Birdeye Logo White 2020
Watch Demo

Genghis Cohen

Claim this profile

This business is unclaimed. Owners who claim this profile can update information, boost SEO, and more.

Claim this business for free
4.3
537 reviews
|Chinese|Los Angeles, CA 90046

740 N Fairfax Ave, Los Angeles, CA 90046

(323) 653-0640

https://www.genghiscohen.com/

Closed now

Google

Suggest edits
Top Restaurants in your area
5.0
(6) · Restaurants

7170 Beverly Blvd

(323) 934-2999
5.0
(1) · Chinese

800 W 7th St

(626) 578-1818
4.7
(79) · Restaurants

23741 La Palma Ave

(714) 692-0796
4.7
(27) · Chinese

133 E Lomita Blvd

(310) 513-1418

2 people are looking at this business

4.7
(32) · Restaurants

50 N. La Cienega Blvd.

(310) 855-0088

1 person is looking at this business

4.7
(10) · Restaurants

9184 W Pico Blvd

(310) 274-4007

7 people are looking at this business

About

From the bizarre name of Genghis Cohen, you'd think this was an Asian kosher delicatessen. You'd be wrong. The menu is strictly Chinese (besides the coleslaw & pickles) and it's good. The crowd is a mix of those who come for the Szechuan pork, and younger music types who'll either perform or patronize the acoustic music room that's just off the entrance. Although it depend on who's playing, you can usually get into the music room with a nominal fee. Come for the food, but stay for the music.

Suggest edits
BIRDEYE FOR BUSINESSES
Birdeye For Business

This profile is powered by Birdeye. Over 60,000 businesses use Birdeye everyday to get more reviews and manage all customer feedback. Birdeye helps millions of local businesses to be found online with all their reviews and accurate business information. Learn more about Birdeye

4.3
537 reviews
5302
  
4124
  
342
  
213
  
132
  
24 reviews have no rating
Sort By:
5 results available.
Recommended
lkhanian on Citysearch

7 years ago

04/17/2014, 02:55 AM
This a distinguished Chinese restaurant. They have their signature S. Western Chinese cuisine. This is a specious restaurant owned by generation of family. The space is central on Fairfax in between Melrose and Santa Monica wit a private free parking. I strongly suggest their Krispy Kanton Knish. It is very special. I could it everyday. And everything else high quality. Great device with polite owners and family.
Andrea R. on Citysearch

8 years ago

08/18/2013, 04:43 AM
I've been going to Genghis Cohen for years and have not encountered the "grumpy lady." I love Genghis. The name is wonderfully quirky. The food is good. My only complaint is that I have to ask them not to sugar to everything. I ordered a side order of broccoli one time and when I got it, it was full of sugar. WHAT? So I sent it back and asked them not to add sugar. Now I know. This seems to be a big thing with Chinese restaurants in Los Angeles. It's easier to avoid MSG than it is to find a meal without added sugar. Of course, some dishes, like orange chicken or sweet and sour chicken are going to have sugar. But I don't expect it to be added to everything. Other than the sugar thing, I have no complaints. I like the food there. I've also gone there many times to see musical acts. They're good and you can get dinner in the music room. A good deal. And it's a great place for large groups. They have a huge lazy susan that can accommodate a lot of dishes at their big round tables. That makes it even more fun.
Runner82 on Citysearch

9 years ago

06/06/2012, 05:42 AM
Delicious and unique. I think the name is creative and if you visit this restaurant you will understand why I say it is uniquely decorated. Just writing this review and thinking about their chicken dishes is making me hungry!
Featured content
Why Customers Don't Trust 5-Star Reviews

Why Customers Don't Trust 5-Star Reviews

Why Customers Don't Trust 5-Star Reviews
How a mass text service can help real estate agents (with templates)

How a mass text service can help real estate agents (with templates)

How a mass text service can help real estate agents (with templates)
jolaca on Citysearch

11 years ago

02/21/2011, 05:02 AM
fine for a few meals, then you run into HER! – you'll have a string of good meals here, but eventually you'll run into the manager woman who will totally turn you off and then you'll not want to come back again. remember reading this...cause at some point , you'll run into her and it will be all over.....read thru some of these postings and you'll see what I mean.
STIXX6 on Citysearch

11 years ago

04/11/2010, 04:22 AM
yum – I love this place. The mooshoo chicken is to die for. I do think that later in the evening the music is to loud. you almost have to scream acrossed the table. mmmmmm.. go eat. prices are reasonable. and there are a lot of beautiful people there!
WestsidePetey on Citysearch

13 years ago

10/13/2008, 03:13 AM
Headed down hill with no brakes....... – This place used to be good. Not anymore. It started about two months ago when I went to pick up my staple of Spicy Cliantro Shrimp and the BBQ Pork Loin. I was told on the phone the wait would be 20 minutes, so I showed up at the 30 minute mark. The restaurant was only a quarter full, but my food was not ready. I tried to chat with the older Chinese woman behind the counter, who I know to be the owner, by saying "Lots of take out tonight?" She scowled at me and responded "Everybody complaining tonight. You want you food cooked, right?" She kept mumbling and walked back into the kitchen. I chuckled thinking, wow, she's had a bad day. Mine was just beginning. I made my way to the bar where a sloppy drunk guy, was telling the three other people at the bar, that he loves Jack and Coke. Good for you, pal. Lucky for me, Grumpy Lady emerged from the kitchen with my food. I pay. I drive home. I open my shrimp container and to my horror there was a chunk of 6 or 7 shrimp that were frozen. Coated with cilantro and jalapenos, but frozen solid. I know it's Chinese food, and I know it's a tough economy, so I can partly forgive them for using frozen shrimp. But to blatantly serve it still frozen? No excuse. I called to inform them of how their dish was served and I was left on hold for 10 minutes. I called back and Grumpy Lady tells me they got new frozen shrimp and it doesn't melt good. HUH? DOESN'T MELT GOOD? I decide to go back and show them what they're serving. At this point Grumpy Lady is gone, so I'm forced to wait for the owner.( Denny or Dennis?) I head to the bar again and I felt like I was at Club Loser. Whining, miserable, drunks. Be afraid! The owner finally meets me and he looks at the shrimp and says "You want your money back?" He NEVER apologized! He was just numb and that's the problem. The owners are burnt out and don't care. Sad, cause it used to be good. AVOID!
lawriter99 on Citysearch

13 years ago

09/15/2008, 03:08 AM
What happened to Genghis Cohen? – My wife and I were loyal Genghis fans from '99-'07. We went back in '08 and what a shock! GC used to be wonderful. Creative, fresh, tastebud-popping Chinese cuisine, beautifully presented, served piping hot by a symphony of wait-staff, busboys and owners. But that was then. This time, an anniversary dinner for my inlaws, the place was barely lit (did they forget to pay the bill?). An owner we've known for years wouldn't look us in the eye. We soon knew why. The food looked and tasted like it came from the frozen food aisle at Costco. The dry, brittle spareribs (once so succulent) were the worst I have ever had, anywhere. The chicken, scallops, beef and vegetable dishes had so little flavor, character and texture we could barely tell them apart. And the service? Our entrees arrived over a 15-minute span. Everything was stone cold. When we asked the "waitress" about it, she snapped "What you want?" One long-time associate stated the obvious: "It's not the same." One thing that hasn't changed at Genghis is the prices. At premium cost for substandard fare, we felt cheated and depressed. Needless to say, we won't be back.
delyte17 on Citysearch

14 years ago

03/04/2008, 01:26 AM
Always amazing quality dishes – I have been coming to Gengis Cohen ever since moving here several months ago and I can honestly say the food is superb every single time! The wait staff is excellent and the owners are very personable and friendly. I recommend the Shrimp and Leeks!
Yuval David on YellowBot

14 years ago

01/18/2008, 01:16 AM
Name plays on words, but no play with food The food is good here, but is standard American style Chinese food.
Footer Banner
Get more reviews. Get more customers.

Get more reviews from your customers with Birdeye. Dominate search results. Beat local competitors. Grow your business. Easy, done.