Birdeye Logo White 2020
Watch Demo

Johnnie's Beef

Claim this profile

This business is unclaimed. Owners who claim this profile can update information, boost SEO, and more.

Claim this business for free
2.7
80 reviews
|Fast Food|Chicago, IL 60707 United States
Top Restaurants in your area
5.0
(1) · Fast Food

114 W Chicago Ave

(312) 265-1479
5.0
(3) · Restaurants

14600 S La Grange Rd

(708) 645-4677
5.0
(1) · Fast Food

800 E Sibley Blvd

(708) 841-5693
5.0
(1) · Barbeque

7650 S Ashland Ave

(773) 383-2747
4.7
(7) · Restaurants

677 N York St

(630) 359-4229
4.6
(571) · Restaurants

325 N Calumet Rd

(219) 926-5435
About

Johnnie’s Beef is a popular and award-winning local eatery and fast food joint. With a hoard of regular patrons plus being high on the popularity list, Johnnie’s is best known for their juicy Italian beef sandwiches and routinely features a line out the door. Being brisk and efficient, it shouldn't take one too long to pick up a bite to go once the line starts moving. Recommended meal is the Italian Beef sandwich featuring thinly sliced juicy meat folded into fresh bread with spicy peppers and an Italian ice to counteract the heat. While the menu is limited, Johnnie’s Beef knows what its good at and sticks to just that. Get your sandwich to go or seat yourself at one of the

Suggest edits
BIRDEYE FOR BUSINESSES
Birdeye For Business

This profile is powered by Birdeye. Over 90,000 businesses use Birdeye everyday to get more reviews and manage all customer feedback. Birdeye helps millions of local businesses to be found online with all their reviews and accurate business information. Learn more about Birdeye

2.7
80 reviews
55
  
43
  
32
  
22
  
19
  
59 reviews have no rating
Sort By:
Featured
1italiangirl review for Johnnie's Beef
1italiangirl on Yellow Pages

14 years ago

08/29/2008, 01:44 AM
I've been going to Johnnie's Beef on North Avenue for years and I must say, the sandwiches are not as good as they use to be! I have found grizzle the last three times I have ordered a sausage or combo sandwich. The beef sandwiches are still great but have been getting a little skimpy of late. Do we have too much business now to maintain the quality of the sandwiches?!
ChicagoGuy76 review for Johnnie's Beef
ChicagoGuy76 on Citysearch

15 years ago

07/18/2008, 01:29 AM
Some people and there reviews really make me wonder! – Have any of you who think Johnnie's is the "BEST" especially idigmusic55 ever had Portillo's??? I know some locations are very chincy on the amount of beef, but even so it should be about the whole experience but most importantly the FLAVOR, the SPICES you can taste... I had a mission when I came home from the Army to find the "BEST" Italian Beef. I've tried hundreds. Most places that claim to be the best only serve a hot beef sandwich, NO ITALIAN FLAVOR! PLEASE, PLEASE TRY OTHER PLACES BEFORE YOU CLAIME ONE AS THE "BEST"!
idigmusic55 review for Johnnie's Beef
idigmusic55 on Citysearch

15 years ago

07/14/2008, 03:40 AM
Un BElieveable! – I can't believe Patrick Hayes I love Johnny's Beef I have never reviewed anything before but his comments necessitated response. Johnny's is my favorite beef I have ever had, the bread is not store bought its Gonnella, A hometown bakery that's been around since 1836, and the beef oh god the beef spicy juicy just enough meat I live in NYC now and I dream about it at night. The fries are delicious somehow they avoided the whole anti trans fat craze and kept their fries delicious anyway I just wanted to set it straight as if the mile long line there everyday wasn't enough to convince you to try it
Featured content
Handling negative reviews- 4 important tips

Handling negative reviews- 4 important tips

Handling negative reviews- 4 important tips
How to ask for customer feedback - A go-to guide for small businesses

How to ask for customer feedback - A go-to guide for small businesses

How to ask for customer feedback - A go-to guide for small businesses
Nell M. review for Johnnie's Beef
Nell M. on Insider Pages

15 years ago

04/11/2008, 03:55 AM
Best Beef In Chicago! Johnnies Beef is a must try in my opinion. Not only is it the best Italian beef in the Chicago land area but it is an experience to see this famous place and how it works.The service is good and fast. The line is usually wrapped around the outside, but don't worry it takes very little time and is well worth the wait. They only have a counter inside but have outdoor seating during warm weather. You can't beat the prices and most important the taste. Try their delicious Italian ice too.
maxk1125 review for Johnnie's Beef
maxk1125 on Citysearch

15 years ago

12/16/2007, 02:11 AM
best in the world – great beefs. fast service even for larger crowds. it is a small place with juicy beef and GREAT ITALIAN ICE. doesnt rip you off.
drmagazine review for Johnnie's Beef
drmagazine on Yellow Pages

15 years ago

11/17/2007, 00:48 AM
I have to travel quite a while to get to Johnnie's but when I have to have a great combo sandwich I go. They cut the sweet peppers up small and their beef has a unique flavor. My mouth is watering just thinking about it. I guess I'm going to have to drive up there tomorrow.
Marianne P. review for Johnnie's Beef
Marianne P. on Insider Pages

15 years ago

10/20/2007, 02:26 AM
Hope your order isn't messed up because they don't care Went to Johnnie's yesterday - for the last time. I placed my order and my son ordered the rest of what we came for. I was standing next to him as he ordered. Although we did not see cheezy beefs on the menu he first ordered a cheezy beef combo and the person taking the order turned around and told his co-worker he then ordered a cheezy beef with sweet peppers and again he turned and told his co-worker. The last item was a combo. He also ordered three fries & a tamale. We took our order home and we do not live close at all. Lo and behold the order was wrong. One beef was missing, there were no cheesy beefs, my son's beef had peppers all over it (he hate's peppers) and four fries instead of three. Needless to say I was not happy. I called and spoke to I believe a manager. He was in no way apologetic. He said that he doesn't believe that the order taker didn't tell me there were no cheezy beefs on their menu. He said that if my son placed the order how do I know that's what happened. I told him I was standing right next to him. I told him that I have ordered food for parties in the past and that I didn't think that it was worth a beef sandwich for him to lose a customer. I also told him this was not a way to run a business and he should be aplogizing to me. He told me that I was not being nice. I didn't think it was my responsibility to be nice . He made me feel like I was lying to him, he did not offer an apology and did not offer to correct the problem. I was so surprised by this man's reaction and made a vow to not go there again. Even though the beef is good at Johnnie's their customer relations are terrible. As my friend said, they think that they do such a good business they don't have to be nice. I went to another restaurant closer to my home and got a beef there. It was very good and a comprable replacement for Johnnies - if interested the name is Frannie's in Schiller Park.
Respond to negative reviews
patrickhayes review for Johnnie's Beef
patrickhayes on Citysearch

15 years ago

10/15/2007, 03:31 AM
nothing special an you can easily find much better. – I really don't know how this place keeps get first place. I really wonder who owns this place? I mark Johnny's one step above a generic beef. (A generic beef is one that has the same basic ingredients that you will find at any pizza/beef shop that chooses to drop some beef in ajue. Giardiniera is store bought. And the bread is the same.) The beef has an ok taste but ,nothing to right home about. I thing most people who love this place really don't go anywhere else. Or are not willing to try something else, since they think it is the best and for some reason so, do a lot of people. I like to try different places and I am glad because I can truly tell you I have had the best beef. It is fro a place in Cal city called Pepino's thy are moving to a better area over the border. The fall in to the best of everything. Taste and value. Try Pop's or Chickies all better than Johnie's. Hell Portillo's has more flavor and they are just as stindgy with the amount of beef you get . And just so you know, I have been to Johnnie's a few times so, it is not a one time thing. Also for the combo the sausage seems to be over cooked each time. You can get a better beef at, at least a half dozen places.
philback review for Johnnie's Beef
philback on Citysearch

15 years ago

08/27/2007, 01:34 AM
Well Worth the Drive... – We knew it was a good sign when we pulled up and saw people lined out the door around noon on Sunday. Everyone in front of us ordered the tamales and the italian ice. We were there for the italian beef and it was fantastic. Service was super fast, the tiny kitchen area was run with precision and we only wondered if it kept busy like that all day! Anyway, this place is worth the drive for a great sandwich. We can't wait to try it again, next time we'll try the tamales too.
Footer Banner 2021
Get more reviews. Get more customers.

Get more reviews from your customers with Birdeye. Dominate search results. Beat local competitors. Grow your business. Easy, done.