Logo White
Watch Demo

Johnnie's Beef

Own this business?
2.7
72 reviews
|Restaurants|Elmwood Park, IL 60707

7500 W North Ave, Elmwood Park, IL 60707

(708) 452-6000

Closed now

Google

Suggest edits

Top Restaurants in your area

Poet's Beef N Dogs
4.9
(16) · Restaurants

677 N York St

(630) 359-4229

1 person is looking at this business

Big Chill
4.6
(146) · Restaurants

623 Wilcox St

(815) 722-0355

4 people are looking at this business

Smokehouse
4.5
(285) · Restaurants

1825 N Main St

(630) 668-0645
George's Gyros Spot
4.5
(559) · Restaurants

325 N Calumet Rd

(219) 926-5435
Choppers
4.5
(572) · Restaurants

1659 N Ashland Ave

(773) 227-7800
Jimmy's Drive-in
4.5
(536) · Restaurants

8304 S Roberts Rd

(708) 598-6467

About

Johnnie’s Beef is a popular and award-winning local eatery and fast food joint. With a hoard of regular patrons plus being high on the popularity list, Johnnie’s is best known for their juicy Italian beef sandwiches and routinely features a line out the door. Being brisk and efficient, it shouldn't take one too long to pick up a bite to go once the line starts moving. Recommended meal is the Italian Beef sandwich featuring thinly sliced juicy meat folded into fresh bread with spicy peppers and an Italian ice to counteract the heat. While the menu is limited, Johnnie’s Beef knows what its good at and sticks to just that. Get your sandwich to go or seat yourself at one of the

Suggest edits

BIRDEYE FOR BUSINESSES

Birdeye For Business

This profile is powered by BirdEye. Over 50,000 businesses use BirdEye everyday to get more reviews and manage all customer feedback. BirdEye helps millions of local businesses to be found online with all their reviews and accurate business information. Learn more about BirdEye

BirdEye Score

The BirdEye Score® is calculated based on our proprietary algorithm applied to customers reviews, weighted by a range of different factors.

Learn how the BirdEye Score® is calculated
2.7
72 reviews
55
  
43
  
32
  
22
  
19
  
51 reviews have no rating
  • 13 Reviews2.2Yellow Pages
  • 8 Reviews3.5Insider Pages
Sort By:
5 results available.
Recommended
philback on Citysearch

12 years ago

08/27/2007, 01:34 AM
Well Worth the Drive... – We knew it was a good sign when we pulled up and saw people lined out the door around noon on Sunday. Everyone in front of us ordered the tamales and the italian ice. We were there for the italian beef and it was fantastic. Service was super fast, the tiny kitchen area was run with precision and we only wondered if it kept busy like that all day! Anyway, this place is worth the drive for a great sandwich. We can't wait to try it again, next time we'll try the tamales too.
kittycat31 on Citysearch

13 years ago

11/21/2006, 00:44 AM
THE BEST ITALIAN BEEF YOU'LL EVER TRY – I'VE BEEN GOING TO JOHNNIE'S MY WHOLE LIFE AND IT IS MY FAVORITE PLACE TO EAT. I NOW LIVE ON THE WEST COAST AND ALWAYS GO BACK THERE WHEN I'M IN TOWN
sonbello on Citysearch

13 years ago

10/23/2006, 03:16 AM
Simply the Best – Just a few words..The Best, the best, the best.......I hate this place my mom's beef doesn't even come close.....Trust me we tryied to reproduce it..We can't...Johnny's beef is the Soup yadda, yadaa of Chicago, and deservely so....Bravi....But one day. One day I will reproduce it and than I will conquer Chicago..Ciao
Featured content
Blaze Pizza using BirdEye platform

Blaze Pizza using BirdEye platform

Blaze Pizza using BirdEye platform
Feedback on restaurants is important for growth

Feedback on restaurants is important for growth

Feedback on restaurants is important for growth
splapp1 on Citysearch

13 years ago

10/04/2006, 02:39 AM
Not what it used to be – I visited Johnnies recently and was sorely disappointed. They were so stingy with the beef that they made a Portillo's Italian beef look like a gut buster. After I saw what I got I started checking other orders. Same thing. Shortly after my visit I was talking to a friend who lives not too far from Johnnies. It used to be his favorite beef stand. But it changed hands some time ago and he doesn't go anymore due to the small portions.
ro3bust on Citysearch

13 years ago

08/14/2006, 03:19 AM
second to none – I've been to a respectable amount of italian beef joints including certain establishments that are high on everyone's lists and while some of them aren't bad, none of them leave the kind of impression that Johnnie's provides. Every element to their sandwich comes together in perfect balance--the wonderful thin slices of beef marinated and cooked to tenderness in a superb au jus, the explosive flavor of giardenera peppers circulating throughout each mouthful, all placed inside bread that is dipped in that perfect au jus. Top it off with an order of fries and an order of italian ice, and you have a slice of heaven in your hands.
I grew up in Chicago, but now live in the West C
...  more>>
karenkuff on Citysearch

13 years ago

07/15/2006, 03:11 AM
JOHNNIE BEEF – THE BEST BEEF SANDWISH IN THE WORLD ,
I MAKE MY HUSBAND DRIVE FROM THE CITY TO GET A BEEF AT LEAST 5 OR MORE TIME A MONTH,THERE IS NO PLACE LIKE JOHNNIE'S BEEF, THE BEST AROUND ,NO PLACE BETTER AND THAT IS NO JOKE THE BEST
angel1591 on Citysearch

14 years ago

12/27/2005, 00:01 AM
Johnnys Beef – Johnnys Beff is great food at an affordalbe pirce. If you get a chance you should go. Just make sure that you have a little time. The line is usually a little on the long side. Other than that its great.
M. S. on Insider Pages

14 years ago

12/12/2005, 00:53 AM
Great food!!
I go to Johnnie's often. You have to have the frozen italian lemonade no matter what season it is. Also they are the last of the restaurants to serve the 4-mini tamales. Don't miss it.
Ted G. on Insider Pages

14 years ago

11/02/2005, 00:55 AM
Not Great For the Price
The price here is to high for the small sandwich you recieve. They don't pack the beef enough for your stomach to make you feel full. They need to do something before they lose their so called long lines during lunch time.
Footer Banner

Get more reviews. Get more customers.

Get more reviews from your customers with BirdEye. Dominate search results. Beat local competitors. Grow your business. Easy, done.