Birdeye Logo White 2020
Watch Demo

S & A Construction

Claim this profile

This business is unclaimed. Owners who claim this profile can update information, boost SEO, and more.

Claim this business for free
3.7
72 reviews
|Contractors|Raleigh, NC 27604

2820 Trawick Rd, Raleigh, NC 27604

(919) 272-1307

http://saconstructionnc.com/

Closed now

Google

Facebook

Suggest edits
Top Contractors in your area
5.0
(11) · Heating & Air Conditioning/HVAC

Po Box 1188

(919) 772-6724

1 person is looking at this business

5.0
(3) · Contractors

2105 Thornblade Dr

(919) 337-8073
5.0
(4) · Contractors

4401 Sandbridge Ct

(919) 539-5318
5.0
(2) · Contractors

1648 Enon Rd

(919) 690-0684

1 person is looking at this business

5.0
(3) · Contractors

277 NE Main St

(252) 977-1813

1 person is looking at this business

5.0
(1) · Plumbing

809 E Parker St

(336) 570-6958

1 person is looking at this business

BIRDEYE FOR BUSINESSES
Birdeye For Business

This profile is powered by Birdeye. Over 70,000 businesses use Birdeye everyday to get more reviews and manage all customer feedback. Birdeye helps millions of local businesses to be found online with all their reviews and accurate business information. Learn more about Birdeye

3.7
72 reviews
524
  
44
  
30
  
21
  
111
  
32 reviews have no rating
Sort By:
5 results available.
Recommended
Kristen A. review for S & A Construction
Kristen A. on Citysearch

3 years ago

10/26/2018, 03:33 AM
S&A just completed repairs and renovations on our home after the hurricane caused damage to our roof, walls and flooring. The attention to detail and options presented for design and cost made all the difference in decision making. We love the new kitchen and bath. I recommend S&A!
mike b. review for S & A Construction
mike b. on Citysearch

3 years ago

10/20/2018, 09:21 AM
If you are going to work with Ed and S&A Construction there are some things that you must know. When the job is done and it is time to make your final payment look over your original invoice carefully. You will find items that you did not receive, tasks that were not done, and items that were grossly overcharged for. Our home failed inspection 16 times. According to Ed the Building inspector was being "ridiculous". The building inspector protects consumer like you and I from people like Ed. If you can not be there during the build to make sure that things are done right you should find someone else. I discovered multiple problems including carpet that was being installed without padding that we had paid for. Ed pretended like he did not know. There were multiple problems during the build. Ed became very confrontational when we did not agree with him instead of doing the right thing and just fixing the problems. He was ok with less than perfect work. Those are the big points here are some further details. We hired Ed for an addition on a 12 year old home to include a new kitchen, master bath, new floor plan down stairs, new hardwoods, new painting inside and out, new carpet, and a new deck. When we were "sold" the project we were told that the addition would be completed before some demolition so we would only be without a kitchen for 2 weeks. After he received his first check he decided not to do it that way. We were without a kitchen for 3 months. He started the project without HOA approval, almost turned into a disaster. He started the deck without a permit when he said that he had one already. Very dishonest. The master bath he promised was not delivered. When the cabinets arrived we told him that was not what we wanted. Huge conflict. The tile grout in the shower cracked within 2 months. added an extra $800 to paint the ceiling on the final invoice. Had to argue with him to take it off. They also did not paint, doors, trim until we insisted that they come back and do it. The windows in the house were caulked shut. When pendant lights arrived to go over the island in the kitchen we told him that they were too big and we did not like them. They were still in the boxes and could have been returned. It was a huge argument. He talked us into letting him hang the lights, "we would love them once we saw them". We did not like them either after he hung them, we purchased our own and he installed them. He billed us for the ones that he didt not install. His "Custom" mirrors were two pieces of wood glued to a mirror by one of his workers in our front yard. We did not like them. Huge conflict. Electrical outlets were uneven. Light switch to lights inside garage was located in the kitchen cabinets. Had to complain to get it moved. There was a light switch that did not work. Ed said, "lots of people have light switches in their homes that do not do anything." Unacceptable He did not install appliances correctly. The dishwasher was not fastened to the counter, it tilts forward when the door is opened. The ice maker was not installed in the refrigerator. We were told that his crews would fully install the new appliances. After the framing was done the house failed inspection. An engineer had to come out to make recommendations. Holes had to be cut through the siding so new beams could Poor planning. According to Ed, the inspector was being "ridiculous" again. New smoke detectors installed were not up to code. Initially things may look great. After a month or so goes by you will start noticing how sloppy some of the work is. There were many other problems. Things got even worse when we examined the invoice before making our final payment. There were many things that we were overcharged for, or things that did not occur. In the end we refused to pay Ed $2600. He revoked our warranty and refused to even give us the name of the subcontractor who did the HVAC
Angie K. review for S & A Construction
Angie K. on Citysearch

4 years ago

12/07/2017, 08:24 AM
We recently purchased a new home to us but an old home in age that needed some work - an updated master bath, kitchen, and new roof. We called S&A Construction. Ed came to our home, listened to our needs and concerns and then shared ideas with us. We then went to their office and showroom. We were explained everything thoroughly. They were not pushy and worked with our budget. All of this was free! We talked about ideas and color schemes, even met the office staff. We felt very confident with their knowledge, competitive pricing, other reviews and everything leading up to this point so we decided to sign with S&A Construction. So glad we did! We did our kitchen and bath first. They started on the date set. The crew arrived and introduced themselves. Demolition went smoothly and they cleaned up after themselves. Then came the transformation. The crew told us each day what they were going to do, when they would return and what would be done on the next trip. The office staff was also very nice and helpful with phone calls to and from whether it be answering questions or giving updates. Ed was very hands on, making follow up calls and visits himself overseeing the remodel. Our kitchen and bath are AMAZING! Thank you to everyone at S&A Construction for a wonderful experience!!
Featured content
Handling negative reviews- 4 important tips

Handling negative reviews- 4 important tips

Handling negative reviews- 4 important tips
A Simple Guide to Manage Google Reviews

A Simple Guide to Manage Google Reviews

A Simple Guide to Manage Google Reviews
M E. review for S & A Construction
M E. on Citysearch

7 years ago

01/28/2015, 13:32 PM
Things started out great, they understood my tight timeline & even promised to have all the work finished 2 weeks before my deadline for moving into the property. I was happy & excited to have this company taking responsibility for all the work & liked the confidence that they'd have no problem completing the work. When things took longer than expected to remove wallpaper, get the floors refinished etc., there was no acknowledgement of delays. I wasn't told floors weren't ready & had to cancel appointments for cable & water companies since we couldn't walk on floors yet. Workers were very nice & I liked them, office was extremely friendly as well. Painting was sloppy & there were many days spent just touching up paint. Worse, I was blamed for all the delays & told I should pay extra for having all the trim re-painted after they realized how long they were taking to touch it all up. Communication with the owner became confrontational after he blamed me for everything & was condescending. He backed out of completing several parts of the work & decreased the amount owed for those items. The delays (past my move deadline) cost me several hundred extra in additional fees for other services. So there were issues around S&A demanding to be paid immediately & my having incurred additional costs. I'm happy with most of the work that was done, but it was such a bad experience overall- mostly due to personality conflicts with the owner of this business.
Joyce M. review for S & A Construction
Joyce M. on Citysearch

7 years ago

01/08/2015, 13:52 PM
Choosing S&A to remodel our home was probably the best decision my husband and I ever made. We recently hired them for a whole bunch of work that needed to be completed at our home. There was water damage from a busted pipe in our living room, and master bathroom. Which also essentially leaked into our kitchen. Plus we were going to remodel anyway. We live in the Raleigh area and needed someone to come out immediately. Most of the other companies we called were not really receptive to our urgency. But S&A sent someone out he very next day that we called. Plus the estimate was free. The professionalism, desire to help, and sympathy towards our disaster exceeded my expectations. After the FREE estimate we scheduled and office visit to go over all the plans, and pick out materials. Another advantage with using S&A is that they don't use any subs. They do everything in house! They have everything you can think of at their in house gallery. From tile flooring, to kitchen cabinets, you name it they have it. If for some reason they don't have it they will find it. The crew that came out to our home was courteous, prompt, clean, and of course professional. I would recommend S&A to anyone needing any kind of construction work because of my experience that we had. We've worked with other companies in the past, but by far S&A was the best.
ashley m. review for S & A Construction
ashley m. on Citysearch

7 years ago

12/10/2014, 02:26 AM
I first called S&A about three months ago. The office staff was extremely helpful and scheduled me an estimate right away. We decided to have them remodel our kitchen and our master bathroom. Not only were the prices competitive but after the estimate I was able to actually go to their office/gallery and pick out my own products! The designer Ed is very creative and sat with us personally to coordinate our color schemes, and layouts. Any questions we had were always answered promptly and efficiently. Their workers were very polite, on time, and professional. We would recommend S&A for anyone that wants quality work for a great price! Only downfall was a faucet we wanted was on back order. But the staff was accommodating and made sure that they met our needs in a timely manner. Other than that over all i would give a 10 out of ten. I would recommend S&A to anyone in the Wake County area.
Megan D. review for S & A Construction
Megan D. on Citysearch

7 years ago

12/02/2014, 03:47 AM
I just want to say that I have been working with S & A Construction for a while. It has been a long and tiring process to remodel our home. First we started off with a different company (which I wont name but will post a review for them). This other company screwed our whole job up so badly we had to gut everything out and start all over again. Needless to say we were already upset. We called S&A, and right off the bat we could feel a different energy. They came the same day to do an estimate. Ed, the designer, is brilliant. He is so creative, and had the best ideas. My head was spinning from everything that had happened previously but he was a blessing. We didn't even have to go to another store to pick out material. They have a gallery in their office! We remodeled our living room, master bedroom, master bathroom, and replaced all the siding, and shingles. He even gave us a discount! All of the workers were polite and professional. They did an excellent job repairing all the damage done to our home remodel. We were able to get the house of our dreams because of S&A construction. Thanks again guys!
Dawn M. review for S & A Construction
Dawn M. on Citysearch

7 years ago

09/17/2014, 07:13 AM
Do NOT USE THIS COMPANY!! In November 2013 we hired Ed from S&A to do a kitchen remodel, paint the entire house, replace the roof and build a screened in porch. The work has been shoddy and lacking in attention to detail. Scheduling has been a nightmare. I never knew from one day to the next when (or if) the crew would show up. They crew was messy, did not clean up after themselves and did damage to our wood floors and new appliances. Ed, the owner of the business, would never take our concerns about the quality of work seriously and even on occasion told us that he wasn't going to fix things that weren't done correctly. When they came back out to fix some things that were under warranty they made the issues worse and now they keep postponing on us, at the last minute, and have not come back to fix it.
Rachelle J. review for S & A Construction
Rachelle J. on Citysearch

8 years ago

10/22/2013, 01:50 AM
S & A Construction far exceeded my expectations!!! My husband and I hired S & A to do our kitchen remodel and we couldn't be more pleased. Ed, the owner, was so knowledgeable and helpful with the decision making process. He was such the expert that we allowed him to design our kitchen for us. His suggestions were so cost effective for us too. He definitely kept our budget in mind during the whole process. Also, the crew and office staff were professional and very friendly. Thank you so much, Ed and staff, for being such a pleasure to work with and making this whole process so easy and bearable! We highly recommend your company! Rachelle J.
Footer Banner 2021
Get more reviews. Get more customers.

Get more reviews from your customers with Birdeye. Dominate search results. Beat local competitors. Grow your business. Easy, done.