Logo White
Watch Demo

Johnnie's Beef

Own this business?
2.7
72 reviews
|Restaurants|Elmwood Park, IL 60707

7500 W North Ave, Elmwood Park, IL 60707

(708) 452-6000

Closed now

Google

Suggest edits

Top Restaurants in your area

Poet's Beef N Dogs
4.9
(16) · Restaurants

677 N York St

(630) 359-4229

2 people are looking at this business

Big Chill
4.6
(143) · Restaurants

623 Wilcox St

(815) 722-0355

4 people are looking at this business

Smokehouse
4.5
(285) · Restaurants

1825 N Main St

(630) 668-0645
George's Gyros Spot
4.5
(559) · Restaurants

325 N Calumet Rd

(219) 926-5435
Choppers
4.5
(572) · Restaurants

1659 N Ashland Ave

(773) 227-7800

3 people are looking at this business

Jimmy's Drive-in
4.5
(536) · Restaurants

8304 S Roberts Rd

(708) 598-6467

1 person is looking at this business

About

Johnnie’s Beef is a popular and award-winning local eatery and fast food joint. With a hoard of regular patrons plus being high on the popularity list, Johnnie’s is best known for their juicy Italian beef sandwiches and routinely features a line out the door. Being brisk and efficient, it shouldn't take one too long to pick up a bite to go once the line starts moving. Recommended meal is the Italian Beef sandwich featuring thinly sliced juicy meat folded into fresh bread with spicy peppers and an Italian ice to counteract the heat. While the menu is limited, Johnnie’s Beef knows what its good at and sticks to just that. Get your sandwich to go or seat yourself at one of the

Suggest edits

BIRDEYE FOR BUSINESSES

Birdeye For Business

This profile is powered by BirdEye. Over 50,000 businesses use BirdEye everyday to get more reviews and manage all customer feedback. BirdEye helps millions of local businesses to be found online with all their reviews and accurate business information. Learn more about BirdEye

BirdEye Score

The BirdEye Score® is calculated based on our proprietary algorithm applied to customers reviews, weighted by a range of different factors.

Learn how the BirdEye Score® is calculated
2.7
72 reviews
55
  
43
  
32
  
22
  
19
  
51 reviews have no rating
  • 13 Reviews2.2Yellow Pages
  • 8 Reviews3.5Insider Pages
Sort By:
5 results available.
Recommended
Marge S. on Yellow Pages

3 years ago

05/31/2016, 02:49 AM
came there at 1148 the the security guard said they go by there time and not ours. Well let me tell you something you idiot, our money pays for your $10hr job!
Respond to negative reviews
Joanne P. on Yellow Pages

6 years ago

06/21/2013, 01:09 AM
Went to Johnnie's only because my brother raves about it. The beef is good, can't say it's "the best" I've had, but it's good. I had a combo, the Italian sausage IS REALLY GOOD, spicy, really tasty. The sandwiches though are small, really skimpy on beef, but then again the price is only $3.90. The hotdogs are average, with a nice BIG pickle spear, fries are good! No seating inside, only maybe four pic-nic tables outside. The pretty cool part was you walk in one door, place your order, pick-up at the other end of a long counter where you then walk out the door opposite the one you walked in from. Pretty neat set up!!!
John S. on Citysearch

7 years ago

07/14/2012, 01:06 AM
Johnnie's is amazing! Best italian beef and lemon ice I've ever had. Fries are good, polish sausage excellent as well. Love the sweet and hot peppers - can never decide. And to ChicagoGuy - I agree that Portillo's is fantastic. But it's no Johnnie's Beef in my book. Could be just the more commercialized feel I get at Portillo's vs. the authentic feel of Johnnie's highly technical ordering system. But, I really think the food is a touch better too.
Featured content
Blaze Pizza using BirdEye platform

Blaze Pizza using BirdEye platform

Blaze Pizza using BirdEye platform
Feedback on restaurants is important for growth

Feedback on restaurants is important for growth

Feedback on restaurants is important for growth
David H. on Citysearch

7 years ago

06/24/2012, 02:41 AM
Best beef on earth. Just like the paper bag says. There is nothing comparable. Not Al's, mr beef, buona, or others. Had a blind contest. #1
chris1961 on Citysearch

9 years ago

05/10/2011, 02:23 AM
The best – Im from Columbus, Ohio, but my Daughter (who lives in Chicago) said I must go. I did, and WOW! Got mine dipped and with sweet peppers, and it was awesome!
It was the best beef sandwich Ive ever had. I cant wait to return.
rr60305 on Yellow Pages

9 years ago

03/29/2011, 01:53 AM
The food here is excellent and the Italian ice is just what you need in the balmy Chicago summers. I'd give this place 5 stars but the parking is ridiculously limited and the lines can get really long. I guess that's the price you pay for delicious food.
rickerreeves on Citysearch

9 years ago

03/28/2011, 02:44 AM
Marvelous Italian beef – I've been coming here for years and I must say that the food here is very good and the Italian ice is just what you need in the heat of Chicago summers. I'd give this place 5 stars but the parking is ridiculously limited and the lines can get really long. I guess that's the price you pay for delicious food.
ljoking10 on Citysearch

9 years ago

06/13/2010, 01:21 AM
Just awesome – No need to say much here. the beef was off the chain and so was the Italian ice. Get them both! If you want, go for the combo, which is an Italian beef with a polish sausage. A-mazing!
Jan S. on Insider Pages

11 years ago

01/16/2009, 00:44 AM
Not the same
Last week we went back to Johnnies. Have been going since 1974. In our eyes it was the best Chicago offered. We only get there once a year, due to the distance we now have to travel. What a difference! The beef amount is very cheap compared to what is used to be. There was more sweet peppers then there was beef and it seems they were not as sweet as they used to be, with way too much vinegar. I will try Portillos, Als and Mr. Beef again. The italian lemonade is a good as ever. Mr heart is sad, first the lose of the "Come Back Inn" and now this. Thank God for Jenes and Jude! Make me wonder if the "Boys" sold the business.
Footer Banner

Get more reviews. Get more customers.

Get more reviews from your customers with BirdEye. Dominate search results. Beat local competitors. Grow your business. Easy, done.