Birdeye Logo White 2020
Watch Demo

Domo Restaurant

Claim this profile

This business is unclaimed. Owners who claim this profile can update information, boost SEO, and more.

Claim this business for free
4.4
2351 reviews
|Japanese|Denver, CO 80204 United States

1365 Osage St, Denver, CO 80204 United States

(303) 595-3666

http://domorestaurant.com/

Closed now

Google

Suggest edits
Top Restaurants in your area
4.5
(1173) · Japanese

1560 Boulder St

(720) 372-7100
4.4
(241) · Japanese

8000 E Belleview Ave D50

(303) 221-8880
4.4
(289) · Restaurants

198 E 29th St

(970) 685-4694
4.4
(400) · Japanese

11211 Dransfeldt Rd # 100

(720) 851-1005
4.4
(667) · Japanese

6020 S Gun Club Rd

(303) 627-6328
About

Located in Denver, this unusual eatery offers a dining experience to remember. More than just your average restaurant, Domo not only offers home cooked Japanese specialties, they also offer an onsite museum with folk art, a dojo and zen garden. Find traditional offerings like sake nabe, a salmon and vegetable dish, or the portobello teriyaki for vegetarians. An extensive selection of sake makes for a great pairing with your meal.

Suggest edits
BIRDEYE FOR BUSINESSES
Birdeye For Business

This profile is powered by Birdeye. Over 90,000 businesses use Birdeye everyday to get more reviews and manage all customer feedback. Birdeye helps millions of local businesses to be found online with all their reviews and accurate business information. Learn more about Birdeye

4.4
2,351 reviews
51,602
  
4384
  
3100
  
281
  
1133
  
51 reviews have no rating
Sort By:
Featured
fullbellyhappybelly review for Domo Restaurant
fullbellyhappybelly on Citysearch

16 years ago

01/05/2007, 07:00 AM
not your everyday japanese – I didn't know what to expect when we went to Domo, but everything about it was a pleasant experience. We had a bit of a wait, but nothing outrageous. The small waiting area is very interesting. I loved the atmosphere of the place, even though the little wooden stools you sit on could've been a little more comfortable. The food was very different from any Japanese restaurant I've been to (including the ones in Japan!), and included traditional nabemono (I believe this is a favorite soup of sumo wrestlers in training) and regional sushi that is served in small, palm-sized bowls. Delicious!! The prices may seem a bit high, but the large portions make up for it. They also have a nice tea selection. Overall, it was a fantastic dining experience. Who knew you could find Japanese food this great in Denver?!
denvergrub review for Domo Restaurant
denvergrub on Citysearch

16 years ago

12/02/2006, 01:11 AM
Lunch is Great, Dinner is Blah!!! – I go to Domo for the food, not for the service. Actually, Japanese restaurants aren't known for great service so that is A-OK. You are better off going to Domo for lunch: where the portions and quality are consistently good. I ate there for dinner and it was horrible! Never again!
bluesongbyrd review for Domo Restaurant
bluesongbyrd on Citysearch

16 years ago

11/14/2006, 08:05 AM
Best sushi, nothing typical – This is much different from your average sushi hut, and this is a good thing. They specialize in Japanese country dining, meaning an emphasis in broth bowls teeming with meats or fish and noodles, grilled teriyaki offerings, and (my favorite) their particular way of serving sushi. Instead of the Americanized roll style sushi, you order small bowls of chopped fresh fish served with your choice of sauces. There is no way to eat sushi cheaply here, as you pick several to be served as a meal. But it's the most delicious sushi I've ever had, hands down! Don't miss the beautiful enclosed Japanese garden. Entrees range $12-25.
Featured content
Tempted to buy Google reviews?

Tempted to buy Google reviews?

Tempted to buy Google reviews?
How financial institutions can leverage the power of SMS marketing (includes free templates)

How financial institutions can leverage the power of SMS marketing (includes free templates)

How financial institutions can leverage the power of SMS marketing (includes free templates)
bls123 review for Domo Restaurant
bls123 on Citysearch

16 years ago

09/19/2006, 04:04 AM
Loved it! – I had read the reviews from this site before going to Domo, so my date and I actually went there exactly at 5:00 to make sure we got a table, and in hopes that the service would be a little better when it was less crowded. We had a great time, if I hadn't of heard about it I would have totally driven by without knowing it was a restaurant! the decor was beautiful and interesting, I wouldn't bring an elderly person here though, the stools were a little bit uncomfortable! The service was great, food was wonderful and interesting, although a bit expensive. It did take a longer time than normal to have dinner, but at a place like Domo, I really don't mind! As far as condiments are concerned, I never felt the need to use a condiment, the dishes were all well seasoned.
lleesmith review for Domo Restaurant
lleesmith on Citysearch

16 years ago

09/11/2006, 06:43 AM
Striving for uniqueness supercedes customer satisfaction – Domo is so focused on what they consider to be their unique cuisine that it supercedes any reasonable customer satisfaction. They not only will not alter any dish, but this establishment will not provide customers any condiments such as shoyu and/or wasabi for the dish ordered. Unbelievable! Sadly, their most notable claim to uniqueness is their devalutaion of patrons by their over the top rigidity and inflexibiity in their insistence that the customer eat the dish exactly as it was prepared. At the very least, Domo should post signs warning customers of their extreme rigidity, and the servers should help customers understand the nature of the dish they are ordering and inform them that no condiments or alterations will be allowed, prior to placing the order.
yupakenshi review for Domo Restaurant
yupakenshi on Citysearch

16 years ago

08/24/2006, 05:56 AM
OK food, expensive, Horrible Service – I went there on August 23. The greeter was lame and looked like he didn't want to be there. The food there SUPPOSED to be authentic, but far from it. They charge like Japanese restaurants do though. When I asked for "Shichimi" spice since the food was lame, the wait staff said they usually don't serve condiments. This was strange since they did use shichimi on Muguro-Don. I guess he just doesn't know what they even have in the kitchen. The server spilled some sauce on a jacket, but when I told about it to another wait staff, she didn't even bother to come by to apologize. Needless to say, I left ZERO tips. I won't go back there again.
n_wilker review for Domo Restaurant
n_wilker on Citysearch

16 years ago

08/15/2006, 04:01 AM
Atmosphere fun, service bad, don't be in a hurry! – I concur with those who said the service was sub-par. Drink orders were slow, food delivery was slow and bad, check splitting is a definite no-no, and it was a long wait between everything! We went with a group of 15 so I thought it was our size. I got the teriyaki hoping for something interesting, it was not. My husband went for the Sankai Nabe (spicy) - had a wonderful taste. The sides were all interesting and tastey. Atmosphere was fun and definitely something for a nice summer evening. I'd go again and try the sushi - eventaully, not rushing back.
Contributor review for Domo Restaurant
Contributor on Citysearch

16 years ago

07/12/2006, 03:16 AM
Traditional Japanese country cooking for the Mile-High urbanite. – In Short Domo is renowned for its Japanese garden and unique collection of cultural artifacts. The table and seats are built from logs and tree stumps, and the aura is very Okinawa. Especially tasty are the teriyaki sake (salmon) or the akatou ebi (shrimp and red chili). Other highlights include the kaizoku nabe, a seafood stew that comes in a light miso broth, or the gyu yakimono, a New York strip sliced and cooked in teriyaki sauce.
cjerjoy review for Domo Restaurant
cjerjoy on Citysearch

16 years ago

07/08/2006, 02:44 AM
Excellent food- lousy customer service. – Host very unfriendly. Did not want to answer questions like what does Domo mean? Or how long have you been here? Probably didn't know. Like don't talk to me! Wait staff very nice and friendly, but did not have any knowledge of the menu. Needed to be trained. Food is great. Gardens beautiful. Sushi is different, but good. Wouldn't necessarily go there for that.
Footer Banner 2021
Get more reviews. Get more customers.

Get more reviews from your customers with Birdeye. Dominate search results. Beat local competitors. Grow your business. Easy, done.