Birdeye Logo White 2020
Watch Demo

Hama Sushi

Claim this profile

This business is unclaimed. Owners who claim this profile can update information, boost SEO, and more.

Claim this business for free
4.5
474 reviews
|Sushi Bars|Los Angeles, CA 90012

347 E 2nd St, Los Angeles, CA 90012

(213) 680-3454

https://hamasushirestaurant.com/

Closed now

Google

Suggest edits
Top Restaurants in your area
5.0
(1) · Chinese

800 W 7th St

(626) 578-1818

1 person is looking at this business

4.9
(11) · Restaurants

6324 E Santa Ana Canyon Rd

(714) 974-4512

1 person is looking at this business

4.9
(81) · Restaurants

15059 Goldenwest St

(714) 891-0401
4.8
(16) · Sushi Bars

19171 Magnolia St # 8

(714) 962-7199

1 person is looking at this business

4.8
(128) · Restaurants

220 S Raymond Ave

(626) 535-0880

1 person is looking at this business

4.8
(85) · Restaurants

2930 Bristol St

(714) 545-2800

3 people are looking at this business

About

Hama Sushi is always bustling with patrons due to the popularity that this sushi bar enjoys in the Little Tokyo neighborhood. It is especially frequented for its Red Snapper sushi, replete with a tinge of lemon. Their sushi and sahimi is also offered in varieties such as Tuna Toro, Yellowtail Collar, Monk Fish Liver, Uni, Albacore Sashimi, Shrimp Tempura Roll and Salmon Handroll. The appealing visual presentation of the platters, with green leafy garnish, only serves to increase one's appetite. It is better to approach this restaurant by public transport as it might be difficult to find a parking spot.

Suggest edits
BIRDEYE FOR BUSINESSES
Birdeye For Business

This profile is powered by Birdeye. Over 60,000 businesses use Birdeye everyday to get more reviews and manage all customer feedback. Birdeye helps millions of local businesses to be found online with all their reviews and accurate business information. Learn more about Birdeye

4.5
474 reviews
5332
  
470
  
323
  
28
  
117
  
24 reviews have no rating
Sort By:
5 results available.
Recommended
Heather d. review for Hama Sushi
Heather d. on Citysearch

10 years ago

03/08/2012, 21:54 PM
Horrible service – Went here the other night, and won't be back. The waitress was horrible, never came to check on us or get us more drinks, despite forgetting one persons drink through the entire meal. It took us forever to track her down for the check, which was double what it should have cost. When I asked her to see an itemized breakdown of the cost of the sushi we ordered, she suddenly forgot how to speak english. All of the people at our table found this odd considering she took our orders and answered our questions in english only 30 min prior... finally another waitress came to our table, apologizing, claiming she mixed up our checks. funny... they must've mixed it up with some other group in this tiny place who ordered the exact same drinks and # of miso's as us... The other waitress brought us our corrected check, of which the sushi was HALF the price. We paid and were about to leave, when the 2nd waitress runs up to us claiming she forgot to run our card for the beer we'd ordered. I've been a waitress and bartender for a decade and we all know that if you forget to charge someone for an item, you pay the difference. Especially if you were caught trying to swindle the customer so you can pocket the difference (Yes this is what happened, I've known servers to do this time and time again, especially in sushi restaurants. Check your receipts, people.) Instead of Hama, try Oomasa (on the other side of the mall/plaza) or if you're really looking for the BEST sushi in LA and feel like blowing a ton of cash, try Shibucho in Silverlake.
edice stan review for Hama Sushi
edice stan on Citysearch

10 years ago

07/08/2011, 05:25 AM
Best food in town Food is amazing. Every time I come here, I feel like I never want to leave. Very chic atmosphere with a relaxing mood. The service is great and the staff really does a terrific job at taking care of you. The appetizers are delicious. Theres plenty of places to park: theres a parking lot across the street and a parkin garage up the street within walking distance. Most of the time I find myself looking at my watch waiting for the food to come, but here I was so entertained with the fun atmosphere that I was pleasantly surprised when my food arrived
bruinmike review for Hama Sushi
bruinmike on Yellow Pages

11 years ago

11/12/2010, 22:46 PM
Nothing fancy, just a great sushi restaurant. I love the 2 old Japanese sushi chiefs making some of the best sushi in town. They do have some of the crazy modern rolls but its mostly traditional Japanese sushi. I love the yellowtail sashimi. The cold sake is also awesome.. I like the one in the blue bottle. Highly recommended..
Featured content
Patient Feedback: Why Doctors Need to Ask For It

Patient Feedback: Why Doctors Need to Ask For It

Patient Feedback: Why Doctors Need to Ask For It
How do I keep track of my reviews On Google?

How do I keep track of my reviews On Google?

How do I keep track of my reviews On Google?
Steve Paul review for Hama Sushi
Steve Paul on Citysearch

12 years ago

04/04/2010, 10:52 AM
Great Sushi Rolls – Albacore, Spicy Tuna Roll, Monk Fish Liver are all great. Don't ask for rice, b/c for some reason they will get mad at you. It may be some kind of Japanse sushi thing, b/c I upset another sushi chef at sasa bune for asking for soy sauce. I think it's like asking for steak sauce at a high end steakhouse. lol. Anyhow, it's my favorite sushi place for quality and value.
angelineasaurus review for Hama Sushi
angelineasaurus on Citysearch

12 years ago

11/18/2009, 07:54 AM
Lovely gem in Little Tokyo – I've made it a point to try every single restaurant in Little Tokyo, and Hama Sushi was stop one on my list. Hama is very much a hole in the wall, with a sushi bar and not much else. The sushi chefs prepare the fish with such care and precision. The result is beautiful and ridiculously tasty, whether it is slices of albacore or a salmon roll. The menu at Hama is no-frills. You won't find teriyaki bowls and crazy rolls here, but it is a must-visit for die hard sushi lovers. Just know in advance -- two pieces of albacore will set you back $13, while the rolls hover more around $6. The soft shell crab is a must try, and the ponzu sauce that accompanies it is straight up drinkable.
glendalemom review for Hama Sushi
glendalemom on Citysearch

12 years ago

08/17/2009, 15:39 PM
Rude Service...I will never go!! – Service is really really no good! I do not feel good to eat there! They discriminate customers!!
MarissaS review for Hama Sushi
MarissaS on Citysearch

13 years ago

05/28/2008, 19:50 PM
FABULOUS! – Hama has the best and the freshest sushi in LA. A small, sushi bar, don't expect to order anything but sushi at a very reasonable price in a very relaxed atmosphere.
DrKeelyK review for Hama Sushi
DrKeelyK on Citysearch

14 years ago

03/09/2008, 20:47 PM
Unique & Tantalizing Sushi – I travel the country for business and am weekly sushi eater. I strongly recommend Hama sushi for anyone who appreciates great raw fish. They have amazingly creative rolls (like the Strawberry Roll in Ponzu sauce), and pair customized oils and homeade sauces with fish in a completely unique way. They are masters at making each bite worth savoring.....and everything is FRESH. The bamboo cold sake is a must have accompaniment for your meal. I even overheard the head sushi chef talking about a book he's working on showcasing all of his unique sushi roll creations!!
smileymetoo review for Hama Sushi
smileymetoo on Citysearch

14 years ago

02/18/2008, 13:01 PM
Rude service with just average sushi – We stumbled upon this place on a Sunday evening in search of a sushi restaurant when Komasa next door had a long wait for a table and Sushi Gen was closed. The hostess had a seating system and was quite unfriendly and vocal to my friend when he unknowingly moved to sit on the left side of me at the sushi bar (which is the only seating option available at this place). That was just the start of our disappointing experience. The evening proceeded with the sushi chef giving me attitude because I did not give him all my orders at the same time. When I asked if he wanted us to just mark down what we wanted on a sushi list, he snapped at me and said that I could just tell him what I wanted (which was what I had done intially, but he was annoyed because I had asked for an additional item--I would have thought that restaurants would be happy that their customers want to order more for the benefit of their business). The rest of my experience here was uncomfortable and unpleasant, especially when the sushi chef would glare at me with his evil eye. It was almost as if he was trying to scare away his business. The sushi was nothing spectacular--just average. My friend and I should have gone to another place with the same quality sushi without the attitude and rudeness. I would NOT recommend this "Nozawa-wannabe" sub-par establishment at all!
Footer Banner 2021
Get more reviews. Get more customers.

Get more reviews from your customers with Birdeye. Dominate search results. Beat local competitors. Grow your business. Easy, done.