Birdeye Logo White 2020
Watch Demo

Nihon

Claim this profile

This business is unclaimed. Owners who claim this profile can update information, boost SEO, and more.

Claim this business for free
4.4
429 reviews
|Japanese|San Francisco, CA 94103

1779 Folsom St, Mission, San Francisco, CA 94103

(415) 552-4400

http://dajanigroup.net/

Closed now

Google

Suggest edits
Top Restaurants in your area
5.0
(1) · Restaurants

2026 San Pablo Ave

(510) 981-8225
5.0
(13) · Sushi Bars

1918 Oak Park Blvd

(925) 705-7065
4.8
(797) · Japanese

584 Washington St

(415) 757-0155
4.8
(11) · Restaurants

1690 Locust St

(925) 378-7924
4.7
(409) · Japanese

1747 Buchanan St

(415) 922-1244
4.7
(60) · Japanese

115 De Anza Blvd

(650) 286-0410
About

Specialties Nihon is both a whisky bar and a japanese resturant offering izakaya style food ( japan's version of tapas) till 11pm nightly with bar staying open till 2am. Nihon whisky selection is the largest in the state of California and possibly the US with over 500 expressions of single malt. All whiskies offered are available for bottle purchase and storage within a private bottle room & locker for guests to enjoy in as many visits as they so desire. Bottles are priced attractively and do not reflect club bottle pricing but the cost of the bottle if it was purchased shot for shot. Join us & allow us to pamper you and explain whisky to you as it is something we love to do! History Establ

Suggest edits
BIRDEYE FOR BUSINESSES
Birdeye For Business

This profile is powered by Birdeye. Over 70,000 businesses use Birdeye everyday to get more reviews and manage all customer feedback. Birdeye helps millions of local businesses to be found online with all their reviews and accurate business information. Learn more about Birdeye

4.4
429 reviews
5214
  
4107
  
332
  
29
  
19
  
58 reviews have no rating
Sort By:
Recommended
speakeasy32 review for Nihon
speakeasy32 on Citysearch

14 years ago

12/06/2007, 00:57 AM
Very good food...service could improve. – I realize we all have different tastes and not everyone is going to like the same things, but I've gone here five plus times and the food is always excellent. I like it better than Sushi Groove, Ozumo, Mas Saki, etc. I love the spicy tuna. Most rolls that I have tried are excellent and are always fresh. Everyone I have taken here (friends from out of town) have liked it. The reason it is not 5 stars is because the service can be slow at times and the waitresses don't always check on you that often. The bartender downstairs can be slow too. That has been pretty consistent with all the times that I've been there. Overall, I think most people would like the food here. Those people complaining about small portions don't have a clue. Just as the review says it is izakaya cuisine so they serve in small portions. It can be pricy on certain items so if you are looking for a cheaper dinner, this may not be the place for you. Good mix of folks from Mission hipsters to white collar workers. I hang out with both types so it suits me just fine. Hope this helps.
zanetheory review for Nihon
zanetheory on Citysearch

15 years ago

07/13/2007, 06:17 AM
Why did people rate this place so high? – I went to this restaurant because people gave it such great review, but it wasn't even that great nor was the food spectacular. I really wouldn't recommend this restaurant to anyone that is trying to dine somewhere nice with friends or spouses. But they do have a huge whiskey menu if that's what your into.
nyc45 review for Nihon
nyc45 on Citysearch

15 years ago

05/17/2007, 03:12 AM
Nothing special – The service leaves room for improvement, although knowledgeable but hardly attentive server was able to answer all our questions she was not seen by us after the food started arriving. The food runners were in disarray; they have chosen to bring dishes out one by one, which is counterproductive and considering that the kitchen is on the first flour could be tiresome. The dishes are extremely delicate: toro carpacio with hints of truffle oil and lemon melts away on your tongue even deep fried tempura of shitaki mushrooms stuffed with hamachi is amazingly airy. Traditional rolls are accented with spicy jalapeno aioli, which too overpowering.
Featured content
Why a Digital Marketing Agency Should Offer Online Reputation Management

Why a Digital Marketing Agency Should Offer Online Reputation Management

Why a Digital Marketing Agency Should Offer Online Reputation Management
Net Promoter Score Explained

Net Promoter Score Explained

Net Promoter Score Explained
phields review for Nihon
phields on Citysearch

15 years ago

04/18/2007, 10:29 AM
What is all the fuss? – I did not enjoy my experience here. The bartender barely spoke any English, poured me the wrong drink, refused to take it back, rude and not friendly at all. The place was too loud to have any conversation and the service at the tables were slow. It's sleek and trendy but not a fun place to go. There are plenty of other swanky places to see and be seen.
cariieyo review for Nihon
cariieyo on Citysearch

15 years ago

04/01/2007, 10:27 AM
A True Classic – This is a well run venue. It is a must see for anyone curious to know what a specialty whisky venue looks like. Over 250 whiskies... What a selection. I enjoyed the setting which is sophisticated, classy, not over bearing. Service was good, food excellent both on the cooked items and the raw sachimi... I was impressed with thier generous whiky pour of 2oz. Most places pour 1 1/2 ozs and even though pricing looks expensive I think not realy. I'm a whisky lover and whisky is expensive unless its Jack or Jim beam or cutty sark what you drink. When you go ask to be seated upstaires.. I liked it m ore than the bottom floor. You can actually see the whole operation. Good spot that is here to stay...
bankgeek review for Nihon
bankgeek on Citysearch

15 years ago

03/18/2007, 05:13 AM
A Place For Upper Society – Ive been to Nihon few times that I must admit by now that I know few of the servers & the manger. I told some of my coworkers to visit with me and was surprised that one told me that they got some "not so good" reviews here. Being surprised, I read them & I thought I should add my 2 cents even though I never write reviews since I disagree with most. Most people complaints are due to them simply being cheap. Many people likes to hang out & go to great places but they are either cheap or dont have the money to party. It is a fact that Nihon is not cheap "drink wise' but I cant remmebr where you can get a cocktail now for less than $10 and thats what you seem to pay at Nihon, even though I always bought bottles there. The food is darn fresh "sachimi" I know as unlike most, I can afford to eat out & I know whats good & whats fresh. I must advise those who budget to hang around few of the cheap mission bars and simply leave Nihon to people like us. People like us I mean are those who work hard, make good money & wants to hang in places with excllent service, they know you by name & take care of you. Plaese stay away if you cannot afford it.
ttotat review for Nihon
ttotat on Citysearch

15 years ago

02/28/2007, 06:19 AM
Expensive Drinking But Very Classy – Unlike many lounges in the city Nihon seems to have done it correct. Its design is faboulous similar to many hot spots in London or New York and even though the space is not large they manged to take adavantage of every small part in it. Now their whisky list is for ceratin the lragest in any place Ive seen. Check the cabinet next to bar.. bottles that are 40 or 50 year olds.. waoo.. I was very happy with service and couple of appetizers i tried. I will be back.
april20012000 review for Nihon
april20012000 on Citysearch

15 years ago

02/22/2007, 05:18 AM
Poor, Poor, Poor cuisine & cocktails – I took my boyfriend for a romantic dinner. The reviews are mixed, but wanted to give it a chance. That was a huge mistake, but we made the best of it. The cuisine was lousy and they own another sushi location. Management needs to work with the kitchen crew to improve dramatically. The prices are way over priced for both the cuisine and cocktails. The place isn't one of the high demand sushi lounges, in the city. We're better off with places like Tokyo Go-Go, Blowfish, or even Deep Sushi. The ambiance isn't bad, but its not great either. I'm confused by some of the reviews. I'm betting that its coming from the owner, friends and staff members. I don't reccomend this establishment for the bar, ambiance, location and food quality. If so, please post your review and let everyone else know.
prophotographer review for Nihon
prophotographer on Citysearch

15 years ago

02/10/2007, 02:36 AM
Terrible Sushi & Over-hyped - I will not go back – I've never written a review before but last night has inspired me. I took my boyfriend to Nihon for his birthday as he LOVES whiskey and Japanese food. We had amazing whiskeys and my champagne cocktail was nice. The service was slow but very friendly. Here is the thing, our food was tasteless and poorly constructed. Upon contact, every single roll we ordered FELL APART. Not only that, it had no flavor. And considering our strong drinks, we needed something of equal strength to match. The food is overpriced, the drinks were insanely overpriced. I will never go back. Not only this, I will tell everyone I know not to go.***When we got home I made myself a piece of toast***
Footer Banner 2021
Get more reviews. Get more customers.

Get more reviews from your customers with Birdeye. Dominate search results. Beat local competitors. Grow your business. Easy, done.