Birdeye Logo White 2020
Watch Demo

Johnnie's Beef

Claim this profile

This business is unclaimed. Owners who claim this profile can update information, boost SEO, and more.

Claim this business for free
2.7
80 reviews
|Fast Food|Chicago, IL 60707 United States
Top Restaurants in your area
5.0
(1) · Fast Food

114 W Chicago Ave

(312) 265-1479
5.0
(3) · Restaurants

14600 S La Grange Rd

(708) 645-4677
5.0
(1) · Fast Food

800 E Sibley Blvd

(708) 841-5693
5.0
(1) · Barbeque

7650 S Ashland Ave

(773) 383-2747
4.7
(7) · Restaurants

677 N York St

(630) 359-4229
4.6
(571) · Restaurants

325 N Calumet Rd

(219) 926-5435
About

Johnnie’s Beef is a popular and award-winning local eatery and fast food joint. With a hoard of regular patrons plus being high on the popularity list, Johnnie’s is best known for their juicy Italian beef sandwiches and routinely features a line out the door. Being brisk and efficient, it shouldn't take one too long to pick up a bite to go once the line starts moving. Recommended meal is the Italian Beef sandwich featuring thinly sliced juicy meat folded into fresh bread with spicy peppers and an Italian ice to counteract the heat. While the menu is limited, Johnnie’s Beef knows what its good at and sticks to just that. Get your sandwich to go or seat yourself at one of the

Suggest edits
BIRDEYE FOR BUSINESSES
Birdeye For Business

This profile is powered by Birdeye. Over 90,000 businesses use Birdeye everyday to get more reviews and manage all customer feedback. Birdeye helps millions of local businesses to be found online with all their reviews and accurate business information. Learn more about Birdeye

2.7
80 reviews
55
  
43
  
32
  
22
  
19
  
59 reviews have no rating
Sort By:
Featured
partigirl55 review for Johnnie's Beef
partigirl55 on Citysearch

18 years ago

07/25/2005, 02:31 AM
DAAA best – the italian ice is the GREAT along with the hotdogs
ingoglia75 review for Johnnie's Beef
ingoglia75 on Citysearch

18 years ago

06/15/2005, 03:20 AM
JAI – By far the best beef in Chicago. This is the place to be if you like Italian Beef.
Alyssa C. review for Johnnie's Beef
Alyssa C. on Insider Pages

18 years ago

05/16/2005, 02:13 AM
The best beef Living in Chicago, you have to go to Johnnies at least once. The lines are always long but they work faster than any other business. This place is legendary for the best beef sandwiches in the world and today it still lives up to it's name.
Featured content
Review Responses and SEO

Review Responses and SEO

Review Responses and SEO
Livechat vs chatbot: which one is right for your business?

Livechat vs chatbot: which one is right for your business?

Livechat vs chatbot: which one is right for your business?
adacarlson review for Johnnie's Beef
adacarlson on Citysearch

18 years ago

05/10/2005, 03:39 AM
The BEST Italian Ice – Johnnies italian ice is my summer favorite. The portion is just enough to cool you off on a hot summer night. The wait in line is sooo worth it.
Jennifer Olvera review for Johnnie's Beef
Jennifer Olvera on Citysearch

18 years ago

03/21/2005, 00:05 AM
This Italian beef institution serves up savory sammies to hoards of locals who don't mind grabbing it to go. – The Scene Day and night, rain or shine, folks shuffle in a line up to a block long for Johnnie's legendary beef sandwiches. Stainless steel and gray-blue tones add up to an institutional feel, but the smoky scent emanating from this stand is nothing short of heavenly. A small standing-room-only counter serves as the indoor dining space, and no-nonsense counter service means you better know your order when you step to the register. The Food Shreds of nicely seasoned, melt-in-your-mouth beef mound atop chewy, jus-soaked Italian bread makes this place a mainstay. Searing giardiniera and tangy, caramelized green peppers are must-have toppers. Sweet char-grilled Italian sausage--particularly comboed with beef--furthers the appeal to carnivores, while Chicago-style dogs are a perfectly fine interpretation and are served alongside extra-crisp skinny fries. Lemon ice--tasty as sweet, summery lemonade--is delish any time of year. The small menu also includes tamales, and pepper and egg sandwiches.
erb625 review for Johnnie's Beef
erb625 on Citysearch

18 years ago

08/09/2004, 02:44 AM
Awesome! – I am a displaced Chicagoan and every time I come back, Johnnie's is one of the first stops I make. they never heard of Italian Beef in North Carolina and Johnnie's is definately one of the best in town. You can tell by the perpetual line outside the stand that this is one of the best!
asleepatwork review for Johnnie's Beef
asleepatwork on Citysearch

19 years ago

07/23/2004, 03:21 AM
Damn Good – I live in Austin now, but I grew up 15 minutes from Johnnie's. The beef is great and the sausage is wonderful. If you're a first timer, have a combo with hot peppers. The sausage is the better than anywhere. Some say that the beef isn't as tasty as it used to be. That may be true, but coming from a beef lover, there isn't one reputable beef place in Chicago that is as good as it used to be. On a relative scale, Johnnie's is as good as any. The service is rude, but its part of Johnnie's tradition, just like the Wiener's Circle. It may be pricey for the portions, but you shouldn't be eating that much anyway. Go. Its the best.
sifodyas1 review for Johnnie's Beef
sifodyas1 on Citysearch

19 years ago

06/22/2004, 01:45 AM
WOW! – BEEF! BEEF! BEEF! A friend of mine turned me onto this place. ITS AWESOME. The best beef, forget the others. Small sandwiches, but no problem, i just order TWO! Eat em like hot dogs. :-) I must have missed the "lines" that everyone talks about. The service is set up so great, the only line I hit in my 3 times there moved faster than any line I ever been in. Call it, they call it, its up, FAST! Simple as that. AWESOME! And besided, even if you have to wait, its worth it, ten times over. And no, im not the owners son, Im just a beef lover!@
mikennedy review for Johnnie's Beef
mikennedy on Citysearch

19 years ago

04/29/2004, 01:59 AM
Best Beef Anywhere – I was never a fan of Italian Beef until I went to Johnnies. Now I'm hooked. No where else can you get as good a sandwich as the beefs at Johnnies. The "juicy beef" with hot peppers is the best.
Footer Banner 2021
Get more reviews. Get more customers.

Get more reviews from your customers with Birdeye. Dominate search results. Beat local competitors. Grow your business. Easy, done.