Birdeye Logo White 2020
Watch Demo

Elway's

Claim this profile

This business is unclaimed. Owners who claim this profile can update information, boost SEO, and more.

Claim this business for free
4.4
543 reviews
|Steakhouses|Denver, CO 80206

2500 E 1st Ave #101, Denver, CO 80206

(303) 399-5353

https://www.elways.com/

Closed now

Google

Suggest edits
Top Restaurants in your area
4.8
(297) · Restaurants

8433 Park Meadows Center Dr

(303) 792-2571
4.7
(2993) · Restaurants

5085 S Syracuse St

(303) 770-7300
4.7
(3069) · Restaurants

1801 California St. #150 CenturyLink building lobby level

(303) 293-8500
4.6
(418) · Steakhouses

101 Pratt St

(303) 651-3330
4.5
(289) · Restaurants

5515 Vance St

(303) 423-1185
4.4
(1378) · Restaurants

707 15th St

(303) 825-0713
About

Two friends, John Elway and Tim Schmidt came together to create this restaurant. They put together a menu that's always evolving and a wine list with prices that won't burn a hole in your pocket. The restaurant boasts of serving the freshest food and there is a lot on offer to tickle your palate. The duck tacos, shrimp cocktail, lamb fondue and cured meat board are a must from the range of starters. From the main course, go for the crab fried rice, prime rib, Hawaiian sun fish and steak loaf. The wine list is extensive, with wines from Australia, Argentina, Spain and California waiting to accompany you on your gourmet journey.

Suggest edits
BIRDEYE FOR BUSINESSES
Birdeye For Business

This profile is powered by Birdeye. Over 70,000 businesses use Birdeye everyday to get more reviews and manage all customer feedback. Birdeye helps millions of local businesses to be found online with all their reviews and accurate business information. Learn more about Birdeye

4.4
543 reviews
5334
  
479
  
329
  
217
  
125
  
59 reviews have no rating
Sort By:
Recommended
mlaire review for Elway's
mlaire on Citysearch

14 years ago

09/19/2008, 01:27 AM
Go here for Brunch! – I first went to Elway's a few years ago when it first opened. I remember the scene very well - very "see and be seen" with our favorite Cherry Creek cougars getting sloshed on $15 martinis at the over-polished bar. I can't say I cared for it. The entrees were slightly above-average with unnecessarily large portions and the side items cost a fortune. It all lead up to an annoyingly pretentious experience. I tried again about 3 weeks after this experience and had the same result - so I decided to write Elway's off my list. I'm glad a friend talked me into going back - this time for Brunch. We're some of those people who "brunch" nearly every weekend. We try new places each time - and have a few favorite standbys (Le Central for $2 mimosa Saturdays - Vita for their fab french toast - Lucile's for the beignets). This particular week, we were doing some shopping and decided to go to Elway?s. It was pouring, and the valet was extremely attentive, and even managed to keep my shoes dry. The brunch entrees were extremely reasonable in price - and the portions were perfect (if not a little big!) When I say reasonable - I mean $7 for a full meal. Yes...$7. Some entrees also include crab or steak (worth it!) for a reasonable $15-20. No crazy side item upcharges, just great food in a quiet atmosphere (the cougars were asleep, I surmised). So go there for brunch - and if you're penny pinching - skip the still-pricey mimosas and try the gourmet coffee.
Angela T. review for Elway's
Angela T. on Insider Pages

14 years ago

08/04/2008, 13:45 PM
Excellent Steak House Denvers most famous sports hero has turned his skills to the restaurant business. Elways is a beautiful steakhouse in the Cherry Creek neighborhood. Not only do they have a huge patio which is perfect 3 seasons of the year - the bar space is also large and comfortable.
tamstrat review for Elway's
tamstrat on Citysearch

14 years ago

06/23/2008, 11:43 AM
Great dining experience – My husband and I recently ate at Elway's for our wedding anniversary. We had made a reservation through Opentable and were seated immediately upon our arrival, at exactly our reservation time. This was on a Saturday night and it was very busy so I was impressed that there was not a wait as some other reviewers have mentioned. We had 2 servers and both were excellent, well informed and yet non obtrusive. Our drinks were kept refilled and they were very informed about the menu. The food was excellent as well, the steaks prepared just exactly as we ordered them and the sides were yummy as well. The manager came to our table at one point to inquire how our meal was going. I felt the service all around was excellent. I don't understand the negative reviews except to say either someone came in on an off night or the management has stepped up to correct any problems. I would highly recommend Elway's for a nice dinner out.
Featured content
What Does Birdeye Cost?

What Does Birdeye Cost?

What Does Birdeye Cost?
The Ultimate Guide to Responding to Reviews

The Ultimate Guide to Responding to Reviews

The Ultimate Guide to Responding to Reviews
upper9o review for Elway's
upper9o on Citysearch

14 years ago

05/19/2008, 14:48 PM
Don't Bother with a Reservation - You'll Wait & Wait – We had an 815 reservation and were not sat for over an hour. Our drink glasses were dirty with lipstick marks, no cocktail service in the bar/lounge area, table was off center and my husband was sat under a harsh spotlight, food was delivered to the wrong table, and water glasses were NEVER refilled. Food was good but not worth the price. Overall experience was HORRIBLE. NOT WORTH THE MONEY.
baconnic review for Elway's
baconnic on Citysearch

14 years ago

04/03/2008, 08:55 AM
Perfect filet – Elways?s is one of our favorite places to go for filet. We?ve been there on multiple occasions for both dinner and Sunday brunch. Every time we?ve gone we?ve made reservations and our table has always been ready as promised. The wait staff is always wonderful and although they know a lot about the menu I would overall describe them as ?fun, welcoming, & friendly? (in a good way, and we know most of them now). One of the managers, Lucy Allen, typically makes rounds at all the guest tables and asks for feedback and makes recommendations. The food is truly outstanding and I think they have the best filet anywhere. My husband gets the 12 oz filet and I get the 8 oz, we both like them rare. The side dishes are all wonderful with our favorites being the broccolini with saba syrup and the creamed spinach. My husbands favorite appetizer is the calamari (not my favorite as I don?t like the peppers and it reminds me of the calamari at The Capitol Grille) and my favorite is the beef tartare. Their wedge salad is simply perfect. Their brunch is also very good and the Bloody Mary?s are wonderful and are served with a large cocktail shrimp. The atmosphere varies depending on the night of the week and time of day. I?ve gone after work while dressed up, on weekends in jeans with a nice sweater or shirt, and on Sunday mornings in jeans and a sweatshirt. Sunday mornings seem to be the most casual as a lot of people go there before going to football games. The bar area can definitely be a ?scene? and a pick up joint for adults (35 to 65 year olds) which we find amusing at times. Also, if you?re a John Elway fan (we?re Redskins fans but everyone is still nice to us) your chances of seeing him there are high.
NNDK4 review for Elway's
NNDK4 on Citysearch

14 years ago

03/30/2008, 02:42 AM
We were impressed – After reading some reviews on Elways (Cherry Creek location) I was really nervous about taking my husband and friends there for my Husbands birthday. I decided to make reservation and give it a chance though. I am so happy that I did. We heard that people had to wait regardless of reservations. We went expecting to wait at the bar, but were seated right away. We had two wonderful waiters (one in training I assume) who were both extremely eager to please, as was the manager of the restaurant who checked in with us to make sure we were happy with our meal. Our water and drinks were always filled, and we always had food at the table. Our waiter gave us suggestions as well as answered any questions we had as to the food or the way something was cooked. We all got different meals and they were all amazing, Halibut was fabulous, as was the Filet, porterhouse, cauiliflour, asperagus, shrimp cocktail, and the salads. The restaurant was a little loud, we sat near the front close to the bar so it might be a little more quiet further into the restaurant, but we didn't mind since we were with a small group. It was quite expensive for a group of four, but I knew that going into it so it wasn't so bad, not ot mention we had drinks which add up quickly. I don't think we would dine there regularly because of the cost, but it was a great place for a special occasion and my husband was very happy with my choice in restaurant. It was a great restaurant although I WOULD NOT recommend it as somewhere to take the kiddos (which thank goodness we didn't), but great for a night away,
slfk99 review for Elway's
slfk99 on Citysearch

14 years ago

03/24/2008, 01:40 AM
delicious food/mediocre service – A few days ago, I dined with my parents and a friend at Elways. Since there was a wait for seating, we approached the bar for pre-dinner drinks... the bartender was extremely rude and took way too long to even acknowledge us. As a previous bartender and restaurant industry member for over 8 years, I expect quality service, especially from a four-start restaurant. The service continued to lack as we were seated. We had a combination of two servers who were very snobby and had little to say to us as the night went on. Even though the service was mediocre, the food was pretty tasty. The steak chili was spicy and delicious, especially with sour cream, cheddar cheese, and onions on top. The Asian salad and Greek Salads were also worth ordering.
billiamJ review for Elway's
billiamJ on Citysearch

14 years ago

03/02/2008, 02:45 AM
rude service! – The food was excellent but the service was so rude it ruined the experience. The hostesses talked among themselves rather than greeted guests. The staff was annoyed we ordered off the 52.80 menu -which we had to ask for. During 5280 week we ate at 4 restaurants, Elways was the ONLY one that made you ask for that menu. Additionally, they left us sitting there for no less than 10 minutes with the menus- no one would take our order. The wait staff barely spoke to us and would not make eye contact. Overall, I would never eat there again. No food is good enough to put up with that snobiness.
docuwize review for Elway's
docuwize on Citysearch

14 years ago

12/02/2007, 12:55 PM
Don't Believe All The Reviews... I Was Very Surprised... GREAT SERVICE... GREAT FOOD !! – Ok.. First of all. My wife read the reviews and was concerned about the service and food. My wife made reservations for my Birthday..My wife had all the Broncos's sign a game ball for me so she thought Elway's would be a great place to give me the gift. NOW.. i had never been to Elway's and I was not sure what to expect. I entertain a lot so I eat at the fine restaurants. Valet was great and the front door was a couple steps from the car. I was very...very surprised at the quality of the service. With two people at our table the service ran like a fine sewing machine.. very impressed. Then the food came. The appetizers were great and so was the selection. I am going out on a limb here but I thought the Ribye was the best in Denver. Hard to believe since I have had steaks at all the top steak houses...but yes the steak was amazing. The sides were also good. I had the Birthday chocolate covered ding/dong but did not get to try their fine deserts. Wine and port selection was also very good. Overall I was very impressed with everything and I will be back. Great job Elway's.
Footer Banner 2021
Get more reviews. Get more customers.

Get more reviews from your customers with Birdeye. Dominate search results. Beat local competitors. Grow your business. Easy, done.