Birdeye Logo White 2020
Watch Demo

Johnnie's Beef

Claim this profile

This business is unclaimed. Owners who claim this profile can update information, boost SEO, and more.

Claim this business for free
2.7
80 reviews
|Fast Food|Chicago, IL 60707 United States
Top Restaurants in your area
5.0
(1) · Fast Food

114 W Chicago Ave

(312) 265-1479
5.0
(3) · Restaurants

14600 S La Grange Rd

(708) 645-4677
5.0
(1) · Fast Food

800 E Sibley Blvd

(708) 841-5693
5.0
(1) · Barbeque

7650 S Ashland Ave

(773) 383-2747
4.7
(7) · Restaurants

677 N York St

(630) 359-4229
4.6
(571) · Restaurants

325 N Calumet Rd

(219) 926-5435
About

Johnnie’s Beef is a popular and award-winning local eatery and fast food joint. With a hoard of regular patrons plus being high on the popularity list, Johnnie’s is best known for their juicy Italian beef sandwiches and routinely features a line out the door. Being brisk and efficient, it shouldn't take one too long to pick up a bite to go once the line starts moving. Recommended meal is the Italian Beef sandwich featuring thinly sliced juicy meat folded into fresh bread with spicy peppers and an Italian ice to counteract the heat. While the menu is limited, Johnnie’s Beef knows what its good at and sticks to just that. Get your sandwich to go or seat yourself at one of the

Suggest edits
BIRDEYE FOR BUSINESSES
Birdeye For Business

This profile is powered by Birdeye. Over 90,000 businesses use Birdeye everyday to get more reviews and manage all customer feedback. Birdeye helps millions of local businesses to be found online with all their reviews and accurate business information. Learn more about Birdeye

2.7
80 reviews
55
  
43
  
32
  
22
  
19
  
59 reviews have no rating
Sort By:
Featured
Joanne P. review for Johnnie's Beef
Joanne P. on Yellow Pages

10 years ago

06/21/2013, 01:09 AM
Went to Johnnie's only because my brother raves about it. The beef is good, can't say it's "the best" I've had, but it's good. I had a combo, the Italian sausage IS REALLY GOOD, spicy, really tasty. The sandwiches though are small, really skimpy on beef, but then again the price is only $3.90. The hotdogs are average, with a nice BIG pickle spear, fries are good! No seating inside, only maybe four pic-nic tables outside. The pretty cool part was you walk in one door, place your order, pick-up at the other end of a long counter where you then walk out the door opposite the one you walked in from. Pretty neat set up!!!
John S. review for Johnnie's Beef
John S. on Citysearch

11 years ago

07/14/2012, 01:06 AM
Johnnie's is amazing! Best italian beef and lemon ice I've ever had. Fries are good, polish sausage excellent as well. Love the sweet and hot peppers - can never decide. And to ChicagoGuy - I agree that Portillo's is fantastic. But it's no Johnnie's Beef in my book. Could be just the more commercialized feel I get at Portillo's vs. the authentic feel of Johnnie's highly technical ordering system. But, I really think the food is a touch better too.
David H. review for Johnnie's Beef
David H. on Citysearch

11 years ago

06/24/2012, 02:41 AM
Best beef on earth. Just like the paper bag says. There is nothing comparable. Not Al's, mr beef, buona, or others. Had a blind contest. #1
Featured content
'Facebook Reviews' are now 'Facebook Recommendations'

'Facebook Reviews' are now 'Facebook Recommendations'

'Facebook Reviews' are now 'Facebook Recommendations'
Review Responses and SEO

Review Responses and SEO

Review Responses and SEO
chris1961 review for Johnnie's Beef
chris1961 on Citysearch

12 years ago

05/10/2011, 02:23 AM
The best – Im from Columbus, Ohio, but my Daughter (who lives in Chicago) said I must go. I did, and WOW! Got mine dipped and with sweet peppers, and it was awesome! It was the best beef sandwich Ive ever had. I cant wait to return.
rr60305 review for Johnnie's Beef
rr60305 on Yellow Pages

12 years ago

03/29/2011, 01:53 AM
The food here is excellent and the Italian ice is just what you need in the balmy Chicago summers. I'd give this place 5 stars but the parking is ridiculously limited and the lines can get really long. I guess that's the price you pay for delicious food.
rickerreeves review for Johnnie's Beef
rickerreeves on Citysearch

12 years ago

03/28/2011, 02:44 AM
Marvelous Italian beef – I've been coming here for years and I must say that the food here is very good and the Italian ice is just what you need in the heat of Chicago summers. I'd give this place 5 stars but the parking is ridiculously limited and the lines can get really long. I guess that's the price you pay for delicious food.
ljoking10 review for Johnnie's Beef
ljoking10 on Citysearch

13 years ago

06/13/2010, 01:21 AM
Just awesome – No need to say much here. the beef was off the chain and so was the Italian ice. Get them both! If you want, go for the combo, which is an Italian beef with a polish sausage. A-mazing!
Jan S. review for Johnnie's Beef
Jan S. on Insider Pages

14 years ago

01/16/2009, 00:44 AM
Not the same Last week we went back to Johnnies. Have been going since 1974. In our eyes it was the best Chicago offered. We only get there once a year, due to the distance we now have to travel. What a difference! The beef amount is very cheap compared to what is used to be. There was more sweet peppers then there was beef and it seems they were not as sweet as they used to be, with way too much vinegar. I will try Portillos, Als and Mr. Beef again. The italian lemonade is a good as ever. Mr heart is sad, first the lose of the "Come Back Inn" and now this. Thank God for Jenes and Jude! Make me wonder if the "Boys" sold the business.
Christina F. review for Johnnie's Beef
Christina F. on Insider Pages

14 years ago

10/14/2008, 03:15 AM
awesome fast food! if you are looking for some good fast food this is the place to go. this is a neighborhood classic and a must try for those visiting the area. the menu is always great and the italian ice is the best around!
Footer Banner 2021
Get more reviews. Get more customers.

Get more reviews from your customers with Birdeye. Dominate search results. Beat local competitors. Grow your business. Easy, done.