Birdeye Logo White 2020
Watch Demo

Johnnie's Beef

Claim this profile

This business is unclaimed. Owners who claim this profile can update information, boost SEO, and more.

Claim this business for free
2.7
80 reviews
|Fast Food|Chicago, IL 60707 United States
Top Restaurants in your area
5.0
(1) · Fast Food

114 W Chicago Ave

(312) 265-1479
5.0
(3) · Restaurants

14600 S La Grange Rd

(708) 645-4677
5.0
(1) · Fast Food

800 E Sibley Blvd

(708) 841-5693
5.0
(1) · Barbeque

7650 S Ashland Ave

(773) 383-2747
4.7
(7) · Restaurants

677 N York St

(630) 359-4229
4.6
(571) · Restaurants

325 N Calumet Rd

(219) 926-5435
About

Johnnie’s Beef is a popular and award-winning local eatery and fast food joint. With a hoard of regular patrons plus being high on the popularity list, Johnnie’s is best known for their juicy Italian beef sandwiches and routinely features a line out the door. Being brisk and efficient, it shouldn't take one too long to pick up a bite to go once the line starts moving. Recommended meal is the Italian Beef sandwich featuring thinly sliced juicy meat folded into fresh bread with spicy peppers and an Italian ice to counteract the heat. While the menu is limited, Johnnie’s Beef knows what its good at and sticks to just that. Get your sandwich to go or seat yourself at one of the

Suggest edits
BIRDEYE FOR BUSINESSES
Birdeye For Business

This profile is powered by Birdeye. Over 90,000 businesses use Birdeye everyday to get more reviews and manage all customer feedback. Birdeye helps millions of local businesses to be found online with all their reviews and accurate business information. Learn more about Birdeye

2.7
80 reviews
55
  
43
  
32
  
22
  
19
  
59 reviews have no rating
Sort By:
Featured
kittycat31 review for Johnnie's Beef
kittycat31 on Citysearch

16 years ago

11/21/2006, 00:44 AM
THE BEST ITALIAN BEEF YOU'LL EVER TRY – I'VE BEEN GOING TO JOHNNIE'S MY WHOLE LIFE AND IT IS MY FAVORITE PLACE TO EAT. I NOW LIVE ON THE WEST COAST AND ALWAYS GO BACK THERE WHEN I'M IN TOWN
sonbello review for Johnnie's Beef
sonbello on Citysearch

16 years ago

10/23/2006, 03:16 AM
Simply the Best – Just a few words..The Best, the best, the best.......I hate this place my mom's beef doesn't even come close.....Trust me we tryied to reproduce it..We can't...Johnny's beef is the Soup yadda, yadaa of Chicago, and deservely so....Bravi....But one day. One day I will reproduce it and than I will conquer Chicago..Ciao
splapp1 review for Johnnie's Beef
splapp1 on Citysearch

16 years ago

10/04/2006, 02:39 AM
Not what it used to be – I visited Johnnies recently and was sorely disappointed. They were so stingy with the beef that they made a Portillo's Italian beef look like a gut buster. After I saw what I got I started checking other orders. Same thing. Shortly after my visit I was talking to a friend who lives not too far from Johnnies. It used to be his favorite beef stand. But it changed hands some time ago and he doesn't go anymore due to the small portions.
Featured content
Birdeye Adds Zillow and Trulia Reviews to its Network

Birdeye Adds Zillow and Trulia Reviews to its Network

Birdeye Adds Zillow and Trulia Reviews to its Network
Google Review Policy Terms of Service Update

Google Review Policy Terms of Service Update

Google Review Policy Terms of Service Update
ro3bust review for Johnnie's Beef
ro3bust on Citysearch

16 years ago

08/14/2006, 03:19 AM
second to none – I've been to a respectable amount of italian beef joints including certain establishments that are high on everyone's lists and while some of them aren't bad, none of them leave the kind of impression that Johnnie's provides. Every element to their sandwich comes together in perfect balance--the wonderful thin slices of beef marinated and cooked to tenderness in a superb au jus, the explosive flavor of giardenera peppers circulating throughout each mouthful, all placed inside bread that is dipped in that perfect au jus. Top it off with an order of fries and an order of italian ice, and you have a slice of heaven in your hands. I grew up in Chicago, but now live in the West Coast. Whenever I come back to visit, this is the first place I go to remind me there's no place like home.
karenkuff review for Johnnie's Beef
karenkuff on Citysearch

17 years ago

07/15/2006, 03:11 AM
JOHNNIE BEEF – THE BEST BEEF SANDWISH IN THE WORLD , I MAKE MY HUSBAND DRIVE FROM THE CITY TO GET A BEEF AT LEAST 5 OR MORE TIME A MONTH,THERE IS NO PLACE LIKE JOHNNIE'S BEEF, THE BEST AROUND ,NO PLACE BETTER AND THAT IS NO JOKE THE BEST
angel1591 review for Johnnie's Beef
angel1591 on Citysearch

17 years ago

12/27/2005, 00:01 AM
Johnnys Beef – Johnnys Beff is great food at an affordalbe pirce. If you get a chance you should go. Just make sure that you have a little time. The line is usually a little on the long side. Other than that its great.
M. S. review for Johnnie's Beef
M. S. on Insider Pages

17 years ago

12/12/2005, 00:53 AM
Great food!! I go to Johnnie's often. You have to have the frozen italian lemonade no matter what season it is. Also they are the last of the restaurants to serve the 4-mini tamales. Don't miss it.
Ted G. review for Johnnie's Beef
Ted G. on Insider Pages

17 years ago

11/02/2005, 00:55 AM
Not Great For the Price The price here is to high for the small sandwich you recieve. They don't pack the beef enough for your stomach to make you feel full. They need to do something before they lose their so called long lines during lunch time.
Beverly B. review for Johnnie's Beef
Beverly B. on Insider Pages

17 years ago

09/06/2005, 01:27 AM
So many peoplecan't be wrong Super clean establishment. Good hot dogs. But my favorite is their Italian beefs. Most places give you a roast beef with no spices, not at Johnnie's there is a slight spiceyness to their beef and Italian Sausage. My husbands favorite is the Italian Sausage.
Footer Banner 2021
Get more reviews. Get more customers.

Get more reviews from your customers with Birdeye. Dominate search results. Beat local competitors. Grow your business. Easy, done.