Logo White
Watch Demo

Johnnie's Beef

Own this business?
2.7
72 reviews
|Restaurants|Elmwood Park, IL 60707

7500 W North Ave, Elmwood Park, IL 60707

(708) 452-6000

Closed now

Google

Suggest edits

Top Restaurants in your area

Poet's Beef N Dogs
4.9
(16) · Restaurants

677 N York St

(630) 359-4229

1 person is looking at this business

Big Chill
4.6
(143) · Restaurants

623 Wilcox St

(815) 722-0355

4 people are looking at this business

Smokehouse
4.5
(285) · Restaurants

1825 N Main St

(630) 668-0645
George's Gyros Spot
4.5
(559) · Restaurants

325 N Calumet Rd

(219) 926-5435
Choppers
4.5
(572) · Restaurants

1659 N Ashland Ave

(773) 227-7800

1 person is looking at this business

Jimmy's Drive-in
4.5
(536) · Restaurants

8304 S Roberts Rd

(708) 598-6467

1 person is looking at this business

About

Johnnie’s Beef is a popular and award-winning local eatery and fast food joint. With a hoard of regular patrons plus being high on the popularity list, Johnnie’s is best known for their juicy Italian beef sandwiches and routinely features a line out the door. Being brisk and efficient, it shouldn't take one too long to pick up a bite to go once the line starts moving. Recommended meal is the Italian Beef sandwich featuring thinly sliced juicy meat folded into fresh bread with spicy peppers and an Italian ice to counteract the heat. While the menu is limited, Johnnie’s Beef knows what its good at and sticks to just that. Get your sandwich to go or seat yourself at one of the

Suggest edits

BIRDEYE FOR BUSINESSES

Birdeye For Business

This profile is powered by BirdEye. Over 50,000 businesses use BirdEye everyday to get more reviews and manage all customer feedback. BirdEye helps millions of local businesses to be found online with all their reviews and accurate business information. Learn more about BirdEye

BirdEye Score

The BirdEye Score® is calculated based on our proprietary algorithm applied to customers reviews, weighted by a range of different factors.

Learn how the BirdEye Score® is calculated
2.7
72 reviews
55
  
43
  
32
  
22
  
19
  
51 reviews have no rating
  • 13 Reviews2.2Yellow Pages
  • 8 Reviews3.5Insider Pages
Sort By:
5 results available.
Recommended
mikennedy on Citysearch

16 years ago

04/29/2004, 01:59 AM
Best Beef Anywhere – I was never a fan of Italian Beef until I went to Johnnies. Now I'm hooked. No where else can you get as good a sandwich as the beefs at Johnnies. The "juicy beef" with hot peppers is the best.
neapolitana on Citysearch

16 years ago

08/20/2003, 01:45 AM
Beef – Everyone in chicago knows what a beef is. Johnnie's, for many years, was in my opinion one of the best beef stands in chicago. I used to stop in here all the time to grab a sandwhich while on my way to work. Although in recent years, it seems to me that Johnnies taste quality may have gone down just a little. I have heard rumors of Johnny selling out to new owners, and I guess that could be the reason. It is still a great place to go and they still have great beefs.
jessica1977 on Citysearch

16 years ago

07/10/2003, 03:21 AM
The Italian Beefs at this restaurant are the best I have ever tasted in the chicagoland area. The only thing about it they could be bigger.
Featured content
Blaze Pizza using BirdEye platform

Blaze Pizza using BirdEye platform

Blaze Pizza using BirdEye platform
Feedback on restaurants is important for growth

Feedback on restaurants is important for growth

Feedback on restaurants is important for growth
enginedic on Citysearch

17 years ago

04/29/2003, 02:48 AM
Hand's Down the Best – "Johnnie's over by dare on Nort Ave. "what a classic . BEST BEEF IN COUNTRY!!! Combo with sweet peppers a one of a kind
cartman_83 on Citysearch

17 years ago

03/27/2003, 02:23 AM
Good, not great – Being a beef fan I had heard from some people that Johnnie's had the best Beef in Chicago. I will admit it is damn good. However, it is rather on the small side and a bit expensive. I can't say the place is bad but if you want a better beef go to Duke's drive inn in Bridgeview Il. Great beef sandwich and it takes 2 hands to eat it.
jbnjohnson on Citysearch

17 years ago

02/07/2003, 01:59 AM
Great Chicago style food – No fluff. No puff. Just damn good food. This is literally one of the few places i could eat at everyday and never get tired of it. Also, definitely the best Italian ice in the city. I've kept an eye open around the Chicagoland area for a better ice, there isn't any. You must try this place.
deltamike98 on Citysearch

17 years ago

02/07/2003, 01:59 AM
Big fat juicy beef! – The beef here is the best! Be sure to ask for a sandwich that's juicy. I also love the ice, and you should ask for it without a cover! I'll always love Johnnie's; growing up with it in Elmwood Park, it has become a tradition for me!
cubfan1908 on Citysearch

17 years ago

02/07/2003, 01:48 AM
Da best beef and Saaasage!! – Always a wait, but ohh so worth it. Orgasmic beef(Home made), heavenly Sausage(also home made and spit cooked b4 your very eyes) and one of the best Ices around. Know how you want your beef, default is always wet. It could be -30 out and people will still line up to get in.
You must go b4 u die.
Jzub on Citysearch

17 years ago

01/29/2003, 02:39 AM
Great Beef – One of the Best Beef in Chicago - especially in summer. Very few others in Chicago are so good. I have talked to people in line from Kentucky who came back to get a beef. Better in summer as there is no where to sit.
Footer Banner

Get more reviews. Get more customers.

Get more reviews from your customers with BirdEye. Dominate search results. Beat local competitors. Grow your business. Easy, done.