Logo White
Watch Demo

The Bazaar By Jose Andres

Own this business?

This business is unclaimed. Owners who claim this profile can update information, boost SEO, and more.

Claim this business for free
5.0
36 reviews
|Other|Los Angeles, CA 90048

465 S La Cienega Blvd, Los Angeles, CA 90048

(310) 246-5545

http://www.thebazaar.com/beverly-hills

Open now:6:30 am - 8:30 pm
Suggest edits
Top Other in your area
5.0
(1) · Other

512 East 6th Street

(714) 716-5993

3 people are looking at this business

5.0
(9) · Other

1255 E Arrow Hwy.

(909) 394-9051
5.0
(9) · Other

10226 Venice Blvd Culver City

(310) 409-0618
5.0
(7) · Other

1941 1st St

(818) 764-0808

1 person is looking at this business

5.0
(24) · Other

17421 Nichols Ln

(714) 337-5831

2 people are looking at this business

5.0
(3) · Other

12907 s budlong ave

(310) 323-4429
About

From smoking cocktails to spherified olive tapas, The Bazaar by Jos?? Andr??s offers a magical culinary experience of traditional Spanish flavors and cutting edge culinary techniques in a fanciful indoor piazza by Philippe Starck at SLS Beverly Hills.

Suggest edits
BIRDEYE FOR BUSINESSES
Birdeye For Business

This profile is powered by BirdEye. Over 60,000 businesses use BirdEye everyday to get more reviews and manage all customer feedback. BirdEye helps millions of local businesses to be found online with all their reviews and accurate business information. Learn more about BirdEye

BirdEye Score

The BirdEye Score® is calculated based on our proprietary algorithm applied to customers reviews, weighted by a range of different factors.

Learn how the BirdEye Score® is calculated
5.0
36 reviews
53
  
40
  
30
  
20
  
10
  
33 reviews have no rating
  • 2 Reviews5.0Insider Pages
  • 1 Review5.0Yellow Pages
Sort By:
5 results available.
Recommended
Searching4LAsBest on Citysearch

10 years ago

06/22/2010, 05:33 AM
Fun while Dining! – Killer good. Distinguished by its unique menu and flavors. A do not miss restaurant.
foodtasters on Citysearch

10 years ago

05/03/2010, 04:04 AM
Was not impressed – When in search for quality price goes out the door. You are basically looking for the best tasting food and good service. However, that is not what happened. Maybe the cooking staff was off that day; maybe the hostess did not see my car and thought I was not worthy of being there. Whatever the case, here is a run down. The wyagu beef was too fatty on the Philly cheese steak. The brussel sprouts were unique and ok. The carrot fritter were the best item tried. The boneless chicken wings were too salty. The wild mushroom rice was not unique. Other places do the same thing with risotto. Bottom line, way over rated for all the hype. For those who want to know about pricing. The price per person is average for the dining experience expected for a place of such caliber, but again the food quality did not live up to expectations.
gastronomnom on Citysearch

10 years ago

04/30/2010, 01:34 AM
Bazaar. Love triangle. – I feel like I've just woken from a dream. A strange dream in a dark candyland populated by well dressed smiling monkeys, impossible chandeliers and clouds of liquid nitrogen. And this man. Marcel from Top Chef. The words "Savor Life Slowly" repeating faintly but insistently in my mind. I've emerged from the world of José Andrés, where food is art, art is ironic, and irony is for sale. Parts of the meal are coming back to me. I remember flashes of brilliance, whimsy and contradiction. Textures and tastes that deceived and surprised. Dishes that reminded me of a history not my own. But ultimately the experience of a meal that was greater than the sum of its parts. Let me try to paint a picture. Nitro Caipirinha. Rising out of a fog of liquid nitrogen like a caipirinha in slushee form. Prepared tableside, liquid nitrogen is stirred into the caipirinha until it reaches its desired consistency. That being the consistency of delicious. Papas Canarias. Salty wrinkled potatoes with a mojo verde. If baked potatoes are good, baked baby potatoes are better. Mussels, canned with olive oil, vinegar and pimenton. The salt of the sea meets the sweetness of tomato broth meets the acid of vinegar. White asparagus, yogurt and black olives. A tiny forest of asparagus trunks rising from a can. Desolate. Resolute. Embutidos platter. Chorizo, lomo and salchichon. Jamon Serrano Fermin. Dry cured ham, sliced thin. Folded onto a slice of Catalan style toasted bread, lathered with a tomato salsa and manchego. A taste of Spain. Endive, goat cheese, oranges and almonds. A perfect bite to cleanse the palate. The crunch of the endive, the soothing goat cheese and the brightness of orange. "The ultimate Spanish tapa!" Ensaladilla rusa. Potatoes, carrots, mayo, tuna belly. If José Andrés wants to call this the ultimate Spanish tapa, who am I to argue? Brussels sprouts, lemon purée, apricots, grapes, lemon air. The tart preparation belies the bitterness of the brussels sprouts. Surprisingly light. Bunuelos. Codfish fritters with a honey alioli. Battered fish, in any language, tastes good. Sea scallops with a romesco sauce. Sweet. Perfectly caramelized. Simple and flavorful. Japanese taco. Grilled eel, shiso, cucumber, wasabi, chicharron. Thinly sliced cucumber replaces the tortilla. José Andrés does Japanese masquerading as Mexican. Organized Caesar. Caesar rolls topped alternately with a quail egg yolk and parmesan. You say organized. I say deconstructed. Everyone fights over the quail egg. Watermelon tomato skewers, Pedro Ximénez reduction and lemon dressing. A visual treat. It tastes like it looks. Watermelon and tomato. Boneless chicken wings with a green olive purée. Andrés does fried chicken. The Colonel should take note. Butifarra Senator Moynihan. Catalan pork sausage, white beans and mushrooms. Frank and beans Spanish style, if you will. Beef hangar steak, piquillo pepper confit. Seared medium rare. Juicy and pink. "Philly cheesesteak". Air bread, cheddar, Wagyu beef. Essentially thinly sliced Wagyu over a puffed bread with cheese. Don't ask for cheese whiz. At this point, I'm stirred from my slumber and lead into some half-dream room. Glass bells cover perfect groups of candy, like some laboratory of sugar. The Alchemists tried to turn lead into gold. Here the ingredients are sugar, flour, eggs and cream. The results are just as alluring and desired as the precious metal. Sweet Little Snacks. Creamy Chocolate Heart. Coffee and cardamom. Dense. Rich. Chocolatey. Good. Greek Yogurt Panna Cotta. Apricots and muscat gelatin. Dig down. Scoop up. Taste. Repeat. Ice cream and sorbet. Orange, peach, strawberry. Refreshing. Traditional Spanish flan. Vanilla and fruit. A classic to end the meal. And with that, the dream gives way to waking. Save for a final image. A beautiful girl resting her head on a concrete pillar. "Soft Like Silk". I wonder if she shared the same dream.
Featured content
5 Positive Review Examples: It's All in the Response

5 Positive Review Examples: It's All in the Response

5 Positive Review Examples: It's All in the Response
A Simple Guide to Manage Google Reviews

A Simple Guide to Manage Google Reviews

A Simple Guide to Manage Google Reviews
cosmomartin on Citysearch

11 years ago

02/20/2010, 04:31 AM
A ripoff – They said they could seat us either a 6:00 PM "on the terrace" or 10:45 inside. We chose 6:00 PM on the terrace. But it was cold. Once we were seated, they struggled for about 25 minutes to get the heaters going. We were two people, and my friend a non-drinker. Bite size portions at an average of $12.00 a bite. Quite a ripoff. The only thing that was spectacular was the waitress's lack of genuineness. We were out by 7:30 PM, having paid $165.00, and I'm thinking of a place to have dinner now. After I said good night to my friend I went to In N Out. Double Meat with Grilled Onion and Fries. $4.08. Only then did I feel that I'd had dinner.
MealSchpeal com on Citysearch

11 years ago

02/20/2010, 02:46 AM
Good spot in a sea of incompetence – Sam Nazarian strikes again. With Starck and Andres latched firmly on his nipple, Bazaar at the new SLS Hotel spares no expense. Well, maybe some but gets a solid win despite it. The hotel took so long to open that I was sure of the project's death. Shows what I know. Sammy Boy Entertainment (or SBE without deeper meaning as he likes to lie to interviewers) has so much money behind it that whatever problems they were having were simply waited out. Didn't even have to sell one of his 12 cars or sub-lease the Veyron. Money clearly ain't no thang considering dysfunctions in the company ensure that not a single bar they've ever opened turns a profit. Except The Abby. Gays are profitable. LA hipsters ain't. But who cares when daddy has a billion dollars? Here's a few mil kiddo. Go away and don't bug me. Sammy got enough to buy publicity with Fortune ride-alongs, Entourage cameos and Top Chef judgeships. Good for him, but we're not here to gossip about Nazarian or envy his estate. We wish to analyze Bazaar on its own merit. LA restaurants require LA yardsticks. Else, details like timely seating, flighty service and hour-long valet lines would sink them. Bazaar was spectacularly busy even though the place had been open for months. This means ordering will be a lottery of fame and prettiness. This time was no different except that our order was actually taken and delivered in under 5 minutes. A remarkable change of pace in a city whose default motion is through motor oil: slimy, dirty and slow. But Bazaar did better. And made us pay. The disparity between the prices of their food and drinks is canyonesque. A $23 bottle of Peay Vineyards Pinot sells for $19/glass. A Maker's neat goes for $12. Pretty steep but they're not afraid to pour making the "shot" in reality a triple. For $4 it's a steal. But the food sure hits the sweet spot. And saltiness. And umami. Mention must be made of the Jose Andres take on Philly Cheese Steak which consists of a toasty dumpling filled with melted truffled cheese and topped with a near-raw slice of Wagyu. $8 for a single but worth more. Astounding. I ordered one and got two. It was meant for the party next to us. They let me keep the extra portion. Then, a few minutes later, I got ANOTHER plate delivered with the proper single serve. I didn't eat it out of politeness but really wanted to. The most expensive item was the lamb at $16. It was worth it. The rest of the items, although good, could not match the the Philly. It was the evening's highlight. As was the bill. Had we nothing to drink, 8 dishes would have cost $90. Recession pricing indeed. The evening's low is LA, not the restaurant itself. They did not seat us until we checked up on our status. An old trick and with the bar prices, a profitable one. The waitress, although competent, had that annoying personality common to those who believe their life to be a stage. And the valet line took 20 minutes to pay the bill and another 25 to get the car. Incompetence by any yardstick. But the people here wait and say nothing which is so different from the adolescent tantrums they throw at every other thing. What is it about cars and parking that bring out LA's best when it should bring out its worst? I'd rather treat my waiter well and leave tire-tread on the snout of whoever schedules valets. Plan ahead moron. But, it is not fair to judge an LA restaurant by its support services the problems of which are endemic in the city. Bazaar is a fantastic deal in a place where deals are hard to come by. You should go before Sammy Boy Nazarian changes his mind. Love, Mealschpeal com
angelineasaurus on Citysearch

11 years ago

02/04/2010, 02:25 AM
Decadent flavors in bite-sized portions – My boyfriend and I went to The Bazaar this week to take advantage of their dineLA $44 dinner menu. Yes, it is quite pricey (we walked out of the restaurant after dinner, tax, tip + 1 drink each spending $150), but the experience is quite worth it. We started the night off at Bar Centro with JaleBerry cocktails -- fresh blackberries muddled with a bunch of fun liquor and an ever-so-slight squeeze of jalepeno for a little kick. Afterwards, we went and sat in the Rojo portion of The Bazaar at the tapas bar and got to watch the chefs slice and dice with such precision. The highlight of our meal by far was the patatas "new way," a dish that comes served within an egg shell with creamy yolk, potato foam, tiny chives & caramelized onion bits. This dish brought the term "gastrogasm" to a whole new level. With every slurp of my tiny spoon came the richest flavors. I was truly amazed at how something so small and simple looking could be packed with so much goodness. For me, the innate simpleness of even The Bazaar's non-traditional tapas is what made this dining experience so enjoyable. Sure, there may be foams, liquid nitrogen concoctions or essence of whatevers, but the true reason this place remains heralded is that their dishes are just packed with flavor. Each bite is an experience that your brain will not forget.
kristinekellymedia on Citysearch

11 years ago

02/01/2010, 01:59 AM
Heavenly – One of my fav spots in LA, love the decor, great people watching. Best bathroom lighting for photos! Tapas must-haves include: Cotton Candy Foie Gras and liquid olives melt in your mouth with an orgasmic explosion! A must!
SunShne079 on Citysearch

11 years ago

01/27/2010, 01:58 AM
A Delicious Little Wonderland – This is a wonderful choice for diners (or happy hour seekers) who are looking for something out of the ordinary. The Philippe Starck interiors alone are mesmerizing, as is Jose Andreas' selection of dishes - from the traditional, to the playful and unusual. Everything I've tried here has been presented beautifully and even the signature cocktails are served with a bit of flare. The flavors of the food are wonderful and the tapas style dishes are great for sharing. I would recommend ordering just a few dishes at a time. The wait staff will pace your meal very well, while being attentive but not obtrusive.
uscgrad97 on Citysearch

11 years ago

11/29/2009, 02:43 AM
For a Special Night – I ate here for the first time with family this past Friday night and we each had the Anniversary Taster Menu. We were in the Blanca room, which is a little better lit and has a brighter vibe than the Rojo side. Every item we tried was awesome!!! Drink-wise, my favorites were the Magic Mojito (spun sugar--mmm), the garnacha and the sherry we had with dessert. My favorite dishes were the caviar cones, the liquid olives, the caprese, the shrimp fideua and the beef hangar steak. Dessert-wise, hands-down the Coconut Island. A little macchiato before heading out and I was perfect. The service was great, waiters were informed, and they didn't rush us. Yes it's a scene - very LA - but we just went with it. The decor was funky-cool...you know, Philippe Starck. I really loved The Bazaar. It was a memorable night!!
Footer Banner
Get more reviews. Get more customers.

Get more reviews from your customers with BirdEye. Dominate search results. Beat local competitors. Grow your business. Easy, done.