Logo White
Watch Demo

The Dawes Arboretum

Own this business?
4.7
1295 reviews
|Community & Social Services|Newark, OH 43056

7770 Jacksontown Rd, Newark, OH 43056

(740) 323-2355

Closed now

Google

Facebook

Suggest edits

Top Community & Social Services in your area

Gahanna Convention & Visitors Bureau
4.8
(9) · Community & Social Services

167 Mill St

(614) 418-9114

About

Located approximately 30 miles east of Columbus, The Dawes Arboretum is a nearly 2,000-acre tree museum dedicated to enriching lives through the conservation of trees and nature. We invite you to take part in our fun and informative programs or visit our grounds to experience the extraordinary collection of trees, beautiful gardens and distinctive natural areas. Arboretum admission is $10 for adults and $5 for children ages 5 -15. Children younger than 5 will be admitted for free. Arboretum members receive free admission.

Suggest edits

BIRDEYE FOR BUSINESSES

Birdeye For Business

This profile is powered by BirdEye. Over 50,000 businesses use BirdEye everyday to get more reviews and manage all customer feedback. BirdEye helps millions of local businesses to be found online with all their reviews and accurate business information. Learn more about BirdEye

BirdEye Score

The BirdEye Score® is calculated based on our proprietary algorithm applied to customers reviews, weighted by a range of different factors.

Learn how the BirdEye Score® is calculated
4.7
1,295 reviews
51,005
  
4155
  
333
  
210
  
126
  
66 reviews have no rating
  • 686 Reviews4.7Google
  • 608 Reviews4.8Facebook
  • 1 Review5.0Insider Pages
Sort By:
5 results available.
Recommended
Kelley E McCormack on Facebook

a year ago

09/28/2018, 06:17 AM
The care the staff puts in to this botanical garden and biological reserve is outstanding. The collections of species from all around the world to keep genetic integrity in tact is amazing. Only recently did I realize how vital the work the staff is to native and non-native species. They are leaders in their fields and share their passion with everyone who listens. Thank you for providing Licking County with such an amazing space!
Bobby Wolfe on Facebook

a year ago

09/28/2018, 02:19 AM
Reverse your decision to be about the almighty dollar. This is the beginning of the ultimate doom for your lovely place. As with most things in life, greed will seal your fate.
Chris Naurocki on Facebook

a year ago

09/27/2018, 06:40 AM
dont charge and quit giving raises
Featured content
How to ask for feedback from customers: Three sample emails

How to ask for feedback from customers: Three sample emails

How to ask for feedback from customers: Three sample emails
Tempted to buy Google reviews? Why it's a bad idea.

Tempted to buy Google reviews? Why it's a bad idea.

Tempted to buy Google reviews? Why it's a bad idea.
Suzy Peters on Facebook

a year ago

09/27/2018, 04:22 AM
I have lived very near to Dawes for 28years. I have enjoyed many trips to Dawes throughout those years. For my daughters and I to go for an hour long walk with our little ones it will cost $50.00 EACH TRIP. Most locals here do not go once or twice a year. Many go several times a week to walk. On our walks we see several elderly folks on the auto tour. It may not be much for one person to pay for an occasional visit, but when you have a family or are on a fixed income, it’s too much to ask. Yes you have the right to do this, but sadly many, if not most, will not show up in the spring as you anticipate. Donations will cease and the community will find a new place to go.
Sarah Capitano on Facebook

a year ago

09/27/2018, 02:02 AM
Unfortunately I will not be returning to Dawes. My daughter and I live on a country rode with no sidewalks. We came quite frequently to walk and enjoy nature. Unfortunately I can not afford $15 every time her and I would like to take a walk at Dawes.
Richard Hubble on Facebook

a year ago

09/27/2018, 01:34 AM
I have many good memories at Dawes. I will really miss the place once they start charging. Like many others have said, I won’t be back. It would cost me $35 a trip... not worth it. They’ll be wishing they hadn’t done this move after the ghost town it becomes next year.
Shelly Simpson on Facebook

a year ago

09/26/2018, 05:31 AM
Dawes has been a part of my life since i was a little girl. Went there with my school and girl scouts. After i had children i would take my kids there, I would volunteer for my boys school trip to Dawes. we even went there for family pictures. The last picture I have of all my family together was taken there my son was killed April 2018. My family paid for a memorial tree for my son and now you are wanting my family to pay to visit his tree. You are ripping my heart out all over again. My family has been through so much since my son passed my sons memorial cross was vandalized them destroyed by a Columbus cop because of words put on it and he said he knew we did not have permission to have i...  more>>
Jason Vermilion on Facebook

a year ago

09/26/2018, 02:21 AM
I have lived in the area all my life. Dawes has been a part of it to. I went there during elementary. I took my wife there on our first date. We've taken our kids there for maple syrup days and they learned about nature there. We took both kids senior pictures there. we've donated money to help with the upkeep. Charging just to get past the gates will stop us from returning. They may think this will make them money but all they are doing is losing the people that appreciate the park.
Kimberly Weaver on Facebook

a year ago

09/25/2018, 07:25 AM
The Dawes Arboretum was founded in 1929, over 50,000 trees had been planted and the grounds had doubled in size to 293 acres. Beman and Bertie Dawes created The Arboretum as a private foundation: “To encourage the planting of forest and ornamental trees … to give pleasure to the public and education to the youth.” Today, The Dawes Arboretum displays nearly 5,000 different types of woody plants. Active records are kept on more than 30,000 individual plants. To ensure the continuation of The Arboretum, Beman and Bertie Dawes established an endowment fund. Today, the endowment continues to be the major source of funds for The Dawes Arboretum that has grown from 293 acres in 1929 to nearly 2,000...  more>>
Footer Banner

Get more reviews. Get more customers.

Get more reviews from your customers with BirdEye. Dominate search results. Beat local competitors. Grow your business. Easy, done.