Birdeye Logo White 2020
Watch Demo

TMJ Therapy

Claimed
4.4
121 reviews
|Sleep Specialists|American Fork, UT 84003 United States

355 E 50 S, American Fork, UT 84003 United States

(801) 756-0900

https://www.tmjtherapyutah.com/

Open now:9:00 am - 5:00 pm

Google

Facebook

Top Healthcare in your area
4.8
(156) · Sleep Specialists

3768 N University Ave Ste 102

(801) 418-9167
About

Welcome to TMJ Therapy! Dr. Carl McMillan is here for you and your TMJ disorder. We understand how inconvenient and painful it can be to have this condition, and we are proud to offer our many skills to you. Our doctor loves what he does, and he is dedicated to each and every patient who comes into the office. Our team is here to help you reach your overall health goals and to give you a fulfilled and functional life. We care about you, and we are here to help you in any way we can!

BIRDEYE FOR BUSINESSES
Birdeye For Business

This profile is powered by Birdeye. Over 70,000 businesses use Birdeye everyday to get more reviews and manage all customer feedback. Birdeye helps millions of local businesses to be found online with all their reviews and accurate business information. Learn more about Birdeye

4.4
121 reviews
588
  
42
  
31
  
22
  
114
  
14 reviews have no rating
Sort By:
Recommended
Missy Tolman review for TMJ Therapy
Missy Tolman on Facebook

3 years ago

12/16/2019, 02:13 AM
Their treatment method actually works!! I have a friend who had three separate jaw surgeries, none of them helped, and other treatments as well. So I was skeptical and thought there wasn’t anything that could help. This retainer is easy, virtually painless, and is actually helping! 🤩👏🏼🎉
Becky Roberts review for TMJ Therapy
Becky Roberts on Facebook

3 years ago

09/09/2019, 02:52 AM
Miracle worker, and pleasant while doing it!! Never so relaxed in a dental chair as here (after the first visit when past experiences elsewhere had me climbing the walls)
Jeff McMillan review for TMJ Therapy
Jeff McMillan on Facebook

3 years ago

08/21/2019, 07:39 AM
Helped me sleep better with a sleep appliance.
Featured content
Top 5 Doctor Review Sites for Healthcare Providers

Top 5 Doctor Review Sites for Healthcare Providers

Top 5 Doctor Review Sites for Healthcare Providers
Net Promoter Score Explained

Net Promoter Score Explained

Net Promoter Score Explained
Vb E review for TMJ Therapy
Vb E on BBB

3 years ago

07/07/2019, 10:02 AM
Based on my experience I would never recommend Dr. McMillian. I wore his splint for a year and finally I went to another Doctor who immediately ordered a MRI of my TMJs. It came back saying that I had anterior disc displacement without reduction (DDwoR) with normal mouth opening in my left TMJ. After six months of wearing his splint he proclaimed that I was healed and that my problem was muscular even though I was still having symptoms. At no time did he mention any type of additional imaging, it was I was "healed" and it would take a long time for my symptoms to dissipate. Good thing I went to another Doctor because if I didn't I would still be going there and he would still be giving me shots to treat the symptoms and not the cause. He bases his on going treatment on vertical and lateral range of motion without any other type of examination. What happened in my case was instead of the disc recapturing and moving up on top of the condyle my disc went the other way and moved way forward, hence the normal range of motion. Now I probably have a permanently displaced disc and spend a lot of time making smoothies and other soft food products. He is real good at taking your money. I was very frustrated with his treatment methodology and outcome. I was referred to him by my family dentist. Needless to say I have terminated my relationship with my family dentist because of this. Beware !!!
Respond to negative reviews
Twila Steed review for TMJ Therapy
Twila Steed on Facebook

3 years ago

05/08/2019, 01:00 AM
I have been treated so kind by everyone in the office. The thearpy is giving me great relief.
Paige A review for TMJ Therapy
Paige A on BBB

3 years ago

03/19/2019, 02:56 AM
DO NOT GO HERE! I called to schedule a consultation (which was $150 wasted). The first thing I asked the lady on the phone if I would be covered by my health care provider, she told me "all of your treatments will be covered by insurance, you will only need to pay for the consultation which is $150, which includes X-rays and impressions". After filling out the 30 minutes of paperwork, I was taken back to a room where I was asked questions about my jaw pain from a nurse, who didn't seem to know much about TMJ. After hardly grazing over my jaw muscles with her fingers she told me that the doctor would be in a minute to asses my treatment. He came in and introduced himself, asked me a few questions about my pain and without taking X-rays or impressions or even feeling my jaw at all!!!!! He came to the conclusion that I have TMJ and that I am so lucky that I will not have to get surgery. Then he proceeded to show me a video describing what I "have", which the video was obviously worst-case scenario. He told me that I would need to wear a retainer and a nightguard for about a year and that those were the "treatments". I tried to ask questions about underlying causes of TMJ, like anxiety or diet and he blew those questions off right away. Saying that he had a case a few months ago with a couple and the engaged woman had had such bad TMJ leading up to her wedding and the treatments “cured” her TMJ, and it was seriously the most shady thing ever because there was an ad poster literally right behind him as he was saying this with a bride and a groom in the picture and a quote saying something along the lines of don’t let your special day get ruined from TMJ, you can live a happily ever after. The doctor also didn't even mention anything about taking any kind of muscle relaxer or pain medications (not that that is what I was going in for, but it would have been nice to relieve the pain a little more than Advil even if it was just temporary). I also asked him about the difference between his night guard and the ones the dentists give you and he was very certain that their night guards are different, which his excuse was not valid enough for me. Then they brought their manager in to have us fill out more forms and sign papers, trying to sneakily get me to sign a paper saying that I would be paying them $4000! Yes, $4000 for the treatments, which is just a night guard, 2 X-rays (which he had already decided what my treatment would be so why would that even matter and one of them was supposed to be covered by the consultation fee) and a jaw massage (which I read in another comment that they put their hands inside your mouth to massage the muscle…. No thanks). The manager acted like he was a saint trying to help us out any way he can, but in reality, he was condescending and would not even be honest with us when we were asking questions. He told me that TMJ clinics do NOT get covered by insurance and that they aren’t even in my network (WHAAAAAT?). Then, I later found out (on top of all that) the lady I talked to on the phone about the consultation was the doctor's freaking wife!!! By far the shadiest business I have ever encountered!!!! Please do not waste your time or money here! It is a complete scam! All I was looking for was some relief and honestly. Complete waste of my time and money!
Respond to negative reviews
Lauren Fox McGee review for TMJ Therapy
Lauren Fox McGee on Facebook

4 years ago

02/11/2019, 00:00 AM
They are only after your money. They refuse to answer any questions on the phone, but make you pay $150 for a consult, which ended up with me losing my money because I couldn’t afford the quoted amount. My insurance doesn’t cover TMD and no way could I afford what they wanted. I feel cheated out of my money, which was way overpriced for less than 30 min of their time. I would absolutely not recommend coming here unless you have insurance that covers it.
Business Response:

We are so sorry you felt this way. However like other Doctors and specialists we are unable to diagnose your specific jaw problems over the phone. We are also very willing to help go over and set up a payment plan and other payment options that will wo…See More

Joy Tenney Cornell review for TMJ Therapy
Joy Tenney Cornell on Facebook

4 years ago

12/11/2018, 11:13 AM
Dr. McMillan is very kind and willing to help everyone who has TMJ problems.
Kathryn Bateman review for TMJ Therapy
Kathryn Bateman on Facebook

4 years ago

11/11/2018, 18:24 PM
They’re very nice, care about you 👍
Business Response:

Thank you for saying that.

Footer Banner 2021
Get more reviews. Get more customers.

Get more reviews from your customers with Birdeye. Dominate search results. Beat local competitors. Grow your business. Easy, done.