Birdeye Logo White 2020
Watch Demo

Jibarra

Claim this profile

This business is unclaimed. Owners who claim this profile can update information, boost SEO, and more.

Claim this business for free
2.8
89 reviews
|Other|Raleigh, NC 27601 United States

327 W Davie St, Raleigh, NC 27601 United States

(919) 755-0556

https://jibarra.net/

Closed now

Facebook

Suggest edits
Top Other in your area
5.0
(1) · Other

8009 Creedmoor Rd Ste 103

(919) 213-6586
5.0
(2) · Other

1675 Dabney Dr

(252) 492-5011
5.0
(1) · Other

3718 Benson Dr

(919) 783-6771
5.0
(1) · Other

3909 S Wilmington St

(919) 661-0001
5.0
(17) · Other

107 Edinburgh South Drive

(919) 462-0016
5.0
(2) · Other

388 Venture Dr

(919) 938-0811
About

Jibarra aims to introduce a novel approach to Mexican cuisine. We take deep-rooted, traditional Mexican dishes, use modern cooking techniques and present them in a contemporary way. You combine that with a unique Spanish & South American wine list, and margaritas made with the best tequila and freshest ingredients and you get amazing results. We are located in the historic Raleigh Depot building. The former train depot, built in 1912, provides an open, high-energy atmosphere. In the center, our Tequila Tower dominates the space, showcasing all our premium tequila bottles. Whether it be a casual weekday lunch or dinner, a multi-course experience or just hanging out at our bar, come check us o

Suggest edits
BIRDEYE FOR BUSINESSES
Birdeye For Business

This profile is powered by Birdeye. Over 70,000 businesses use Birdeye everyday to get more reviews and manage all customer feedback. Birdeye helps millions of local businesses to be found online with all their reviews and accurate business information. Learn more about Birdeye

2.8
89 reviews
53
  
41
  
32
  
24
  
13
  
76 reviews have no rating
Sort By:
Recommended
rduhon review for Jibarra
rduhon on Citysearch

15 years ago

06/23/2007, 05:43 AM
Went to Jibarra last night for dinner and it was totally disapointing. Food and service were less than exceptional. I would have enjoyed traditional Mexican food at a local resturant chain more and paid much less. Food portions are small and expensive. If you are looking for a new bar to try for drinks and to socialize with friends before eatting somewhere else the tequilla bar is very nice and serves some unique cocktails. Otherwise I would not go there again.
lizschwartz review for Jibarra
lizschwartz on Citysearch

15 years ago

06/15/2007, 02:54 AM
exceptional mexican food and ambiance – great food, great service, great drinks. This high end, mexican restaurant is a favorite. Brunch is awesome too. Try the appetizers ad seasonal specials, the seafood is especially good.
cmeiners review for Jibarra
cmeiners on Citysearch

15 years ago

06/09/2007, 02:44 AM
Mexican with lots of Flare – A trendy spot with Mexican food sans the obligatory chips and salsa, Jibarra really has something special going on. The wait staff has clearly tasted all the menu items and can make useful reccommendations. The tequila choices and margaritas are great, but the food is outstanding. Try the goat meat with soft tacos, or the squid in its own ink. The rabbit "taquitos" need a little oomph... but the better part of their menu is wonderful.
Featured content
How to respond to negative feedback from a customer

How to respond to negative feedback from a customer

How to respond to negative feedback from a customer
13 travel review sites you need to know in 2021

13 travel review sites you need to know in 2021

13 travel review sites you need to know in 2021
barefo65 review for Jibarra
barefo65 on Citysearch

15 years ago

05/22/2007, 04:40 AM
Great drinks ok food – We went here a couple of months ago and it was just ok. I am glad I went but don't ever feel the need to go back. We didn't have a reservation and arrived around 9:15 on a saturday night. The hostess looked at us like we were idiots coming without a reservation and then took us immediatly to an open table. Why be mean if you have the tables? I never mind waiting. The service was ok, not what I I would think for upscale restaruant. The food was average, my boyfriend had a shrimp dish that was in some kind of stew. the shrimp had the tails on so he had to dig into his stew and pull the tails off. My dish lacked flavor and interest. The drinks, while expensive were awesome. Best margarita I have ever had. I think the idea for this restaurant is go and have drinks in the lounge and then go somewhere else for dinner.
mikerundle review for Jibarra
mikerundle on Citysearch

15 years ago

05/08/2007, 01:37 AM
Not what I expected, not in a good way – I don't even know why the word Mexican appears on the side of Jibarra's building because it fools people into thinking it's the type of Mexican food everyone is used to. They should have said "gourmet food and we have lots of tequila" because that would have been more appropriate. I wanted to check it out because I love tequila bars, however this was 85% restaurant and 15% bar/lounge, if that even. My fiancee and I arrived -- dressed casually -- and every other couple was 1) at least 20 years older than us, and 2) dressed like they were at a 5-course French restaurant. Now truth be told, I have been to various gourmet restaurants in my lifetime, and Jibarra's service and atmosphere are above-average for Raleigh (although trying desperately to validate the high priced entrees) it certainly is not gourmet cuisine. Few dishes on the menu contain beef or chicken, so if you are looking for that you need to look elsewhere. The tequila and margaritas at Jibarra are its saving grace, as a few drinks will allow you to forget that you're paying far too much money for faux haute Mexican cuisine. Do NOT come here expecting traditional Mexican dishes, you will not find any at all, and will be left staring down a blackberry reduction topping seared rabbit that nobody wants to eat. Do NOT come to Jibarra without at least business-casual attire or else the other patrons and waitstaff will stare at you all night. Do NOT come to Jibarra unless you are at least 35 years old, because again, people will stare at you all night. Matter of fact, do NOT go to Jibarra at all unless you go straight to the lounge area and completely skip dinner.
plinko9999 review for Jibarra
plinko9999 on Citysearch

15 years ago

04/23/2007, 06:30 AM
A study in contrasts: Sleek Setting but in North Raleigh(!); Merely mediocre – The concept, at least inside, is neat. This is a very sleek restaurant that - shock(in North Raleigh) sits in the parking lot of a strip mall. The specialty cocktails were interesting and tasty, the food menu inventive. However, the zestfully described dishes frankly fell flat. The spicy soup was bland and turned out to be just a mega-portion of the amuse bouche. I ordered the shrimp and scallop skewers, and the scallops were out of this world, the shrimp tasteless and rubbery(overcooked). No real consistency food-wise. Flashy enough to try once, but not sure this concept is worthy a second visit. Frankly, I wish it was. I have read a number of the reviews below. The comparisons to the likes of Rick Bayless' Frontera Grill and Topolobampo in Chicago are, simply, misplaced.
yt review for Jibarra
yt on Citysearch

15 years ago

03/20/2007, 05:01 AM
Fine Mexican cuisine - don't expect a taqueria – Many people's only experience with Mexican foods is huge platters of rice/beans/cheese/meat filled tortillas at rock bottom prices. Jibarra is an entirely different experience with trendy, upscale decor, great tequila selection, and innovative entrees. Obviously, the prices will match this experience. The crabmeat quesadilla is delicious - as is the crabmeat soup. Try the lamb mole - it's perfectly cooked and really flavorful. I will say the salmon is pretty boring and probably to be avoided. I really like the mexican eggnog dessert - definitely worth a try! I do think that the cocktails are overpriced - I've had many other margaritas at high end Mexican restaurants that were more potent in both flavor and alcohol. This restaurant is a great addition to the Triangle dining scene , as well as a more fun and trendy date place.
debbabbeb review for Jibarra
debbabbeb on Citysearch

15 years ago

02/26/2007, 03:11 AM
Yummy, yummy, yummy – I love Jibarra. If I wasn't always dieting I'd eat there every opportunity I could. The menu is gourmet Mexican so some of the items are a bit unusual but everything I have tried has been absolutely delicious. They make fabulous cocktails. The service is excellent. The decor is terrific, very hip, but the crowd is anyone who likes good food. Even though it's not thought of as a family friendly restaurant, I've even taken my preshool age child there and she found things to eat that she loved. It's her favorite "fancy" restaurant.
pambucol review for Jibarra
pambucol on Citysearch

15 years ago

02/22/2007, 02:40 AM
Nice atmosphere, mediocre food, super expensive drinks – Probably I should start with the note on the main door saying, "Please use other door". After one complete walk around the building we realized the "other" door was the other one of the two doors that were together. The atmosphere is nice, the restaurant is nicely decorated but my first shock was when they didn't accept the gift certificate I had. After a brief talk with the manager, he granted us the privilege to get ... half of the money on the gift certificate. Then the drinks arrived, nicely decorated but plain, nothing special (I sort of had some different expectation from a $10 drink!!!). The food was, mediocre, nothing special. Nice plates though. The super special tequilas ... maybe I don't have my taste buds developed but I didn't feel any difference between the Corazon and El Conquistador shots we tried and the cheap stuff I have at home. Deserts ... ice cream was good, the chocolate cake something was hard, with pretty much no taste. My conclusion: If you are in the mood of spending aprox. $150 for a dinner for two, try something different (like second empire for example)
Footer Banner 2021
Get more reviews. Get more customers.

Get more reviews from your customers with Birdeye. Dominate search results. Beat local competitors. Grow your business. Easy, done.