Logo White
Watch Demo

Hotel San Jose

Own this business?
4.6
679 reviews
|Hospitality|Austin, TX 78704

1316 S Congress Ave, Austin, TX 78704

(512) 444-7322

http://www.sanjosehotel.com/

Closed now

Google

Suggest edits
Top Hospitality in your area
5.0
(12) · Hotels

1601 N Interstate 35

(512) 396-3700
5.0
(1) · Hospitality

1101 Music Ln Apt 303

(512) 804-2443
5.0
(66) · Hospitality

221 Park Ln

(512) 447-7460
4.7
(298) · Hotels

915 E Cameron Ave

(512) 446-2361
4.6
(3266) · Hotels

501 Hwy 2147 West

(830) 798-2020
4.6
(430) · Hotels

112 Academy Dr

(512) 852-2400
About

History Established in 2000. A hotel for friends from near and far in Austin, Texas. Built in 1936 as an "ultramodern" motor court, the property has been transformed into a 40 room urban bungalow-style hotel tucked behind stucco walls and set amidst lush garden courtyards. The San Jose is located on South Congress Avenue, a few blocks from downtown and Lady Bird Johnson Lake in the heart of one of Austin's favorite neighborhoods. In addition to being a unique place to sleep, the Hotel San Jose serves as a gathering place and occasional hub of community activity for locals and visitors alike. Dogs are always welcome. Meet the Manager Meghan H. Manager General Manager of Hotel San Jose

Suggest edits
BIRDEYE FOR BUSINESSES
Birdeye For Business

This profile is powered by BirdEye. Over 50,000 businesses use BirdEye everyday to get more reviews and manage all customer feedback. BirdEye helps millions of local businesses to be found online with all their reviews and accurate business information. Learn more about BirdEye

BirdEye Score

The BirdEye Score® is calculated based on our proprietary algorithm applied to customers reviews, weighted by a range of different factors.

Learn how the BirdEye Score® is calculated
4.6
679 reviews
5477
  
4136
  
333
  
24
  
18
  
21 reviews have no rating
  • 654 Reviews4.6Google
  • 4 Reviews4.5Insider Pages
Sort By:
5 results available.
Recommended
GeorgeEvelyn1978 on Citysearch

9 years ago

04/07/2011, 03:01 AM
Great hotel BUT.. – It's a great hotel but if any of you are looking to save some $$ then book it at goo.gl/FPxYD They have some of the best hotel deals on the web!
amanda t. on Insider Pages

10 years ago

05/04/2010, 04:38 AM
San Jose Hotel I've never actually stayed at the hotel, but I do enjoy coming here for drinks in their courtyard. The courtyard is so beautifully landscaped. It has a very serene feeling. If there aren't enough tables and chairs, you can go sit by the pool. This place is wonderful!! I cannot wait for an opportunity to stay the night in one of their rooms.
marydavis on Citysearch

11 years ago

11/12/2009, 00:15 AM
Noisy – Be prepared to bring some ear plugs to the San Jose because it's going to be a noisy night. I stayed there on a mid-weekday and was surprised at how much noise I could hear in my room. The San Jose has its own outdoor bar/cafe/hangout area for people to sit down and it also has loud music to go along with it. Mid-week they will tell you it only goes until midnight. Right next to the San Jose is a popular coffee/hangout spot called Jo's which always seems to have a lot of people. There are also several bars in the area playing music which you will hear in your room even after the San Jose has closed down its "bar" at midnight. If you're prepared for the noise then the rest is positive. Although the rooms are small (I stayed in a "deluxe" room which had its own bathroom) they will get the job done. But, they're not quite as nice as I expected. The San Jose is right next to a lot of shops and restaurants which you can walk to---this is the biggest plus for the San Jose. I chose to stay at the San Jose for something unique but the rooms weren't that interesting and the noise was unacceptable. I can't imagine what it's like on a Friday or Saturday. For the price they charge definitely not worth the stay.
Featured content
How to Ask Customers for Reviews and Grow Your Business

How to Ask Customers for Reviews and Grow Your Business

How to Ask Customers for Reviews and Grow Your Business
Local Business SEO listings Management: Your Guide to Local SEO

Local Business SEO listings Management: Your Guide to Local SEO

Local Business SEO listings Management: Your Guide to Local SEO
Nancy G. on Insider Pages

11 years ago

07/24/2009, 11:23 AM
Unique This is a very unique Hotel. The San Jose is like no other hotel you will stay. I rented a courtyard suite. Very roomy and different. Rates are a bit on the high side but the suite and accommodations are worth it.
Kasey S. on Insider Pages

11 years ago

04/23/2009, 11:55 AM
San Jose Hotel Great place to go for drinks and hang out with friends. The courtyard is beautifully landscaped and it's just an overall comfortable place. The wait staff is very friendly.
nedhenry on Citysearch

12 years ago

07/28/2008, 06:07 AM
Beautiful place, great service, great food, chill atmosphere! – kcf78749's lack of insight and her date's poor manners, coupled with only a patio visit, are no reason to give anything (not to mention such a marvelous place) 3 stars. Obviously, someone can read her review and see she is an airhead, but it affects the star rating outside the review. What a dummy! It's a four-star (perhaps 4.5 star) place. So, I'll balance out her childish stupidity with 5 of my own.
kcf78749 on Citysearch

12 years ago

06/24/2008, 06:59 AM
great outdoor patio area – I've never actually stayed at this hotel, so I can't comment on the hotel aspect of it, but it's a great place for a first date. My date and I had some wine out on the patio, by the pool, and it was lovely. However, once I "broke the seal", so to speak, I ventured inside to use the ladies' room. One problem--the restrooms were not labeled at all. My date pointed at a glass door that he had just come out of and said, "I think that's a unisex bathroom?". I went in, although I was a bit leery because the door was made of glass (albeit a tad frosted, but you could still pretty much see everything). I made him stand in front of the door in case anyone came by, since it was just a one toilet, "private" (I use the term loosely) bathroom. Well, he saw someone he knew and went off to go say hi, and then while I was still using the restroom, some guy came up to the door and looked inside. I could see every aspect of his face, so I'm sure he could see everything of mine too! I was humiliated. When I ran outside, my date said, "Yeah, I saw a few girls coming out of that other door over there". Apparently there was a ladies room--with a real door! Nice job labeling it.
guitargirl2 on Citysearch

12 years ago

03/30/2008, 06:49 AM
Fun place to meet friends after work – I met friends there after work and had a great time. It's a great space and vibe. People can keep coming and going and the staff is completely accommodating. We spent the greater part of the evening there and would definitely return.
loolamay on Citysearch

13 years ago

11/08/2007, 06:15 AM
Not a rating - just an observation – When I saw the overall rating on this hotel, I got excited. Then, I read the reviews. They're pretty overwhelmingly weighted toward the staff being terribly rude. The high ratings mostly refer to the ambiance of the place - not the people. MOST IMPORTANTLY: When I average the user ratings - I get an overall rating of 3.2 - a far cry from the near-5 rating displayed. BEWARE: READ THE REVIEWS
Footer Banner
Get more reviews. Get more customers.

Get more reviews from your customers with BirdEye. Dominate search results. Beat local competitors. Grow your business. Easy, done.