Birdeye Logo White 2020
Watch Demo

Potager

Claim this profile

This business is unclaimed. Owners who claim this profile can update information, boost SEO, and more.

Claim this business for free
4.6
484 reviews
|American|Denver, CO 80218

1109 N Ogden St, Denver, CO 80218

(303) 832-5788

http://www.potagerrestaurant.com/

Closed now

Google

Suggest edits
Top Restaurants in your area
5.0
(5) · American

11550 Ridgeline Dr

(719) 488-4753
4.8
(26) · Restaurants

3333 S Wadsworth Blvd

(303) 763-2222
4.7
(1147) · Restaurants

1313 E 6th Ave

(303) 831-1962
4.7
(1320) · American

1138 Flagstaff Rd

(303) 442-4640
4.7
(2299) · Restaurants

8181 E Arapahoe Rd C

(720) 485-6738
4.7
(1641) · American

2637 W 26th Ave

(303) 433-0080
About

Located in the heart of Capitol Hill, this charming spot is small and cluttered with tables. The atmosphere borders on chaos, with the staff flying about in a ballet of food service. Potager, which means "kitchen garden," can challenge the ears with its booming ambiance. But this is quite possibly the friendliest dining spot in the area. The menu, which is always changing, features chicken, tenderloin, pork and fish dishes. The wine list is extensive and the dessert selection often features berry cobblers and tarts, the perfect end of a treat.

Suggest edits
BIRDEYE FOR BUSINESSES
Birdeye For Business

This profile is powered by Birdeye. Over 70,000 businesses use Birdeye everyday to get more reviews and manage all customer feedback. Birdeye helps millions of local businesses to be found online with all their reviews and accurate business information. Learn more about Birdeye

4.6
484 reviews
5344
  
447
  
317
  
213
  
111
  
52 reviews have no rating
Sort By:
Recommended
H H. review for Potager
H H. on Citysearch

10 years ago

07/06/2012, 07:59 AM
I was really excited for the Halibut with Corn and Green Chili Chowder. Unfortunately, there was not a green chili to be found on my plate and it was very bland and dull. When the server came to check on us I told her the issue. I asked her to bring green chilies to mix in. She proceeded to bring red pepper flakes, told her no, so then she brought sriracha. It was very disappointing. She offered to bring me something else, but by that time my husband was done with his meal and we didn’t have all night to sit there, she made no other effort to compensate for the bad meal. A few days later I talked to a friend who had been there the night before we were, she had the same dish and said it was fantastic and she could both taste and see the green chilies. If a restaurant runs out of a key ingredient the dish needs to be pulled or reworked. And the server should have a basic knowledge of ingredients. I expected a lot more from a restaurant of this level.
Pat H review for Potager
Pat H on Citysearch

11 years ago

06/30/2011, 05:46 AM
A Touch of French Countryside in Denver – Whenever I visit my children & granddaughter in Denver, I want to include dinner @ Potager. Absolutely fabulous decor and some of the finest food and attentive service we've experienced in a long time. We love it.
sam2011 review for Potager
sam2011 on Citysearch

11 years ago

02/11/2011, 04:57 AM
Small portions, limited menu, poor value – I always wanted to check out Potager. Hip neighborhood and a fun crowd. I struggled with what to order, the menu had few selections that sounded pleasing and within a reasonable price point. The duck salad I order was underwhelming. Small plate of duck pieces and mushrooms, all for $15. I asked why there was no greens since it was called a salad. I was offered a plate of steamed greens, which I accepted. It was tasty, but then I was charged an additional $8. So, $23 for a little bit of food. I would say unless you like spending a lot of money on a little food, I would skip it.
Featured content
How to write a review on Google

How to write a review on Google

How to write a review on Google
How to respond to negative feedback from a customer

How to respond to negative feedback from a customer

How to respond to negative feedback from a customer
Nicole R. review for Potager
Nicole R. on Insider Pages

12 years ago

03/24/2010, 07:06 AM
Amazing spot! Potager is my favorite restaurant in Capital Hill. My husband and I always enjoy their seasonal menus, fresh, organic produce and free range meat options. The casoulet is amazing and is so savory if you are lucky enough to dine there when it is on their menu. Their small plates allow us to be able to try many options and their mussels, which are almost always on the menu are a great staple of any dining experience! Their staff is amazing also; very informative but yet laid back and allow the diner to take the lead on your experience.
Lisa W. review for Potager
Lisa W. on Insider Pages

12 years ago

02/19/2010, 07:15 AM
Still good, but slipped a little Potager used to be one of my favorites, but hte last time I went, it had slipped a little. The service was still good, and I love the lively atmosphere it has, but the portions seem to have gotten smaller, while the prices have climbed. I had a full meal, and was not full when I left.
Laura T. review for Potager
Laura T. on Insider Pages

12 years ago

02/16/2010, 03:47 AM
Seasonal menu. This restaurant has a nice backyard patio for dining in good weather and the interior has high ceilings with exposed ducts and pipes and lots of windows in the front. The menu changes regularly based on seasonal ingredients. I had the risotto of the day and found it to be satisfactory but not out of this world. My friend had the fish special of the day, Mahimahi, and thought it was very good. The service was nothing to rave about.
albrecal review for Potager
albrecal on Citysearch

12 years ago

12/17/2009, 10:39 AM
Foodborne Illness and Poor Service – Potager is one of many restaurants in Denver touting a local, organic theme. After hearing so many of the ingredients came from places like North Carolina, we threw the notion of local out the door. The setting is great inside and having been the first table to be sat the night we went, our expectations were high. Our server came to our table 5 times in 10 minutes to see if we were ready to order and interrupted our conversation each time by hovering. The dishes were good, but not great for the price. The celery soup was served in a very shallow bowl, enough for 7-8 bites. The fisherman's stew had little to no associated broth...leaving us wondering why it was called a stew. The chicken, while seasoned nicely, was undercooked and wreaked havoc on my digestive system for 16 hrs. It was nearly impossible to get in touch with anyone at the restaurant to alert them to the issue the following day and no one ever returned my phone messages. Overall...the service was not great, the food, while good, was not out of the ordinary, the menu was very typical for this style of restaurant, and the portion/price ratio was very poor.
delarocha review for Potager
delarocha on Citysearch

12 years ago

12/09/2009, 10:52 AM
Wonderful, seasonal (and local) fare with perfect ambiance – Potager is by far my favorite restaurant in Denver and that's a lot coming from a veteran foodie like myself! Working with fresh, local ingredients their chef consistently delivers dishes that wow me and my friends. I was so impressed with this place the first time we ate there that my wife and came back the next night to sample desserts and wines. Even their cappuccinos were top notch and a perfect finish to one of their wonderful meals. On top of their fabulous food, Potager offers a serene backyard patio to enjoy their wonderful wines and small plate items under Colorado's blissful spring, summer and fall evenings. I've never called out another reviewer in any my reviews - that is until now. The young lady who gave this place two stars and referred to the food as 'barely edible' is WAY off base. Give it another shot!
ThePFam review for Potager
ThePFam on Citysearch

13 years ago

09/21/2009, 12:20 PM
Favorite Denver Restaurant – The way the chef builds the fresh seasonal ever changing menu is nothing short of a work of art. As for all around taste, quality, and presentation, this is our favorite place in town. The nicest staff... experts when it comes to recommending a good wine. They all love their jobs. As someone who likes to cook and more importantly enjoys fresh, often organic, healthy eating without processed foods, this place is heaven. The skill the owner/chef has with combining flavors is mind boggling. I would never think to try some of these combinations and at times am unsure about them until they make it into my mouth! The cheese souffle if they have one is the best on earth. I actually ordered a second one last visit after our meal and dessert!
Footer Banner 2021
Get more reviews. Get more customers.

Get more reviews from your customers with Birdeye. Dominate search results. Beat local competitors. Grow your business. Easy, done.