Birdeye Logo White 2020
Watch Demo

Domo Restaurant

Claim this profile

This business is unclaimed. Owners who claim this profile can update information, boost SEO, and more.

Claim this business for free
4.4
2346 reviews
|Japanese|Denver, CO 80204 United States

1365 Osage St, Denver, CO 80204 United States

(303) 595-3666

http://domorestaurant.com/

Closed now

Google

Suggest edits
Top Restaurants in your area
4.5
(1173) · Japanese

1560 Boulder St

(720) 372-7100
4.4
(289) · Restaurants

198 E 29th St

(970) 685-4694
4.4
(400) · Japanese

11211 Dransfeldt Rd # 100

(720) 851-1005
4.4
(241) · Japanese

8000 E Belleview Ave D50

(303) 221-8880
4.4
(667) · Japanese

6020 S Gun Club Rd

(303) 627-6328
About

Located in Denver, this unusual eatery offers a dining experience to remember. More than just your average restaurant, Domo not only offers home cooked Japanese specialties, they also offer an onsite museum with folk art, a dojo and zen garden. Find traditional offerings like sake nabe, a salmon and vegetable dish, or the portobello teriyaki for vegetarians. An extensive selection of sake makes for a great pairing with your meal.

Suggest edits
BIRDEYE FOR BUSINESSES
Birdeye For Business

This profile is powered by Birdeye. Over 90,000 businesses use Birdeye everyday to get more reviews and manage all customer feedback. Birdeye helps millions of local businesses to be found online with all their reviews and accurate business information. Learn more about Birdeye

4.4
2,346 reviews
51,602
  
4384
  
3100
  
281
  
1133
  
46 reviews have no rating
Sort By:
Featured
oregonianpjb review for Domo Restaurant
oregonianpjb on Citysearch

15 years ago

10/08/2007, 08:22 AM
If you're looking for authentic, go somewhere else – We were there for a Friday night "Datenight". We got there early, so seating wasn't a problem, although the line when we left was long. Ambience was amazing, the decor and garden are second to none here in Denver. The cut off logs they use a seats look amazing but are extremely uncomfortable. Service was extremely disappointing. When the staff came out (not very often), they weren't friendly, helpful or courteous. They greet you in Japanese when you come in, as many Japanese restaurants do. I attempted to practice my Japanese and tried to order tea (after a long wait to flag down the non-existant waitress). Unfortunately, she didn't speak Japanese. Not a problem, but the obvious, impatient, and loud sigh followed by a "uh!" was not appreciated. I've been to Japan several times and my wife is Japanese. The food they serve there may fool people that don't know Japanese food, but let me assure you, it is NOT authentic Japanese country cooking. The increadible ambience, coupled with a generally unknowing public, and the expectations that "this must be good with these prices" are what wins this restaurant the awards it has received. The food was obviously disappointing from somebody expecting authentic, but would be good for somebody who doesn't know the difference. Also, don't expect the staff to be knowledgable. They mis-identified several of the dishes they served us! The policy with the condiments is absurd also. If they don't want to put it on the table, fine, but if it's requested then I feel it should be provided. For the price we were paying, we felt the only thing going for it was the ambience. I will NEVER go here again, even if somebody else was paying. I'd just tell them to drop me off at the Burger King a block up the street!
muppetkiss review for Domo Restaurant
muppetkiss on Citysearch

15 years ago

06/23/2007, 03:18 AM
Amazing food, service was a NIGHTMARE. – I am an events coordinator for Meetin dot org, (if you don't know who we are, check us out.) I am giving this place one star, only because they screwed us over so bad. I called many weeks in advance to make a group reservation. All I really wanted was them to set aside some space on a Monday night, (not a busy night for any resteraunts,) for my group for 5 or 10 minutes at 7 pm. Then after that they could do whatever they want with the space. They demanded a credit card to hold the space and recommended the buffet, $25.00 per head. The reservation was for 25 people and I tried my absolute best to give an accurate number for the reservation, however, in the end only 23 showed up. Keep in mind, this was not a corporate event, a wedding, or any other sort of special occasion, we were just a large group of singles wanting to try out a nice resteraunt. At the end of the night they billed us for the full 25 people because they "cooked for 25." Too bad, so sad. So, the person who put down his credit card was billed an extra $80.00. Pretty harsh. Not only that, the service was pretty MIA. They put out the food, stuck a pitcher of water at the buffet as well, so they wouldn't have to check on us as often. They brought out the one beverage we each ordered at the beginning of the night and after that, forget it. We all got one plate each for the entire evening to take up back and forth to the buffet, (a health code violation,) and we had to get creative about what we wanted to do with all the edamame peels left over on our plate. One guy got smart and stuck an empty cup in the middle of the table for them. The food was very unique and very delicious, however I am angry about the rest of the experience & was humiliated over the unexpected charges. I had to go around and take up a collection. Not a way to make a good impression with people. Thanks Domo.
mshopper001 review for Domo Restaurant
mshopper001 on Citysearch

16 years ago

04/29/2007, 06:01 AM
Unique Japanese restaurant – I have been to Domo only once, and the experience was very presant. They have homestyle japanese food, which I think is very unique and cannot be found in other japanese restaurant in town. The quality of food is very good. They have good sake as well. Their patio is very nice. I recommend this place if you want to experience something different.
Featured content
Do Online Reviews Matter?

Do Online Reviews Matter?

Do Online Reviews Matter?
How to write a review on Google

How to write a review on Google

How to write a review on Google
daphnesmom review for Domo Restaurant
daphnesmom on Citysearch

16 years ago

04/09/2007, 04:29 AM
Outstanding food, awful service – Unfortunately I have to echo many previous reviewers by saying that the cuisine at Domo is amazing, but the service is pretty terrible. However, there is really no where else in town to get this kind of Japanese food, so that's why I think they've managed to stay so popular. The waits are hideously long, the service is spotty at best, but I dream about their "wankosushi"! I wish one of their staff members would open a restaurant with the same food, but more of an emphasis on customer service.
fullbellyhappybelly review for Domo Restaurant
fullbellyhappybelly on Citysearch

16 years ago

01/05/2007, 07:00 AM
not your everyday japanese – I didn't know what to expect when we went to Domo, but everything about it was a pleasant experience. We had a bit of a wait, but nothing outrageous. The small waiting area is very interesting. I loved the atmosphere of the place, even though the little wooden stools you sit on could've been a little more comfortable. The food was very different from any Japanese restaurant I've been to (including the ones in Japan!), and included traditional nabemono (I believe this is a favorite soup of sumo wrestlers in training) and regional sushi that is served in small, palm-sized bowls. Delicious!! The prices may seem a bit high, but the large portions make up for it. They also have a nice tea selection. Overall, it was a fantastic dining experience. Who knew you could find Japanese food this great in Denver?!
denvergrub review for Domo Restaurant
denvergrub on Citysearch

16 years ago

12/02/2006, 01:11 AM
Lunch is Great, Dinner is Blah!!! – I go to Domo for the food, not for the service. Actually, Japanese restaurants aren't known for great service so that is A-OK. You are better off going to Domo for lunch: where the portions and quality are consistently good. I ate there for dinner and it was horrible! Never again!
bluesongbyrd review for Domo Restaurant
bluesongbyrd on Citysearch

16 years ago

11/14/2006, 08:05 AM
Best sushi, nothing typical – This is much different from your average sushi hut, and this is a good thing. They specialize in Japanese country dining, meaning an emphasis in broth bowls teeming with meats or fish and noodles, grilled teriyaki offerings, and (my favorite) their particular way of serving sushi. Instead of the Americanized roll style sushi, you order small bowls of chopped fresh fish served with your choice of sauces. There is no way to eat sushi cheaply here, as you pick several to be served as a meal. But it's the most delicious sushi I've ever had, hands down! Don't miss the beautiful enclosed Japanese garden. Entrees range $12-25.
bls123 review for Domo Restaurant
bls123 on Citysearch

16 years ago

09/19/2006, 04:04 AM
Loved it! – I had read the reviews from this site before going to Domo, so my date and I actually went there exactly at 5:00 to make sure we got a table, and in hopes that the service would be a little better when it was less crowded. We had a great time, if I hadn't of heard about it I would have totally driven by without knowing it was a restaurant! the decor was beautiful and interesting, I wouldn't bring an elderly person here though, the stools were a little bit uncomfortable! The service was great, food was wonderful and interesting, although a bit expensive. It did take a longer time than normal to have dinner, but at a place like Domo, I really don't mind! As far as condiments are concerned, I never felt the need to use a condiment, the dishes were all well seasoned.
lleesmith review for Domo Restaurant
lleesmith on Citysearch

16 years ago

09/11/2006, 06:43 AM
Striving for uniqueness supercedes customer satisfaction – Domo is so focused on what they consider to be their unique cuisine that it supercedes any reasonable customer satisfaction. They not only will not alter any dish, but this establishment will not provide customers any condiments such as shoyu and/or wasabi for the dish ordered. Unbelievable! Sadly, their most notable claim to uniqueness is their devalutaion of patrons by their over the top rigidity and inflexibiity in their insistence that the customer eat the dish exactly as it was prepared. At the very least, Domo should post signs warning customers of their extreme rigidity, and the servers should help customers understand the nature of the dish they are ordering and inform them that no condiments or alterations will be allowed, prior to placing the order.
Footer Banner 2021
Get more reviews. Get more customers.

Get more reviews from your customers with Birdeye. Dominate search results. Beat local competitors. Grow your business. Easy, done.