Logo White
Watch Demo

Johnnie's Beef

Own this business?
2.7
72 reviews
|Restaurants|Elmwood Park, IL 60707

7500 W North Ave, Elmwood Park, IL 60707

(708) 452-6000

Closed now

Google

Suggest edits

Top Restaurants in your area

Poet's Beef N Dogs
4.9
(16) · Restaurants

677 N York St

(630) 359-4229

1 person is looking at this business

Big Chill
4.6
(143) · Restaurants

623 Wilcox St

(815) 722-0355

4 people are looking at this business

Smokehouse
4.5
(285) · Restaurants

1825 N Main St

(630) 668-0645
George's Gyros Spot
4.5
(559) · Restaurants

325 N Calumet Rd

(219) 926-5435
Choppers
4.5
(572) · Restaurants

1659 N Ashland Ave

(773) 227-7800

1 person is looking at this business

Jimmy's Drive-in
4.5
(536) · Restaurants

8304 S Roberts Rd

(708) 598-6467

1 person is looking at this business

About

Johnnie’s Beef is a popular and award-winning local eatery and fast food joint. With a hoard of regular patrons plus being high on the popularity list, Johnnie’s is best known for their juicy Italian beef sandwiches and routinely features a line out the door. Being brisk and efficient, it shouldn't take one too long to pick up a bite to go once the line starts moving. Recommended meal is the Italian Beef sandwich featuring thinly sliced juicy meat folded into fresh bread with spicy peppers and an Italian ice to counteract the heat. While the menu is limited, Johnnie’s Beef knows what its good at and sticks to just that. Get your sandwich to go or seat yourself at one of the

Suggest edits

BIRDEYE FOR BUSINESSES

Birdeye For Business

This profile is powered by BirdEye. Over 50,000 businesses use BirdEye everyday to get more reviews and manage all customer feedback. BirdEye helps millions of local businesses to be found online with all their reviews and accurate business information. Learn more about BirdEye

BirdEye Score

The BirdEye Score® is calculated based on our proprietary algorithm applied to customers reviews, weighted by a range of different factors.

Learn how the BirdEye Score® is calculated
2.7
72 reviews
55
  
43
  
32
  
22
  
19
  
51 reviews have no rating
  • 13 Reviews2.2Yellow Pages
  • 8 Reviews3.5Insider Pages
Sort By:
5 results available.
Recommended
Christina F. on Insider Pages

11 years ago

10/14/2008, 03:15 AM
awesome fast food!
if you are looking for some good fast food this is the place to go. this is a neighborhood classic and a must try for those visiting the area. the menu is always great and the italian ice is the best around!
1italiangirl on Yellow Pages

11 years ago

08/29/2008, 01:44 AM
I've been going to Johnnie's Beef on North Avenue for years and I must say, the sandwiches are not as good as they use to be! I have found grizzle the last three times I have ordered a sausage or combo sandwich. The beef sandwiches are still great but have been getting a little skimpy of late. Do we have too much business now to maintain the quality of the sandwiches?!
ChicagoGuy76 on Citysearch

11 years ago

07/18/2008, 01:29 AM
Some people and there reviews really make me wonder! – Have any of you who think Johnnie's is the "BEST" especially idigmusic55 ever had Portillo's??? I know some locations are very chincy on the amount of beef, but even so it should be about the whole experience but most importantly the FLAVOR, the SPICES you can taste...
I had a mission when I came home from the Army to find the "BEST" Italian Beef. I've tried hundreds. Most places that claim to be the best only serve a hot beef sandwich, NO ITALIAN FLAVOR!
PLEASE, PLEASE TRY OTHER PLACES BEFORE YOU CLAIME ONE AS THE "BEST"!
Featured content
Blaze Pizza using BirdEye platform

Blaze Pizza using BirdEye platform

Blaze Pizza using BirdEye platform
Feedback on restaurants is important for growth

Feedback on restaurants is important for growth

Feedback on restaurants is important for growth
idigmusic55 on Citysearch

11 years ago

07/14/2008, 03:40 AM
Un BElieveable! – I can't believe Patrick Hayes I love Johnny's Beef I have never reviewed anything before but his comments necessitated response. Johnny's is my favorite beef I have ever had, the bread is not store bought its Gonnella, A hometown bakery that's been around since 1836, and the beef oh god the beef spicy juicy just enough meat I live in NYC now and I dream about it at night. The fries are delicious somehow they avoided the whole anti trans fat craze and kept their fries delicious anyway I just wanted to set it straight as if the mile long line there everyday wasn't enough to convince you to try it
Nell M. on Insider Pages

12 years ago

04/11/2008, 03:55 AM
Best Beef In Chicago!
Johnnies Beef is a must try in my opinion. Not only is it the best Italian beef in the Chicago land area but it is an experience to see this famous place and how it works.The service is good and fast. The line is usually wrapped around the outside, but don't worry it takes very little time and is well worth the wait. They only have a counter inside but have outdoor seating during warm weather. You can't beat the prices and most important the taste. Try their delicious Italian ice too.
maxk1125 on Citysearch

12 years ago

12/16/2007, 02:11 AM
best in the world – great beefs. fast service even for larger crowds. it is a small place with juicy beef and GREAT ITALIAN ICE. doesnt rip you off.
drmagazine on Yellow Pages

12 years ago

11/17/2007, 00:48 AM
I have to travel quite a while to get to Johnnie's but when I have to have a great combo sandwich I go. They cut the sweet peppers up small and their beef has a unique flavor. My mouth is watering just thinking about it. I guess I'm going to have to drive up there tomorrow.
Marianne P. on Insider Pages

12 years ago

10/20/2007, 02:26 AM
Hope your order isn't messed up because they don't care
Went to Johnnie's yesterday - for the last time. I placed my order and my son ordered the rest of what we came for. I was standing next to him as he ordered. Although we did not see cheezy beefs on the menu he first ordered a cheezy beef combo and the person taking the order turned around and told his co-worker he then ordered a cheezy beef with sweet peppers and again he turned and told his co-worker. The last item was a combo. He also ordered three fries & a tamale. We took our order home and we do not live close at all. Lo and behold the order was wrong. One beef was missing, there were no cheesy beefs, my son's beef had peppers all
...  more>>
Respond to negative reviews
patrickhayes on Citysearch

12 years ago

10/15/2007, 03:31 AM
nothing special an you can easily find much better. – I really don't know how this place keeps get first place.
I really wonder who owns this place?
I mark Johnny's one step above a generic beef.
(A generic beef is one that has the same basic ingredients that you will find at any pizza/beef shop that chooses to drop some beef in ajue. Giardiniera is store bought. And the bread is the same.)
The beef has an ok taste but ,nothing to right home about. I thing most people who love this place really don't go anywhere else. Or are not willing to try something else, since they think it is the best and for some reason so, do a lot of people.
I like to try different places and I am glad because I can
...  more>>
Footer Banner

Get more reviews. Get more customers.

Get more reviews from your customers with BirdEye. Dominate search results. Beat local competitors. Grow your business. Easy, done.