Birdeye Logo White 2020
Watch Demo

Mezcal

Claim this profile

This business is unclaimed. Owners who claim this profile can update information, boost SEO, and more.

Claim this business for free
4.1
659 reviews
|Mexican|Denver, CO 80206 United States

3230 E Colfax Ave, Denver, CO 80206 United States

(303) 322-5219

https://www.toasttab.com/mezcal-denver/v3

Closed now

Google

Suggest edits
Top Restaurants in your area
5.0
(5) · Restaurants

352 Havana St

(303) 343-2099
4.7
(2457) · Restaurants

17025 S Golden Rd

(720) 556-6269
4.6
(941) · Restaurants

5307 Leetsdale Dr

(720) 379-7269
4.6
(1736) · Mexican

1294 S Broadway

(303) 778-1294
4.5
(1479) · Restaurants

270 S Broadway

(720) 287-5233
4.5
(725) · Restaurants

280 Union Blvd

(303) 202-9978
About

Succulent barbacoa taco, delicious tamales and the scrumptious Red Chile Pozole together with lime margaritas, tequilas and mezcals make this restaurant truly alluring; especially after a show at nearby Bluebird Theater. Mezcal restaurant quite sincerely reflects the Mexican culture with it's ambiance, decor, food and drinks. You can enjoy every savory bit of the Mexican culinary fiesta that Mezcal awards it's guests with. You won't be disappointed with any of those wondrous dishes that so loudly speak of the great Mexico!

Suggest edits
BIRDEYE FOR BUSINESSES
Birdeye For Business

This profile is powered by Birdeye. Over 90,000 businesses use Birdeye everyday to get more reviews and manage all customer feedback. Birdeye helps millions of local businesses to be found online with all their reviews and accurate business information. Learn more about Birdeye

4.1
659 reviews
5309
  
4181
  
369
  
235
  
133
  
32 reviews have no rating
Sort By:
Featured
sbissell3 review for Mezcal
sbissell3 on Citysearch

16 years ago

11/05/2006, 00:21 AM
Authentic Northern Mexico – I had heard good and bad about this East Colfax Mexican eatery. My initial reaction was 'why does Denver need another Mexican Resturant?' I have lived and traveled in Mexico for over 25 years and have eaten in all of the major districts of the country and I also enjoy and often eat the more typical 'Tex-Mex' or Southwestern US style of Mexican food. I took a friend who has also lived in Mexico and really knows Mexican food and drink. We ordered a Tamal and a Relleno as appitizers to 'test' the kitchen. It passed with high marks, high enough that my friend, who is a real Relleno snob order more Tamals and Rellenos for his main course. He says the Rellenos are the best in Denver and I know he's eaten a lot of them because it's about all he ever orders. I had fish tacos. While many people think these are a coastal food for Mexico, you get them everywhere and these were excellent; breaded Talapia with raw onions and an avacado based salsa. I know why some people have complained about this place; it is very typical Northern Mexico. It is what you would get in a better family resturant in Northern Mexico and is therefore strange to folks use to the more typical US style of Mexcian food. Don't be put off, this is the real deal.
denverdelish review for Mezcal
denverdelish on Citysearch

16 years ago

07/10/2006, 04:35 AM
Incredible value – This place is great - dinner for four for $40! And good ingredients, nothing skimped on. The food is not spicy enough, but there are several hot sauces on the table to choose from. I had the salmon enchiladas and they were excellent - topped with a vinegary cabbage mixture, on homemade tortillas. Our service wasn't great, but at these prices, the wait staff isn't making much probably. We had empty cocktalks too often for my liking, but the quality and value of the food will keep me coming back. Despite what other reviewers said, I was there from 8-10 on a Saturday night and had no problem getting a table. None at all. Keep your expectations in check and you'll enjoy Mezcal. Not the right place for a quiet dinner or a special occasion, but great for a cheap evening out.
rfr review for Mezcal
rfr on Citysearch

17 years ago

02/18/2006, 02:15 AM
Brunch Heaven for Seven – Despite other reviews, this place is great for brunch. Seven of us ALL disagreed with the negative comments about Mezcal. All five of our different brunch entrés were wonderful. And, no, we didn't drink a single alcoholic beverage. I had the Entomatada. (Cheese, eggs, corn tortillas, bacon, and chili.)
Featured content
Negative feedback examples: 8 strategies to turn bad reviews into wins

Negative feedback examples: 8 strategies to turn bad reviews into wins

Negative feedback examples: 8 strategies to turn bad reviews into wins
How you can create a winning customer satisfaction survey

How you can create a winning customer satisfaction survey

How you can create a winning customer satisfaction survey
denver303 review for Mezcal
denver303 on Citysearch

17 years ago

01/19/2006, 00:05 AM
Great Bar, Terrible Restaurant – If you want to go to a fun place for drinks, Mezcal is it. A great Tequila selection and great bar staff. But don't sit at a table, you'll be sorry. Even the salsa is terrible. Food is worse. The tacos are the only thing that is close to edible. Too bad as this would be a great place to eat, but they have totally missed the mark on the food. I don't know how the owners could not realize how bad the food is.
skipowski3 review for Mezcal
skipowski3 on Citysearch

17 years ago

01/17/2006, 03:45 AM
Need to go at least for a drink... – This is one of the best places to have a drink a little later in the evening. Just an FYI Happy hour is at 10:00 and it means dollar tacos which are excellent and some drink specials (the fried Sopes are the bomb). I would actually stick to the app menu as it is great however I will admit the menu is hit or miss. I have had mixed reviews of either great or just OK on the main menu. This is a great place to go as the vibe is great the music is good and the cartoons are pretty funny especially after a couple of glasses of tequilia. Definitely one of the better bars to have a drink at and the atmosphere is outstanding.
eugeneburdick review for Mezcal
eugeneburdick on Citysearch

17 years ago

01/13/2006, 01:48 AM
Somebody had an off night – In short, too loud, mediocre food, great decor, good for kids only if you don't want to hear them. Didn't drink much, but wish I had. Our plates ranged from ho hum to inedible, The service was adequate, the price was ok, but I would rather pay more to get something I want to eat.
coreykish review for Mezcal
coreykish on Citysearch

17 years ago

12/21/2005, 00:56 AM
Whole family for birthday was great! – I had my B-day on Dec 20th which included 8 people. We sat quickly and enjoyed great drinkes before the meal with awsome guacamole and chips. Everyone's meal were great. The Jert or Jerk? steak meal was outstanding!!! The music was loud at first but the waitress quickly turned it down for us. Good times!!!
chaveegroove review for Mezcal
chaveegroove on Citysearch

17 years ago

10/30/2005, 06:41 AM
Good Margaritas? – Mezcal is a consistent dissapointment. The food is some of the worst we have ever had. Bland and dry with iceburg lettuce does not a good restaraunt make. The queso is almost as watered down as the drinks. This place wreaks of mediocrity. Its over priced and the staff are luke warm. We keep giving it a chance so shame on us. Im not saying the other reviews are not accurate. Im just saying that we know good food, good service and good drinks. Mezcal has a long way to go.
mungersmurf review for Mezcal
mungersmurf on Citysearch

17 years ago

09/28/2005, 06:26 AM
Good margaritas...blah overalll – Just went to Mezcal for the first time. First of all, the margaritas and appetizers were wonderful. The music, however, was so loud that the waitress asked us if we felt like we were in a club. Our waitress disappeared a few times as well, and they weren't particularly busy (Wednesday night). The entrees were disappointing. The enchiladas were barely edible, bland, and the chicken was dry. The porkchop dish was not very good either. Overall, not the best food. But I'd definitely go back for margaritas and appetizers!
Footer Banner 2021
Get more reviews. Get more customers.

Get more reviews from your customers with Birdeye. Dominate search results. Beat local competitors. Grow your business. Easy, done.