Birdeye Logo White 2020
Watch Demo

Public Kitchen & Bar

Claim this profile

This business is unclaimed. Owners who claim this profile can update information, boost SEO, and more.

Claim this business for free
4.1
781 reviews
|American|Saint Paul, MN 55101 United States

229 6th St E, Saint Paul, MN 55101 United States

(651) 348-6456

https://publickitchenstpaul.com/

Closed now

Google

Facebook

Suggest edits
Top Restaurants in your area
5.0
(1) · Restaurants

229 13th Ave S

(651) 457-5701
4.7
(901) · American

1340 Duckwood Dr

(651) 686-5100
4.7
(365) · Restaurants

102 2nd St S

(651) 439-1352
4.7
(692) · Restaurants

989 Payne Ave

(651) 888-6148
4.7
(637) · American

211 Broad St

(715) 262-2223
4.7
(721) · Restaurants

1644 Hastings Ave

(651) 459-9553
About

Overlooking Mears Park in Lowertown Saint Paul, PUBLIC kitchen + bar in the historic former Noyes & Cutler Building, once home to the Wood's Chocolate Factory has been transformed into a full service restaurant and lounge open daily for lunch, dinner and late-night cocktails. Architectural details from the over 100 year old building have been incorporated into the design of the new restaurant and showcase the original brick walls and wood support beams. We look forward to welcoming you and celebrating new traditions with you at PUBLIC kitchen + bar.

Suggest edits
BIRDEYE FOR BUSINESSES
Birdeye For Business

This profile is powered by Birdeye. Over 70,000 businesses use Birdeye everyday to get more reviews and manage all customer feedback. Birdeye helps millions of local businesses to be found online with all their reviews and accurate business information. Learn more about Birdeye

4.1
781 reviews
5407
  
4169
  
369
  
242
  
156
  
38 reviews have no rating
Sort By:
Recommended
Jane Kopp Bockstruck review for Public Kitchen & Bar
Jane Kopp Bockstruck on Facebook

8 years ago

08/14/2014, 22:11 PM
Had dinner here last night. FABULOUS! We sat outside. Our server, (Brian?), was attentive and knowledgeable about the food. My husband had the ribs and said they were the best he'd ever had. I had the short-ribs and they too were amazing - tender and falling off the bone. Prices were adequate for the food and ambiance. This is a new treasure in St. Paul!
Sue Kennedy review for Public Kitchen & Bar
Sue Kennedy on Facebook

8 years ago

08/13/2014, 17:44 PM
Loved it. Fantastic atmosphere upstairs and down. Menu was creative but not crazy. Portions were perhaps small for a dinner entre if you have a big appetite; but appropriate for an upscale restaurant. Staff was friendly and prompt though obviously still training. I was not a fan of the bread pudding...very dense & a bit dry. Server told us not to have banana cream pie because he thought it was bad...so dessert is perhaps not a highlight. Also they are fans of jalapeños and it features in MANY item descriptions. Being next door to the Barrio, I would satisfy my jalapeño cravings elsewhere and perhaps its not the best choice for a key ingredient here. Lowertown needed a place like this...classy and upscale....great addition to the neighborhood and a spot we will frequent.
Mike Anderson review for Public Kitchen & Bar
Mike Anderson on Facebook

8 years ago

08/12/2014, 13:23 PM
Lobster roll was delicious cheese fondue outstanding can't wait to come back Wednesday for lunch again !
Featured content
5 Top Review Sites for Lawyers

5 Top Review Sites for Lawyers

5 Top Review Sites for Lawyers
Do Online Reviews Matter?

Do Online Reviews Matter?

Do Online Reviews Matter?
Sini Salanoa review for Public Kitchen & Bar
Sini Salanoa on Facebook

8 years ago

08/11/2014, 21:06 PM
Very inexperienced servers who have only worked at Applebee's and never worked in fine dining. So they expect tips but don't like tipping their busers. A poorly ran establishment. It's no wonder why so many people have quit already.
Respond to negative reviews
Patrick Cody Walker review for Public Kitchen & Bar
Patrick Cody Walker on Facebook

8 years ago

08/09/2014, 17:40 PM
The food was a joke and the potions are not worth on how much it was. If you want small portions but awesome and tasty food go to heartland! My sister is a vegetarian and only had one entrée and they ran out...so she got a soup and salad, mind as well go to Perkins. The environment was awesome and the drinks are awesome but if you looking for a swanky over price menu go upstairs. BUT.......however my partner, sister and I where at the bar downstairs the other day and the food was amazing and the drinks where awesome (best in town) the bartenders where awesome and had a lot character!!!!!! I give the upstairs restaurant at 3 star but the downstairs bar I give a solid 5 star!!!!! Please more vegetarian options!!!!!
Business Response:

Thank you for the feedback. We have been talking about the vegetarian options and appreciate your thoughts and comments.

Brian Kennedy review for Public Kitchen & Bar
Brian Kennedy on Facebook

8 years ago

08/07/2014, 05:21 AM
Our only complaint was that there aren't enough wines by the glass and the bottle prices are off the charts. This ain't Minneapolis! Otherwise, pork ribs = A+, gnocchi = B+, speakeasy = A+, upstairs = A, patio = B. Amazing space and great staff...just need a few tweaks.
Business Response:

Hopefully with menus being reprinted and all wines now being poured from carafes into the glass, that should be worked out. Thanks again.

Holly Green review for Public Kitchen & Bar
Holly Green on Facebook

8 years ago

08/05/2014, 21:35 PM
I think I found my new favorite spot in Lowertown!
Tim Skiba review for Public Kitchen & Bar
Tim Skiba on Facebook

8 years ago

08/04/2014, 08:16 AM
I enjoyed the grilled chicken sandwich. Extremely good. Can't wait to come back for Happy Hour.
Jennifer Beckman Butler review for Public Kitchen & Bar
Jennifer Beckman Butler on Facebook

8 years ago

08/02/2014, 09:07 AM
Brunch was delicious, service was excellent and the restaurant is beautiful!!! I recommend the jalapeño cheddar biscuits, the breakfast sandwich and the Bloody Mary. Can't wait to go back and try the dinner menu!
Footer Banner 2021
Get more reviews. Get more customers.

Get more reviews from your customers with Birdeye. Dominate search results. Beat local competitors. Grow your business. Easy, done.