Birdeye Logo White 2020
Watch Demo

Hotel Saint Cecilia

Claim this profile

This business is unclaimed. Owners who claim this profile can update information, boost SEO, and more.

Claim this business for free
4.5
451 reviews
|Hotels|Austin, TX 78704

112 Academy Dr, Austin, TX 78704

(512) 852-2400

https://hotelsaintcecilia.com/

Closed now

Google

Facebook

Suggest edits
Top Hospitality in your area
5.0
(11) · Hotels

1601 N Interstate 35

(512) 396-3700
5.0
(2) · Hospitality

1101 Music Ln Apt 303

(512) 804-2443
4.9
(84) · Hospitality

221 Park Ln

(512) 447-7460

1 person is looking at this business

4.7
(3421) · Hotels

501 Hwy 2147 West

(830) 798-2020
4.7
(349) · Hotels

915 E Cameron Ave

(512) 446-2361

1 person is looking at this business

4.6
(1917) · Hotels

1010 E Whitestone Blvd

(512) 528-9300
About

Tucked away just off busy South Congress Avenue, the Hotel St. Cecelia provides a tranquil oasis while maintaining close proximity to the trendy area. The small hotel, consisting of a large house and a few bungalows, hosts a small swimming pool and is home to a lush green lawn dotted with huge old Live Oak trees. The rooms exude luxury, from the richly decorated sitting rooms and premium mini-bars to the all-organic Hastens mattresses. Each room is equipped with a sound system, and guests have access to a well-stocked music library. Hotel St. Cecelia's small bar is open to hotel guests only and provides a more quietly hip watering hole than the nearby bars.

Suggest edits
BIRDEYE FOR BUSINESSES
Birdeye For Business

This profile is powered by Birdeye. Over 60,000 businesses use Birdeye everyday to get more reviews and manage all customer feedback. Birdeye helps millions of local businesses to be found online with all their reviews and accurate business information. Learn more about Birdeye

4.5
451 reviews
5324
  
462
  
331
  
211
  
112
  
11 reviews have no rating
  • 158 Reviews4.4Trip Advisor
  • 152 Reviews4.7Facebook
  • 141 Reviews4.5Google
Sort By:
5 results available.
Recommended
Brittany M on Trip Advisor

5 months ago

01/04/2021, 04:42 AM
Intimate Fall Fairytale Wedding | Hotel Saint Cecilia, Austin, TX We had an intimate, 17-person micro-wedding wedding in November. My Grandma (the guest of honor and my favorite human being) had just turned 96 and told us to “get the show on the road” because she was determined to be there! The wedding was held at the magnificent Hotel Saint Cecilia and our rehearsal dinner at the groovy Hotel Magdalena. The whole weekend was a fairytale. Saint Cecilia is like a secret garden, undiscovered and nestled right at the heart of the most amazing and vibrant city in the world. Words can’t describe the atmosphere – it’s so uniquely romantic, modern, elegant, hip, luxurious, artful, magical, enchanting… Before I go into details it’s important that I recognize Nancy Gottschling, the events coordinator. Nancy is an absolute all-star and all-around amazing human being. I cannot thank her enough for making my wedding the fairytale of my dreams. Saint Cecilia is known for hosting celebrities, the rich & famous. Even though our wedding was small, and neither of us a “big deal”, Nancy made us feel like we were her number 1 priority every step of the way. She was incredibly sensitive to my Grandma’s needs and made sure everything was PERFECT for her. Nancy and her team (including Sarah VanHoose - who's brilliance I could write an entire additional paragraph about) went above and beyond to make sure everyone was taken care of and had a wonderful time. The ceremony was held at sunset under the breathtaking Live Oak – two trees over the years entangled and fused into one, a beautiful metaphor – and the reception was held in the private courtyard of Suite Four. The food was incredible (both Saint Cecilia and Magdalena). Almost every one of our guests independently told us it was the best wedding food they ever had. On top of the quality, the customer service was above and beyond. The chef at Magdalena prepared an AMAZING vegetable soup at the drop of a hat when Grandma wasn’t feeling the salad (that said, I DEFINITELY felt the salad!!!). The flowers, by Gypsy Floral, were perfection. I almost cried when I saw them. The beautiful lush green foliage, the fall shades of burgundy garden roses, peonies, and ranunculus… If I knew more about horticulture, I’d go on – but I am in finance, and I’ll just say they were just as enchanting as Saint Cecilia itself. As a “mini-moon”, my husband and I stayed in Suite 4 for several nights after the wedding. A continuation of the fairytale story. When I called, I was greeted by the front desk with “good morning, Princess!” The mini-bar is the most luxurious I’ve ever seen – the best combination of global and local – the best food and drink from around the world and staples of Austin culture. The decanter of water awaiting us in the morning was like holy mana. I have literally never tasted water so delicious (I am not sure if this was due to the hangover, but I’ve heard there is something special about this water). Of course, nothing gold can stay. We finally had to leave this enchanted space and return to reality. On the way out, I was surprised to see one of my heroes, Liz Lambert herself. I approached her with hesitancy, not wanting to bother, to let her know the impression she’d made on me and the inspiration she’d been in my commercial real estate career. She was so kind, warm, and appreciative – something I will always remember. I will forever be loyal to the Bunkhouse group, and we can’t wait for the next excuse to return.
Joe on Trip Advisor

6 months ago

12/15/2020, 09:14 AM
Great Aesthetic - Horrendous Event Staff This venue and hotel are beautiful and the service staff were all very nice and it is was a bummer that the event staff really made for a sub-par experience. If you do not value customer service, clear communication, privacy at a private or love to have endless arguments, then this event space is for you! If you value any of the above I would strongly suggest looking elsewhere. Unless Nancy no longer works here. Then just proceed with caution. I am not 100% sure if Nancy's actions were forced by company policies or not. If her actions were forced I do apologize to Nancy for this review. This being said, the actions as a whole are still inexcusable for a high-end establishment. The space, food, and day of service staff are all great. Especially the bartender. She is extra awesome. I got married last week and had our celebratory dinner in the courtyard. Did I mention it was beautiful? When you first meet Nancy, she is nice and easy to work with but as soon as the deposit is down, the contract is signed and if your event needs any changes to your event throughout the ordeal she is brash and seemingly, purposefully deceitful. The amount of stress and tears she personally made my bride feel throughout this ordeal is, unfortunately, a huge blemish on our otherwise beautiful day. As mentioned in a lot of other reviews -- "make sure that you have a written record of all communication with the event’s staff, especially Nancy. It will be essential to reference when there is an inevitable issue." From the beginning, we were promised the entire courtyard with specific mentions of our guests being able to use the amenities and even paid a ~$1,500 event fee for the rights to it. Upon arrival, our tables had been pushed to the far side of the patio where there were no lights. The other side had been set up for the public to use and had a large party gathering. We immediately asked why and Sarah --the assistant-- explained that they never "explicitly said" it would be a private event and she seemed not to care about our concerns. We are very covid conscious and this made for an uncomfortable night. There were hours of phone calls and conversations that were had prior to the day of to make sure everything went flawlessly. A couple of positive notes - the bartender is an awesome person and the service staff are very friendly. The food was also pretty decent. This being said, we were forced into having a $3,000 food budget for only 11 people.
Respond to negative reviews
Elizabeth Stottlemyre on Facebook

8 months ago

10/12/2020, 05:29 AM
While the hotel itself is beautiful and the front desk staff is very helpful, especially Evan and Cameron, their event's team is horrible. Led by Nancy, they do not communicate with each other and managed to schedule two wedding ceremonies simultaneously on the same day at the same time. Rather than admitting to the error and taking decisive, transparent action to amend the situation, they lied to both parties and tried to hide the smaller wedding from the larger one and simultaneously ruined the wedding day for one of the couples. The hotel may a great place for a relaxing weekend away, but they are not equipped with the effective leadership necessary to carry out a successful event.
Featured content
How to use video chat for customer service in 2021

How to use video chat for customer service in 2021

How to use video chat for customer service in 2021
Demystifying Google Business Reviews

Demystifying Google Business Reviews

Demystifying Google Business Reviews
Elizabeth S on Trip Advisor

8 months ago

10/12/2020, 01:32 AM
Lovely aesthetic. Horrible Event Staff I have previously stayed at the Hotel Saint Cecilia and had a lovely time. The space is unique and the front desk staff is wonderful, especially Cameron and Evan. When clients of mine were looking to elope in Austin, I suggested HSC which I very much regret. From the very beginning, there was confusion and miscommunications from the staff which we thought had been resolved until we showed up for their wedding weekend only to learn that HSC had scheduled another wedding ceremony to start at the exact time. Rather than taking responsibility and apologizing for the error, the event’s manager, Nancy, was hostile and combative. When both weddings needed her as the on site event coordinator to be be both decisive and transparent, she lied to both parties and spent more time trying to hide the fact that there was another wedding ceremony happening from the bride of the larger wedding than actually trying to find solutions. 

I I would never define a successful event as one in which the couple’s representative is asked to vacate the property and the hotel’s event manager then abandons them to focus on the wedding that she made clear was her actual priority, but that is exactly what happened under Nancy’s leadership. If you really love the space and want to hold an event there, make sure that you confirm with the staff that there will not be another competing event scheduled for the same date and time. Furthermore, make sure that you have a written record of all communication with the event’s staff, especially Nancy. It will be essential to reference when there is an inevitable issue. In addition to the two weddings, the staff failed to notify guests staying at the hotel not associated with either wedding, of the larger event which featured a 35 person seated dinner in the communal space with an additional team of 15+ vendors. This meant approximately 50 people were gathered in a small space, many were not wearing masks or adhering to appropriate social distancing, so if you happen to be a guest not related to that wedding you were forced to interact with the gathering taking place in the property’s main communal space when going to and from the property. 

 All around, a truly horrific experience where the hotel blatantly placed their need to makeup for lost revenue over health and safety precautions as well as overall guest experience. On that, as a result of the pandemic, the hotel has cut back on several of the amenities offered for the safety of their staff which is perfectly understandable. It should be noted, that as the hotel is now permitted to open to a larger capacity, their occupancy is increasing, but the extra amenities and client experience that are incorporated into the price of the room have not returned. Turn down service is no longer available and fresh towels are only available on request. I am not sure how clean the rooms actually are because when I went to use the complimentary lotion (the miniature size which comes with most hotel rooms) which should have been a fresh bottle , I found that it had already been used and was half empty. Incredibly disappointing.
Respond to negative reviews
Philip I on Trip Advisor

9 months ago

09/19/2020, 01:59 AM
Home from home my wife and i had a great few days here, they really looked after us. the staff are so friendly and the rooms homely. breakfast brought on a tray to the room, we had a nice balcony to sit and enjoy the garden. bar was very cozy and barstaff helpful.
Peter Aills on Facebook

a year ago

07/05/2020, 08:35 AM
Worst service while dining, and we were the only couple outside dinning. Then to learn that 20% grad. On each check. I didn’t like that at all with the flys and mosquitoes and is having to get up and ask again for the mosquitoes spray,that I don’t like. Asking several times fir a to go box because of the flys we didn’t t like that. And For $500. Per night. You would think there would be coffee maker in each room like most high dollar places. Because of the mosquitoes we can’t take our coffee at the dinning area outside. We had to go off the property to get coffee. Love your property and our room was excellent, but I’m asking for some sort of compensation. It wasn’t what our 40th adversity was suppose to be like. Under Kelly. July 4th to July 5th
Mary H on Trip Advisor

a year ago

06/13/2020, 01:28 AM
Above and Beyond This is the place to stay if you want to ensue a great experience in Austin! The front desk staff, particularly Jill and Sonny, go above and beyond to make every detail of the stay is perfect. If corona has made you hesitant about traveling, call St.C and they will not only explain the deep measures the hotel has taken to ensure safety, but then also suggest onsite activities for you to enjoy!
Bill Baldwin on Facebook

a year ago

03/07/2020, 02:08 AM
Amazing location and use of space. The best service.
Lizbeth Grimaldo de Arias on Facebook

2 years ago

11/05/2019, 00:07 AM
Love everything!!!, The best french toast !!!
Footer Banner
Get more reviews. Get more customers.

Get more reviews from your customers with Birdeye. Dominate search results. Beat local competitors. Grow your business. Easy, done.