Birdeye Logo White 2020
Watch Demo

The One 20 Salon

Claim this profile

This business is unclaimed. Owners who claim this profile can update information, boost SEO, and more.

Claim this business for free
5.0
61 reviews
|Hair Salons|Syracuse, NY 13203 United States

989 James St, 1st Floor, Syracuse, NY 13203 United States

(315) 478-0761

http://www.one20salon.com/index.html

Closed now

Google

Facebook

Suggest edits
Top Beauty in your area
5.0
(4) · Hair Salons

7 William St

(315) 255-1979
5.0
(4) · Beauty

522 W State St

(607) 319-0210
5.0
(4) · Beauty

7567 Oswego Rd

(315) 622-0800
5.0
(3) · Hair Salons

8017 Oswego Rd

(315) 622-2200
5.0
(75) · Hair Salons

102 Williams St #1

(315) 363-0593
5.0
(14) · Hair Salons

149 E Bridge St # 1

(315) 343-2840
About

History Established in 2013. Formerly located in Armory Square, the one 20 salon has re- opened in Imperial Gardens apartment complex. After being closed for 2 years are staff has chosen to reconnect bringing you a great salon experience . The staff from Fringe hair salons has also joined our team.

Suggest edits
BIRDEYE FOR BUSINESSES
Birdeye For Business

This profile is powered by Birdeye. Over 90,000 businesses use Birdeye everyday to get more reviews and manage all customer feedback. Birdeye helps millions of local businesses to be found online with all their reviews and accurate business information. Learn more about Birdeye

5.0
61 reviews
521
  
40
  
30
  
20
  
10
  
40 reviews have no rating
Sort By:
Featured
inmylife review for The One 20 Salon
inmylife on Citysearch

14 years ago

11/23/2008, 03:25 AM
Great color and cut – After moving to the area months ago and searching high and low for someone to cut and color my hair, I have finally found the 120 Salon. I really like the dowtown, funky atmoshpere. I have never been happier with my hair or color than I am right now. There is a slight "standoffish" vibe from the staff (everyone except Bill). But, if you are there to get a great cut and color and not a lot of conversation, then you are in the right place.
colorhappy review for The One 20 Salon
colorhappy on Citysearch

14 years ago

11/14/2008, 17:27 PM
best colorist in Syracuse – If you?re looking for an inviting atmosphere, reasonable prices, and incredible results, the 120 Salon is for you. Particularly, Kristi is an extremely skilled colorist, whom I consider myself lucky to have found. (When I first moved to the area from California, I tried a few other salons, one of which turned my hair green and ruined the shirt I was wearing. Not such a good introduction to CNY). Kristi completely rehabilitated my hair?it looks natural, only better. For highlights, lowlights, etc. she?s amazing?and incidentally, she?s delightful too?
tmin review for The One 20 Salon
tmin on Citysearch

14 years ago

08/21/2008, 04:34 AM
Simply Overrated – After moving to the Syracuse area from Washington DC, I was looking for a new salon and stylist to go to for all of my beauty needs. Starting with a basic haircut I went to 120 Salon and Kristi because of positive reviews and ratings but ended up highly disappointed. The atmosphere is wonderfully eclectic and comfy but the service was dismal. My appointment was on a weekday in the morning (NOT during a busy time) yet Kristi maintained a conversation with a previous client during my entire cut, barely speaking to me after we decided what she would do. The cut was average even though I told her to do whatever she thought it needed. As a first time client who was trying to find someone to consistently go to this experience helped to make the decision that 120 Salon and Kristi were not where I wanted to give my business.
Featured content
Mortgage Lender Review Websites - An Overview

Mortgage Lender Review Websites - An Overview

Mortgage Lender Review Websites - An Overview
Review Responses and SEO

Review Responses and SEO

Review Responses and SEO
skusy7 review for The One 20 Salon
skusy7 on Citysearch

14 years ago

08/19/2008, 02:01 AM
Worst haircut I have ever received – I went to this salon for the first time today. My hairdresser was the owner of the salon. She took me 20 minutes late, even though I was on time and had an appointment. I told her I wanted a trim and my side bangs reshaped. She even asked while cutting my hair if I wanted it below my shoulders and I said yes. She gave me a unique cut that was not desirable. She cut more than four inches off my hair and gave me short straight bangs. She also added short layers. My hair is now above my shoulders in a cut I despise. It was obvious that I was not happy with the cut and she did nothing to remedy the situation. Even though I know several people who are happy with the service at this salon, I would never recommend this horrible salon to anyone.
KiraMaria review for The One 20 Salon
KiraMaria on Citysearch

15 years ago

04/27/2008, 14:10 PM
Lovely atmosphere, Mediocre outcome – I was finally ready to get my hair chopped off. I'm graduating college and was ready for a more mature and professional length. I chose 120 Salon because it has excellent reviews, so my hopes were high. I went in and the people were incredibly friendly. The atmosphere is so funky, yet classy and warm. The service was prompt, but had I been made to wait, I would've been quite happy to sit in the lovely couches and soak up the place for awhile. When I was taken back, Kristi was very interested and attentive in hearing what I wanted done. Unlike other reviewers have said, she was not rough with my hair. She got soap in my ear, but I suppose it happens. The cut itself was pretty unextraordinary - nothing special. She did cut my bangs a little too short. Also, even though I had seven inches taken off, I really didn't even feel like I had had a haircut. In fact, some one I see on a regular basis told me that very same day that it looked like my hair was getting longer. Weird. I don't know if this is a good or a bad thing. She didn't style my hair completely dry, and it looked kind of frizzy. I think I do a better job. On the other hand, had I said I wanted more taken off, or something else done after she had already finished, I'm positive she would've done it without any problem. Kristi is very friendly, attentive and makes you feel like you are the most important person in the place. Nonetheless, my hair turned out just average.
Nytengal review for The One 20 Salon
Nytengal on Citysearch

15 years ago

04/20/2008, 04:55 AM
PRECISE, STYLISH CUTS, AMAZING COLOR THAT IS KIND TO YOUR HAIR WITH AMAZING CUSTOMER SERVICE – This is the SALON if you are looking for a precision hair cut, color that looks totally natural blending with your skin tone, and an atmosphere that is relaxing and eclectic. Kristi is a master colorist who is an artist in her trade that transformed my cut rate salon look & cheap color into perfection. She listened to me carefully, then studied my hair and analyzed color swatches then told me what she felt would work best. Using four Goldwell colors, I walked away with 125.00 less in my wallet but felt and looked like a million bucks. This was worth every penny and I have finally found a salon I love. The manager Bill walked out with me to show me where it was legal to park & told me he would put money in the meter while my color was processing. Kristi recommended several tips for color retention including THE best smelling products she used on my hair but did not push me into buying . Parking was not problem just plan on leaving 10 minutes early to find spot and bring quarters. The salon is bringing in Rare Minerals Makeup so you can find the right colors without trial and error. After decades of searching for a salon I would return to, I found perfection.
DiscriminatingDiva review for The One 20 Salon
DiscriminatingDiva on Citysearch

15 years ago

04/04/2008, 02:49 AM
Excellent Cut, Color, Service – I've been going to the 120 Salon for the past three years, and now three of my best friends go as well. Why? The atmosphere! The service! The attention to detail! This is no snotty trendy salon, nor is it some place where everyone has blue hair or the same crappy cut. This is simply THE BEST place I've found in CNY. (And I'm from NYC and have had $50 to $500 haircuts from Village hair shops to Bumble & Bumble... I tried 10 different places throughout the Syracuse area before I landed at the 120 Salon.) The stylists here are all really good. In particular, I'm in love with Kristi Bitetti and Denice. (And I have to tell you that Bill is the MAN! You aren't anyone unless Bill calls to remind you about your appointment!) Truthfully, these are real hardworking people and they aim to please. If you have issues with timing, your cut, your color -- JUST OPEN YOUR MOUTH and SAY SOMETHING! Everytime I go, we chit chat, we laugh, and I leave looking gorgeous. Kristi is always coming back from some show with new techniques and is always ready to take the extra step. The other thing?? No one pushes products on me, and if I'm not quite satisfied (yes, they are human -- and folks, it's just hair) I just say so, and I come back for a quick redo/refresh. Bottom line: I've been so happy that three of my best friends, husbands (who love TOM!), and many others go regularly, and I've been asked who does my hair so many times (from perfect strangers) that I know several others who have found a home there too. (I should keep my mouth shut, or be able to get an appt. anymore!) The 120 Salon is a special place. It's like the "Cheers" of hair salons. I sit down, get a glass of wine, and relax. I leave looking beautiful. What more could you ask for? Kristi, Denice, Bill, Tom.... you are the best. See you in six weeks for a trim...
epmdesigner review for The One 20 Salon
epmdesigner on Citysearch

15 years ago

03/09/2008, 00:50 AM
Affordable, experienced colorist, stylish – I've had my hair cut and colored by Kristi at the 120 Salon ever since I moved to Syracuse in 2003. Besides being a practical and creative stylist, she is a highly educated master colorist. As someone with A LOT of hair, who receives both overall color for gray coverage, as well as highlights, I am always impressed with Kristi's attention to detail as well as her concern for the health of my hair. She has pointed me towards some of my favorite hair products (which she's always tested before suggesting!) without the pushy sales technique I found common at other salons I've used over the years. Since I've been Kristi's client she has given me everything from long layers to a short round bob. I've always been pleased with my cuts and am thrilled at how well the styles compliment my color (and vice-versa). I also can't say enough great things about 120 stylist Denise, who has often assisted Kristi when working on my hair. She's got an amazing eye for style, has always given me beautiful blow-outs/drys, and more recently made my eyebrows look amazing. If you're looking for a first-class men's haircut or any cut that needs precision look no further than Tom! My husband has never looked better since Tom started cutting his hair. As a busy mom of two I truly love my visits to the 120 Salon. Lots of fun people, a relaxed atmosphere, and I always leave feeling refreshed and beautiful.
Reneaze review for The One 20 Salon
Reneaze on Citysearch

15 years ago

03/07/2008, 01:30 AM
A Hair Coloring Gem – Kristi at the One 20 salon in Armory Square knows her stuff. I came in without knowing what to expect. As a 20 year old girl, who has been coloring her hair for the past 4 years and constantly changing the tone, I haven't been able to find a single place where I I feel confident that the results will be exceptional every time. Here, at One 20, Kristi delivers A+ work--I have finally found the right place to color my hair. Upon first speaking with Kristi, she listened carefully to what I wanted: a light brown- medium blonde base with a few settle highlights. Without saying anything, she analyzed the appropriate color for my skin tone and finally mixed her own. For a relatively reasonable cost of $125, she applied all over color + a few highlights, and a toner to get rid of any brassiness. In Boston, her services would have cost much more. For the first time in a while, I love my hair!
Footer Banner 2021
Get more reviews. Get more customers.

Get more reviews from your customers with Birdeye. Dominate search results. Beat local competitors. Grow your business. Easy, done.