Logo White
Watch Demo

Cocina Superior

Own this business?
4.2
378 reviews
|Mexican|Birmingham, AL 35209

587 Brookwood Village, Birmingham, AL 35209

(205) 259-1980

https://www.thecocinasuperior.com/

Closed now

Google

Suggest edits
Top Restaurants in your area
4.6
(424) · Restaurants

3550 Pelham Pkwy

(205) 406-5811

3 people are looking at this business

4.5
(11) · Mexican

748 Shades Mountain Plaza

(205) 538-5750
4.5
(318) · Restaurants

1614 Kent Dairy Rd

(205) 419-5272

1 person is looking at this business

4.4
(314) · Mexican

7001 Crestwood Blvd

(205) 592-0859

4 people are looking at this business

4.4
(188) · Restaurants

62 McFarland Blvd

(205) 391-4555
4.3
(421) · Restaurants

603 15th St E

(205) 345-0751
About

Located in Brookwood Village, the food at Cocina Superior mirrors its colorful surroundings. While honest-to-goodness Tex-Mex menu is the focus here, the dishes come with their own creative twist. Those who come in with large groups will find several dishes to their liking, including the Cocina Platter that comes with assorted quesadillas, chimichangas, nachos and queso. Those with a preference for salads can find exciting options such as the Cabo Sashimi Tuna Salad and the Captain Taco Salad. The real winner here however, are the enchiladas and tacos. Pick some flavorful cocktails to match the zaniness of the vibrant food.

Suggest edits
BIRDEYE FOR BUSINESSES
Birdeye For Business

This profile is powered by BirdEye. Over 50,000 businesses use BirdEye everyday to get more reviews and manage all customer feedback. BirdEye helps millions of local businesses to be found online with all their reviews and accurate business information. Learn more about BirdEye

BirdEye Score

The BirdEye Score® is calculated based on our proprietary algorithm applied to customers reviews, weighted by a range of different factors.

Learn how the BirdEye Score® is calculated
4.2
378 reviews
5200
  
4108
  
336
  
211
  
117
  
6 reviews have no rating
  • 372 Reviews4.2Google
Sort By:
5 results available.
Recommended
mehousto on Citysearch

10 years ago

10/05/2010, 01:44 AM
Consistently good Mexican food – I have been coming to Cocina for a few years, and the food is always excellent. It has a fun atmosphere and a great bar as well. It gets really crowded on the weekends, so make a reservation or come on a less-busy weeknight. I love the steak nachos, pollo con hongos, tortilla soup, and the quesadillas. But the fish tacos are some of the best I've had. I also like their salsa, because it has an interesting chile/spicy flavor.
burbkd on Citysearch

12 years ago

01/25/2009, 03:58 AM
If you're only going out to be seen, this is one of the places to go. – Certainly do not go here for the food. I expected much more when i went. I have been back a couple more times but, I only sat at the bar waiting on some friends. I'll always suggest somewhere different if I'm out with friends looking for somewhere to eat.
kanonymous on Citysearch

12 years ago

09/16/2008, 06:25 AM
Great atmosphere - not Mexican food – The food at Cocina Superior is creative, but lacking. The salsa tastes like chopped tomatoes with black pepper sprinkled on. That said, it's a gorgeous location, plenty of gorgeous people, definitely a place to see and be seen. It makes me miss home and our authentic Mexican food.
Featured content
Introducing BirdEye Interactions

Introducing BirdEye Interactions

Introducing BirdEye Interactions
How to Solicit Reviews on Facebook and Google

How to Solicit Reviews on Facebook and Google

How to Solicit Reviews on Facebook and Google
jgaines671 on Citysearch

13 years ago

10/15/2007, 02:53 AM
I'm a regular – When it comes to cheap, modern Mexican, Cocina can't be beat. Another reviewer commented on poor service and unsanitary conditions, but I've eaten there since the day it opened and I have never had any of those problems (sanitation scores are also posted in all restaurants - I used to serve...). What to order? The chicken tortilla soup is awesome. The queso dip can't be beat. If you're looking for a lighter fare, try the hippie-chick wrap with their sauteed vegetables - phenomenal! True mexican fans will appreciate their enchiladas de pollo con mole - or even just their simple three taco option. Their food is really great and very cheap. The BAR - order a frozen mojito and experience the magic. Seriously people - I live for this cocktail. Minty, refreshing, and just the right amount of lime....
annakay on Citysearch

13 years ago

05/13/2007, 02:22 AM
Cocina leaves something superior to be desired – Our party of 4, my husband and another couple, went on a Sunday afternoon and we were seated after waiting for 25 minutes when there seemed to be plenty of empty tables around. On the way to our table, we all smelled a stench that I can only describe to you as "dirty mop water". Our waiter was very nice when we were finally seated, but he disappeared after taking our orders. While waiting on the food to arrive I noticed a bartender wiping off the inside edges of an already-poured glass of wine, with a dish towel, because it was dirty just as it was about to be served. All of our plates, glasses, and utensils appeared to have been hastily cleaned and some had visible residue of dried food on them. I requested another drink when my tea arrived with a piece of lint (like what you find in your pockets) floating near the top of the glass. We started with the chips and dip appetizer and the salsa was good -not too spicy. We each had some version of a taco with a meat in it (chicken or steak), mexican rice, and the "tortilla" soup that comes with the meal. Overall the food was nothing short of excellent, but the poor service and sanitation issues overshadowed our experience. I believe Cocina has some good waiters, but its obvious they're trying to work too many tables at one time.
bryant_army on Citysearch

14 years ago

01/13/2007, 03:59 AM
The very BEST breakfast in Birmingham – Gorgeous, active location. Inviting decor; nice layout. While the lunch and dinner menu is EXCEPTIONALLY good, this may be the BEST kept breakfast secret in Birmingham. Food quality is superb and is just as they advsertise...they are authentic texmex that is brought up to date with the freshest ingredients. I had the Chilaquiles for breakfast. A huge serving of eggs, fresh fried tortilla strips, cheese, and a chile sauce with only a touch of heat. BUT...the accompanying black beans and grits....they are worth the visit just for the grits and beans. I am southern thru and thru and fancy myself an authority on authentic mexican cuisine. Regarding the grits, I have never tasted such fresh corn taste in my life; creamy texture; perfectly done. For some, the best part of Cocina's for breakfast may be the full bar. Yes, they brew great coffee and the mexican hot cocoa is well-done, but if you wanna beer or bloody mary with your morning paper and eggs, your tastes are sure to be met. Eager, attentive staff....brief visit by the chef.....well done, Cocina Superior.....we shall return. :) --Bryant
Footer Banner
Get more reviews. Get more customers.

Get more reviews from your customers with BirdEye. Dominate search results. Beat local competitors. Grow your business. Easy, done.