Logo White
Watch Demo

Izzy's Steaks & Chops

Own this business?
5.0
56 reviews
|Other|San Francisco, CA 94123

3345 Steiner St, San Francisco, CA 94123

(415) 563-0487

https://www.izzyssteaks.com

Closed now
Suggest edits
Top Other in your area
5.0
(1) · Other

71 Stevenson St Ste 400

(415) 655-6756
5.0
(1) · Other

3333 Bowers Ave Ste 130

(855) 266-8835
5.0
(3) · Other

3575 San Pablo Dam Rd

(510) 758-5637
5.0
(2) · Other

3900 Geary Blvd # 201

(415) 298-9888
5.0
(1) · Other

1139 Athens St

(415) 333-1140
5.0
(2) · Other

15900 E 14th St

(510) 606-7546
About

Izzy's is not a chain! Locally owned and operated, Izzy's Steaks & Chops has long been a favorite of San Franciscans who appreciate the very best Midwestern steaks and chops. Friendly wait staff, great food, and a wonderful atmosphere combine for a memorable dining experience.

Suggest edits
BIRDEYE FOR BUSINESSES
Birdeye For Business

This profile is powered by BirdEye. Over 50,000 businesses use BirdEye everyday to get more reviews and manage all customer feedback. BirdEye helps millions of local businesses to be found online with all their reviews and accurate business information. Learn more about BirdEye

BirdEye Score

The BirdEye Score® is calculated based on our proprietary algorithm applied to customers reviews, weighted by a range of different factors.

Learn how the BirdEye Score® is calculated
5.0
56 reviews
51
  
40
  
30
  
20
  
10
  
55 reviews have no rating
  • 1 Review5.0Insider Pages
Sort By:
5 results available.
Recommended
StephanM on Citysearch

10 years ago

07/21/2010, 03:26 AM
Never a bad meal – i have never had a bad experiance at this place. the food is always top notch as is the service. my favorite steak here, well, all of them. but i tend to sway towards the Filet, rare. dont worry about the wait, step up to the bar and have a Martini and relax.
GoldenGateGoldenBear on Citysearch

11 years ago

12/19/2009, 06:30 AM
Same old Izzy's...Great – Izzy's continues to be one pf my favorite local hangouts. This is a local, insider steak house. They do it right. Several great meat choices, like Filet Mignon au Poivre, the Prime Rib and the underappreciated Marinated Skirt Steak, my favorite. The mains come with several size, like Izzy's own potatoes (a must have) and onions and carrots or broccoli. Side included!!! That is huge. I have been going here for 20 years. For value and quality, it remains one of my favorites. It is a no nonsense restaurant where I am seldom disappointed. They even deliver (via waiters on wheels). A fun night out for a date or a group get together. Wine list is adequate. I am going back tonight and am looking forward to it.
Alicia D. on Insider Pages

11 years ago

10/10/2009, 04:29 AM
Izzy's Steaks & Chops is excellent! Izzy's has the best filet medallions and creamed sspinach!! I always have a great time when I go to Izzy's. Good service and the food is well worth the price.
Featured content
A Simple Guide to Manage Google Reviews

A Simple Guide to Manage Google Reviews

A Simple Guide to Manage Google Reviews
"Near Me" Searches: What You Need to Know

"Near Me" Searches: What You Need to Know

"Near Me" Searches: What You Need to Know
SFDiner73 on Citysearch

12 years ago

11/22/2008, 03:28 AM
Steak Wrong then Waiter overcharged – So we thought the place was great when we entered and the waiter seemed friendly at first and offered advice on the menu. Being young diners (over 21 though) he acted pompous towards us when we became too inquisitive and ordered wine (though ID was never checked). The appetizers were nice, we had romaine hearts with blue cheese crumbles. Our wine though low on the price range for this place was adequate. However, it was served as if it had been stored behind the oven it was so warm. Later our steaks came out wrong, the med filet came out rare and the rare sirloin came out medium. The steaks were high quality but could not be properly enjoyed cooked this way. I am not one to send it back though I probably would have had I not been on time constraints. We made no complaints and enjoyed our meal to the fullest we could. At the end our bill came to 100.25 and we told him to make it 120 as we always tip approximately 18-20% unless they do something completely rude. Well on our way out when we said goodbye he gave us a sarcastic like goodbye. The next day we found he had put an extra 20% on top of the twenty % we had given him, making the total for the dinner from 100.25 to 144. A LITTLE GENEROUS FOR A POMPOUS WAITER WHO GOT OUR MEALS WRONG. Overall - food is good if they get it right, average age is 35 so they will treat you like punks if you are under 25 - well thats how we felt
insearchofwine on Citysearch

12 years ago

09/25/2008, 04:41 AM
Rustic – Izzys is a SF Landmark. If you want to stay away from the bustling downtown area, please visit this place. Located in the Cow Hollow Yuppie district, this steak house, is more of an aging frat boy/visit SF bar. I could take a wedding party here, or I could go to drink heavily with friends. The cream spinach, is the best I have ever had, and the scalloped potatos are bar none. The only negative, is the steaks are sometimes off. You never know what you are going to get, so I guess for this place, its sort of the whole atmosphere. Its a dark hole in the wall, but well recomended. If you want an atmosphere that is very homey and San Franciscan, come here. Avoid the other locations, there no where near as good.
davebee on Citysearch

12 years ago

05/15/2008, 05:12 AM
Ain't what it used to be – I used to look forward to Izzy's, but they seem to be having problems lately, in both the Steiner St. location and in Marin (Corte Madera). Ate at SF Izzy's recently with several friends. Ordered prime rib medium (specified pink). It came raw, so I sent it back. After 15 minutes or so, the waiter announced that my dinner had been lost, but then it appeared a minute later. My girlfriend ordered a glass of wine, which never came. I'd chalk it up to bad luck, but I'd had a much worse experience at Izzy's Marin not long before. Maybe they're stretched too thin with the new locations. Used to be the best service, albeit slow at times, and the food was always fantastic. Not anymore.
jessicaca on Citysearch

13 years ago

11/02/2007, 07:42 AM
We were engaged here!! – This is an amazing steak house complete with ambiance, wonderful food and awesome wait staff. Many people would question the fact that we got engaged at Izzy's but this is where we love to eat and wouldn't change it for the world! I would suggest however to ask for a booth seat when you go to Izzy's for a more intimate setting with your party and arrive early to have a 'beverage' at the bar. Overall, go to Izzy's...who know's what may happen when you get there!
jacobs2 on Citysearch

13 years ago

10/04/2007, 04:33 AM
Highly Recommend Izzy's! – My husband and I ate at Izzy's last night and the food was AMAZING! We're in town from Chicago and are used to good steaks, but we were completely wowed by the quality of meat and food at Izzy's, A friend who used to live in San Francisco recommended we try Izzy's and I would now recommend it to anyone coming to San Francisco. Our waiter was not very friendly and neither was out busyboy, but it didn't really matter because we were so amazed by the food. The bread they start out with on the table is the best bread i've had at any restuarant! For dinner I had the skirt steak (the portion was so large, I took more than half of it back to our hotel refrigerator!) with the creamed spinach and shoestring potatoes. My husband had a filet with the spinach and Izzy's own potatoes. Those potatoes were insanely good and i'm mad I didn't get them myself (ii'm a picky eater and the description scared me, so I ordered the shoestring potatoes, my mistake!) I ended up eating half of his potatoes. The price was great too...only thing I found to be overly priced was the dessert. We got a piece of key lime pie that was very small (and not the best i've ever had) for $6. Our total bill was $70 (including tip) which I find to be a great deal in a town where other places seem to charge that much for almost one meal. If you're in San Francisco, you've GOT try to go Izzy's!
thrasherbill on Citysearch

13 years ago

01/10/2007, 06:28 AM
Izzy's iz ok by me – I was fascinated by the extreme range of opinions coming from Izzy?s so let me weigh in. First of all, we had no problem getting a reservation; I got a table for four for 8:30 PM Saturday night after calling in that same afternoon, and we were promptly seated. Next, the service was fine; the waiter had a quirky sense of humor but did his job well and we were shaking hands at the end of the evening. Finally, the food is great. The prime rib was tender, a perfect medium rare and compares favorably with most any prime rib, although it does not come with a bone. The lamb chops were perfectly grilled to order and flavorful. The drunken shrimp was big and plump and the creamy sauce exploded in your mouth. The house potatoes are some kind of scallop or au gratin and are very good too but not essential if you?re already eating the artery-clogging meats and creamed spinach; there are less damaging side choices available as well. As for price, I wouldn?t call it a ?ridiculous value" but unfortunately we?ve gotten used to steak houses being ridiculously expensive so in comparison this is a very good value for San Francisco. I?m not disputing the negative comments from those vocal folks but our first impression was very positive and I can?t wait to go back and try their NY steak or filet au poivre.
Footer Banner
Get more reviews. Get more customers.

Get more reviews from your customers with BirdEye. Dominate search results. Beat local competitors. Grow your business. Easy, done.