Logo White
Watch Demo

The Driskill Hotel

Own this business?
4.5
48 reviews
|Hotels|Austin, TX 78701

604 Brazos St, Austin, TX 78701

(512) 439-1234

https://www.hyatt.com/en-us/hotel/texas/the-driskill/aushd?src=corp_lclb_gmb_seo_nam_aushd

Open now:9:00 am - 6:00 pm

Google

Suggest edits
Top Hospitality in your area
5.0
(12) · Hotels

1601 N Interstate 35

(512) 396-3700
5.0
(1) · Hospitality

1101 Music Ln Apt 303

(512) 804-2443
5.0
(66) · Hospitality

221 Park Ln

(512) 447-7460

1 person is looking at this business

4.7
(298) · Hotels

915 E Cameron Ave

(512) 446-2361
4.6
(3270) · Hotels

501 Hwy 2147 West

(830) 798-2020
4.6
(430) · Hotels

112 Academy Dr

(512) 852-2400
About

Austin's most renowned hotel, The Driskill is stylishly grand and opulent. It has recently had the mother of all makeovers. It is an ideal abode because of its proximity to both the corporate as well as the entertainment districts of Austin. The rooms are splendid; each of the 205 guestrooms have been done up in turn-of-the-century Victorian design. If you spend the night look out for the supernatural, some claim this hotel is haunted. Take a walk down the beautiful lobby bedecked with hand-made marble, hand-painted ceilings and a custom-made stained glass dome. Such luxury is hard to leave behind!

Suggest edits
BIRDEYE FOR BUSINESSES
Birdeye For Business

This profile is powered by BirdEye. Over 50,000 businesses use BirdEye everyday to get more reviews and manage all customer feedback. BirdEye helps millions of local businesses to be found online with all their reviews and accurate business information. Learn more about BirdEye

BirdEye Score

The BirdEye Score® is calculated based on our proprietary algorithm applied to customers reviews, weighted by a range of different factors.

Learn how the BirdEye Score® is calculated
4.5
48 reviews
53
  
43
  
30
  
20
  
10
  
42 reviews have no rating
  • 6 Reviews4.5Insider Pages
Sort By:
5 results available.
Recommended
Susan P. on Citysearch

8 years ago

02/19/2012, 01:11 AM
Amazing MeaL – My boyfriend and I celebrated our 2 year anniversary with dinner at The Driskoll last night. We both chose the 7 course dinner and for both of us it was the best dining experience we've ever had. I had the wine pairings and each one was perfectly matched with the course we were served. Our waiter took superb care of us throughout the night without being overbearing, The entire staff was well trained and courteous. Chef Gelman's food was like a beautiful symphony for the senses. Last night Driskoll Grill became our favorite restaurant, hands down.
GeorgeEvelyn1978 on Citysearch

9 years ago

04/07/2011, 01:12 AM
Great hotel BUT.. – It's a great hotel but if any of you are looking to save some $$ then book it at goo.gl/FPxYD They have some of the best hotel deals on the web!
ajweise on Citysearch

9 years ago

02/14/2011, 00:24 AM
Restaurant Review Only - Driskell Grill – I created this CitySearch account to write this one review, that is how bad my experience was. This is the most absurdly overpriced restaurant for Valentine's Day imaginable. $130 for an average at best tasting menu. How do you make lobster this bad? No prices on the menu, now I know why. You give people one option for Valentine's Day and price gouge the hell out of them. I have paid $100+ for a meal before and I'll do it again but this is inexcusable. Such bad food for such an outrageous price. I almost vomited when I saw this bill. The seating is so close I heard every word the two couples next to us said throughout the entire meal. Pack them in tight + charge them $200+ for weak food = Driskill Grill profit. This was everything I hate about high-end dining. You think you can put white tablecloths down and serve terrible souffle, how do you justify this price? Shame on the chef and shame on the owner of this place.
Featured content
Introducing BirdEye Interactions

Introducing BirdEye Interactions

Introducing BirdEye Interactions
Realtor ratings - The most important sites

Realtor ratings - The most important sites

Realtor ratings - The most important sites
shannonjomurray on Citysearch

10 years ago

03/29/2010, 01:53 AM
Amazing bloody mary! – The Driskill's 1886 cafe has amazing bloody mary's and great food all around. They also make specialty cakes for celebrations and special occasions that taste great! For my graduation brunch they made a great white cake with a longhorn on the top, everyone loved it!
CeceS3 on Citysearch

11 years ago

07/30/2009, 03:03 AM
beautiful hotel, badly managed – housekeeping was sloppy, I had to change rooms three times in one day because 1) air conditioning didn't work, 2) electrical outlet didn't work... it's a shame because it's a great location, but the management practices are better at a Motel Six... what a horrible waste
Hookem720 on Citysearch

11 years ago

06/06/2009, 02:09 AM
Best Restaurant in Town – It's been months since I visited the Driskill, but upon perusing CitySearch, I noticed they have a relatively low rating at the moment so I thought I'd throw my two cents in. I went with family and friends as a special treat and the only way I can describe it is "perfect." We all chose the tasting menu (as was recommended), and every single thing that was in front of me was delicious. The wines were paired excellently. One of my family members was in town from Manhattan, and she is quite the foodie. She ranked the Driskill right up there with the best and most famous restaurants in New York. The meal was perfectly timed, leaving enough room in between courses but not so long that we felt that we were "waiting," and the service was attentive but not intrusive. Everything was cooked flawlessly and the atmosphere was wonderful. The dining room is on the small side, so there's no normal restaurant din. Overall, just perfect! It IS an expensive restaurant, but it was worth every cent. I wish I had the bucks to go there every night!
peppermint81 on Citysearch

11 years ago

04/03/2009, 03:07 AM
Good Decor, views, restaurent...disappointing room service – AC was not working...called up the front desk...and they wanted to fix the issue over the phone...was "instructing" us how to fix it....I attempted twice what he asked me to do...yet no success....then they sent the guy over...n sure there was some problem...he said it is now fixed....took half the night for the room to cool down.... When you charge $$$ for a room...atleast make sure everything is working.... Rest all was great..decor, views, n break fast at the restaurent... If the ac issue was not there n the front desk more helpful... i would have given it 5 star
canwetalk on Citysearch

12 years ago

12/08/2008, 02:03 AM
Beautiful historic hotel in superb location – We booked several rooms for UT graduation and were thrilled we choose someplace special. The front bellhop, valet service was efficient and friendly. The front desk staff was courteous and helpful. Trenton, the concierge, was doing a great job balancing several people at one time. He gave us great suggestions and was quite helpful. The bathroom lighting is dreadful, and I agree with a previous reviewer one has to go over by the window to put on make-up. The rooms are smallish, but they're lovely. I don't care for in-room coffee makers, having been a flight attendant and knowing some people wash their pantyhose, etc., in in-room coffeemakers. They hotel is beautifully decorated for Christmas, and the discreet presence of security was reassuring. The Capitol is close-by and a nice walk.
Kaycee15 on Citysearch

12 years ago

09/03/2008, 02:15 AM
Disappointing stay – I just returned home from for my disappointing 30th birthday stay at the Driskill. First, our room was tiny - the bed comprised nearly the entire room - and the air conditioning obnoxiously loud. Second, the lighting in the bathroom was awful - I had to apply make-up by the window - and there was no soap in the shower. Next, my boyfriend had a detailed conversation with the lead concierge three times about where he should take me for a formal dinner. My boyfriend used the word "upscale" to describe the restaurant he would like. After first suggesting a place that was closed, the concierge sent us to a loud restaurant full of people in jeans eating ice cream sundaes. Huh? I looked ridiculously out of place in a dress and nice shoes. Furthermore, the two common sundry items I forgot - dental floss and ibuprofen - were not available at the front desk or anywhere in the hotel. If it hadn't been for the price of this hotel, I would have overlooked some of this. You simply do not get what you pay for. I suggest spending time in the lobby if you would like to visit the Driskill.
Footer Banner
Get more reviews. Get more customers.

Get more reviews from your customers with BirdEye. Dominate search results. Beat local competitors. Grow your business. Easy, done.