Birdeye Logo White 2020
Watch Demo

Domo Restaurant

Claim this profile

This business is unclaimed. Owners who claim this profile can update information, boost SEO, and more.

Claim this business for free
4.4
2346 reviews
|Japanese|Denver, CO 80204 United States

1365 Osage St, Denver, CO 80204 United States

(303) 595-3666

http://domorestaurant.com/

Open now:9:00 am - 6:00 pm

Google

Suggest edits
Top Restaurants in your area
4.5
(1173) · Japanese

1560 Boulder St

(720) 372-7100
4.4
(289) · Restaurants

198 E 29th St

(970) 685-4694
4.4
(400) · Japanese

11211 Dransfeldt Rd # 100

(720) 851-1005
4.4
(241) · Japanese

8000 E Belleview Ave D50

(303) 221-8880
4.4
(667) · Japanese

6020 S Gun Club Rd

(303) 627-6328
About

Located in Denver, this unusual eatery offers a dining experience to remember. More than just your average restaurant, Domo not only offers home cooked Japanese specialties, they also offer an onsite museum with folk art, a dojo and zen garden. Find traditional offerings like sake nabe, a salmon and vegetable dish, or the portobello teriyaki for vegetarians. An extensive selection of sake makes for a great pairing with your meal.

Suggest edits
BIRDEYE FOR BUSINESSES
Birdeye For Business

This profile is powered by Birdeye. Over 90,000 businesses use Birdeye everyday to get more reviews and manage all customer feedback. Birdeye helps millions of local businesses to be found online with all their reviews and accurate business information. Learn more about Birdeye

4.4
2,346 reviews
51,602
  
4384
  
3100
  
281
  
1133
  
46 reviews have no rating
Sort By:
Featured
Richard B. review for Domo Restaurant
Richard B. on Citysearch

6 years ago

03/31/2017, 09:09 AM
Thank you so much for having such a place for me. I'm a fan of Japanese food and I'm really happy that there's a place like this near town.
James K. review for Domo Restaurant
James K. on Yellow Pages

8 years ago

01/30/2015, 02:15 AM
I hosted a family gathering here recently (in the summer). Fascinating establishment, unusual and very expensive food (our bill was nearly $300!! + the tip). NO air conditioning meant getting sick to my stomach and exiting the restaurant for fresh, cooler air in the parking lot. I guess that it was worth it ONCE!
Rush M. review for Domo Restaurant
Rush M. on Citysearch

10 years ago

11/16/2012, 02:49 AM
Great fresh food and traditional Japanese meals. The portions are gigantic and worthy of bringing home with you. I had the maguro tuna and the ramen noodle bowl, it was delicious. Highly recommend :)
Featured content
Handling negative reviews- 4 important tips

Handling negative reviews- 4 important tips

Handling negative reviews- 4 important tips
Why You Should Display Reviews on Your Website

Why You Should Display Reviews on Your Website

Why You Should Display Reviews on Your Website
Divo121 review for Domo Restaurant
Divo121 on Citysearch

12 years ago

08/31/2010, 08:13 AM
Fish smelled and tasted terrible, service unaccommodating – Went there on 8/18/10 with 5 friends. I love sushi, LOVE sushi. However, this sushi was different. I didn't care for the style and the combination of tastes put together for a meal. A friend and I ordered the maguro tuna sashimi and it came out smelling foul and tasting worse. It was definitely not fresh! No question! I have eaten tons of tuna in my life and this was just not fresh and not the quality I expected. When I called our server's attention to this he told me that I didn't know what fresh fish was like. Not wanting to get in an argument or detail the literally hundreds of times I've had raw tuna, I asked if we could just get something else since we didn't think the quality was what it should be. He said he'd have to talk to the manager and stomped off, but then never came back! He didn't come back to our table for at least 15 minutes and when he did he ignored us. When I asked him about a new meal, he smugly said he talked to the manager and the fish is fresh, end of story. I was insulted and felt that for a large party ordering loads of food and drink this was beyond rude. None of us will ever go there again. I don't know if someone ordered it for takeout and didn't pick it up and then they served it to us or what. The food and service were terrible! Please do not encourage their rude behavior by patronizing this place. There are many other Japanese restaurants more deserving.
ecadvantage review for Domo Restaurant
ecadvantage on Citysearch

12 years ago

06/01/2010, 03:35 AM
A Horrible Experience at Domo! – I had a horrible experience at lunch at Domo Japanese Restaurant today. I read their website before going there and knew that “authentic” meant different according to them and I was ready for that. For example, they don’t have any soy sauce there supposedly not to overpower the “delicate tastes”. Just sounds like a good way to save on soy sauce costs from what I experienced. Now here’s a clue: whenever a restaurant’s marketing makes it sound like they are doing you a favor by allowing you the privilege of eating there, steer clear! I love sushi so I ordered the 3rd item in the sashimi section, the “nori toro”. The top level description of the sashimi section on the menu says “sliced fish”, so that’s what I was expecting. Sashimi means sliced fish everywhere you go. If I had been reading carefully like a contract I would have seen that the 3rd item says “minced” way down at the bottom. You may want to consult your attorney before ordering at Domo and make sure that you understand all the terms of the contract, er uh menu. My waitress came with the food, set it down and ran off quickly. I didn’t see that it was just a few measly tidbits of chopped “fish” until she was gone and she didn’t come back for a long time. I wasn’t even sure what I was looking at in the bowl. Finally I figured out that was supposed to be the fish, so I tried to call her back. There wasn’t much fish there at all and the little bit that was there looked like somebody had already eaten it and puked in into the bowl. While I was waiting I looked around at other people’s dishes and saw that they were all these “pretty on the plate” dishes. No one was leaving there stuffed. Finally she came back and I told her that I wasn’t expecting chopped fish and that I would like her to ask the kitchen if they would give me a different sashimi replacement. She said ok she would ask. I ate the side dishes while I waited a long time but didn’t touch the sashimi. I also told both the 2 hostesses that I was very unhappy and didn’t expect or like the chopped fish. Finally after a long time I had to call the waitress back and asked her what the kitchen said. I could tell that she didn’t even talk to them about it. She said that because I ate the side dishes I was basically screwed. I wasn’t asking for a whole meal just a main course replacement. THE WORST PART WAS THAT NOBOBY CARED, NOBODY GAVE A DAMM AND NOBODY OFFERED TO MAKE IT RIGHT IN ANY WAY WHATSOVER. So I left hungry and $10.26 poorer. So I thought, I’ll email the sensei, the Head Honcho, Master Domo himself. Surely he will understand customer service and make things right. But guess what! No response from the sensei. Nothing, nada, zip! So since absolutely no one there cares, I thought I’d tell all of you about the little puke fish. And so Chef Domo whatever you do please don’t give me that “authentic” speech that’s on your website. When I wrote you I didn’t even want you to give me anything. I was simply under the delusion that you like to improve your customer service. You should instruct your waiters to tell people that the nori toro is chopped, not sliced like everyone in all of America expects it to be. By the way, if your place were really authentic, everyone would all leave their shoes at the door and would be sitting on the floor in there.
sam s. review for Domo Restaurant
sam s. on Insider Pages

12 years ago

06/01/2010, 02:18 AM
A Horrible Experience At Domo I had a horrible experience at lunch at Domo Japanese Restaurant today. I read their website before going there and knew that ??authentic? meant different according to them and I was ready for that. For example, they don??t have any soy sauce there supposedly not to overpower the ??delicate tastes?. Just sounds like a good way to save on soy sauce costs from what I experienced. Now here??s a clue: whenever a restaurant??s marketing makes it sound like they are doing you a favor by allowing you the privilege of eating there, steer clear!
Respond to negative reviews
sam s. review for Domo Restaurant
sam s. on Insider Pages

12 years ago

06/01/2010, 02:00 AM
A Horrible Experience At Domo I had a horrible experience at lunch at Domo Japanese Restaurant today. I read their website before going there and knew that ??authentic? meant different according to them and I was ready for that. For example, they don??t have any soy sauce there supposedly not to overpower the ??delicate tastes?. Just sounds like a good way to save on soy sauce costs from what I experienced. Now here??s a clue: whenever a restaurant??s marketing makes it sound like they are doing you a favor by allowing you the privilege of eating there, steer clear! I love sushi so I ordered the 3rd item in the sashimi section, the ??nori toro?. The top level description of the sashimi section on the menu says ??sliced fish?, so that??s what I was expecting. Sashimi means sliced fish everywhere you go. If I had been reading carefully like a contract I would have seen that the 3rd item says ??minced? way down at the bottom. You may want to consult your attorney before ordering at Domo and make sure that you understand all the terms of the contract, er uh menu. After a LONG wait my waitress came with the food, set it down and ran off quickly. No how's that? No checkback, nothing. I didn??t see that it was just a few measly tidbits of chopped ??fish? until she was gone and she didn??t come back for a long time. I wasn??t even sure what I was looking at in the bowl. Finally I figured out that was supposed to be the fish, so I tried to call her back. There wasn??t much fish there at all and the little bit that was there looked like somebody had already eaten it and puked in into the bowl. While I was waiting I looked around at other people??s dishes and saw that they were all these skimpy ??pretty on the plate? style dishes. No one was leaving there stuffed. Finally after a long time the waitress came back and I told her that I wasn??t expecting chopped fish and that I would like her to ask the kitchen if they would give me a different sashimi replacement. She said ok she would ask. I ate the side dishes while I waited a long time but didn??t touch the sashimi. I also told both the 2 hostesses that I was very unhappy and didn??t expect or like the chopped fish. Finally after a long time I had to call the waitress back and asked her what the kitchen said. I could tell that she hadn't even talk to them about it. She said that because I ate the side dishes I was basically screwed. I wasn??t asking for a whole meal just a main course replacement. THE WORST PART WAS THAT NOBOBY CARED, NOBODY GAVE A DAMM AND NOBODY OFFERED TO MAKE IT RIGHT IN ANY WAY WHATSOVER. I never felt so de-valued in all my life. My ex-wife doesn??t even treat me with such utter contempt! So I left hungry and $10.26 poorer. Then I thought, I??ll email the sensei, the Head Honcho, Master Domo himself! Surely he will understand customer service and make things right. But guess what! No response from the sensei. Nothing, nada, zip! So since absolutely no one there cares, I thought I??d tell all of you about the little puke fish. And so Chef Domo whatever you do please don??t give me that ??authentic? speech that??s on your website. By the time I wrote you I wasn't even looking for anything from you besides an acknowledgement. I was simply under the delusion that you might like to improve your customer service. How nave I was! Among many other things, you should instruct your waiters to tell people that the nori toro is chopped, not sliced like everyone in all of America expects it to be. By the way, if your place were really authentic, everyone would all leave their shoes at the door and they would be sitting on the floor in there. But don't worry, you won't find me there again!
Respond to negative reviews
Ann C. review for Domo Restaurant
Ann C. on Insider Pages

13 years ago

04/02/2010, 06:22 AM
Restaurant Going to Domo's is what I think going to a country Japanese restaurant would be like. The food is wonderful, and you can get some really unusual, delicious side dishes you could not find in any other Japanese restaurant in town. If you eat inside, it is like eating in a museum. And they have a great patio area.
Christina B. review for Domo Restaurant
Christina B. on Insider Pages

13 years ago

03/24/2010, 05:31 AM
A really special Japanese experience Domo was an amazing experience. It wasn't like a regular sushi resatuarant; it was more like what the Japanese had most of the time and it is more like bento boxes, etc. There is also a museum that showed what an old japanese house was like. The zen garden was beautiful.
Footer Banner 2021
Get more reviews. Get more customers.

Get more reviews from your customers with Birdeye. Dominate search results. Beat local competitors. Grow your business. Easy, done.