Logo White
Watch Demo

Johnnie's Beef

Own this business?
2.7
72 reviews
|Restaurants|Elmwood Park, IL 60707

7500 W North Ave, Elmwood Park, IL 60707

(708) 452-6000

Open now:9:00 am - 6:00 pm

Google

Suggest edits

Top Restaurants in your area

Poet's Beef N Dogs
4.9
(16) · Restaurants

677 N York St

(630) 359-4229

1 person is looking at this business

Big Chill
4.6
(142) · Restaurants

623 Wilcox St

(815) 722-0355

2 people are looking at this business

Smokehouse
4.5
(285) · Restaurants

1825 N Main St

(630) 668-0645
George's Gyros Spot
4.5
(559) · Restaurants

325 N Calumet Rd

(219) 926-5435
Choppers
4.5
(572) · Restaurants

1659 N Ashland Ave

(773) 227-7800

1 person is looking at this business

Jimmy's Drive-in
4.5
(536) · Restaurants

8304 S Roberts Rd

(708) 598-6467

About

Johnnie’s Beef is a popular and award-winning local eatery and fast food joint. With a hoard of regular patrons plus being high on the popularity list, Johnnie’s is best known for their juicy Italian beef sandwiches and routinely features a line out the door. Being brisk and efficient, it shouldn't take one too long to pick up a bite to go once the line starts moving. Recommended meal is the Italian Beef sandwich featuring thinly sliced juicy meat folded into fresh bread with spicy peppers and an Italian ice to counteract the heat. While the menu is limited, Johnnie’s Beef knows what its good at and sticks to just that. Get your sandwich to go or seat yourself at one of the

Suggest edits

BIRDEYE FOR BUSINESSES

Birdeye For Business

This profile is powered by BirdEye. Over 50,000 businesses use BirdEye everyday to get more reviews and manage all customer feedback. BirdEye helps millions of local businesses to be found online with all their reviews and accurate business information. Learn more about BirdEye

BirdEye Score

The BirdEye Score® is calculated based on our proprietary algorithm applied to customers reviews, weighted by a range of different factors.

Learn how the BirdEye Score® is calculated
2.7
72 reviews
55
  
43
  
32
  
22
  
19
  
51 reviews have no rating
  • 13 Reviews2.2Yellow Pages
  • 8 Reviews3.5Insider Pages
Sort By:
5 results available.
Recommended
Beverly B. on Insider Pages

14 years ago

09/06/2005, 01:27 AM
So many peoplecan't be wrong
Super clean establishment. Good hot dogs. But my favorite is their Italian beefs. Most places give you a roast beef with no spices, not at Johnnie's there is a slight spiceyness to their beef and Italian Sausage. My husbands favorite is the Italian Sausage.
partigirl55 on Citysearch

14 years ago

07/25/2005, 02:31 AM
DAAA best – the italian ice is the GREAT along with the hotdogs
ingoglia75 on Citysearch

14 years ago

06/15/2005, 03:20 AM
JAI – By far the best beef in Chicago. This is the place to be if you like Italian Beef.
Featured content
Blaze Pizza using BirdEye platform

Blaze Pizza using BirdEye platform

Blaze Pizza using BirdEye platform
Feedback on restaurants is important for growth

Feedback on restaurants is important for growth

Feedback on restaurants is important for growth
Alyssa C. on Insider Pages

14 years ago

05/16/2005, 02:13 AM
The best beef
Living in Chicago, you have to go to Johnnies at least once. The lines are always long but they work faster than any other business. This place is legendary for the best beef sandwiches in the world and today it still lives up to it's name.
adacarlson on Citysearch

15 years ago

05/10/2005, 03:39 AM
The BEST Italian Ice – Johnnies italian ice is my summer favorite. The portion is just enough to cool you off on a hot summer night. The wait in line is sooo worth it.
Jennifer Olvera on Citysearch

15 years ago

03/21/2005, 00:05 AM
This Italian beef institution serves up savory sammies to hoards of locals who don't mind grabbing it to go. – The Scene
Day and night, rain or shine, folks shuffle in a line up to a block long for Johnnie's legendary beef sandwiches. Stainless steel and gray-blue tones add up to an institutional feel, but the smoky scent emanating from this stand is nothing short of heavenly. A small standing-room-only counter serves as the indoor dining space, and no-nonsense counter service means you better know your order when you step to the register.
The Food
Shreds of nicely seasoned, melt-in-your-mouth beef mound atop chewy, jus-soaked Italian bread makes this place a mainstay. Searing giardiniera an
...  more>>
erb625 on Citysearch

15 years ago

08/09/2004, 02:44 AM
Awesome! – I am a displaced Chicagoan and every time I come back, Johnnie's is one of the first stops I make. they never heard of Italian Beef in North Carolina and Johnnie's is definately one of the best in town. You can tell by the perpetual line outside the stand that this is one of the best!
asleepatwork on Citysearch

15 years ago

07/23/2004, 03:21 AM
Damn Good – I live in Austin now, but I grew up 15 minutes from Johnnie's. The beef is great and the sausage is wonderful. If you're a first timer, have a combo with hot peppers. The sausage is the better than anywhere.
Some say that the beef isn't as tasty as it used to be. That may be true, but coming from a beef lover, there isn't one reputable beef place in Chicago that is as good as it used to be. On a relative scale, Johnnie's is as good as any. The service is rude, but its part of Johnnie's tradition, just like the Wiener's Circle.
It may be pricey for the portions, but you shouldn't be eating that much anyway. Go. Its the best.
sifodyas1 on Citysearch

15 years ago

06/22/2004, 01:45 AM
WOW! – BEEF! BEEF! BEEF! A friend of mine turned me onto this place. ITS AWESOME. The best beef, forget the others. Small sandwiches, but no problem, i just order TWO! Eat em like hot dogs. :-)
I must have missed the "lines" that everyone talks about. The service is set up so great, the only line I hit in my 3 times there moved faster than any line I ever been in. Call it, they call it, its up, FAST! Simple as that. AWESOME! And besided, even if you have to wait, its worth it, ten times over. And no, im not the owners son, Im just a beef lover!@
Footer Banner

Get more reviews. Get more customers.

Get more reviews from your customers with BirdEye. Dominate search results. Beat local competitors. Grow your business. Easy, done.