Birdeye Logo White 2020
Watch Demo

Domo Restaurant

Claim this profile

This business is unclaimed. Owners who claim this profile can update information, boost SEO, and more.

Claim this business for free
4.4
2346 reviews
|Japanese|Denver, CO 80204 United States

1365 Osage St, Denver, CO 80204 United States

(303) 595-3666

http://domorestaurant.com/

Closed now

Google

Suggest edits
Top Restaurants in your area
4.5
(1173) · Japanese

1560 Boulder St

(720) 372-7100
4.4
(289) · Restaurants

198 E 29th St

(970) 685-4694
4.4
(400) · Japanese

11211 Dransfeldt Rd # 100

(720) 851-1005
4.4
(241) · Japanese

8000 E Belleview Ave D50

(303) 221-8880
4.4
(667) · Japanese

6020 S Gun Club Rd

(303) 627-6328
About

Located in Denver, this unusual eatery offers a dining experience to remember. More than just your average restaurant, Domo not only offers home cooked Japanese specialties, they also offer an onsite museum with folk art, a dojo and zen garden. Find traditional offerings like sake nabe, a salmon and vegetable dish, or the portobello teriyaki for vegetarians. An extensive selection of sake makes for a great pairing with your meal.

Suggest edits
BIRDEYE FOR BUSINESSES
Birdeye For Business

This profile is powered by Birdeye. Over 90,000 businesses use Birdeye everyday to get more reviews and manage all customer feedback. Birdeye helps millions of local businesses to be found online with all their reviews and accurate business information. Learn more about Birdeye

4.4
2,346 reviews
51,602
  
4384
  
3100
  
281
  
1133
  
46 reviews have no rating
Sort By:
Featured
michelle b. review for Domo Restaurant
michelle b. on Insider Pages

13 years ago

02/06/2010, 00:55 AM
Unique atmosphere Unique. Fun with a group. Good japanese country cooking. It feels like you are in another time period.
2topdotcom review for Domo Restaurant
2topdotcom on Citysearch

13 years ago

10/21/2009, 01:18 AM
Wowza! That's some poor service! – My partner and I used to frequent Domo weekly until we realized on our last visit that we are, in fact, not masochists and do not like being treated poorly despite how good the food is. Our service was heinous....Our server "Daisy" was totally unhelpful, ignored drink re-fill requests, and was basically totally aloof. I understand that part of Domo's authenticity effect is not making ANY changes to menu items but is it too much to ask for the shrimp tempura to be placed outside of the soup so it doesn't get soggy?? Apparently so, because our request (among others) was denied. In short, regardless of the food quality, Domo left a bad taste in my mouth...
katarddx review for Domo Restaurant
katarddx on Citysearch

13 years ago

10/09/2009, 01:06 AM
domo thanks but NEVER AGAIN! – I have been coming here on at least once a week basis for years (pretty sure twice is more accurate and I usually bring at least 3 people with me) and since I work near by in Police Bldg I have brought many first timers who are now regulars at your restaurant. I had guests from Europe here in Denver for 2 weeks. I told them so many stories about a fine establishment called domo, and by many, I do mean many stories…so they couldn’t wait to see the famous Domo! If they only knew… My wife and I took our guests (5 altogether) and went to Domo Restaurant on a 09-24-09. Once, Domo was a great establishment, but for me, those days are over since I am not coming back ever again. What a total mess this fine establishment has become! After 45 minutes (they promised to seat us in 10-15 minutes), we finally got our table! And I went to restroom twice in meantime and checked that 2 (yes TWO) tables were empty! When complained I was told that there is a big party of people inside and we just have to wait. Off course I checked again, the party was actually 6 people! That is the BIG party at your restaurant??? 6 adults and 6 kids – all of them 2 years old or less! And STILL 2 empty tables. Two tables (which were seated 35 minutes AFTER we arrived), including a table of 6, were all served before us). Our server NEVER came back to our table to check in with us. He took our order and went his way… never told that wait for food is going to be a long nightmare… On top of all that my business partner (from Germany so he is used to cold) was literally shaking from the cold INSIDE! I had to get up to alert waiter that a mistake had probably been made since we never received our orders. He said it is going to be another 20-30 minutes! And we were sitting at the table for at least 45! 90 minutes of waiting already! Now, I do realize that mistakes can happen in all restaurants. I waited before at Domo for food… But this time it went overboard. Your wait stuff kept telling us about “big party they had and how busy kitchen is” but we were there and we KNOW how big of a party that was! As we were exiting the restaurant (after 2 hours and never getting our orders) , we approached the host, and I told here the very same thing I am writing here but she did not give a damn! Instead, she turned around to newly arrived couple to show them their table. However that couple asked me what is going on (since they overheard the story) and I told the – they turned around and left Domo without a word! Now, that was not my intention but I will make sure that anyone I know find out about our experience. Never take your guests and especially your business guests to Domo! NEVER!I understand that limited server staff and limited cook staff is clearly the problem but that is your problem not mine. It's sad that you as a owner, are not aware what's really going on now. I almost cannot believe how horrible our experience was. If my wife wasn't with me, I would have blown a gasket! I've NEVER, EVER, EVER been treated so rudely. On top of that now I am a laughing stock of business partner! And for that I will make sure that I share this story with every single person I ever introduced to Domo! Thanks a lot DOMO! But NEVER again!
Featured content
'Facebook Reviews' are now 'Facebook Recommendations'

'Facebook Reviews' are now 'Facebook Recommendations'

'Facebook Reviews' are now 'Facebook Recommendations'
13 travel review sites you need to know in 2021

13 travel review sites you need to know in 2021

13 travel review sites you need to know in 2021
mandalynn16 review for Domo Restaurant
mandalynn16 on Citysearch

13 years ago

06/09/2009, 05:49 AM
A great cultural experience! – I have worked in food service for many years, and have eaten at Domo many times. The food is fantastic, the service is friendly and knowledgeable, and the ambience is amazing. You should sit in the garden when weather permits...it is beautiful and you forget that you are just a block off of Colfax. The ever-changing side dishes maintain a fun, unpredictable menu. I am appalled at the discourteousness of some of the other reviews. A guest in ANY restaurant should never expect special treatment because of a dietary restriction, and that is something the person should know before they decide to leave their house to go out and eat. Chef's, especially those in upscale restaurants, prepare dishes in a certain manner, because they know what tastes best. People who do not want what is offered on the menu should stay home and cook for themselves (especially seafood at a Japanese restaurant!?!). It is unjust to give someone a bad review because of your medical problems or food aversions. You should all be ashamed of yourselves.
diningdenver review for Domo Restaurant
diningdenver on Citysearch

13 years ago

05/29/2009, 07:15 AM
Great food - unique gem – Domo is the result of Gaku Homma's unique vision - for those who want a sushi bar, I recommend going someplace else. The food here is as close to the cuisine of the peasantry where he grew up as he can make it. I appreciate the unique flavors and influences. When you go to Domo, try to go with an open mind and try to experience the vision of the chef, not a preconception of Japanese food. We went there tonight with a friend and had a wonderful time. The food is delightful - from the sides served before the meal to the generous main portions, everything was tasty and well prepared. The hostess was gracious and our servers were polite.
xstineonthescene review for Domo Restaurant
xstineonthescene on Citysearch

14 years ago

05/27/2009, 02:45 AM
It was just alright. – My boyfriend and I went here for a special occasion, and like everyone says the hostess was pretty rude, luckily our server was super sweet. She was pretty good with explaining to us the food - but then again you can't change anything in the dishes which is a little odd to me. The food was delicious though, but the sake was not so great because it was luke warm (which I had asked for chilled) Anyways, I would really have to be in the mood to come back here...
uncledave review for Domo Restaurant
uncledave on Citysearch

14 years ago

03/28/2009, 05:07 AM
No soup for you – If you like a little S&M you'll love this place. I have never been treated so rudely, so consistently anywhere in the world. I could detail the service atrocities I've endured here but they pretty much parallel the rest of the one start reviews. I worked as a bartender in a Japanese restaurant for many years and really loved the Japanese owners and staff for their unfailing graciousness in the face of some very ugly Americans. Domo must have a special interview process to be able to select the rudest possible servers available.
Jared K. review for Domo Restaurant
Jared K. on Insider Pages

14 years ago

01/17/2009, 06:06 AM
Domo Impressive traditional japanese country restaurant with beautiful picturesque gardens. The Restaurant is a bit pricey, bit the portions are huge and the quality is excellent.
CHAD review for Domo Restaurant
CHAD on YellowBot

14 years ago

09/22/2008, 09:42 AM
Horrible service and terrible food! This was T-H-E WORST dining experiences I have EVER had!! This is the 1st time I have ever written a review for anything, but I will try to articulate the horror of our experience at this restaurant.... I almost cannot believe how horrible our experience was. If my wife wasn't with me, I would have blown a gasket! I've NEVER, EVER, EVER been treated so rudely. I can NOT and DO NOT believe that Zagat or anyone else rated their food much above ALPO (dog food). IT WAS TERRIBLE! (NOT as bad as the service and their attitude, but still terrible!) Their no extra condiments policy is RIDICULOUS! I was told NO 7 times before we even ordered. They gave us 6 drops of sauce for our dumplings, and when my wife asked for more, they told her NO! LOL.. I thought they were joking at first. Then when he went on to explain that it was RUDE (and an INSULT) IN THEIR COUNTRY to ask for extra condiments, I almost fell out of my chair! HOW ABOUT THE COUNTRY in which you are serving this dog food?? The reason we needed more soy sauce is because there was either NO FLAVOR or it tasted TERRIBLE! I wouldn't even give this place ONE STAR! I have NO IDEA why they are still in business? Like many of the other complaints listed online, the service, the prices, the food, and their Nazi-like policies ARE THE WORST I HAVE EVER EXPERIENCED IN 27 YEARS OF EATING OUT IN 30 STATES, AND 12 COUNTRIES ALL OVER THE WORLD!! Save your time, gas, and headaches and find ANY OTHER Japanese place and GO THERE!
Respond to negative reviews
Footer Banner 2021
Get more reviews. Get more customers.

Get more reviews from your customers with Birdeye. Dominate search results. Beat local competitors. Grow your business. Easy, done.