Birdeye Logo White 2020
Watch Demo

Elway's

Claim this profile

This business is unclaimed. Owners who claim this profile can update information, boost SEO, and more.

Claim this business for free
4.4
543 reviews
|Steakhouses|Denver, CO 80206

2500 E 1st Ave #101, Denver, CO 80206

(303) 399-5353

https://www.elways.com/

Closed now

Google

Suggest edits
Top Restaurants in your area
4.8
(297) · Restaurants

8433 Park Meadows Center Dr

(303) 792-2571

1 person is looking at this business

4.7
(2794) · Restaurants

5085 S Syracuse St

(303) 770-7300

4 people are looking at this business

4.7
(2775) · Restaurants

1801 California St. #150 CenturyLink building lobby level

(303) 293-8500

1 person is looking at this business

4.5
(414) · Steakhouses

101 Pratt St

(303) 651-3330

3 people are looking at this business

4.5
(264) · Restaurants

5515 Vance St

(303) 423-1185

1 person is looking at this business

4.4
(1775) · Steakhouses

19192 CO-8

(303) 697-4771

2 people are looking at this business

About

Two friends, John Elway and Tim Schmidt came together to create this restaurant. They put together a menu that's always evolving and a wine list with prices that won't burn a hole in your pocket. The restaurant boasts of serving the freshest food and there is a lot on offer to tickle your palate. The duck tacos, shrimp cocktail, lamb fondue and cured meat board are a must from the range of starters. From the main course, go for the crab fried rice, prime rib, Hawaiian sun fish and steak loaf. The wine list is extensive, with wines from Australia, Argentina, Spain and California waiting to accompany you on your gourmet journey.

Suggest edits
BIRDEYE FOR BUSINESSES
Birdeye For Business

This profile is powered by Birdeye. Over 70,000 businesses use Birdeye everyday to get more reviews and manage all customer feedback. Birdeye helps millions of local businesses to be found online with all their reviews and accurate business information. Learn more about Birdeye

4.4
543 reviews
5334
  
479
  
329
  
217
  
125
  
59 reviews have no rating
Sort By:
5 results available.
Recommended
Jennifer K. review for Elway's
Jennifer K. on Citysearch

8 years ago

12/04/2013, 14:28 PM
I feel like this location has went down hill fairly recent. The staff is not very friendly and the food quality hasn't been what it used to be. We came here last weekend and between our group, two of our steaks were so undercooked, while another one was burnt. The server seemed irritated when we sent back two super rare steaks (they wanted them medium and medium well). The others finished their meals by the time the steaks came out. We will not be back
jumpr review for Elway's
jumpr on Citysearch

10 years ago

11/29/2011, 05:36 AM
Nice place, but good food....not so much – Just went to Elway's this past weekend for a special occasion. We were looking forward to a great meal, considering the prices, but were very disappointed with the food. Shrimp cocktail - biggest shrimp I've ever seen, but not much flavor Salmon - overdone Steak - Here's where the real story begins.... I ordered the large Fillet, expecting a decent tenderloin. I'm a steak lover and have eaten fillets all over the world at some very high end restaurants, so I'm pretty knowledgeable about steaks. When the steak came it was relatively thin and flat and looked like a NY strip. I cut into it and was surprised by the amount of fat and the consistency of the meat....nothing like a tenderloin. I enjoy a good NY Strip, but not when I am paying for a high end fillet. In all my dining years I've only ever sent a steak back once before. When I mentioned that the cut did not seem like a Fillet they were very apologetic and took the steak back without questions. When they brought me another one it was the same thing, thin, fatty and not at all like a good Fillet. So, not sure if they had a new cook on that night who didn't know the difference, or what was going on, but don't go there if you are looking for a good steak! For what it's worth, the service was very good and the wine list was good, but also on the expensive side.
freeliving review for Elway's
freeliving on Citysearch

10 years ago

08/05/2011, 14:56 PM
It's Not Elway's, but he eats here for free! – First off, I used to patronize this restaurant 2-3 times per week @ $50-$120 a hit for about 1 year. The more I frequented the place the worse and ruder the bar tenders became toward me. Yes, you know the two I'm talking about. I once tipped a waiter in San Francisco $150 for a two hundred dollar meal because the service was so personalized, so I think I know how to tip. But, the more I came in the sicker I got of watching other customers treated better than me, so I quit going there. At first I just started tipping according to service (15%, 10%, 5%, 0%), and then once the bar tenders hated me enough on my low tips I just quit going. Keep up the good business Elways - stay loyal to your staff.
Featured content
Why You Should Display Reviews on Your Website

Why You Should Display Reviews on Your Website

Why You Should Display Reviews on Your Website
How to Solicit Reviews on Facebook and Google

How to Solicit Reviews on Facebook and Google

How to Solicit Reviews on Facebook and Google
r sand review for Elway's
r sand on Citysearch

11 years ago

05/14/2011, 08:46 AM
Elways - won't be back! – Nice ambiance for dinner but.... hostesses were unfriendly and waitstaff was aloof and condescending. The level of service and quality of food is not comensurate with the high prices. I ordered a glass of wine, enjoyed it and when finished the waiter asked "Do you wanna another one of these"? I was taked aback. I ordered the same menu item as the person sitting across from me, who ordered first, and the waiter asked "Do you want it just like him"? Just like him??? Did he mean on a plate? I answered that I would like it "medium" The macaroni was dry,the asparagus plain, and the creamed corn tasted like it just came out of a can. Won't be back as the prices are high and the service not good and the food is mediocre There are much better restaurants in Denver and you don't loose your wallet. It was an unpleasant experience.
cath999 review for Elway's
cath999 on Citysearch

11 years ago

10/10/2010, 04:38 AM
Nasty foood, mixed service, pretty place – Thank goodness they had biscuits so we could tide ourselves over until we could get home and eat. The "Hollaindaise" wasn't hollondaise it was some disgusting mustard mayo sauce (neither mayo or mustard are ingredients in Hollaindaise). The onlettes were crusty, dried out and overcooked, even the fruit wasn't ripe. The breakfast potaoes were ok. The service was mostly ok and the staff was friendly except we never got water refills and most people were done w/ their dessert before we got our icevcream. I regret going and can't get that gross mustard mayo taste out of my mouth.
MtnDenver review for Elway's
MtnDenver on Citysearch

11 years ago

07/29/2010, 03:39 AM
Amazing place for lunch – Up until this point, I had only been to Elways on the bar side. This time we had a big table of people for lunch and I was impressed. The food was excellent. The lobster club was just right (although more lobster would have been good - it seemed like it had more bread than necessary) but it was still very tasty. The service was very friendly and accommodating. The dessert Ding Dong is AMAZING. I wish the lunch prices were a bit lower but I do recommend this place for sure.
Vickbud review for Elway's
Vickbud on Citysearch

12 years ago

05/18/2010, 12:46 PM
Disappointment – Daughters graduation celebration. Ordered 3 steaks out of 4 people, sent all 3 back. All 3 steaks were sitting in a pool of blood. 2 steaks were ordered Med-Well and 1 was Med. Sent 2 of the steaks back, they came back bloody, again. We gave up at that point. Appetizers, ordered the coconut shirmp, over cooked. 5 star restuarant with 2 star food. They have either kids cooking in the kitchen or cooks without proper expereince. My one and only visit.
Frank Russo review for Elway's
Frank Russo on Citysearch

12 years ago

03/10/2010, 12:42 PM
Steak okay, ambiance amazing – This was one of the three restaurants my wife and I visited during 5280. We went to Elways, the Melting Pot and Vista dipping grill. First of all, the servers had zero personality. ZERO. No introduction, no smile, nothing. The first thing one of them said (after about a 5-7 min. wait) was "Would you like anything to drink?" No reccomendations, nothing. You can tell that Management hasn't spent enough time training their staff to appreciate every customer and to help build the base. Their obliviousness is the reason I or my wife will never be back. The food is pretty good. They served a very fatty prime rib, salmon (didn't try it) and a nice peice of sirloin. Before you all yawn at the sirloin, understand it was a 10 oz cut cooked perfectly. Very good. The red pepper soup was amazing. The side dishes were very good. We ordered the corn and potatoes. Amazing stuff here. Lot's of flavor with a home cooking feel. Dessert was a waste of time. Lollipops? I knew what we were getting in to with 5280 because of the online menu, but these were pathetic. The table next to us joked about it as well. Note to Elways: 5280 is a time to showcase your restaurant. From the ambiance to the service to the food. You did ok on all three. I'm not suggesting you give away the house, but you should ATTEMPT TO BLOW PEOPLES MINDS. Just like Vesta and The Melting Pot did.
Kelli S. review for Elway's
Kelli S. on Insider Pages

12 years ago

02/21/2010, 05:43 AM
Great Food The food at Elway's is delicious! The wait staff is very friendly and efficient. This is a first class place to dine!!
Footer Banner 2021
Get more reviews. Get more customers.

Get more reviews from your customers with Birdeye. Dominate search results. Beat local competitors. Grow your business. Easy, done.