Logo White
Watch Demo

Inner Gate Acupuncture

Own this business?
5.0
199 reviews
|Wellness|Portland, OR 97214

1421 SE Ankeny St, Portland, OR 97214

(503) 284-6996

https://www.innergateacupuncture.com/

Closed now

Google

Facebook

Suggest edits
Top Wellness in your area
5.0
(6) · Wellness

108 S College St # B

(503) 313-6642

5 people are looking at this business

5.0
(7) · Acupuncture

1525 SW Park Ave #103

(503) 548-4403
5.0
(52) · Wellness

4605 NE Fremont St Suite 209C

(503) 522-2872

3 people are looking at this business

5.0
(22) · Acupuncture

811 NW 20th Ave #203

(503) 227-2127
5.0
(15) · Acupuncture

2025 SE Jefferson St #106

(503) 886-9708
5.0
(2) · Wellness

4838 NE Sandy Blvd #210

(971) 235-1377
About

We are innovating the use of Chinese medicine to provide the most effective form of acupuncture available. By combining western sports medicine, orthopedic testing and traditional Chinese medicine we are able to treat an array of pain complaints, from headaches and neck pain to low back pain and ankle sprains. Acupuncture is an effective form of medicine to treat the acute conditions that arise from sports or the trauma of a car accident. Acupuncture, when combined with massage and moxibustion, helps to stimulate local blood circulation, decrease swelling and relax the body's stress response so healing can begin. Chronic pain resulting from such things as arthritis or overuse can be more stu

Suggest edits
BIRDEYE FOR BUSINESSES
Birdeye For Business

This profile is powered by BirdEye. Over 50,000 businesses use BirdEye everyday to get more reviews and manage all customer feedback. BirdEye helps millions of local businesses to be found online with all their reviews and accurate business information. Learn more about BirdEye

BirdEye Score

The BirdEye Score® is calculated based on our proprietary algorithm applied to customers reviews, weighted by a range of different factors.

Learn how the BirdEye Score® is calculated
5.0
199 reviews
5112
  
41
  
30
  
20
  
10
  
86 reviews have no rating
  • 94 Reviews5.0Google
  • 20 Reviews4.9Facebook
  • 1 Review5.0Insider Pages
Sort By:
5 results available.
Recommended
Ang01 on Citysearch

10 years ago

04/15/2010, 09:58 AM
Try it and believe it!!!!! – Ok, here is my story. I woke up one morning with a lock in my jaws. I really discovered it at my work when I could not open my mouth to eat my lunch. Struggling almost a week I went to see my dentist and she referred me to another dentist (some kind of surgery procedure). Knowing that one block away there was an acupuncture clinic, I decided to try it before going under the knife. That was my first time with acupuncture and three weeks later I was back 100%. What a joy. Thanks Inner Gate Acupuncture clinic and my doctor Casey.
kitty2626 on Citysearch

10 years ago

03/24/2010, 01:18 AM
simply outstanding! – This is my first experience with acupuncture, and it has now become my first stop in health care. After my first two treatments, a numb area in my leg was completely restored to normal. This was quite shocking to me, as the area was numb for more than two years, and medical doctors told me there was nothing I could do for it. The following have all responded as well: thryoid illness, knee pain, and cold symptoms. Perhaps most surprising was severe shoulder pain which completely went away after only 30 minutes of treatment, as I didn't have time to stay for the full hour. I walked to the reception area pain free, and it felt like magic. This pain was much worse than childbirth, and I was so grateful to have it completely gone. Everyone who works there is so friendly and I feel relaxed the minute I enter the waiting area. I highly recommend Inner Gate Acupuncture!
Casey Clarke on Citysearch

10 years ago

03/15/2010, 07:12 AM
Inner Gate's Erik Isaacson Made a Natural Birth Possible – I was 18 hours into the birth of my first child at a birth center two blocks from Inner Gate's office. I was struggling to transition into the final stage of birth because my daughter's head had descended before the final centimeter of my cervix had released. My midwives and I had tried just about everything from position changes, rest, fear releases, and even manual manipulation to get my daughter's head past the cervix but nothing was giving. I was in an incredible amount of discomfort, was exhausted,and was desperate for relief, which I thought at that point would only come by going to the hospital for an epidural. While my midwives persuaded me to try chiropractic care or acupuncture first, my sister, who is a regular patient at Inner Gate Acupuncture, raced down 2 blocks and happened to find Erik Isaacson just leaving a meeting. She told him the situation, and he grabbed his kit and raced back with her to the center. By that point I was what my partner called in my "bucking bronco" stage--fighting each contraction as my tender cervix got pinched more and more. Erik didn't so much as hesitate or balk at my condition, he very professionally and gently approached me, and slid 3 needles into my ear. He sat patiently next to the tub where I was twisting and turning, ever so often tweaking the needles. It wasn't but 2 contractions later that my cervix released and my body immediately began to bare down on my baby. Erik stayed for about an hour and continued working the needles to aid in relaxation and opening. As quietly as he came, he removed the needles and left my midwives and partner and I to weather the final stages together. 4 hours later I had my first child, 100% naturally like I had hoped and envisioned. Erik's demeanor and expertise in his craft were the exact tool my body needed to release and allow my baby to come into this world. The generosity of spirit and professionalism Erik demonstrated at my birth was noted and praised by all who were present in the room. We were all amazed at the effectiveness and efficiency of the acupuncture itself and I highly recommend parents to consider it as an option and alternative in their birthing experience. I am eternally grateful to have had Erik's help in realizing the natural birth I had wanted for myself and my baby. Thank you a thousand times over Erik!
Featured content
How to Track Competitor's Customer Reviews and Use Them to Your Advantage

How to Track Competitor's Customer Reviews and Use Them to Your Advantage

How to Track Competitor's Customer Reviews and Use Them to Your Advantage
A Simple Guide to Manage Google Reviews

A Simple Guide to Manage Google Reviews

A Simple Guide to Manage Google Reviews
Badge42 on Citysearch

10 years ago

01/31/2010, 01:21 AM
Skeptical About Acupuncutre? Read my review! – If you are not going to read my entire post – please read this: 1) Erik is a great acupuncturist – very effective at treating specific ailments 2) Acupuncture is a very effective tool to MAINTAIN general health To be honest, I could go on and on about how great the folks at Inner Gate acupuncture are. And it would be completely true. However, there are tons of reviews that provide this information. So I will try to provide a unique review. As an engineer, I like to know HOW things work. I want a direct explanation of WHY things do what they do. I do get that there are explanations of why acupuncture works, but it doesn’t sound very scientific to me, and therefore is hard to accept. In light of this, going to acupuncture was very hard for me. I know there is research on what acupuncture can treat, and opposing opinions of the effectiveness of acupuncture. However, I decided to try acupuncture when no other western medicine options were available for me. I had mono for 6 months, and ended up having to take 3 months off work to give my body, and my not so effective immune system a chance to heal. There was nothing to be done, except rest and eat well (to boost my immune system). I have a friend who recommended acupuncture, and decided to try it. Thankfully, my friend recommended Erik at Inner Gate Acupuncture. While I initially went for treatment of a weak immune system, I have seen tremendous results not only in boosting my immune system, but also treatments for every day ailments. Since I’ve professed to be a scientist – I will attempt to provide you with the evidence that it was the acupuncture, and specifically the acupuncture from Erik at Inner Gate, that caused the results. While I went to acupuncture for my immune system, to specifically get over mono sooner, I found that Erik was able to identify other issues with my body. I continued to see Erik after my mono was gone, but stopped going soon after I felt better, around Jan of 2008. After that time, I was sick very often. I had colds that lasted weeks, multiple occurrences of the flu, walking pneumonia that lasted 4 months. I missed a lot of work due to illness, and generally accepted that this was the way my life would be – that I would just be sick often. My primary care physician treated each illness as appropriate, whether with antibiotics, anti-virals, or simply rest. I also saw an immunologist to see what was so wrong with my immune system. There were no concrete answers. Finally, out of frustration, I began seeing Erik weekly in the Fall of 2009. I have been seeing him since, and have been so much more healthy. Every other variable has remained the same – food choices, stress at work, being a smoker (yes – I know – you can publically ridicule me now), not working out. But what changed was my weekly visits with Erik. Since this time, I have missed little work, and when I do get sick, Erik is very effective at treating it and preventing it from lasting more than a couple days. One specific example was a sinus infection. I went in with a throbbing sinus headache, and walked out pain free. I was pain free for 24 hrs, and then had minor pain. I was fine the next day. Why do I think Erik is so effective? When he is doing triage of my body – he will identify a problem area, and then use acupressure to identify the most effective place to put the needle in to resolve the issue. He will treat multiple issues at each visit, but is also careful not to “energize” an area when your body can not handle it. One example was when I was having stomach pain, but my immune system was also weak. He treated my stomach first, and the following weeks focused on my immune system. You’ll have to ask him why this makes sense – but it worked.
97219 on Citysearch

10 years ago

01/16/2010, 01:07 AM
True Healing – For two years I tried to get a diagnosis and effective treatment for my hip pain. First I was told it was LT Band, then bursitis, then piriformis syndrome. Regardless, allopathic doctors and physical therapists offered nothing that helped except cortizone injections. Walking was becoming more and more painful. Acupuncture from Inner Gate healed me, I can hike again without pain and I am filled with gratitude.
lovetobikedaily on Citysearch

11 years ago

12/10/2009, 02:11 AM
Right to the point... – Well if you are looking for a great place to go for your first acupuncture treatment, this could be the place for you. They have three Doctors and a great staff to make you feel comfortable the moment you walk in the front door. They do a great job explaining all the procedures before they happen, to help put you at ease. Eric is a great Doctor and a great guy to talk to about how your body is feeling. Thanks for the help Inner Gate!!!
saffronthegypsy on Citysearch

11 years ago

11/02/2009, 12:49 PM
Really got rid of my back pain – After a car accident causing whiplash, my back and shoulders hurt continually. The pain just did not seem to be getting any better, despite stretching exercises and chiropractic (don't get me wrong, these things helped too). But when I started getting acupuncture here, the pain really improved. If it had not been for Oliver's and Eric's acupuncture treatments, I would probably still be in pain every day at work while sitting at my computer. I have since moved to San Diego, and I miss this place. If you are having persistent pain, try this place out! It really helps a lot!!
kpaluso on Citysearch

11 years ago

07/28/2009, 12:22 PM
Inner Gate = Miracle Workers – Migraines. Check. Foot Sprain. Check. Neck Pain. Check. Stress. Check. Coming up next...menstrual cycles and allergies. Given the whole "miracle workers" fact I know they can do it! Thanks Oliver!!
DEBORAHR on Citysearch

11 years ago

05/08/2009, 12:36 PM
THERE IS NO PLACE LIKE IT – Nearly two years ago, I fell on a job related field trip. I completely severed one ligament and tore others in my knee . The injury resulted in intense rounds of physical therapy, surgery to repair and replace those ligaments followed by months of more physical therapy. Although the physical therapy was wonderful as I regained a lot of strength in the knee and leg. But a constant throbbing pain remained and after sitting for long periods of time I was and still experience a great deal of pain when I stand and attempt to walk. Let me say here that I almost always refuse to take medication to alleviate the pain, I chose to either suffer through the pain or use herbal ointments, ice, heat, etc. While attending a class at Portland Community College my teacher noticed the pain and difficulty I had when standing and walking during and after class, she suggested I try either acupuncture or chiropractic treatments. I then spoke to Dr. Bowman my Orthopedic Specialist and he agreed that I should try acupuncture. I was at first frightened because all I knew about acupuncture was that needles were inserted in different parts of your body to relieve all sorts of maladies and the thought of being ‘stuck ‘with needles was something I would never do. My next thought was that I am a 56 yr old African American woman who grew up hearing and knowing about the power of herbs, roots, and ingesting things that may have traditionally been used in cooking or taking a bath in. So knowing that those old remedies were quite successful thought that I would try another non-traditional treatment hence the call to Inner Gate Acupuncture and am now a very willing client of Eric Isaacman, L.Ac. Let me first say that I was never so wrong thinking the needles would cause a lot of pain, it is absolutely nothing like a shot from a needle traditionally found in medical offices or hospitals. The needles are as thin as a thread and are virtually painless. Thanks to Eric, his skill with the instruments and techniques he learned from the masters in China I no longer have the throbbing pain in my knee. I still have pain when I sit for long periods of time, but with the continued therapy, other techniques he is attempting and massages the pain is lessening. I whole-heartedly recommend acupuncture to any and everyone. Whatever your illness or malady, Try It ! No matter your fears, forget them, Try It. Call them for a consultation, you will be surprised at the results.
Footer Banner
Get more reviews. Get more customers.

Get more reviews from your customers with BirdEye. Dominate search results. Beat local competitors. Grow your business. Easy, done.