Birdeye Logo White 2020
Watch Demo

Domo Restaurant

Claim this profile

This business is unclaimed. Owners who claim this profile can update information, boost SEO, and more.

Claim this business for free
4.4
2346 reviews
|Japanese|Denver, CO 80204 United States

1365 Osage St, Denver, CO 80204 United States

(303) 595-3666

http://domorestaurant.com/

Closed now

Google

Suggest edits
Top Restaurants in your area
4.5
(1173) · Japanese

1560 Boulder St

(720) 372-7100
4.4
(241) · Japanese

8000 E Belleview Ave D50

(303) 221-8880
4.4
(289) · Restaurants

198 E 29th St

(970) 685-4694
4.4
(400) · Japanese

11211 Dransfeldt Rd # 100

(720) 851-1005
4.4
(667) · Japanese

6020 S Gun Club Rd

(303) 627-6328
About

Located in Denver, this unusual eatery offers a dining experience to remember. More than just your average restaurant, Domo not only offers home cooked Japanese specialties, they also offer an onsite museum with folk art, a dojo and zen garden. Find traditional offerings like sake nabe, a salmon and vegetable dish, or the portobello teriyaki for vegetarians. An extensive selection of sake makes for a great pairing with your meal.

Suggest edits
BIRDEYE FOR BUSINESSES
Birdeye For Business

This profile is powered by Birdeye. Over 90,000 businesses use Birdeye everyday to get more reviews and manage all customer feedback. Birdeye helps millions of local businesses to be found online with all their reviews and accurate business information. Learn more about Birdeye

4.4
2,346 reviews
51,602
  
4384
  
3100
  
281
  
1133
  
46 reviews have no rating
Sort By:
Featured
alohahiker review for Domo Restaurant
alohahiker on Citysearch

14 years ago

08/24/2008, 03:20 AM
Show up, shut up, and pay – I have been to Domo's many times and in the past generally the only problems I've had is slow service. Which is fine when you have good company and can enjoy either the interesting decorated inside or garden outside. However, when a problem arises is when a restaurant can really shine or in this case fall out of the sky with both wings on fire and everyone screaming all the way to their demise. My girlfriend ordered the Tojimono dish with shrimp, she is allergic to wheat (gluten) and since soy sauce usually has a lot of wheat ordered the miso broth. The problem came when they served the dish and the shrimp actually turned out to be tempura shrimp breaded in panko (bead crumbs). She informed the server that she could not eat the shrimp because it was breaded and could they just give her shrimp like I had which were just plain, to which the server said 'no'. The dish was taken away and the waitress shows up telling us that we should have told her that my girlfriend could not eat wheat and hinted that if she would like to order something else she would be charged again. Now if the menu had said shrimp tempura and we ordered it and complained that the dish had shrimp tempura I can sort of understand, however when it says shrimp I do not assume that it comes tempura style. They specify that the udon comes with tempura shrimp, so why not for this other dish? Anyways several people came over to talk with us, all confused that we should have some how known that shrimp actually meant shrimp tempura. Finally the owner came in and shooed the other waitstaff away like little flies. At this point my girlfriend was so upset she did not want anything to replace her dish, so instead was charged $7 for the side dishes. I've never been to a place where they were so hostile to their customers. The wait staff who from what I can gather are also the students at the on site akido school. It is quite clear that they do not want to be serving in the restaurant.
KarmaRocks review for Domo Restaurant
KarmaRocks on Citysearch

14 years ago

08/24/2008, 01:52 AM
Burger King would have been a better choice – Avoid this restaurant at all costs! We had the most terrible dining experience today. Our table of 9 had reservations, but still, it took them over 40 minutes to seat us. Then, when the waitress accidentally wrote down the wrong order for a member of our party, she refused to bring us the correct item. The suggested that we just eat it, or her other suggestion was that we share other food with her. The manager was nowhere to be found. All 9 of us ended up just getting up and leaving, after we spent over 1.5 hrs at the restaurant. At this point, they threatened to call the cops to force us to pay for food none of us actually touched! The service is not worth the aggravation, the quality is lacking. Don't eat here!
Juniperus review for Domo Restaurant
Juniperus on Citysearch

14 years ago

08/24/2008, 01:49 AM
Don't step in, you will leave LIVID! :-( – We went to Domo's yesterday, to celebrate a graduation. I will never forgive the waiters and owner for their utter lack of tact and courtesy. I wanted to substitute an item in my order as I am allergic to gluten. One of the waiters actually questioned the reality of my allergy! I should not have to explain exactly what will happen to my bowel movements if I injest breaded shrimp! They flat out refused to accomodate any sort of a request, and wanted to charge me for two items if I order something else off the menu. At one point, one of the waiters told us that my boyfriend should just eat my food - along with his $23 dish, I shouldn't have anything, and pay for both. When you go to an upscale restaurant, you expect service. I understand McDonalds not having substitutions, an possibly incompetent waiters. But when you are paying ove $100 for your table, there is no excuse. If you want Japanese country cooking, go to Amu's in Boulder. You will not be disapointed by the service, quality or price. Stay away from Domo! The decor alone is not worth the terrible quaility, service, and sky high, unjustifiable prices!
Featured content
3 Ways Online Reputation Management Can Help You with Google Reviews

3 Ways Online Reputation Management Can Help You with Google Reviews

3 Ways Online Reputation Management Can Help You with Google Reviews
How to respond to negative feedback from a customer

How to respond to negative feedback from a customer

How to respond to negative feedback from a customer
riadoc review for Domo Restaurant
riadoc on Citysearch

14 years ago

07/04/2008, 02:04 AM
like a quick trip to Japan! Authentic and delicious – We were recommended by someone who spent 6 years in Japan. On arrival, we were promptly and properly greeted, seated and watered. We ate in the garden, (so did everyone else!). The service was excellent, complete with a team spirit exuded by the staff. The waiter was from south America and quite shy and proper, and attentive. The food presentation was impressive and delicious - and lots of it! So much we had to take some home. The edamame side dish was our only source of disappointment. The miso broth was delicious and the seven little side dishes that come with entres were excellent. We can't wait to go back!
PNerves review for Domo Restaurant
PNerves on Citysearch

14 years ago

06/03/2008, 04:15 AM
If I could, I'd give this place a negative star. – Ok, I have to admit, I didn't try the food. Why not? Because, we basically got thrown out. Allow me to explain. A friend was excited to hold her birthday party here, as she was a fan. My wife is allergic to seafood, and wanted to stay home, but was talked into coming to celebrate the occasion with the hope that we could work around the allergy- we've been able to do it at other sushi restaurants. We realized right away we were in trouble when we saw that an entree HAD to be ordered in order to stay. I can understand that, and we usually can get around that be ordering something non-fish. However, in Domo's case there is a disclaimer on the back of the menu that says they cannot accommodate food allergies in any way. The waitress- named for a popular flower- insisted my wife order something or leave. When we brought up their disclaimer and tried to explain that it was basically Russian Roulette with her allergy, the waitress insisted a meat dish would be fine. So, basically one policy- order or leave- was being ruthlessly enforced, while a disclaimer that could send us to the hospital was being brushed aside on the word of a rude 19 year old. We were there at the invitation of a friend to celebrate a birthday, and the amount we would have dropped would have more then made up for any inconvenience of a missing entree... We were more then willing to work with them, but the waitress was so rude and unbending that she ended up embarrassing everyone involved. It could have been a fine evening, but instead we were badgered by the waitress and told to leave (when we asked to speak to a manager we were told there was no manager available.) We left- all 12 of us. Way to go Domo! You rock.
hannahlo review for Domo Restaurant
hannahlo on Citysearch

15 years ago

04/20/2008, 02:39 AM
Good atmosphere, bad everything else. – While the atmosphere was lovely, the food was not. We were very disappointed with the quality. To make matters worse, our waitress refused to give us some soy sauce for our plain brown rice and underseasoned shumai. I couldn't believe that even the shumai was not served with dipping sauce. Instead, soy sauce was drizzled over the shumai, with the excess dripping through the bamboo steamer on to the plate below. When I asked the waitress for some more soy sauce, she replied, "We don't give any condiments." I said that I thought the food would taste better if I could add some soy sauce and she lifted up the steamer and pointed to the pathetic soy sauce drops on the plate and said, "there's some more right here." I couldn't believe it. Arrogance like that is just not what I'm looking for when I go out to eat. We ended up leaving hungry and ticked off, and made our way to Starbucks, where they always make it how the customer likes it. Domo, get off your high horse and make your customers happy.
DoeJohnson review for Domo Restaurant
DoeJohnson on Citysearch

15 years ago

03/19/2008, 02:10 AM
Nice lunch spot! – I have to say, I really enjoyed my experience at Domo. The seating wasn't as horrible as everyone says. Really, it's just a wooden bench. I've eaten at plenty of restaurants in Japan than actually had a smooth wooden bench for the seating. If you are really sensitive about your seats, try the ones not around the walls, some of those had padding. The seats were a little close together though. I did find it really weird eating that type of Japanese food at a nice restaurant. I mean gyoza, udon, soba, and donburi were everyday meals for me in Japan, not something you'd spend lots of money for. That being said, it was authentic Japanese food with that distinct Japanese flavor to it. I was half expecting the gyoza to taste like jiaozi(Chinese), but it actually tasted Japanese. My friend tried the Jasmine tea and said it was excellent. We went during lunch and our group of 10 was seated fairly quickly, we only had to wait for them to set up the table. The service wasn't extremely friendly, but it wasn't bad either. They regularly came around asking if we needed refills. And once again comparing it to my experience in Japan, it was MORE service than I would expect there. In Japan, they have a little buzzer at your table if you need something. At some restaurants you will never see your waiter unless you pressed that buzzer. Maybe I should recommend they get a buzzer system... The atmosphere was nice. The decor was awesome, plus they had a little garden and museum outside. There's also an aikido dojo, but there weren't any practices at the time we were there. Overall, I really enjoyed it and would recommend it for anyone wanting to try Japanese food. Go at lunch though, because the food wasn't THAT good for an extra $10 a meal.
SaffordB review for Domo Restaurant
SaffordB on Citysearch

15 years ago

02/25/2008, 04:57 AM
Try the Wankosushi – The wankosushi is very good, and is different from other sushi restaurants in town. Prices are a little higher, but a lot of that is for the ambience, which is worth it.
ChrisHulbert review for Domo Restaurant
ChrisHulbert on Citysearch

15 years ago

02/25/2008, 03:48 AM
Domo Japanese Restaurant – I have been to a lot of Japanese restaurants. I live in NYC! This one was underwelming, at best. The staff was not interested. The food took forever and still was not up to par. The $106 our tab came to was certainly not equal to what we received in the way of food, though the tea was really good! Also, Emily the manager is to be avoided at all costs. She is officially the most annoying, pushy, downright rude person I have ever met in the food service industry.
Footer Banner 2021
Get more reviews. Get more customers.

Get more reviews from your customers with Birdeye. Dominate search results. Beat local competitors. Grow your business. Easy, done.