Birdeye Logo White 2020
Watch Demo

Richard Michael Thunder

Claim this profile

This business is unclaimed. Owners who claim this profile can update information, boost SEO, and more.

Claim this business for free
3.0
18 reviews
|Sports Medicine|San Diego, CA 92037

9850 Genesee Ave, Ste 210Torrey Pines Orthopaedic Associates Medical Group, San Diego, CA 92037

(858) 535-1075

https://tpomg.com/

Closed now

Google

Suggest edits
Top Healthcare in your area
5.0
(5) · Podiatrists

15525 Pomerado Rd Suite #E-6

(888) 451-3770

2 people are looking at this business

5.0
(24) · Healthcare

3660 Clairemont Dr #1b

(858) 412-5086

1 person is looking at this business

5.0
(1) · Orthopedists

4455 Murphy Canyon Rd Ste. 100-17

(858) 560-0422

1 person is looking at this business

5.0
(8) · Chiropractors

9988 Hibert St Suite 205

(858) 635-9355

3 people are looking at this business

5.0
(11) · Orthopedists

4405 Manchester Ave #208

(760) 452-0865
5.0
(70) · Orthopedists

10666 N. Torrey Pines Road

(858) 554-7980
About

Torrey Pines Orthopaedics is dedicated to providing comprehensive orthopaedic care to our community. TPO was established in 1978 and has grown to include 7 physicians, two office locations, in-office extremity MRI as well as Phyiscal and Occupational Therapy. Our offices are conveniently located on the campus of Scripps Memorial Hospital in La Jolla and near the UTC area.

Suggest edits
BIRDEYE FOR BUSINESSES
Birdeye For Business

This profile is powered by Birdeye. Over 60,000 businesses use Birdeye everyday to get more reviews and manage all customer feedback. Birdeye helps millions of local businesses to be found online with all their reviews and accurate business information. Learn more about Birdeye

3.0
18 reviews
59
  
40
  
30
  
20
  
19
  
Sort By:
5 results available.
Recommended
Terrible Dr. Thunder and assistant Ellie. review for Richard Michael Thunder
Terrible Dr. Thunder and assistant Ellie. on Healthgrades

5 months ago

05/11/2021, 06:35 AM
My experience has been about as bad as one could imagine. In summary, this place is a meat market driven by profit for the doctor, without regard for patient care. I was referred to Dr. Richard Thunder for lower back pain. After waiting a few weeks, I had my first consultation. Five minutes later, he ordered an MRI and went on to next room. My wife and I could believe it when we saw him yelling across the office and a patient who was late! A few weeks later on my second appointment, the MRI showed a herniated disc. Dr. Thunder quickly became a used car salesmen and insisted he would fix it and operate on my back right away. He said that I shouldn’t bother with a second opinion, as nobody would care enough to get me on their schedule. Dr. Thunder walked me and my wife over to the “scheduling bullpen” and insisted with assistant “Ellie” to schedule me at the end of a long day of many surgeries. I’m told that this simple procedure that
Respond to negative reviews
Stace L. review for Richard Michael Thunder
Stace L. on BirdEye

5 months ago

05/10/2021, 19:02 PM
Terrible Dr. Thunder and assistant Ellie. My experience has been about as bad as one could imagine. In summary, this place is a meat market driven by profit for the doctor, without regard for patient care. I was referred to Dr. Richard Thunder for lower back pain. After waiting a few weeks, I had my first consultation. Five minutes later, he ordered an MRI and went on to next room. My wife and I could believe it when we saw him yelling across the office and a patient who was late! A few weeks later on my second appointment, the MRI showed a herniated disc. Dr. Thunder quickly became a used car salesmen and insisted he would fix it and operate on my back right away. He said that I shouldn’t bother with a second opinion, as nobody would care enough to get me on their schedule. Dr. Thunder walked me and my wife over to the “scheduling bullpen” and insisted with assistant “Ellie” to schedule me at the end of a long day of many surgeries. I’m told that this simple procedure that takes about 60-90 minutes and will net the doctor $14,000. I was also told by a doctor in the emergency room, that orthopedic surgeons have been hit hard by COVID and desperate to cut. After researching herniated discs, it’s clear that the herniated discs do resolve themselves on their own, however, it’s how much time and pain you are willing to endure. Back to the surgery. I nervously got my COVID test to prep for surgery. About 24 hours before surgery, my pain went away and I was able to walk 2 miles and I felt pretty darn good. I cancelled surgery and Dr. Thunder’s assistant, Ellie, said no problem. Well over the next 4 weeks, my pain returned with a vengeance to unimaginable levels. I called Ellie and left a message to ask for my MRI to be sent for a second opinion. No response. When I met with the other doctor, the MRI was not sent after a week. I called again and asked to have them send it to me. Still not sent… no response. My pain was getting worse by the day. I was desperate, so I called to schedule surgery with Dr. Thunder. I called 3 times on that Monday and 3 times on that Tuesday. No return call. I went to the emergency room for morphine on Wednesday morning. No call back. Was Ellie on vacation? I called into a scheduler for another doctors in that bullpen and they confirmed that Ellie was working, just with other patients. She was avoiding my calls. Worse yet, I believe this was at the hand of Dr. Thunder, as retaliating on her own would cost her her job and have little upside. Ellie told that assistant to let me know that she could get me in on July 23rd. It was April!!! For me, the hours mattered with the increasing waves of suffering. This was clearly retaliation. I believe it was both Thunder and Ellie. Dr. Thunder has a god complex. Just despicable considering the pain I was in. To not call back, to see my phone number on Caller ID, to not refer me to another doctor, to not release my MRI records. The pain was so intense for so long, it broke me. Good news, I found another Doctor, who scheduled me a week out, however, I was in such bad pain, I went to the emergency room again and fortunately the doctor had a previous surgery and could operate that day. He did a great job and I am currently pain free. I highly recommend avoiding the terrible god complex shamsters at Torrey Pines Orthopedic & Sport Medicine.
Respond to negative reviews
Anonymous review for Richard Michael Thunder
Anonymous on Healthgrades

7 months ago

03/31/2021, 07:09 AM
I saw mixed reviews about him online so was pleasantly surprised to have an awesome experience today and wanted to share so patients like me in the future go in. He listened well, was thorough in exam, walked me through MRI, answered all my questions, and guided treatment path. His staff was very courteous friendly and on time. Overall awesome and I will definitely be back. Highly recommend.
Featured content
Top 5 Doctor Review Sites for Healthcare Providers

Top 5 Doctor Review Sites for Healthcare Providers

Top 5 Doctor Review Sites for Healthcare Providers
How to Track Competitor's Customer Reviews and Use Them to Your Advantage

How to Track Competitor's Customer Reviews and Use Them to Your Advantage

How to Track Competitor's Customer Reviews and Use Them to Your Advantage
Anonymous review for Richard Michael Thunder
Anonymous on Healthgrades

10 months ago

12/02/2020, 06:14 AM
Met Dr. Thunder to discuss the removal of a synovial cyst that had caused me months of serious sciatic pain and severely limited my activities. Dr Thunder was very sympathetic to my condition and promised to get me into surgery asap. He was able to get it done 4 days later. The responsiveness of his team was exceptional. The pain from the sciatica caused by the cyst was immediately gone and continues that way two weeks post surgery. I'm optimistic about a full recovery and appreciate Dr Thunder and his team addressing this painful issue quickly.
CM review for Richard Michael Thunder
CM on Healthgrades

a year ago

11/06/2020, 05:03 AM
Went to Dr Thunder for some serious back pain. After reviewing the RMI he told me that he would not recommend surgery. That was fine as I would not look forward to surgery. I was not interested in pain meds since I do not tolerate them well. However, his comment to me to "Just live with the pain" completely lacked empathy and showed a lack of interest in helping find a solution that might reduce the pain. He left me having to go find another doctor who took my pain issues seriously and recommended a plan to help control the pain better. I was very disappointed in Dr Thunders lackadaisical, dis-interested attitude. I would not recommend him to anyone.
Respond to negative reviews
Stephen Waggoner review for Richard Michael Thunder
Stephen Waggoner on Healthgrades

2 years ago

08/12/2019, 21:39 PM
Dr. Thunder delivered excellent care for my knee replacement surgery and recovery.
Anonymous review for Richard Michael Thunder
Anonymous on Healthgrades

2 years ago

05/16/2019, 01:17 AM
I have seen Dr. Thunder about 5 times over the past five years for upper back pain and other pain related to muscle spasm, I have some issues with neck, and shoulders and upper back issues, nothing surgical but muscular but pain is not fun. . He has perscribed Physical therapy and also I have had injections in my upper back muscles which really helped a lot. He is the first doctor I have seen in 10 years that could help me with this upper back pain. I have been to over 5 doctors for this pain and Dr. Thunder was the only one who fixed the pain. He is pretty straight to the point and his bedside manner is not super friendly but that is fine for me. I don't go to him for emotional support. (:
Anonymous review for Richard Michael Thunder
Anonymous on Healthgrades

2 years ago

05/04/2019, 01:42 AM
Dr. Thunder listened very carefully and then thoroughly explained my options so that I could make an informed decision on a treatment plan. He is extremely knowledgeable and I completely trust his recommendations and feel strongly I will recover soon.
Anonymous review for Richard Michael Thunder
Anonymous on Healthgrades

3 years ago

02/15/2019, 05:50 AM
Dr Thunder is a truly brilliant surgeon. When I went to see him, I had already had a spinal fusion performed out of state. That procedure failed, leaving me in even more pain. Dr Thunder took on the unenviable task of first removing the failed apparatus and then repairing my lower spine. He almost unbelievably accomplished both. I have had no pain since the surgery. From his pre-surgery step-by-step explanation of the procedure to his thorough follow up, Dr Thunder was extraordinary.
Footer Banner 2021
Get more reviews. Get more customers.

Get more reviews from your customers with Birdeye. Dominate search results. Beat local competitors. Grow your business. Easy, done.