Birdeye Logo White 2020
Watch Demo

Joel L Young

Claim this profile

This business is unclaimed. Owners who claim this profile can update information, boost SEO, and more.

Claim this business for free
4.5
392 reviews
|Psychiatrists|Rochester Hills, MI 48307

441 S Livernois Rd Suite 100, Ste 100, Rochester Hills, MI 48307

(248) 608-8800

https://www.rcbm.net/behavioral-medicine/professionals-detail-services/joel-l.-young/

Closed now

Google

Suggest edits
Top Healthcare in your area
5.0
(1) · Doctors

441 S Livernois Rd

(248) 608-8800

1 person is looking at this business

5.0
(1) · Psychiatrists

2140 E Ellsworth Rd

(734) 544-3000
5.0
(3) · Surgeons

555 E William St

(734) 996-0161

1 person is looking at this business

5.0
(3) · Counseling & Mental Health

31555 W 14 Mile Rd

(248) 468-1889

4 people are looking at this business

About

Are you looking for help but don't know where to turn? Our team of therapists can help you find the professional help you need. Our counseling center offers a wide range of services, including child and family services, comprehensive ADHD treatment services, eating disorders treatment services, LGBT services, mind and body-focused treatment services, mood and anxiety disorder treatment, psychiatric forensic services, substance abuse services, and much more. To begin your behavioral health journey, call us today or visit our website to learn more!

Suggest edits
BIRDEYE FOR BUSINESSES
Birdeye For Business

This profile is powered by Birdeye. Over 60,000 businesses use Birdeye everyday to get more reviews and manage all customer feedback. Birdeye helps millions of local businesses to be found online with all their reviews and accurate business information. Learn more about Birdeye

4.5
392 reviews
5321
  
418
  
37
  
22
  
144
  
Sort By:
5 results available.
Recommended
Anonymous review for Joel L Young
Anonymous on Healthgrades

2 months ago

08/26/2021, 05:45 AM
My son was promised wrap-around services and a psychological evaluation. While Dr. Young promises a lot and is a great spokesperson the services fall flat. What they give as a psychological evaluation are only scores ,without a summary, provisional diagnosis or treatment recommendations. Very disappointed !
Respond to negative reviews
Bruno H. Piche review for Joel L Young
Bruno H. Piche on Healthgrades

7 months ago

03/27/2021, 03:01 AM
It has taken me over 3 years to rate Joel Young. I can't help reading his rather pathetic answers to negative reviews. He presents himself as a true professional when the "Dr" can not even remember, not even by looking at his laptop (the only thing he does) if you were tested or not by his sophisticated bipolar test. He mat work for kids and youngsters that are battling with mental disorders, but if you are an adult, expect to be treated by a guy who behaves as he had never left high school, no matter his titles, surrounded by a "team" of female therapists and front desk workers from whom this man just poorly reproduces his conception of a suburban patriarchy. Stay away from him.
Respond to negative reviews
LMG review for Joel L Young
LMG on Healthgrades

a year ago

07/15/2020, 10:28 AM
Dr Young has been treating my husband for about 8 months now. I cannot say how amazing Dr. Young has been. He has gone above and beyond our expectations. His knowledge, compassion, caring and true commitment to the well-being of his patients is remarkable. We need more Doctors like Dr Young. I highly recommend him.
Featured content
How you can create a winning customer satisfaction survey

How you can create a winning customer satisfaction survey

How you can create a winning customer satisfaction survey
Review manager vs. reputation management: what's the difference?

Review manager vs. reputation management: what's the difference?

Review manager vs. reputation management: what's the difference?
Anonymous review for Joel L Young
Anonymous on Healthgrades

a year ago

06/12/2020, 03:16 AM
New patient visit. Conducted on zoom. Thorough history and intake. Friendly and affirmative approach. Transferring to a new doctor as my therapist retires. Staff was very friendly and helpful setting up appointment.
Bereaved Sibling review for Joel L Young
Bereaved Sibling on Healthgrades

2 years ago

03/24/2020, 09:34 AM
Be aware of the use of Physician Assistants instead of receiving care from an actual psychiatrist at this practice. My sibling was a patient at this practice and although he initially saw Dr. Young he was ultimately 're-assigned' to a PA. Keep in mind a PA is drastically less qualified as a health care provider and you and your insurance company do not pay less for receiving inferior care. My sibling was not well served by this care and ultimately lost his battle of bipolar disorder and I feel in part due to the lack of qualified care from this practice. Value yourself and make sure you are seeing a qualified psychiatrist.
Respond to negative reviews
Anonymous review for Joel L Young
Anonymous on Healthgrades

2 years ago

02/14/2020, 02:29 AM
I leave this review for not only for my experience with Dr Young but the front desk staff. I agree that Dr. Young carry an attitude of arrogance. I also have heard my patients describe his say he is quick to diagnose ADHD. The front desk help has one or two compassionate people, who might smile, while you are paying you bill. For the most part, they look miserable doing their jobs. Find another place to feel better. D
Respond to negative reviews
Bob review for Joel L Young
Bob on Healthgrades

2 years ago

12/05/2019, 06:39 AM
Dr Young is arrogant, not willing to take the time to properly diagnose. His go to diagnosis is ADHD, and if you can't tolerate just one of the medications, it's your own fault, and he shoves you out the door, despite being depressed and suicidal. He has no interest in actually finding a proper diagnosis, though is quick to push his new book, and to flaunt his education in your face.
Respond to negative reviews
Lil’ review for Joel L Young
Lil’ on Healthgrades

2 years ago

10/22/2019, 02:05 AM
I only saw Dr. Young once, like 5 years ago, when I had to find a child psychiatrist for the year or two until I was 18 and could go see the psych my sister was going to. As other reviews have said, he was very condescending and the way that I described the actual appointment was that it felt like he was using a Buzzfeed quiz to diagnose me. I went to see him to get on different antidepressants bc my pediatrician could only prescribe one kind and that one didn’t end up working for me. He said that I had ADHD, and that’s what was causing the depression. So instead of discussing solutions to the depression, he said that I needed to take a $300 test for ADHD before he would do anything. Similarly when I mentioned a recent ptsd event, he brushed it off saying that not enough time had passed therefore he couldn’t diagnose it. My current psychiatrist said that technically he was right with the time frame, but it was very obvious that I wasn’t okay after it had happened. Don’t go see him.
Respond to negative reviews
Anonymous review for Joel L Young
Anonymous on Healthgrades

2 years ago

10/09/2019, 02:03 AM
He is incredibly condescending and uncaring. I cannot believe someone like Dr. Young is a physician. He should not be practicing medicine and I feel bad for all the patients who go see him seeking help. He will not listen to you, he will not help you, and he will not show you the least bit of compassion.
Respond to negative reviews
Footer Banner 2021
Get more reviews. Get more customers.

Get more reviews from your customers with Birdeye. Dominate search results. Beat local competitors. Grow your business. Easy, done.