Logo White
Watch Demo

Maymont Foundation

Own this business?
4.7
1930 reviews
|Hospitality|Richmond, VA 23220

1700 Hampton St, Richmond, VA 23220

(804) 358-7166

Open now:10:00 am - 7:00 pm

Google

Facebook

Suggest edits

Top Hospitality in your area

Balloons To Go
5.0
(2) · Hospitality

13546 Waterford Place

(804) 495-9883

About

Maymont Park is a 100-acre stretch of verdant green in southern Richmond. The serene park lands dotted by myriad trees with rich vegetation, flora and fauna that are a treat to the eyes. Within the park is located the sprawling Maymont Mansion, an esteemed venue for weddings, private bashes, concerts and a host of other events. The 'Italian Garden' with is gorgeous statues and fountains and the 'Japanese Garden' with its soft, intimate ambiance and beautiful waterfalls are major attractions at Maymont Park. Horticulture enthusiasts can take a round of the Arboretum, while leisure-seekers can enjoy the cool shades of trees. Maymont Park is a delightful oasis by Richmond's Lakeside. Check webs

Suggest edits

BIRDEYE FOR BUSINESSES

Birdeye For Business

This profile is powered by BirdEye. Over 50,000 businesses use BirdEye everyday to get more reviews and manage all customer feedback. BirdEye helps millions of local businesses to be found online with all their reviews and accurate business information. Learn more about BirdEye

BirdEye Score

The BirdEye Score® is calculated based on our proprietary algorithm applied to customers reviews, weighted by a range of different factors.

Learn how the BirdEye Score® is calculated
4.7
1,930 reviews
51,485
  
4381
  
345
  
29
  
110
  
  • 1929 Reviews4.7Trip Advisor
  • 1 Review3.0Insider Pages
Sort By:
5 results available.
Recommended
nickims2 on Trip Advisor

2 months ago

07/09/2019, 01:15 AM
Beautiful gardens
I am a photographer so this was like a wonderland of flowers....beautiful grounds and buildings. Worth going out of the way for!
markbI4941AC on Trip Advisor

2 months ago

07/07/2019, 05:27 AM
What a treasure!
My wife and I loved the grounds of this special place in Richmond. We strongly recommend the carriage ride to really get a sense of the grounds. Amazingly unique trees and the Japanese and Italian gardens were wonderful
bluejay377 on Trip Advisor

2 months ago

07/07/2019, 04:19 AM
Impressive Urban Oasis
A very pleasant surprise. Went here in May without prior investigation, and we were amazed at the scope and breadth of this marvelous estate. Admission appears to be on a voluntary, charitable basis which was really surprising considering the acreage required for care. As a result, we all felt the animal exhibits were showing their age. I was especially put off by the bobcat enclosure, that to me, resembled a glorified corn crib. It's not a function of abuse. It's totally a function of funding renovations to display their critters in a modern, zoo type environment.
The Japanese garden rivals the Lewis Gitner Japanese garden. Even though the total number of plant specie
...  more>>
Featured content
Hotel Reputation Management Strategy - 10 Useful Tips to Enhance It

Hotel Reputation Management Strategy - 10 Useful Tips to Enhance It

Hotel Reputation Management Strategy - 10 Useful Tips to Enhance It
9 advantages of having good customer service reviews for hotels

9 advantages of having good customer service reviews for hotels

9 advantages of having good customer service reviews for hotels
Robert S on Trip Advisor

2 months ago

07/05/2019, 05:50 AM
Amazing property and a really good home tour.
This is a breath taking property and perfect picture of affluent opulence. The mansion has 98 percent all original furniture, artwork, everything and it is a sight to see. The tour guide made our visit especially good with all of her knowledge of the house and the family that owned it. There is alot to see and we only visited the mansion and a few gardens but we will go again if we are back in the area.
Jim F on Trip Advisor

3 months ago

07/02/2019, 05:46 AM
Great way to spend a morning
We spent the night in Richmond passing through on our way to VA Beach. Looking for something to do with our daughter, our friend suggested Maymont.
There was an event going on for kids that she really enjoyed, and after we got through that we spent time wandering around looking at the wildlife.
We'd love to come back next time we're in the area.
If you're coming with kids, be sure to wear walking shoes (there's lots of walking) and apply sunscreen.
TrainingTravelBob on Trip Advisor

3 months ago

07/02/2019, 04:03 AM
What an oasis!
There are so many things to do here, by yourself, with your family, with older or younger kids. The mansion offers a free tour (with a suggested $5 donation) that walks you back over 100 years, with stories, decorations, and furnishings that a quite beautiful. There is a petting zoo -- mostly goats when we were there. There are two gardens associated with the grounds. The upper garden is quite beautiful and very traditional. The lower garden is a Japanese garden, which is quite exquisite. Walking down many steps, with a wonderful waterfall next to you, you eventually come to an area that I didn't expect -- so peaceful and so much to look at: the landscaping, the pond, the larg
...  more>>
saintabby on Trip Advisor

3 months ago

07/02/2019, 03:11 AM
So beautiful, interesting, expansive
Our friends brought us here while we were visiting and we liked it so much we returned a few days later. The grounds are so well cared for and beautiful. I could walk in the Japanese gardens all day! We took the mansion tour too and found it so interesting. A wonderful gem in the city of Richmond!
Shineola on Trip Advisor

3 months ago

06/30/2019, 06:18 AM
Great way to spend a day and free too (mostly.)
We had a busy weekend in Richmond for a wedding and decided to take a day to check out Maymont. What a gem. The gardens are free to wander around and the beautiful house is only $5 to see. Do not miss the Japanese garden. I could spend all day there. The home is a perfect example of the Gilded Age and the opulence amazing. A very good time for relaxing.
LenEvanston on Trip Advisor

3 months ago

06/29/2019, 01:03 AM
Amazing!!
While there are a variety of activities ( Japanese and Italian gardens, animals,nature center and special events), we did the hour long guided tour of the 1893 mansion. The period furniture and room decor are outstanding. Wear comfortable shoes if you plan to walk the grounds,
Footer Banner

Get more reviews. Get more customers.

Get more reviews from your customers with BirdEye. Dominate search results. Beat local competitors. Grow your business. Easy, done.