Birdeye Logo White 2020
Watch Demo

Mercadito

Claim this profile

This business is unclaimed. Owners who claim this profile can update information, boost SEO, and more.

Claim this business for free
4.0
165 reviews
|Mexican|New York, NY 10009 United States

179 Avenue B, New York, NY 10009 United States

(212) 529-6490

https://www.thebreslin.com/

Closed now

Google

Facebook

Suggest edits
Top Restaurants in your area
5.0
(7) · Mexican

108 Smith St

(732) 324-8488
5.0
(9) · Restaurants

954 2nd Ave

(212) 750-2020
5.0
(4) · Restaurants

308 State St

(732) 376-0300
5.0
(1) · Mexican

768 Amsterdam Ave

(212) 749-2929
4.8
(204) · Mexican

63 E 4th St

(212) 253-0277
4.7
(3) · Mexican

111 Deer Park Ave

(631) 422-7955
About

Expertly blending traditional Mexico with creative interpretations of local and seasonal ingredients is the inspiration behind Mercadito restaurants. Spanish for "little market ", Mercadito is modeled after the markets chef Patricio Sandoval shopped at while growing up in his native Mexico. His muse is the cuisine of the southern region but when mixed with his own style he creates authentic dishes with an added flair.

Suggest edits
BIRDEYE FOR BUSINESSES
Birdeye For Business

This profile is powered by Birdeye. Over 70,000 businesses use Birdeye everyday to get more reviews and manage all customer feedback. Birdeye helps millions of local businesses to be found online with all their reviews and accurate business information. Learn more about Birdeye

4.0
165 reviews
523
  
450
  
312
  
23
  
13
  
74 reviews have no rating
Sort By:
Featured
Y7364HUmichaelk review for Mercadito
Y7364HUmichaelk on Trip Advisor

8 years ago

01/11/2015, 11:36 AM
Mexican food. Not impressed Cute place definitely authentic has that Puebla feel to it. What I didn't like are the tables next to doors it was freezing. Food is good. Small portions. Not very upscale for such a small portion. White and red sangria are good but I expected more since they are known for it. There was a draft throughout the whole restaurant. So maybe skip the winter time to go. One bathroom is not very convenient. Cute place but not impressed.
HRHoftheWorld review for Mercadito
HRHoftheWorld on Trip Advisor

8 years ago

01/11/2015, 07:51 AM
Mexican food. Not impressed Cute place definitely authentic has that Puebla feel to it. What I didn't like are the tables next to doors it was freezing. Food is good. Small portions. Not very upscale for such a small portion. White and red sangria are good but I expected more since they are known for it. There was a draft throughout the whole restaurant. So maybe skip the winter time to go. One bathroom is not very convenient. Cute place but not impressed.
john a review for Mercadito
john a on Trip Advisor

8 years ago

01/04/2015, 08:25 AM
Great food Great food. Incredible tacos. More of a neighborhood restaurant than the upscale sister restaurants in Chicago, but still great food.
Featured content
Why Copying and Pasting your Good Reviews is a Bad Idea

Why Copying and Pasting your Good Reviews is a Bad Idea

Why Copying and Pasting your Good Reviews is a Bad Idea
How can customer reviews help SEO?

How can customer reviews help SEO?

How can customer reviews help SEO?
Timosabe review for Mercadito
Timosabe on Trip Advisor

8 years ago

11/04/2014, 01:35 AM
Cute place to grab an intimate bite and a good margarita little neighborhood joint that looks tiny but fits more than you think. Great food. Loved the ceviche varieties and a good stiff margarita on the sidewalk, making friends with the strangers next to me and watching the impromptu male stripteaze upstairs across the street. Worse ways to spend an evening!
ShuggaK review for Mercadito
ShuggaK on Trip Advisor

8 years ago

08/22/2014, 03:20 AM
Won't Eat There Again! I had a Chance to visit this spot tonight. Wasn't really impressed. Tried the steak, battered fish, pork belly tacos. All three were quite under seasoned which took away from the other items on each taco. However the battered fish slaw was nice and spicy. Great taste to it. I wasn't so keen on the orange slices on the pork pot belly taco. Also It's like they washed out all the salt from the pork so there was a non salty bacon-less taste to it. Ugh. Not good. Another down side, you can't mix and match the tacos. So we ordered three sets of tacos and thought we could get 12 different choices. Not so. Don't think this is a good business offering. Especially not good for "happy hour" or "all you can eat taco" nights. Space: Too small and tight. I'm not a fan of close seating in eateries. So with that said will not visit again. Sorry.
Mdgrl79 review for Mercadito
Mdgrl79 on Trip Advisor

8 years ago

06/03/2014, 15:13 PM
The lighter side of Mexican... Many Mexican restaurants serve dishes that are large portions overloaded with rice and beans. While those types of dishes can be good on occasion, I found Mercadito's version of Mexican food to be light and refreshing, the portions just the right size. In fact, the portions are sized so that you may order a few different plates and share with your dining companion(s). This easily allows for trying a few different items on the menu in one visit. The chicken tacos were delish and had tasty fillings that are good for you like avocado and corn with just a touch of cheese. The quesadillas were interesting - they are fried, almost like an empanada, but they aren't too big to finish. The sangria was also very good - I had the red sangria, which had a light strawberry flavor to it, perfect for summer! Mercadito at Avenue B is a bit on the small and cramped side, but I love that Mercadito is a restaurant that makes you feel, for a second at least, as if you are on a tropical vacation. Of course, the most important thing is that the food is VERY good! We will be back!
OutdoorsAdventurer review for Mercadito
OutdoorsAdventurer on Trip Advisor

9 years ago

03/20/2014, 09:43 AM
Inventive and delicious small plates Mercadito deserves its great reputation. The room is small, the tables very cramped, but the food is excellent. One odd thing is that you can't get a coffee there after your meal - not a big problem really, as there are so many excellent espresso places in the neighborhood.
JCS-Berlin review for Mercadito
JCS-Berlin on Trip Advisor

9 years ago

10/28/2013, 08:57 AM
Simply great I had steak tacos (around 14 USD) which were just what I was looking for. Lots of flavour packed into four nicely arranged tacos. I also tried the creme anglaise-soaked Mexican bread with ice cream for desert which did not disappoint at all. Both dishes do not pretend to be more than what they are: simple, well-prepared and great-tasting food. Service was quick, but I was there early when just a few tables were occupied. Restaurant is small, so this is not the place for a quiet dinner. Not an elegant place, but perfect for a fun dinner with friends. I would definitely eat there again.
DOC73Roma review for Mercadito
DOC73Roma on Trip Advisor

9 years ago

09/02/2013, 03:00 AM
Labor day brunch!!!! Che sorpresa il cibo messicano.....traditional guacamole and nachos, tacos pollo e carne......delicious!!!!!!Sangria e margarita.......il brunch della domenica a18$......very good.....try it!!!!! Use open table to make a reservation!!!!
Footer Banner 2021
Get more reviews. Get more customers.

Get more reviews from your customers with Birdeye. Dominate search results. Beat local competitors. Grow your business. Easy, done.