Logo White
Watch Demo

Osaka Japanese Restaurant

Own this business?
5.0
14 reviews
|Restaurants|Philadelphia, PA 19118

8605 Germantown Ave, Philadelphia, PA 19118

(215) 242-4489

http://osakapa.com

Open now:11:30 am - 11:00 pm

Facebook

Suggest edits

About

Osaka - Chestnut Hill opened in the year 2003 and ever since, this hidden gem has served authentic Sushi in the neighborhood. This Japanese eatery is renowned for itswell-craftednouveau delicacies and traditional Sushi. Its chefs know well how to fuse orthodox Japanese cooking techniques with world flavors, creating savory bites for a diverse crowd. Exotic fish, impressive wine list, late night jazz and affordable lunch boxes; Osaka - Chestnut Hill offers something to everyone.

Suggest edits

BIRDEYE FOR BUSINESSES

Birdeye For Business

This profile is powered by BirdEye. Over 50,000 businesses use BirdEye everyday to get more reviews and manage all customer feedback. BirdEye helps millions of local businesses to be found online with all their reviews and accurate business information. Learn more about BirdEye

BirdEye Score

The BirdEye Score® is calculated based on our proprietary algorithm applied to customers reviews, weighted by a range of different factors.

Learn how the BirdEye Score® is calculated
5.0
14 reviews
51
  
40
  
30
  
20
  
10
  
13 reviews have no rating
  • 1 Review5.0Insider Pages
Sort By:
5 results available.
Recommended
Elizabeth Laco on Citysearch

10 years ago

11/25/2009, 05:20 AM
Kumamotos and Kobe !! – From my first experience dining alone as a 29 year old female at the sushi bar, I was made to feel welcome and comfortable. The wait staff is more knowledgable than friendly but any true foodie would prefer that any time. The menu of sushi was at the time (five years ago) cutting edge, fresh, and insanly delicious. All the carpaccios were fantastic. Oyster fans will not be dissappointed with the always small in size but big on flavor Kumamotos. The best cold app are the oysters for raw bar fans and the red snapper carpaccio for sashimi fans. Best hot appetizer: Kobe beef Tataki. I never indulged in the frois gras that is additionally available.
When I think of my 3 ye
...  more>>
Kate V. on Insider Pages

10 years ago

10/07/2009, 09:01 AM
Try the Bento Box!
I went here for lunch -- must try the bento box! I got striped bass and was pleasantly surprised how flaky and delicious the fish was. It melted in my mouth. Bento boxes include a lot of food & are very reasonably priced. I'd definitely go again.
suesheelover on Citysearch

10 years ago

08/07/2009, 08:10 AM
BECAUSE OF THE MANAGER RYAN I NEVER WANT TO COME BACK – My boyfriend and I often go to Osaka and spend a ton of money there, and i really wish i could write a better review for it. It is our absolute favorite restraunt and I have brought alot of business to it. However, I had a bad experience there recently which has almost completely turned me off to the place. I have been going to Osaka for about 3 years and since then i go about once a week. My boyfriend and I fell completely in love with the Dynamite roll (which at the time was $12) but since then the price for this roll is $14. About a week ago i went to Osaka and ordered 4 dynamite rolls and was charged $16 each for them. We then asked...  more>>
Featured content
Blaze Pizza using BirdEye platform

Blaze Pizza using BirdEye platform

Blaze Pizza using BirdEye platform
Feedback on restaurants is important for growth

Feedback on restaurants is important for growth

Feedback on restaurants is important for growth
obama4change41 on Citysearch

11 years ago

09/03/2008, 01:59 AM
Love it! – My husband and I regularly dine at Osaka; once a month we treat ourselves. Most of the time we nestle right in at the bar, but occasionally we will request a quiet table. On these occasions, the wait staff has been courteous, attractive, and charming. Some of our favorite dishes include the sea scallop and vegetable appetizer, as well as the tuna tartar and any carpachio dish. It is a pleasure just to watch the presentation and pure variety of the many dishes as they are brought to the guests.
My only gripes are when the house is packed, sushi may take a long time to come out, so don't be in a hurry. In addition, when the owner is present, he sometimes touches the waitresses and h
...  more>>
RodmanClay on Citysearch

11 years ago

07/09/2008, 03:23 AM
Amazing Sushi, Incomparably nice servers – My favorite restaurant in Philadelphia. The sushi rolls are always interesting and their diverse menu keeps even non-sushi lovers happy. The HONEYMOON ROLL is amazing, as are the little crabs that they flash fry sometimes (no idea what they are called). The service is always kind if sometimes a little on the slow side, but only when the place is slammed. Additionally, I tried Morimoto's sushi, and found it lacking in a big way compared with Osaka.
clarkch on Citysearch

12 years ago

07/12/2007, 02:49 AM
I wish I could give it a good review... – My fiance and I decided to try Osaka out for the first time a few weeks after we moved to Philly. Dining at the restaurant that evening couldn't have gone worse. Apparently they were short on staff, which is understandable, but as the restaurant isn't that cheap, we expected better service than having to wait 20 minutes to place our drink orders. The food we did get was wonderful, but we had to ask for our drinks to be refilled and we also had to wait for an unacceptable amount of time at the end of the meal to get the check. But, about a year later, we decided to give it another go because it's the only decent sushi place we have found near our neig...  more>>
keif_er on Citysearch

12 years ago

06/30/2007, 04:04 AM
A truly great dining experience. – The sushi was "inspiring" as my companion described it. It was our first visit to Osaka and her first time having sushi. It was a Friday night and we didn't have reservations so we had a little wait (the place was packed, understandably so) but it wasn't that bad for a weekend evening (25 minutes). The atmosphere was cozy and the service was friendly. The sushi was the freshest I've had and the variety was great too. Do yourself a favor and go to Osaka, you will not be disappointed.
Contributor on Citysearch

13 years ago

06/30/2006, 05:59 AM
Chestnut Hill's own little Morimoto. – In Short
Osaka's conservative, contemporary trappings-paper screens, light wood, clean lines, dim lighting--belie its Japanese fusion menu. So do the clients, a blend of old-school prepsters from the Hill and liberal types from nearby Mount Airy. It's hard to describe the fare without referencing Nobu--or Morimoto. Sushi rolls are deliciously over the top: crisp and spicy shrimp tempura with asparagus, topped with salmon and avocado, as well as familiar nigiri, sashimi and roll combos.
zenorigin on Citysearch

15 years ago

04/26/2004, 06:07 AM
Sushi with a Twist – This quaint Japanese restaurant rests quietly in lovely Chestnut Hill. My sensei and I have always drove past Osaka, wondering how the food is there. My sensei frequents Japan twice a year for many years, he's a sushi expert. We decided to try it out one day. We enter the restaurant and were immediately seated. The cheerful waiter was very attentive during our entire meal. The menu, though not extensive, but impressive. There were many Korean influences within the restaurant and in the menu. This restaurant is not pure Japanese. However, we ordered sushi and sashimi. They were REMARKABLY fresh! I haven't had sushi this fresh in years. However, there are some twists to tr...  more>>
Footer Banner

Get more reviews. Get more customers.

Get more reviews from your customers with BirdEye. Dominate search results. Beat local competitors. Grow your business. Easy, done.