Logo White
Watch Demo

Maury Cobb Attorney at Law

Own this business?
1.1
16 reviews
|Legal|Birmingham, AL 35209

301 Beacon Pkwy W, Ste 300B, Birmingham, AL 35209

(877) 369-3667

Not Specified

Closed now

Google

Suggest edits
Top Legal in your area
5.0
(1) · Lawyers

2090 Old Columbiana Rd

(205) 979-4490
5.0
(3) · Legal

3414 Old Columbiana Rd

(205) 979-2281
5.0
(1) · Legal

1 Perimeter Park S #100n

(800) 737-3702
5.0
(1) · Lawyers

401 2nd Ave SW

(256) 734-4040
5.0
(6) · Lawyers

2606 8th St

(205) 750-0750

1 person is looking at this business

5.0
(1) · Lawyers

108 3rd St SE

(256) 734-2114
BIRDEYE FOR BUSINESSES
Birdeye For Business

This profile is powered by BirdEye. Over 50,000 businesses use BirdEye everyday to get more reviews and manage all customer feedback. BirdEye helps millions of local businesses to be found online with all their reviews and accurate business information. Learn more about BirdEye

BirdEye Score

The BirdEye Score® is calculated based on our proprietary algorithm applied to customers reviews, weighted by a range of different factors.

Learn how the BirdEye Score® is calculated
1.1
16 reviews
50
  
40
  
31
  
20
  
115
  
    Sort By:
    5 results available.
    Recommended
    Sylvia J on BBB

    a month ago

    02/27/2020, 19:31 PM
    I have been getting calls daily sometimes twice a day. I was offered a settlement amount for my tmobile account. I willing to pay the settlement amount today but i ask if the representative could email or fax a letter stating the settlement . I told her i just don't want to get got. She said she can't do that. If i am willing to make the settlement payment today it should not be a problem with you emailing me the settlement offer amount. Now im leary about making anymore payments. But I need this off my credit. What to do?
    Respond to negative reviews
    Scott C on BBB

    3 months ago

    01/04/2020, 09:09 AM
    Very unprofessional. They rudely attempted to collect a debt for services from t-mobile, services I had cancelled but they "forgot" to cancel the service and kept a tablet running I never used. I refused to pay the debt 2 years ago and I refuse now, even with their rude attempts.
    Respond to negative reviews
    Love on BBB

    7 months ago

    09/24/2019, 07:41 AM
    Hi I spoke with Orlando today about a debt from tmobile. I could tell by his tone that he was very unhappy with his job. He offered me a settlement and I was happy about the offer, but could not make a payment this month. When i told him I couldnt make a payment today his tone got even more unprofessional. Being that I am interested in paying this debt I thought he would be a little more excited or a little more helpful than what he was. When i told him i couldnt make a payment today he stated "you cant" with a very ugly tone. I stated no i cant then he got quiet and didnt say anything else. I would never recommend working with this debt collection office. Very unprofessional and not helpful! At least have employees that can give great customer service before allowing them to answer your phone lines. I'll never feel comfortable giving my money to this office.
    Respond to negative reviews
    Featured content
    How to Track Competitor's Customer Reviews and Use Them to Your Advantage

    How to Track Competitor's Customer Reviews and Use Them to Your Advantage

    How to Track Competitor's Customer Reviews and Use Them to Your Advantage
    How to Set Up a Facebook Review Widget on Your Website

    How to Set Up a Facebook Review Widget on Your Website

    How to Set Up a Facebook Review Widget on Your Website
    Alric K on BBB

    8 months ago

    08/06/2019, 09:37 AM
    A few years ago, I had to take an ambulance ride, for which I refused to pay (the reasons are not relevant). The ambulance service realized I was in a position to make an argument, and they gave up attempting to collect the payment. A year or so later, a debt collector called me--a legitimate debt collector--and I wrote them a letter explaining my reasoning, and I never heard from them again. Then, sometimes in 2016, a couple of years later, I got a call from the law office of Maury Cobb. The call was about this debt to the ambulance service. I told the office's representative what had transpired, and that I knew for a fact that the debt was already considered uncollectable, and that this new attempt to collect is just a scam. The representative tried to call my bluff--that's what she thought it was--but to no avail. Here's what you need to know. There are some companies out there that pay credit reporting agencies for data on uncollected debt. Then they'll begin calling all of these people with this uncollected debt, offering a deal in which the debtor has to pay 50% of it, after which their record will be purged. They also toss in a few threats in case you're having trouble taking them seriously. It is important to note that the person you are talking to is NOT the original owner of that debt, nor did they buy that debt directly from the person you owed it to. They bought some DATA from a credit reporting agency, and it was in bulk. This is what the LAW OFFICE OF MAURY COBB does. This morning I got a call from them after nearly three years. They left a voicemail with their number. I returned the call, and the gentleman was very polite. He said that their records show no call from their office. I could hear him tapping the keys on his computer. Then he said it must have been a mistake, and he addressed me by my name, though I had not given it to him. Evidently they were going to attempt a second round of collections against me, but his records showed that such attempts would be in vain, since they had attempted it about three years ago. This is one of the sleazier operations for this sort of thing. Don't fall for it. ____________________________________________
    Respond to negative reviews
    R. A. on BBB

    a year ago

    12/28/2018, 11:55 AM
    Where to start. First off, I call and give them a phone number. Without asking for verification or name, they tell me the name and the birthdate (which happened to be my wife's information.) Then they tell me how we owe them for a debt, which is bogus I might add as well. Then they gove false information about said debt as well. On top of that, they don't seem to understand that in no way shape, or form will we be paying this phony debt. All around, they seem to be a shady practice trying to strong arm people into paying them. Needless to say, they didn't scare me, but I find it offsetting that they are so willing to give out information without even knowing who they are speaking to.
    Respond to negative reviews
    Kayla L on BBB

    a year ago

    12/13/2018, 16:49 PM
    This company is a joke. BEWARE THEY WILL TRY TO MAKE YOU PAY FOR A DEBT THEY DO NOT OWN!!!!!!! Another company owns my debt and i even confirmed it with the credit agencies. Yet Maury Cobb CONTINUED to call and harass me. So make sure you double check who owns your debt before you pay any penny to this garbage company.
    Respond to negative reviews
    Eric W on BBB

    a year ago

    11/09/2018, 16:42 PM
    Maury Cobb is in violation of FCRA for TCPA violations, FDCA, as well as UDAP violations.
    Respond to negative reviews
    Jim W. on BBB

    2 years ago

    03/15/2018, 14:24 PM
    This is the next level for ******** debt collection when they threaten to sue and get a judgement against you. I called willing to settle, but they were not willing to settle. I wanted an agreement in writing stating they would remove my debt from the credit agencies if I paid. They were unwilling to do this. Hard to trust ANYONE that will not negotiate, let alone in writing. NEVER use ******** is the moral of the story. This lawyer's office is the the type that give lawyers a BAD NAME!
    Respond to negative reviews
    Kylie B. on BBB

    2 years ago

    02/09/2018, 05:24 AM
    My account has been settled and I have been requesting a Letter of Settlement since January 10, 2018. I was told by Mindy on January 9th (when I settled my account) that I would have to send an email to ***************.com the following morning to request the settlement letter. I have sent six emails requesting the document. On February 7, 2018 (my fifth request) I sent my fifth request and said 'some type of acknowledgement would be appreciated', I received an email back saying "Thank you". I immediately called the office and spoke with Diane. I told her I would appreciate the settlement letter and was told "she is in your account and she will send it tomorrow". I asked who 'she' is and her reply was "Jemia". February 8th came and no email from Jemia. I sent another email that day requesting the letter and wanting to know if it would be sent via email or USPS and still no response. Called today, February 9, 2018, and spoke with Diane again and informed her no Letter of Settlement has been received. She said Jemia is out to lunch and verified my email. I have notified all three credit agencies of the issue with this company. I want this removed from my credit report.
    Respond to negative reviews
    Footer Banner
    Get more reviews. Get more customers.

    Get more reviews from your customers with BirdEye. Dominate search results. Beat local competitors. Grow your business. Easy, done.