Birdeye Logo White 2020
Watch Demo

Home Bakery

Claim this profile

This business is unclaimed. Owners who claim this profile can update information, boost SEO, and more.

Claim this business for free
4.1
180 reviews
|Wedding Planning|Rochester Hills, MI 48307

300 S Main St, Rochester Hills, MI 48307

(248) 651-4830

https://thehomebakery.com/

Closed now

Google

Suggest edits
Top Hospitality in your area
5.0
(10) · Party & Event Planning

1221 Bowers St

(248) 821-1128

1 person is looking at this business

5.0
(18) · Wedding Planning

30577 Olmstead Rd

(734) 637-4309

1 person is looking at this business

4.9
(30) · Hospitality

33105 Kelly Rd

(586) 859-8419

1 person is looking at this business

4.8
(340) · Hospitality

5515 Davison Rd # 4

(810) 743-0123

1 person is looking at this business

4.8
(128) · Wedding Planning

1934 Livernois Rd

(248) 689-0777

1 person is looking at this business

4.7
(23) · Hospitality

2095

(586) 242-4433

1 person is looking at this business

About

Custom Cakes, Wedding Cakes, Pastries, Cookies, Breakfast Desserts, Tortes, and many more.....

Suggest edits
BIRDEYE FOR BUSINESSES
Birdeye For Business

This profile is powered by Birdeye. Over 60,000 businesses use Birdeye everyday to get more reviews and manage all customer feedback. Birdeye helps millions of local businesses to be found online with all their reviews and accurate business information. Learn more about Birdeye

4.1
180 reviews
5114
  
420
  
37
  
26
  
127
  
6 reviews have no rating
Sort By:
5 results available.
Recommended
Tricia S. on Yellow Pages

6 years ago

02/28/2016, 04:54 AM
Amazingly delicious cakes and excellent customer service! I recently ordered a birthday cake for my mother's 75th birthday party. Heather worked with me for 1/2 hour to come up with the perfect cake. People are still talking about how delicious it was. My favorite layer was the vanilla cake with raspberry mousse in the middle! The chocolate is also fantastic.
N A. on Yellow Pages

6 years ago

06/20/2015, 16:59 PM
I've never had their cake but I like to stop in and get a baked good from time to time. Their cornut is to die for but it is so sweet that I don't recommend eating it in one sitting. I like to eat half and save the other half to go with breakfast. Their baked goods and sweets are delicious and they give a small discount if you work in downtown Rochester so that is a plus. I rated 4 stars because it's a little too sweet for me but that doesn't stop me from divulging on occasion. I would probably frequent more if they toned down a little on the sugar but honestly don't expect them to. I am a happy customer regardless :)
Desire Z. on Insider Pages

9 years ago

11/06/2012, 06:09 AM
Greedy and rude I had ordered a cake for my husbands birthday (a month in advance). My husband was going to be out of town when his party was supposed to be so I called to cancel the cake. I had placed a 25.00 deposit that I assumed would be refunded since there was NO CAKE made, I gave plenty of notice and no, they wouldn't return my deposit. It wasn't like I called the day before, it was 2 weeks before! The staff is something else, not friendly at all. Considering how much they charge for thier cakes, you'd think they would treat their customers a little better. Hopefully with economy issues, they're feeling it. Besides, the cakes don't taste "the best in the world", they do nice things with frosting but that's about it.
Respond to negative reviews
Featured content
How financial institutions can leverage the power of SMS marketing (includes free templates)

How financial institutions can leverage the power of SMS marketing (includes free templates)

How financial institutions can leverage the power of SMS marketing (includes free templates)
How to Solicit Reviews on Facebook and Google

How to Solicit Reviews on Facebook and Google

How to Solicit Reviews on Facebook and Google
Mary L. on Insider Pages

10 years ago

01/06/2012, 16:24 PM
Poor Customer Service Bad Customer Service. The staff was so rude there. The cakes do look beautiful and taste great but it is hard to order a cake there when you have been treated poorly.
Respond to negative reviews
Abbey C. on Insider Pages

10 years ago

12/16/2011, 06:09 AM
WHAT YOU GIVE YOU GET! I have been a customer of Home Bakery for over the past 12 years now, and I can not say enough GOOD things about the quality and customer service that is offered at my local bakery! I order cakes throughout the year from the Home Bakery for birthdays, and other special occasions. I also LOVE their pastries and their chocolate chip cookies are the BEST! Another reason why myself, and my friends, near and far, come to the Home Bakery is for the WONDERFUL customer service. The staff is extremely knowledgeable and patient. I have never had a negative experience with the store front staff. I am greeted with a smile everytime! I am quite surprised by such negativity, especially from this 'Lillian' review. I am a FIRM believer that WHAT YOU PUT OUT, COMES RIGHT BACK TO YOU. Meaning, if you have a negative additude, or perhaps you are the type of person to 'HUFF AND PUFF' when you do not get your way, then perhaps you will perceive everyone around you as 'incompetent'. I LOVE the Home Bakery. KUDOS to the owner and the staff!
Lillian K. on Insider Pages

10 years ago

11/13/2011, 00:15 AM
Poor Customer Service I should start by saying that I have been buying cakes at The Home Bakery for years, but this will be my last. The cake is usually above average, but the customer service is the worst! I would have given ZERO stars but that was not an option. I ordered a cake three months in advance of a birthday party. After receiving the RSVPs, I realized I would need more cake. I called a week before the party and ordered an additional side cake to make sure that we had enough. The person on the phone said "no problem" and the cakes would be ready on Saturday and I could pick them up any time between noon and two. I arrived at around 1:30 to pick up the cakes and the salesperson came out of the kitchen with just one cake. When I asked about the second cake, she said "This is it." I explained that I had called back for an additional cake for 12 extra people and she said "Your order was for one cake and here it is. You can't just walk in on a Saturday and expect us to bake you a cake." After some discussion, she said that she had another cake in the back that could be ready in twenty minutes. She made it sound like she was doing me a favor making the additional cake that was already part of my order. I had other last minute stops to make to get ready for the party, so after 30 minutes of waiting, I was getting a little frustrated. When I asked if it was ready, the saleswoman seemed irritated that I would even ask about the cake. After 55 minutes, she came out with a plain undecorated cake way larger than I said I needed. I said "How about a discount since you made me wait almost an hour and it's way larger than I said I needed and you lost my order." She went into the back and a male baker came out. He said "The order didn't say anything about an extra cake and how do I know you didn't just come in here and say that to get a discount" We said you could pick up the cake between noon and two and it's two twenty-five, so you only waited twenty-five minutes. " I couldn't believe the tone he was using and what he was accusing me of. Both the male baker and female manager were yelling loudly at me. Also, I had been there almost an hour, so his time argument didn't even make sense. At this point I had already paid, so he told me "Take your cake and get out of here." I told them that I felt this was poor customer service and that I was disappointed with the treatment. Another lady also said " Get out of here we don't need you here". It reminded me of the Soup Nazi on Seinfeld. The store is so busy on a Saturday that the salespeople are almost angry at the customers. There are several bakery options in the area. Some are better, some are less expensive, and some are better AND less expensive. I guess they just don't care about loosing a customer. I felt I was kind but direct and did not deserve this treatment especially after spending a great deal of money. I WILL NEVER ORDER ANOTHER CAKE FROM HOME BAKERY AGAIN.
Respond to negative reviews
shopping_diva on Yellow Pages

10 years ago

11/11/2011, 15:39 PM
It's not a birthday party w/out a Home Bakery cake.
Katherine M. on Insider Pages

10 years ago

04/26/2011, 15:53 PM
Most beautiful wedding cake!! Ordered my wedding cake a few weeks ago and it took my breath away! I had so many compliments! It was all done out of buttercream and had fresh strawberries inside. We didn't have a single piece left! I will put a picture on your facebook and bring you in a picture for your website. Thank you for an amazing piece of work!
andrea k. on Insider Pages

10 years ago

04/08/2011, 12:39 PM
Delicious and Amazing!! Picked up a cake last weekend and it was AMAZING! The design was perfect and the fresh fruit inside was incredible! You guys are awesome! Cant believe anyone would say anything negative about the bakery or staff! You must be doing something right! Keep up the good work!! Thank you!
Footer Banner
Get more reviews. Get more customers.

Get more reviews from your customers with Birdeye. Dominate search results. Beat local competitors. Grow your business. Easy, done.