kept asking me if I wanted coffee and a donut from their huge platter of donuts on the front desk. I've never been asked if I wanted a donut so many times within 10 or so minutes in my life. I said "No, thank you" several times and even told them I didn't drink coffee. They left me alone once I got something (tea). At the time, I thought they were being overly hospitable because it wasn't very busy in the waiting area. I should have taken this as a hint -- the salesperson wouldn't let me go unless I did something for their benefit. A few days later, I decided not to have laser eye surgery at Gotham. When I called to ask for my deposit back, a girl on the phone said my deposit was not refundable because I had signed a paper agreeing to that. I was stunned. Then I got upset. Why did the salesperson tell me otherwise? Is he allowed to go against their policy in order to secure patients? It took many phone calls and about 3 weeks to set the matter straight and get my deposit back. Dr. Bonanni even personally called me. He said he didn't know I was offered a refund at the consultation and explained the policy was set to help pay for preparation and supplies prior to the surgery. When the salesperson called, he kept mentioning a "business manager" that he had to clear the refund with. Lessons learned: Read everything you sign carefully, so that you will remember it later on (I read it too fast). Never put down a deposit unless you're absolutely sure. Or use an American Express Card because banks won't take back the money once the process is started (I learned this one after telling many older people about my experience). While I do recommend people to consider Dr. Bonanni if they want laser eye surgery, the rest of his business is equally important. In my case, the rest-of-the-business part stressed me out so much that I gave up on Dr. Bonanni. I wish I had stuck with my guns and not put down the deposit. Who knows, then maybe I would have had laser eye surgery by Dr. Bonanni months later. I hope my review and critique helps improve Gotham Lasik.
Dangs on Citysearch

11 years ago

06/04/2009, 01:12 AM
Eye Ball Surgery – I had LASIKS eye surgery performed by Dr. B a little over a year ago. The following is a step by step description of my experience, and long term effects (1 year isn't really long but most posts on here are only 2 weeks post-op). The moment you get in the office you will notice a 20/20 segment playing on the television, featuring DR. B. They then offer you hot chocolate to accompany your eye surgery. They will run a couple tests to make sure you are a candidate. This is when it is important to ask the Dr. exactly how many cases HE had go wrong. Dr. B explained not many, so I was ready to do it. I got my surgery done on the same day I went for my consultation. SURGERY: Dr. B then asks you to lay down and tapes your eyelids so as they do not interfere. He then puts some drops in your eye. This is were it gets a bit intimidating, but its quick. You will feel a great sucking over the eye...everything goes dark....then you smell the incision, your vision comes back, and they do the next eye. They prop you up, you squeeze the little gell ball, and sit in a room for fifteen minutes making sure not to open your eye. It does sting, and you might have the urge to itch them. You then will hopefully be taken home by someone, relax, wear your night goggles, and when you wake up you will be able to see 20/20. Overall I would recommend Gotham. It was pricey but seeing all the pictures of Avril Lavigne and Colin Farrel made me want to pour the free hot chocolate all over my head/eyes.
T C. on Insider Pages

12 years ago

05/14/2009, 01:00 AM
Wow, My Vision is Fantastic Went around to many of the laser centers and doctors, but no one really could compare with Dr. Bonanni and Gotham Lasik. I did plenty of research and had been hesitant for a long time to have any sort of laser correction. I am so glad I went here. My vision is better than 20/20 and beats any vision I had with glasses. I love Dr. B and the staff. They all treated me so nicely, even when I was a pain with all my questions and fears. There was no 'bait and switch' tactics like so many of the other places advertising $399 and eye. In fact, the price at Gotham was comparable to most other places. And their technology and experience is beyond any other place I visited. I can't recommend them enough. They (and the results) are great!
Featured content
How to Solicit Reviews on Facebook and Google

How to Solicit Reviews on Facebook and Google

How to Solicit Reviews on Facebook and Google
How to write a review on Google

How to write a review on Google

How to write a review on Google
AMcG51 on Citysearch

12 years ago

05/13/2009, 01:28 AM
Best Service By Far – I was at the lasik office about 2 months ago, and my experience could not be better! Not only was the doctor great and very patient to my needs, the staff were a pleasure as well. Through my whole visit, from the first consult, everything went great. Dr. Bonanni went over everything about the surgery and after it, so I was completely prepared.. I highly reccomend anyone who wants to get Lasik done, to do it at Gotham!
billnyc1980 on Citysearch

12 years ago

03/12/2009, 01:12 AM
I finally did it! – I finally took the plunge and got my lasik eye surgery done last week! I went from eyeglasses to contacts but I was would have all these weird type of problems with my eyes every once in awhile. My last incident a few weeks I got a bad infection and I finally said enough already. My older sister had her lasik surgery done by Dr. Bonnani at Gotham Lasik last year and loved it. I am like really, really loved it to the point she would start to be annoying talking about it to me over the holidays. "I gotta go to Dr. Bonnai, he's the best!" and I was like yeah, yeah, yeah pass the mash potatoes. But I finally listened to my big sis and all I can say is she was so right! I promised her I would write a review(she wrote one too last year when she had her surgery done). So I did, I love it, the freedom you feel is the best part and you can see great, I now have actually better than 20-20 vision!
DevonW on Citysearch

12 years ago

01/26/2009, 00:11 AM
The results are in!!!!! It's 20/15!!!!!! – So I told my favorite eye doctor that if Obama won the election I would finally get the procedure from him that my wife had done three years ago. I had been hesitant to do it even though my wife got great results. I decided that I couldn't miss out on seeing the first black president take the oath of office and wanted to go to Washington without my glasses fogging up in the cold or with all my contact lens solutions. I just want to say I had a really great and professional experience from the start at Gotham. Dr. B and President Obama have something in common - they are both winners in my book.
theperm222 on Citysearch

12 years ago

12/01/2008, 00:23 AM
Amazing job, great friendly staff, wonderful experience – I was a little hesitant in considering lasek surgery due to the risks and stories of things that may go wrong, but Dr. Bonanni helped me feel right at home, spent a good couple of hours with me during consultation, ran all the tests, and answered all of my questions and concerns. I did not feel pressured at all, and decided to get the surgery shortly after my initial consultation. I am happy to say that my vision is now 20/15 after post operating tests and I could not be happier with the service, the price, and the results. I will definitely be sending more of my friends and colleagues his way. Thanks Dr. Bonanni!! Vincent
alisha1984girl on Citysearch

12 years ago

10/22/2008, 01:12 AM
Wow! – Dr. Bonnani and Gotham Lasik really are the nicest of any of the 3 places I went to check out. One place advertised cheap prices but wanted me to get their most expensive procedure when I met with them(naturally big shock). The other place had the normal lasik pricing like Gotham Lasik but the recovery sounded weird like sit in the dark for 4 days or something bizarre like that so I was like yeah right I don't think so! It's a little to close to Halloween for that and it just sounds creepy like somebody could break into my apartment and rob me or worse and I wouldn't be able to see anything for 4 days? I really liked and felt comfortable with Dr. Bonnani from the moment I met him and his super nice staff(hi Cali!) they couldn't do enough for me the whole time I was there and in my follow up visit too. But the best part is I can see better than 20-20! Dr. Bonnani told me what # it was like 20-something but I don't remember I know its lower than 20 though. I am not great with remembering little details and stuff like that. Sorry don't be mad at me Dr. Bonnani!!! If your gonna get lasik and you should because you'll see like amazing go to Dr. Bonnani and Gotham Lasik!(hi Cali-thanks again for being so nice and everything)
beth1980 on Citysearch

12 years ago

10/07/2008, 01:15 AM
Simply wonderful! Especially if you are a dancer like me. – I use to dance professionally for a living a couple of years ago and gave it up because I was getting older and needed more money. Now I am married but still dance to keep in shape and I literally sweat to the point that my eyes sting and burn from it. My contacts would bother me and I would have to take them out but then I couldn't see anything but I just always resigned myself to not being able to see when I was dancing. My girlfriend went to Dr. Bonnani at Gotham Lasik before she got married over the summer because she didn't want to wear her glasses on her wedding day. I was in her bridal party(she was a gorgeous bride and it was a beautiful day too) and she told me about the whole lasik procedure at Gotham Lasik and I should definitely get it done too. I told her she should have gotten it done a long time ago because she looks even prettier without her glasses(she can't wear contacts for some reason). When she showed me her wedding album last month she mentioned again to me I should go in to see Dr. Bonnani and I told her I would go in for the free consultation. So I finally went in 2 weeks ago an loved Dr. Bonnani and his staff and had my lasik surgery done last week. I went back for my follow up visit yesterday and now have 20/15 vision with absolutely no complications what so ever! Dr. Bonnani(who is one of the nicest people I have ever met) asked if I would write a review here because some competitors made up false ones about him(reminds of the presidential attack ads I see everyday on TV which is pretty sad). So I am writing to tell everybody to go to Dr. Bonnani at Gotham Lasik! You will love the freedom of no more glasses or contacts!
Footer Banner
Get more reviews. Get more customers.

Get more reviews from your customers with Birdeye. Dominate search results. Beat local competitors. Grow your business. Easy, done.