Birdeye Logo White 2020
Watch Demo

Mezcal

Claim this profile

This business is unclaimed. Owners who claim this profile can update information, boost SEO, and more.

Claim this business for free
4.1
659 reviews
|Mexican|Denver, CO 80206 United States

3230 E Colfax Ave, Denver, CO 80206 United States

(303) 322-5219

https://www.toasttab.com/mezcal-denver/v3

Closed now

Google

Suggest edits
Top Restaurants in your area
5.0
(5) · Restaurants

352 Havana St

(303) 343-2099
4.7
(2457) · Restaurants

17025 S Golden Rd

(720) 556-6269
4.6
(941) · Restaurants

5307 Leetsdale Dr

(720) 379-7269
4.6
(1736) · Mexican

1294 S Broadway

(303) 778-1294
4.5
(1479) · Restaurants

270 S Broadway

(720) 287-5233
4.5
(725) · Restaurants

280 Union Blvd

(303) 202-9978
About

Succulent barbacoa taco, delicious tamales and the scrumptious Red Chile Pozole together with lime margaritas, tequilas and mezcals make this restaurant truly alluring; especially after a show at nearby Bluebird Theater. Mezcal restaurant quite sincerely reflects the Mexican culture with it's ambiance, decor, food and drinks. You can enjoy every savory bit of the Mexican culinary fiesta that Mezcal awards it's guests with. You won't be disappointed with any of those wondrous dishes that so loudly speak of the great Mexico!

Suggest edits
BIRDEYE FOR BUSINESSES
Birdeye For Business

This profile is powered by Birdeye. Over 90,000 businesses use Birdeye everyday to get more reviews and manage all customer feedback. Birdeye helps millions of local businesses to be found online with all their reviews and accurate business information. Learn more about Birdeye

4.1
659 reviews
5309
  
4181
  
369
  
235
  
133
  
32 reviews have no rating
Sort By:
Featured
101101001011 review for Mezcal
101101001011 on Citysearch

15 years ago

04/29/2008, 05:50 AM
THE WORST YOU CAN EAT IN DENVER !!! DONT BOTHER JUST BURN YOUR CASH! – THE HEAD CHEF, OR SHOULD I JUST SAY SLOP COOK HAS THE WORST ATTITUDE I HAVE EVER WITNESSED. HE CLEARLY HATES HIS LIFE AND HIS JOB THERE, AN IT SHOWS IN THE POOR QUALITY OF THE FROZEN AND BULK PRODUCTS THEY USE TO COOK WITH. AND AS FOR THE REST OF THE STAFF...HA! JUST GO TO TACO BELL. YOU WILL THANK ME.
JB25 review for Mezcal
JB25 on Citysearch

15 years ago

03/22/2008, 01:53 AM
Please avoid, especially for a special event. – I had a bunch of friends meet me at Mezcal for my birthday. HUGE mistake!! We had the rudest server I have ever encountered in my life. She scoffed at our drink requests. Along with rolling her eyes at us several times throughout the meal. The margaritas were ok. The food seemed similar to a frozen Mexican dinner. Please save yourself the bad experience and go to King Soopers and buy a frozen dinner. Chances are you'll be treated better by the cashiers in the store than any employee at Mezcal.
bananny review for Mezcal
bananny on Citysearch

15 years ago

01/27/2008, 03:55 AM
Best queso dip, salsa & strawberry mojitos! EDITED 7/29/08 - Please read! – A buddy of mine just took us out to this place and it was perfect for a relaxing Sunday evening. The drink list (the tequila selection) was impressive. I however had to get a strawberry mojito (being a big mojito fan and never having a strawberry one before) it was delicious! The chips, salsa & queso cheese dip (served with warm corn tortillas) were fabulous! I almost got full on chips & tortillas! The entrees were good, not spectacular, but good. The chili relleno had a very thick layer of batter on it, a little too much and the enchilada had this tomato sauce on it and it reminded me of an Italian canoli. Regardless, it was good. I definitely enjoyed my meal. The atmosphere was chill. The three off us were able to enjoy our conversation without being overpowered by loud music or the conversations of others. It ended up being a very enjoyable experience and I would recommend it. ****EDIT**** 2/13/08: OK, so I went back again last weekend and it was GREAT! We snacked on the fabulous salsas & queso dip while drinking beer and mango mojitos.... everything was awesome! Then, low & behold there were $1 tacos after 10pm! The chicken was a little dry, but they were tasty! The previous reviews are off, you gotta check this place out! ****EDIT**** 7/29/08: My friends and I continue to frequent this establishment and besides occasionally being out of the flavored mojitos (so disappointing!) We are always satisfied. I just wanted to add an additional piece to my review since it appears somebody seems to have a personal vengeance against this place. I want everyone to know there is nothing wrong and Mezcal is GREAT! I just don't feel a need to make multiple profiles to say it ;)
Featured content
How to Solicit Reviews on Facebook and Google

How to Solicit Reviews on Facebook and Google

How to Solicit Reviews on Facebook and Google
Introducing Birdeye Interactions

Introducing Birdeye Interactions

Introducing Birdeye Interactions
ldicker review for Mezcal
ldicker on Citysearch

15 years ago

10/10/2007, 02:43 AM
BIG LET DOWN – This was my forth and last time at Mezcal. I read the previous bad reviews but had to see for myself. I was used to a lively atmostphere with unique regional Mexcian fare. The word must be out, the normaly packed house was empty on a Friday night. Started off with a surly waitress who scoffed at my wifes request for a light Mexican beer. We too were served the frozen guacamole. Not sure what was more cool, the waitress or my tamale. Overall a terrible experience. Do not waste you time or $.
lizzie68 review for Mezcal
lizzie68 on Citysearch

15 years ago

09/01/2007, 01:39 AM
Bad, bad, bad – I met some friends for happy hour drinks. We ordered a few of the appetizers, one of which was chips and guacamole. What we got was a small plate of Tostitos and a bowl of frozen, clumpy avocado. Guacamole is a basic dish any Mexican place should have a handle on, but Mezcal does not have a clue. What is wrong with the kitchen staff that makes it ok to 1) send out food that is frozen, 2) use pre-packaged frozen "guacamole" and 3) think guacamole is nothing more than an avocado cut into a few big pieces and dropped in a bowl. At the table, we joked that it was a surprise they managed to figure out that the pit should be removed. Hoping it was just an oversight, we mentioned the situation to our server. She just laughed, shrugged and affirmed that the plain, frozen avocado chunks we got were really what Mezcal wanted us to have when we ordered guacamole. Her attitude let us know that she knew it was gross, but that the kitchen was just dumb. She laughed along with us in disgust and didn't even try to sell it. The other items we ordered were edible, but totally generic- like the big box of taquitos from the freezer section at the grocery store. Mezcal should spend less time trying to look edgy for the yuppies and research some quality TV dinners they can substitute for their cr@p food.
stcmo_amante review for Mezcal
stcmo_amante on Citysearch

15 years ago

08/06/2007, 06:25 AM
Horrible bartenders – I have been to Mezcal maybe 10 times, never good service but my boyfriends knows people that work there and meets people there. The quality of the meat has never been that good, I had a set of three tacos one night that the meat was so hard it couldn't be chewed and thus i couldn't eat. The waiters have always been dependable for service, coming by often enough to keep our drinks full and the food off our tables when we were done but the bartenders are horrible, worse than horrible. I was the only girl with a group of five guys, the male bartender came by and asked everyone but me what I wanted to drink and left so fast no one could order for me either. Than no one saw him or another bartender for five plus minutes. Than I stood up on the foot rests to see over all the bottles to try and see if anyone was over on the other side and the bartender looked me right in the eye, smiled, and never came over. The female bartender came over with all the drinks and someone else ended up having to tap her on the arm to get her attention to order me a drink. Than the male bartender came over to talk to the guys and starts going off about how some "l*sbo chick just went off on him" and how "he hates all women and their bitches". The female bartender was not wearing a bra (which is fine IF the shirt is a halter top or something that not having a bra on would work with) and kept playing with her nipple and joking around with the male bartender, I wasn't there to sit around and wait 15+ minutes for a bad drink and to watch crappy po rn. The margs are bad, they taste like dirty crappy tequila and cost more than they should for that tequila. At one point the bartenders and one waiter that were working all went in the back together and no one came out for 20 minutes, no service for 20 minutes and someone could've just gone behind the bar and done or taken what ever they wanted. horrible! It took another 15 minutes to get our checks once we asked, for the second time.
irishqueen review for Mezcal
irishqueen on Citysearch

15 years ago

06/13/2007, 03:56 AM
Mezcal - Terrible food & Service! – My daughter and son-in-law and I had the worst food and service at Mezcal. When we arrived for lunch at around 12:30pm the place was empty; this should have told us something. I ordered the Fish Tacos which were priced at about $12. These 3 tiny, tiny tacos came with less than a mouthful of fish scattered between the three tacos; it was a joke! When I pointed this out to the waiter his response was "What do you want me to do about it?" The rest of the food was very, very marginal in taste and presentation, and the prices were not cheap. There was a complete lack of interest fom the bartender, waiter and the chef. Taco Bell would have been a better choice. We will never go there again and I imagine they will go out of bussiness soon.
denverkarin review for Mezcal
denverkarin on Citysearch

16 years ago

04/10/2007, 01:31 AM
WORST SERVICE EVER!!! – I have never encountered a more grouchy, cantakerous group of people in my life! The staff was so rude! They acted annoyed to be serving my friends and I. Both bartenders I encountered were terrible. He ignored me until I practically yelled at him to get anything! And she was a royal witch. Having worked in the service industry there is absolutely no excuse for this kind of treatment!! And to top it all off when the staff felt it was time to leave (well before closing time) they turned up the house music so loud that we couldn't carry on conversation and were forced to leave. Nice decorations though.
foodiegalore review for Mezcal
foodiegalore on Citysearch

16 years ago

04/03/2007, 02:28 AM
GREAT drinks!! – The food is icky. Oily, chili rellenos with a SWEET sauce? Smallish pieces of fish in the fish tacos with mounds of lettuce, so it looks like more? Some weird little doughy appetizer? On the flip side, if you drink enough these details won't matter because the service, atmosphere and drinks are awesome!
Footer Banner 2021
Get more reviews. Get more customers.

Get more reviews from your customers with Birdeye. Dominate search results. Beat local competitors. Grow your business. Easy, done.